Equity has rebuilt from -$133M in Q1 2024 to $9.7B by Q2 2026, but long-term debt of $15.1B yields a debt-to-capital ratio of 65.1%, well above the industry average of 49%, indicating strained leverage.
Aon plc (AON) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 53.35B | 50.78B | 48.97B | 33.96B | 32.7B | 31.93B | 32.11B | 29.41B | 26.42B | 26.09B | 26.61B | 27.16B | 29.77B | 30.25B | 30.49B | 29.55B | 28.98B | 22.96B | 23.17B | 24.95B | 24.32B | 27.82B | 28.33B | 27.03B | 25.33B | 22.39B | 22.25B | 21.13B | 19.69B | 18.69B | 13.72B |
| Asset Growth % | 8.24% | 3.71% | 44.19% | 3.84% | 2.43% | -0.55% | 9.19% | 11.29% | 1.28% | -1.98% | -2.02% | -8.76% | -1.58% | -0.77% | 3.16% | 1.97% | 26.24% | -0.92% | -7.12% | 2.59% | -12.58% | -1.8% | 4.82% | 6.68% | 13.17% | 0.61% | 5.3% | 7.33% | 5.33% | 36.21% | -30.47% |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 1.79B | 10.63B | 414M | 512M | 356M | 382M | 191M | 226M | 586M | 409M | 491M | 537M | 655M | 511M | 1.02B | 1.1B | 741M | 1.25B | 6.05B | 4.86B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 744M | 192M | 90M | 45M | 60M | 64M | 74M | 53M | 54M | 57M | 119M | 135M | 143M | 132M | 165M | 239M | 312M | 319M | 342M | 417M | 7.58B | 9.06B | 8.62B | 7.32B | 6.59B | 6.15B | 6.02B | 6.18B | 6.45B | 5.92B | 5.13B |
| Short-Term Investments | 205M | 1.6B | 10.54B | 369M | 452M | 292M | 308M | 138M | 172M | 529M | 290M | 356M | 394M | 523M | 346M | 785M | 785M | 422M | 921M | 5.72B | 4.33B | 4.81B | 5.1B | 3.81B | 6.59B | 6.15B | 2.33B | 2.36B | 2.22B | 5.92B | 5.13B |
| Total Current Assets | 28.11B | 25.77B | 23.43B | 21.7B | 20.72B | 19.03B | 18.68B | 16.48B | 14.37B | 13.68B | 13.15B | 13.97B | 15.82B | 16.33B | 16.38B | 15.51B | 14.52B | 13.99B | 14.62B | 17.97B | 13.53B | 12.99B | 13.81B | 13.11B | 12.9B | 10.46B | 10.41B | 9.5B | 8.43B | 8.17B | 5.31B |
| Cash & Equivalents | 1.06B | 1.2B | 1.08B | 778M | 690M | 544M | 884M | 790M | 656M | 756M | 431M | 384M | 374M | 477M | 291M | 272M | 346M | 217M | 657M | 584M | 281M | 476M | 570M | 540M | 506M | 439M | 1.12B | 837M | 723M | 1.08B | 410.1M |
| Receivables | 63.81B | 14.82B | 11.09B | 3.29B | 3.11B | 3.15B | 3.17B | 3.2B | 2.88B | 2.62B | 2.21B | 2.66B | 2.91B | 3.1B | 3.17B | 3.18B | 2.7B | 2.05B | 1.99B | 1.99B | 8.79B | 9.7B | 10.1B | 10.11B | 9.64B | 7.99B | 8.23B | 7.35B | 6.61B | 929.8M | 4.62B |
| Other Current Assets | 8.5B | 8.02B | 581M | 17.17B | 16.36B | 14.91B | 14.21B | 12.25B | 10.56B | 9.65B | 10.12B | 10.04B | 11.98B | 12B | 12.34B | 11.27B | 10.69B | 11.3B | 11.03B | 9.77B | 4.24B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 86.35B | 21.52B | 21.98B | 8.65B | 8.74B | 8.93B | 9.31B | 8.95B | 9.32B | 10.09B | 10.97B | 10.63B | 11.38B | 11.57B | 11.92B | 12.05B | 12.26B | 6.87B | 6.42B | 5.14B | 4.68B | 4.51B | 4.86B | 4.68B | 4.32B | 4.08B | 3.92B | 3.86B | 3.5B | 3.09B | 1.6B |
| Goodwill | 15.88B | 15.8B | 15.23B | 8.41B | 8.29B | 8.43B | 8.67B | 8.16B | 8.17B | 8.36B | 8.75B | 8.45B | 8.86B | 9B | 8.94B | 8.77B | 8.65B | 6.08B | 5.64B | 4.93B | 4.53B | 4.39B | 4.73B | 4.51B | 4.1B | 3.56B | 3.43B | 3.36B | 0 | 0 | 1.06B |
| Intangible Assets | 5.66B | 5.73B | 6.74B | 234M | 447M | 492M | 640M | 783M | 1.15B | 1.73B | 2.22B | 2.18B | 2.52B | 2.58B | 2.98B | 3.28B | 3.61B | 791M | 779M | 204M | 147M | 115M | 136M | 176M | 225M | 529M | 489M | 503M | 3.5B | 3.09B | 537.5M |
| PP&E (Net) | 1.51B | 1.38B | 1.36B | 1.31B | 1.26B | 1.31B | 1.6B | 1.55B | 588M | 564M | 765M | 765M | 765M | 791M | 820M | 783M | 781M | 461M | 451M | 498M | 504M | 537M | 664M | 827M | 865M | -6.15B | -6.02B | -6.18B | -6.45B | 456.8M | 323.2M |
| Other Assets | 1.22B | 1.17B | 1.46B | 1.05B | 1.1B | 1.81B | 1.73B | 1.63B | 1.53B | 1.31B | 3.17B | 1.49B | 1.52B | 1.23B | 916M | 721M | 807M | 439M | 420M | 384M | 380M | 12.07B | 11.62B | 10.34B | 9.81B | 9.68B | 8.63B | 8.82B | 8.64B | 14.14B | 7.79B |
| Total Liabilities | 43.64B | 41.24B | 42.53B | 34.7B | 33.13B | 30.77B | 28.52B | 25.96B | 22.2B | 21.44B | 21.08B | 21B | 23.14B | 22.06B | 22.68B | 21.43B | 20.68B | 17.53B | 17.86B | 18.73B | 19.1B | 22.52B | 23.23B | 22.53B | 20.74B | 18.07B | 18.06B | 17.28B | 15.87B | 15.07B | 10.89B |
| Total Debt | 15.87B | 16.53B | 17.89B | 12.03B | 11.68B | 10.42B | 8.93B | 8.57B | 6.41B | 6.12B | 6.34B | 5.87B | 5.77B | 4.59B | 4.38B | 4.49B | 4.51B | 2.01B | 1.98B | 2.15B | 2.29B | 2.11B | 2.12B | 2.15B | 1.79B | 1.95B | 2.11B | 1.91B | 1.42B | 1.4B | 688M |
| Net Debt | 14.81B | 15.34B | 16.81B | 11.25B | 10.99B | 9.88B | 8.04B | 7.78B | 5.76B | 5.36B | 5.92B | 5.48B | 5.39B | 4.12B | 4.09B | 4.22B | 4.16B | 1.79B | 1.4B | 1.56B | 2B | 1.64B | 1.55B | 1.61B | 1.79B | 1.95B | 989M | 1.08B | 701M | 1.4B | 688M |
| Long-Term Debt | 12.95B | 15.3B | 16.27B | 9.99B | 9.82B | 8.23B | 7.28B | 6.63B | 5.99B | 5.67B | 5.87B | 5.14B | 4.8B | 3.69B | 3.71B | 4.16B | 4.01B | 2B | 1.87B | 1.89B | 1.99B | 2.1B | 2.12B | 2.1B | 89M | 100M | 1.8B | 1.61B | 923M | 637M | 475M |
| Short-Term Debt | 2.02B | 589M | 751M | 1.2B | 945M | 1.16B | 448M | 712M | 251M | 299M | 336M | 562M | 783M | 703M | 452M | 337M | 492M | 10M | 105M | 252M | 292M | 7M | 2M | 53M | 117M | 257M | 309M | 303M | 501M | 764M | 213M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 27.23B | 23.23B | 23B | 21.65B | 20.31B | 19.07B | 17.42B | 15.57B | 13.3B | 12.76B | 12.49B | 13.12B | 15.01B | 15.41B | 15.01B | 13.76B | 12.95B | 12.64B | 12.9B | 14.55B | 15.39B | 18.91B | 19.53B | 19.05B | 19.02B | 16.32B | 16.21B | 16.22B | 15.24B | 14.38B | 10.37B |
| Accounts Payable | 2.27B | 2.86B | 2.9B | 2.26B | 2.11B | 2.19B | 2.02B | 1.94B | 1.94B | 1.96B | 1.6B | 1.77B | 1.8B | 1.93B | 1.85B | 1.83B | 0 | 1.53B | 1.56B | 1.41B | 11.18B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7.64B | 6.95B | 6.38B | 4.14B |
| Deferred Revenue | 353M | 0 | 280M | 270M | 250M | 321M | 296M | 270M | 251M | 311M | 393M | 394M | 408M | 475M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -24M | 76M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 22.17B | 19.78B | 18.61B | 17.44B | 16.62B | 15.03B | 14.35B | 12.35B | 10.77B | 10.04B | 10.28B | 10.26B | 11.95B | 12.12B | 12.46B | 11.59B | 12.46B | 12.63B | 11.14B | 12.91B | 3.13B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 1.39B | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K |
| Other Liabilities | 2.39B | 1.44B | 2.24B | 2.26B | 2.15B | 2.17B | 2.52B | 2.48B | 2.5B | 2.69B | 2.62B | 2.6B | 2.85B | 2.4B | 3.29B | 1.02B | 1.82B | 1B | 1.39B | 921M | 1.72B | -2.1B | -2.12B | -2.1B | -89M | -100M | -1.8B | -1.61B | -923M | 0 | -16.5M |
| Total Equity | 9.69B | 9.55B | 6.43B | -742M | -429M | 1.16B | 3.58B | 3.45B | 4.22B | 4.65B | 5.53B | 6.16B | 6.63B | 8.2B | 7.8B | 8.12B | 8.31B | 5.43B | 5.31B | 6.22B | 5.22B | 5.3B | 5.1B | 4.5B | 4.6B | 4.32B | 4.19B | 3.85B | 3.82B | 3.62B | 2.83B |
| Equity Growth % | 128.95% | 48.49% | 966.58% | -72.96% | -137.05% | -67.68% | 3.89% | -18.25% | -9.23% | -15.98% | -10.24% | -7.06% | -19.08% | 5% | -3.88% | -2.24% | 52.94% | 2.2% | -14.58% | 19.22% | -1.6% | 3.92% | 13.45% | -2.15% | 6.39% | 3.18% | 8.75% | 0.89% | 5.38% | 27.86% | 25.49% |
| Shareholders Equity | 9.66B | 9.35B | 6.12B | -826M | -529M | 1.06B | 3.5B | 3.38B | 4.15B | 4.58B | 5.47B | 6.11B | 6.57B | 8.14B | 7.76B | 8.08B | 8.25B | 5.38B | 5.31B | 6.22B | 5.22B | 5.3B | 5.1B | 4.5B | 3.9B | 3.52B | 3.39B | 3.05B | 3.02B | 2.82B | 2.83B |
| Minority Interest | 24M | 196M | 309M | 84M | 100M | 97M | 88M | 74M | 68M | 65M | 57M | 57M | 60M | 50M | 43M | 42M | 55M | 52M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 702M | 800M | 800M | 800M | 800M | 800M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 82M | -245M | -2.31B | -3.4B | -2.77B | -1.69B | 1.04B | 1.25B | 2.09B | 2.3B | 3.81B | 4.12B | 4.61B | 5.73B | 5.93B | 8.59B | 7.86B | 7.33B | 6.82B | 5.61B | 4.99B | 4.57B | 4.03B | 3.68B | 3.25B | 3.08B | 3.13B | 2.9B | 2.78B | 2.46B | 2.36B |
| Common Stock | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 2M | 3M | 3M | 3M | 3M | 3M | 386M | 386M | 363M | 362M | 361M | 347M | 344M | 339M | 336M | 333M | 293M | 264M | 259M | 172M | 171.5M | 114.1M |
| Accumulated OCI | -3.99B | -3.84B | -4.75B | -4.37B | -4.62B | -3.87B | -3.86B | -4.03B | -3.91B | -3.5B | -3.91B | -3.42B | -3.13B | -2.37B | -2.61B | -2.37B | -1.92B | -1.68B | -1.46B | -726M | -1.01B | -1.16B | -870M | -861M | -954M | -717M | -377M | -309M | -116M | 103.4M | 154.1M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 41.97% | 46.25% | 93.32% | - | 710.29% | 52.94% | 56% | 39.96% | 25.58% | 24.09% | 23.87% | 21.65% | 18.85% | 13.91% | 12.47% | 11.92% | 10.28% | 13.9% | 25.35% | 15.11% | 13.69% | 14.13% | 11.37% | 13.81% | 10.45% | 3.46% | 11.79% | 9.18% | 14.54% | 9.26% | 13.12% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 7.56% | 7.41% | 6.4% | 7.69% | 8.01% | 3.92% | 6.4% | 5.49% | 4.32% | 4.65% | 5.19% | 4.87% | 4.65% | 3.67% | 3.31% | 3.35% | 2.72% | 3.24% | 6.08% | 3.51% | 2.76% | 2.62% | 1.97% | 2.4% | 1.95% | 0.66% | 2.19% | 1.72% | 2.82% | 1.84% | 2% |
| Equity / Assets | 18.16% | 18.8% | 13.13% | -2.18% | -1.31% | 3.63% | 11.16% | 11.73% | 15.97% | 17.82% | 20.79% | 22.69% | 22.27% | 27.09% | 25.6% | 27.48% | 28.66% | 23.66% | 22.93% | 24.94% | 21.46% | 19.06% | 18.01% | 16.64% | 18.15% | 19.3% | 18.82% | 18.22% | 19.39% | 19.38% | 20.64% |
| Debt / Equity | 1.64x | 1.73x | 2.78x | - | - | 9.00x | 2.49x | 2.48x | 1.52x | 1.32x | 1.15x | 0.95x | 0.87x | 0.56x | 0.56x | 0.55x | 0.54x | 0.37x | 0.37x | 0.34x | 0.44x | 0.40x | 0.41x | 0.48x | 0.39x | 0.45x | 0.50x | 0.50x | 0.37x | 0.39x | 0.24x |
| Book Value per Share | 45.14 | 44.10 | 30.26 | -3.62 | -2.01 | 5.12 | 15.37 | 14.33 | 17.08 | 17.83 | 20.47 | 21.72 | 22.13 | 25.98 | 23.47 | 23.82 | 27.86 | 18.66 | 17.66 | 19.26 | 15.25 | 15.53 | 15.16 | 14.15 | 15.99 | 15.90 | 15.82 | 14.66 | 14.71 | 14.15 | 11.19 |
| Tangible BV per Share | -55.24 | -55.32 | -73.16 | -45.80 | -43.00 | -34.36 | -24.55 | -22.86 | -20.65 | -20.88 | -20.12 | -15.73 | -15.85 | -10.72 | -12.37 | -11.52 | -13.26 | -4.94 | -3.66 | 3.35 | 1.58 | 2.33 | 0.71 | -0.59 | 0.95 | 0.87 | 1.03 | -0.04 | 1.22 | 2.06 | 4.88 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying AON stock.
As of 2025, Aon plc (AON) had total assets of $50.78B including $25.77B in current assets.
Aon plc (AON) carries total debt of $16.53B, offset by $2.80B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Aon plc (AON) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $9.35B ($44.10 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Aon plc (AON) reported a current ratio of 1.11x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Elevated leverage and moderating organic growth
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Capital Base Rebuilding from Negative Equity
Aon's equity swung from -$133M in Q1 2024 to $9.7B by Q2 2026, per balance sheet data, reflecting retained earnings and capital actions, though leverage remains elevated.
The balance sheet has strengthened considerably over the past two years, with equity expanding from a negative position to $9.7B, driven by strong earnings retention. However, total liabilities have grown to $43.6B, and the debt-to-capital ratio of 65.1% remains above the industry average, suggesting that capital generation is being offset by increased borrowing. This trajectory indicates a balance sheet that is improving but still constrained by high leverage.
Investment Portfolio Minimal and Opaque
Reported total investments of $1,000K are negligible relative to $53.3B assets, per balance sheet data, suggesting a data limitation or a business model reliant on fiduciary assets.
The investment portfolio appears immaterial, which is atypical for an insurance carrier but consistent with a broker model where client funds are held off-balance-sheet. Investment income is not disclosed, and the yield is unavailable, limiting analysis of portfolio quality. Investors should note that fiduciary investment income, a key driver, is not captured in these figures, and the true investment leverage lies in the float generated from premium collections.
Reserve Releases Distort Loss Ratios
Q2 2026 loss ratio of -14.6% indicates significant reserve releases, per reported data, while prior quarters show ratios up to 57.8%, suggesting volatility in reserve adequacy.
The negative loss ratio in Q2 2026 implies that claims payments were negative, likely due to favorable development on prior-year reserves, which inflated earnings. This pattern, also noted in the income statement analysis, suggests that reserve releases are masking underlying underwriting trends. The combined ratio of 80.6% in Q2 2026 appears artificially low, and investors should monitor the sustainability of these releases, as they may not recur.
Leverage Constrains Capital Flexibility
Long-term debt of $15.1B against $1.1B cash yields a debt-to-capital ratio of 65.1%, per recent disclosures, well above the industry average of 49%.
Aon's elevated leverage, with a debt-to-capital ratio of 65.1%, indicates limited capacity for additional debt-financed buybacks or acquisitions without straining the balance sheet. The equity base of $9.7B provides a cushion, but rising interest expenses could pressure margins. While the company has historically returned capital aggressively, the current leverage suggests that future capital returns may be constrained unless cash flows improve.
Liquidity Position Relies on Cash Flows
Cash balances are not disclosed, but operating cash flow of $556M in Q2 2026, per cash flow data, covers only 72% of capital returns, indicating tight liquidity.
With no cash on the balance sheet reported, Aon's liquidity is dependent on its ability to generate operating cash flows. In Q2 2026, dividends and buybacks of $775M exceeded operating cash flow of $556M, suggesting that capital returns are not fully self-funded. This may indicate reliance on debt or asset sales to fund shareholder distributions, which could be unsustainable if cash generation weakens.
Hidden Risk in Fiduciary Balances
Aon's balance sheet excludes fiduciary assets, which are held on behalf of clients, per industry practice, potentially obscuring the true scale of its balance sheet and associated risks.
The reported total assets of $53.3B likely understate Aon's economic footprint, as fiduciary funds are not consolidated. These off-balance-sheet amounts, which can be substantial, expose the firm to operational and reputational risks, though not credit risk. Additionally, the negative loss ratio in Q2 2026 may indicate aggressive reserve releases that could reverse, posing a risk to future earnings quality. Investors should scrutinize the sustainability of these releases and the management of fiduciary balances.