The balance sheet is highly liquid with cash and securities totaling $790.3M (53% of assets) and equity-to-assets at 0.38, though the $455.8M securities portfolio may carry unrealized losses.
Artisan Partners Asset Management Inc. (APAM) balance sheet — 17-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 1.23B | 255.51M | 268.22M | 178.47M | 143.25M | 200.14M | 198.82M | 143.63M | 174.91M | 159.17M | 156.78M | 166.19M | 182.3M | 231M | 151.34M | 132.1M | 160.16M | 104M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 334.5M | 255.51M | 268.22M | 178.47M | 143.25M | 200.14M | 198.82M | 143.63M | 174.91M | 159.17M | 156.78M | 166.19M | 182.28M | 211.8M | 151.34M | 132.1M | 158.99M | 101.84M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.71M | 7.8M | 0 | 0 | 1.18M | 2.15M |
| Total Investments | 455.8M | 638.28M | 670.93M | 514.62M | 341.16M | 242.88M | 234.04M | 130.61M | 84.28M | 5.14B | 6.3B | 10.3B | 6.71M | 78.97M | 61.48M | 41.53M | 1.18M | 2.15M |
| Investments Growth % | -13.92% | -4.87% | 30.38% | 50.84% | 40.46% | 3.78% | 79.18% | 54.97% | -98.36% | -18.5% | -38.8% | 153360.97% | -91.5% | 28.46% | 48.04% | 3427.31% | -45.32% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 2.11B | 638.28M | 670.93M | 514.62M | 341.16M | 242.88M | 234.04M | 130.61M | 84.28M | 158.99M | 6.3M | 0 | 0 | 71.17M | 61.48M | 41.53M | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 122.6M | 10.71M | 122.69M | 108.08M | 89.96M | 116.28M | 101.26M | 81.35M | 71.19M | 89.9M | 58.84M | 60.06M | 69.36M | 71.54M | 56.62M | 39.45M | 36.73M | 31.65M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 48M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -29.14M | -21.02M | -20.02M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 40.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 429.13M | 429.21M | 678.52M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 7.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -458.27M | -450.24M | -698.54M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 110.6M | 138.3M | 124.84M | 141.38M | 149.51M | 123.95M | 115.18M | 126.65M | 29.14M | 21.02M | 20.02M | 18M | 16.59M | 8.76M | 8.81M | 5.57M | 5.22M | 6.05M |
| Other Assets | 388M | 25.29M | 4.19M | 5.56M | 4.33M | 7.74M | 6.94M | 3.1M | 63.39M | 193.99M | 41.1M | 23.67M | 12M | 5.06M | 4.24M | 1.88M | 4.89M | 993.97K |
| Total Current Assets | 457.1M | 420.72M | 409.41M | 307.77M | 262.58M | 335.57M | 313.75M | 237.36M | 258.67M | 262.23M | 225.8M | 234.61M | 258.46M | 308.5M | 213.03M | 175.87M | 199.77M | 138.68M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 1B | 1.16B | 1.21B | 1.1B | 972.03M | 872.48M | 838.22M | 696.26M | 576.8M | 623.2M | 719.7M | 720.2M | 590.99M | 272.89M | 74.53M | 48.98M | 10.11M | 7.05M |
| Total Assets | 1.46B | 1.58B | 1.62B | 1.41B | 1.23B | 1.21B | 1.15B | 933.62M | 805.01M | 837.15M | 936.17M | 945.85M | 849.45M | 581.4M | 287.56M | 224.85M | 209.88M | 145.73M |
| Asset Growth % | 1.84% | -2.56% | 15.14% | 13.87% | 2.2% | 4.87% | 23.39% | 15.98% | -3.84% | -10.58% | -1.02% | 11.35% | 46.11% | 102.18% | 27.89% | 7.13% | 44.02% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 19.84% | 18.17% | 17.18% | 16.84% | 16.93% | 28.52% | 20.39% | 18.01% | 19.28% | 5.59% | 7.76% | 9.11% | 9.73% | 5.71% | 13.18% | 61.22% | 23.92% | 33.09% |
| Accounts Payable | 48.5M | 0 | 139.39M | 63.59M | 50.77M | 49.18M | 134.09M | 54.08M | 18.78M | 21.24M | 15.61M | 18.05M | 21.93M | 20.91M | 28.1M | 9.27M | 9.55M | 8.38M |
| Total Debt | 314.9M | 410.21M | 300.71M | 312.66M | 319.9M | 299.75M | 291.95M | 300.26M | 199.3M | 199.13M | 199.48M | 199.31M | 200M | 200M | 290M | 324.79M | 380M | 400M |
| Net Debt | -19.6M | 154.7M | 32.49M | 134.19M | 176.65M | 99.61M | 93.13M | 156.63M | 24.39M | 39.96M | 42.7M | 33.12M | 17.7M | -31M | 138.66M | 192.69M | 221.01M | 298.16M |
| Long-Term Debt | 189.2M | 289.33M | 199.43M | 199.27M | 199.05M | 199.44M | 199.28M | 199.1M | 199.3M | 199.13M | 199.48M | 199.31M | 200M | 200M | 290M | 324.79M | 0 | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 20.69M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 380M | 400M |
| Other Liabilities | 432.5M | 384.37M | 66.73M | 42.58M | 50.51M | 26.7M | 28.66M | 65.45M | 74.39M | 119.71M | 17.12M | 22.83M | 0 | 187.2M | 642.18M | 529.54M | 543.44M | 465.14M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 160.7M | 20.69M | 501.4M | 446.87M | 449.56M | 474.6M | 546.56M | 429.41M | 390.84M | 410.25M | 601.86M | 607.15M | 511.09M | 186.98M | 28.1M | 9.27M | 403.02M | 437.74M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 747.4M | 774.18M | 367.44M | 355.24M | 370.41M | 326.45M | 320.61M | 365.71M | 273.69M | 318.84M | 216.6M | 222.14M | 200M | 387.2M | 932.18M | 856.67M | 543.44M | 465.14M |
| Total Liabilities | 908.1M | 794.87M | 868.84M | 802.1M | 819.97M | 801.05M | 867.17M | 795.12M | 630.18M | 666.51M | 818.45M | 829.29M | 741.95M | 449.09M | 960.27M | 865.94M | 946.46M | 902.88M |
| Total Equity | 549.51M | 782.4M | 749.92M | 603.76M | 414.64M | 407M | 284.8M | 138.5M | 140.49M | 108.06M | 117.71M | 116.55M | 107.5M | 132.31M | -315.52M | -641.09M | -11.78M | -21M |
| Equity Growth % | -3.46% | 4.33% | 24.21% | 45.61% | 1.88% | 42.91% | 105.63% | -1.41% | 30% | -8.2% | 1% | 8.42% | -18.75% | 141.93% | 50.78% | -5340.46% | 43.89% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 37.65% | 49.6% | 46.33% | 42.95% | 33.58% | 33.69% | 24.72% | 14.83% | 17.45% | 12.91% | 12.57% | 12.32% | 12.66% | 22.76% | -109.72% | -285.12% | -5.61% | -14.41% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 47.28% | 37.89% | 38.38% | 43.65% | 50.33% | 97.29% | 100.46% | 112.22% | 127.38% | 43.94% | 62.35% | 73.02% | 58.07% | 18.75% | - | - | - | - |
| Book Value per Share | 7.70 | 11.93 | 11.55 | 9.51 | 6.63 | 6.80 | 5.12 | 2.71 | 2.88 | 2.42 | 3.09 | 3.29 | 3.91 | 6.68 | -7.78 | -9.75 | -0.18 | -0.32 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 7.02 | 11.93 | 11.55 | 9.51 | 6.63 | 6.80 | 5.12 | 2.71 | 3.47 | 2.89 | 3.61 | 3.29 | 3.91 | 6.68 | -7.78 | -9.75 | -0.18 | -0.32 |
| Common Stock | 465.3M | 807K | 804K | 799K | 796K | 790K | 786K | 778K | 769K | 756K | 743K | 734K | 729K | 703K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 236.33M | 220.84M | 193.72M | 171.42M | 141.84M | 107.74M | 89.15M | 97.55M | 147.91M | 119.22M | 116.45M | 93.52M | 6.39M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 0 | 203.39M | 170.04M | 132.13M | 93.09M | 134.89M | 72.94M | 44.45M | 38.62M | -37.87M | 13.39M | 13.24M | 16.42M | 1.4M | -711.38M | -664.26M | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | -1.89M | -1.69M | -2.76M | -2.5M | -3.08M | -1.31M | -991K | -1.43M | -1.9M | -873K | -1.65M | -375K | 206K | 378K | -15.35M | -13.96M | 0 | -21M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 34.91M | 0 | 0 | 357.19M | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying APAM stock.
As of 2025, Artisan Partners Asset Management Inc. (APAM) had total assets of $1.58B including $420.7M in current assets.
Artisan Partners Asset Management Inc. (APAM) carries total debt of $410.2M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Artisan Partners Asset Management Inc. (APAM) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $438.8M ($11.93 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Artisan Partners Asset Management Inc. (APAM) reported a current ratio of 20.33x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Equity market beta concentration
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Driven by Market Appreciation
Total assets rose to $1.5B in 2026Q2 from $1.4B in 2026Q1, a 7.1% increase, primarily reflecting higher investment securities and cash, as per the latest balance sheet data.
The sequential increase in total assets appears to be driven by market appreciation and possibly net inflows, as investment securities grew from $428.7M to $455.8M and cash from $300.4M to $334.5M. This growth is consistent with the reported 7.6% year-over-year increase in management fees, suggesting that asset growth is translating into revenue. However, the balance sheet remains asset-light relative to traditional banks, with no loan book, underscoring the fee-based business model.
No Deposit Base; Fee-Driven Funding
APAM does not operate a deposit franchise; liabilities consist primarily of accrued compensation and other operating liabilities, totaling $908.1M in 2026Q2, as reported in the balance sheet.
The absence of a deposit base means the company is not exposed to deposit beta or funding cost pressures, but it also lacks the stable, low-cost funding that banks enjoy. Liabilities are largely tied to variable compensation, which naturally adjusts with revenue, providing a natural hedge. Investors should focus on the sustainability of fee revenues rather than traditional funding metrics.
Equity Buffer Strengthens with Earnings
Equity increased to $463.4M in 2026Q2 from $389.0M in 2026Q1, lifting the equity-to-assets ratio to 0.38, according to the latest balance sheet data.
The rise in equity is consistent with strong net income of $115.8M in 2026Q2, which more than offset dividend payments of $55.1M. The equity-to-assets ratio, while not a regulatory capital measure for an asset manager, indicates a solid capital base that supports the firm's dividend policy and potential strategic initiatives. However, the high payout ratio of 68% suggests limited retained capital for organic expansion, though the firm's asset-light model requires minimal capital.
High Liquidity with Minimal Reliance on Debt
Cash and investment securities totaled $790.3M in 2026Q2, representing 53% of total assets, indicating a highly liquid balance sheet, as per the latest financial statements.
The substantial cash and securities portfolio provides ample liquidity to meet operational needs and dividend commitments without relying on external financing. The absence of significant debt, as evidenced by the peer comparison, further reduces liquidity risk. This liquidity buffer also offers flexibility to seed new funds or make opportunistic investments, though it may also suggest an underutilization of capital that could be returned to shareholders.
Interest Rate Sensitivity Limited
Net interest income was $7.8M in 2026Q2, a sharp improvement from -$0.2M in 2026Q1, but remains a minor component of revenue, as reported in the balance sheet data.
The negligible net interest income indicates that APAM's earnings are largely insulated from interest rate movements, with the majority of revenue derived from management fees. This reduces the direct impact of rate changes on the income statement, but indirect effects through equity market valuations and investor flows remain significant. The recent improvement in NII may reflect higher yields on the securities portfolio, but it is unlikely to materially alter the overall earnings profile.
Unrealized Losses in Securities Portfolio
Investment securities totaled $455.8M in 2026Q2, but the balance sheet does not disclose unrealized gains or losses, which could be a source of volatility, based on reported figures.
Given the rise in interest rates over the past year, it is plausible that the fixed-income portion of the securities portfolio holds unrealized losses, which would reduce equity if recognized. However, the data does not provide a breakdown of the portfolio's composition or its mark-to-market status. Investors should monitor the AOCI component of equity, which is not separately disclosed here, to assess potential hidden risks. The recent increase in NII may partially offset such losses, but the lack of transparency warrants further investigation.