Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio 24.9x · EV/EBITDA 24.0x · ROE 9.2%. (2012–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $9.2B | $7.4B | $4.2B | $2.4B | $1.8B | $2.2B | $2.1B | $1.9B | $1.5B | $1.2B | $858M |
| Enterprise Value | $9.9B | $8.1B | $4.4B | $2.7B | $2.5B | $2.8B | $2.6B | $2.5B | $1.9B | $1.8B | $1.3B |
| P/E Ratio → | 24.87 | 23.03 | 33.81 | 44.76 | 42.23 | 45.66 | 36.97 | 103.15 | 25.29 | 46.56 | 29.46 |
| P/S Ratio | 19.35 | 15.48 | 18.39 | 11.96 | 9.58 | 11.53 | 12.02 | 12.08 | 9.43 | 9.29 | 8.26 |
| P/B Ratio | 1.97 | 1.83 | 1.43 | 1.67 | 2.12 | 2.40 | 2.31 | 2.07 | 1.20 | 1.06 | 0.96 |
| P/FCF | 24.33 | 19.47 | 17.77 | 16.52 | 13.10 | 14.54 | 15.36 | 15.62 | — | — | — |
| P/OCF | 23.41 | 18.73 | 17.18 | 15.35 | 12.44 | 13.98 | 14.49 | 15.21 | 14.75 | 13.71 | 13.32 |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 16.95 | 19.19 | 13.48 | 13.35 | 14.97 | 15.02 | 15.43 | 12.35 | 13.50 | 12.51 |
| EV / EBITDA | 24.00 | 19.54 | 24.22 | 16.01 | 16.23 | 17.82 | 17.05 | 17.93 | 10.47 | 12.21 | 10.21 |
| EV / EBIT | 30.98 | 21.89 | 28.31 | 28.29 | 111.24 | 29.76 | 25.24 | 32.96 | 22.91 | 35.34 | 24.90 |
| EV / FCF | — | 21.31 | 18.55 | 18.62 | 18.25 | 18.87 | 19.20 | 19.97 | — | — | — |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 59.1% | 59.1% | 94.1% | 95.2% | 95.0% | 98.1% | 97.3% | 96.3% | 90.4% | 90.1% | 90.0% |
| Operating Margin | 67.2% | 67.2% | 54.3% | 58.4% | 55.4% | 54.9% | 58.0% | 53.5% | 52.9% | 43.8% | 50.3% |
| Net Profit Margin | 67.3% | 67.3% | 54.8% | 27.1% | -4.0% | 37.8% | 46.0% | 29.1% | 37.3% | 19.7% | 28.2% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | 9.2% | 9.2% | 5.8% | 4.7% | -0.9% | 7.9% | 8.8% | 4.3% | 4.9% | 2.5% | 5.1% |
| ROA | 7.5% | 7.5% | 4.5% | 2.9% | -0.5% | 4.6% | 5.4% | 3.3% | 4.7% | 2.5% | 3.7% |
| ROIC | 6.1% | 6.1% | 3.9% | 5.3% | 5.0% | 5.2% | 5.3% | 4.1% | 3.7% | 2.8% | 4.0% |
| ROCE | 7.7% | 7.7% | 4.6% | 6.7% | 7.0% | 7.2% | 7.2% | 6.6% | 7.6% | 6.4% | 7.4% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | 0.22 | 0.22 | 0.14 | 0.42 | 0.85 | 0.74 | 0.60 | 0.60 | 0.40 | 0.49 | 0.50 |
| Debt / EBITDA | 2.16 | 2.16 | 2.19 | 3.56 | 4.67 | 4.21 | 3.53 | 4.05 | 2.67 | 3.86 | 3.53 |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | 0.17 | 0.06 | 0.21 | 0.83 | 0.71 | 0.58 | 0.58 | 0.37 | 0.48 | 0.49 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 1.68 | 1.68 | 1.01 | 1.80 | 4.58 | 4.09 | 3.40 | 3.90 | 2.47 | 3.81 | 3.47 |
| Debt / FCF | — | 1.84 | 0.78 | 2.09 | 5.15 | 4.33 | 3.83 | 4.35 | — | — | — |
| Interest Coverage | 8.44 | 8.44 | 5.10 | 2.31 | 0.75 | 4.04 | 4.42 | 2.65 | 3.01 | 2.07 | 2.28 |
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 1.54 | 1.54 | 3.33 | 4.39 | 0.15 | 0.21 | 0.41 | 0.71 | 0.44 | 0.07 | 0.12 |
| Quick Ratio | 1.54 | 1.54 | 3.33 | 4.39 | 0.15 | 0.21 | 0.41 | 0.71 | 0.44 | 0.07 | 0.12 |
| Cash Ratio | 1.01 | 1.01 | 1.93 | 4.18 | 0.07 | 0.15 | 0.20 | 0.21 | 0.29 | 0.04 | 0.06 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.09 | 0.07 | 0.10 | 0.12 | 0.12 | 0.12 | 0.10 | 0.12 | 0.11 | 0.11 |
| Inventory Turnover | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | 3.3% | 3.5% | 4.1% | 4.9% | 5.9% | 4.6% | 4.4% | 4.2% | 4.3% | 4.3% | 4.3% |
| Payout Ratio | 80.9% | 80.9% | 137.6% | 214.9% | — | 140.0% | 115.2% | 173.9% | 108.8% | 203.2% | 127.0% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | 4.0% | 4.3% | 3.0% | 2.2% | 2.4% | 2.2% | 2.7% | 1.0% | 4.0% | 2.1% | 3.4% |
| FCF Yield | 4.1% | 5.1% | 5.6% | 6.1% | 7.6% | 6.9% | 6.5% | 6.4% | — | — | — |
| Buyback Yield | 0.0% | 0.0% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.2% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 3.3% | 3.6% | 4.2% | 4.9% | 6.2% | 4.7% | 4.5% | 4.3% | 4.4% | 4.4% | 4.4% |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $204M | $155M | $106M | $97M | $96M | $95M | $93M | $79M | $73M | $56M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 14 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CTRE stock.
CareTrust REIT, Inc.'s current P/E ratio is 24.9x. The historical average is 42.9x. This places it at the 9th percentile of its historical range.
CareTrust REIT, Inc.'s current EV/EBITDA is 24.0x. This enterprise value multiple compares the company's total value (equity + debt - cash) to its EBITDA. The historical average is 15.9x.
CareTrust REIT, Inc.'s return on equity (ROE) is 9.2%. The historical average is 3.7%.
Based on historical data, CareTrust REIT, Inc. is trading at a P/E of 24.9x. This is at the 9th percentile of its historical P/E range. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
CareTrust REIT, Inc.'s current dividend yield is 3.26% with a payout ratio of 80.9%.
CareTrust REIT, Inc. has 59.1% gross margin and 67.2% operating margin. Operating margin above 20% indicates strong pricing power and cost efficiency.
CareTrust REIT, Inc.'s Debt/EBITDA ratio is 2.2x, indicating moderate leverage. A ratio between 2-4x is manageable but warrants monitoring.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Rapid growth sustainability
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Premium Multiple for Accelerating FFO
CTRE trades at 19.2x forward P/FFO, a premium to peers like SBRA and OHI, reflecting its 33% FFO growth, though the implied cap rate warrants scrutiny.
Based on reported figures, CTRE's P/FFO of 19.2x in 2026Q2 is above the peer average, suggesting the market is pricing in sustained growth. However, the implied cap rate, derived from NOI relative to enterprise value, appears compressed, which may limit future returns. Investors should monitor whether acquisition-driven growth justifies the premium.
NOI Margin Volatility Masks Core Strength
NOI margin swung from 56.9% in 2026Q1 to 99.8% in 2026Q2, per financial statements, indicating possible one-time items; underlying profitability appears strong but inconsistent.
The extreme quarterly volatility in NOI margin, from 56.9% to 99.8%, suggests non-recurring items or accounting adjustments rather than operational deterioration. Excluding these swings, the trend in FFO per share is upward, driven by acquisitions. However, the lack of same-store NOI disclosure makes it difficult to assess organic growth, which may be modest relative to the headline expansion.
Payout Ratio Spikes on Timing
FFO payout ratio jumped to 136.8% in 2026Q2 from 68.2% in 2026Q1, per SEC filings, but AFFO coverage of 1.37x suggests the dividend remains sustainable.
The FFO payout ratio exceeding 100% in 2026Q2 appears alarming, but it is likely due to timing of dividend declarations versus FFO recognition. AFFO, which accounts for maintenance capex, covered dividends 1.37x in the same quarter, indicating a healthy cushion. Investors should monitor whether the elevated payout persists, as it may signal pressure if FFO growth decelerates.
Leverage Rises with Debt-Funded Growth
Debt-to-gross-assets increased to 0.27 in 2026Q2 from 0.14 a year earlier, per reported figures, while interest coverage improved to 10.3x, indicating manageable but rising leverage.
CTRE's debt-funded acquisition spree has lifted leverage, but interest coverage of 10.3x remains strong, suggesting ample capacity to service debt. The fixed-rate exposure is not disclosed, but the low D/E relative to peers like SBRA (0.90) and OHI (0.78) indicates a conservative balance sheet. However, the rapid increase in debt warrants monitoring for refinancing risk if rates rise.
Occupancy and G&A Efficiency Unclear
Occupancy rates and G&A efficiency are not disclosed in the provided data, per available filings, limiting assessment of portfolio quality and operational efficiency.
Without occupancy or G&A metrics, it is difficult to evaluate CTRE's portfolio quality relative to peers. The high NOI margin suggests efficient property operations, but the volatility raises questions. Investors should seek additional disclosures on same-store occupancy and G&A as a percentage of revenue to fully assess operational health.
P/E Misleads Due to Depreciation
Standard P/E of 25.75 is distorted by non-cash depreciation, as per financial statements, understating earnings; P/FFO of 19.2x is the appropriate valuation metric.
For REITs, P/E is misleading because depreciation is a non-cash charge that reduces GAAP net income but not cash flows. CTRE's P/E of 25.75 appears elevated, but P/FFO of 19.2x provides a clearer picture of valuation relative to cash earnings. Investors should use P/FFO or P/AFFO when comparing CTRE to peers, as depreciation can vary significantly across companies.