The balance sheet is stable with equity/assets at 0.44 and leverage of 1.27x, but cash reserves fell 36% to $51.4M in 2026Q2, indicating thin liquidity.
Barings BDC, Inc. (BBDC) balance sheet — 22-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 268.34M | 66.78M | 77.85M | 70.53M | 139.41M | 84.25M | 89M | 21.99M | 12.43M | 191.85M | 107.09M | 52.62M | 78.76M | 133.3M | 72.3M | 66.87M | 54.82M | 55.2M | 27.19M | 21.79M | 2.56M | 74.67M | 2.85M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 51.4M | 66.78M | 77.85M | 70.53M | 139.41M | 84.25M | 89M | 21.99M | 12.43M | 191.85M | 107.09M | 52.62M | 78.76M | 133.3M | 72.3M | 66.87M | 54.82M | 55.2M | 27.19M | 21.79M | 2.56M | 6.07M | 2.85M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 68.61M | 0 |
| Total Investments | 2.46B | 2.46B | 88.27M | 57.8M | 54.59M | 16.34M | 13.6M | 0 | 1.12B | 1.02B | 1.04B | 977.28M | 887.22M | 664.37M | 706.8M | 507.08M | 325.99M | 201.32M | 182.11M | 227.41M | 55M | 68.61M | 0 |
| Investments Growth % | 7095% | 2689.91% | 52.71% | 5.87% | 234.09% | 20.15% | - | -100% | 10.39% | -2.08% | 6.2% | 10.15% | 33.54% | -6% | 39.39% | 55.55% | 61.93% | 10.55% | -19.92% | 313.5% | -19.84% | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 5.05B | 2.46B | 88.27M | 57.8M | 54.59M | 16.34M | 13.6M | 0 | 1.12B | 1.02B | 1.04B | 977.28M | 887.22M | 664.37M | 706.8M | 507.08M | 325.99M | 201.32M | 182.11M | 227.41M | 55M | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 41.41M | 56.34M | 52.9M | 62.71M | 253.38M | 69.03M | 50.52M | 6.01M | 7.81M | 10.19M | 4.89M | 7.41M | 5.26M | 2.65M | 1.88M | 867.63K | 676.96K | 679.83K | 305.16K | 134.82K | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 81.15K | 106.49K | 105.7K | 108.75K | 60.52K | 55.53K | 58.3K | 47.65K | 28.67K | 48.02K | 34.17K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 7.8M | 9.66M | 2.47B | 2.49B | 2.45B | 1.8B | 1.5B | 1.18B | 251.91K | 5.11M | 2.7M | 3.48M | 1.23M | 11.06M | 12.32M | 6.68M | 6.2M | 3.54M | 3.55M | -113.38M | 1.23M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 114.53M | 164.18M | 134.19M | 126.99M | 203.2M | 340.99M | 160.04M | 73.62M | 45.47M | 201.59M | 118.94M | 58.45M | 86.61M | 139.39M | 75.35M | 69.38M | 55.81M | 56.16M | 27.97M | 22.14M | 2.69M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 2.47B | 2.47B | 2.56B | 2.55B | 2.51B | 1.82B | 1.52B | 1.18B | 1.12B | 1.02B | 1.04B | 980.86M | 888.56M | 675.5M | 719.18M | 513.82M | 332.24M | 204.89M | 185.7M | 114.07M | 56.23M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Assets | 2.58B | 2.64B | 2.7B | 2.68B | 2.71B | 2.16B | 1.68B | 1.25B | 1.17B | 1.22B | 1.16B | 1.04B | 975.17M | 814.89M | 794.54M | 583.19M | 388.05M | 261.05M | 213.67M | 136.21M | 58.92M | 112.95M | 37.28M |
| Asset Growth % | -8.21% | -2.2% | 0.68% | -1.2% | 25.41% | 28.85% | 33.88% | 7.29% | -4.54% | 5.47% | 11.58% | 6.58% | 19.67% | 2.56% | 36.24% | 50.29% | 48.65% | 22.18% | 56.87% | 131.18% | -47.84% | 202.95% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 3.27% | 3.82% | 4.11% | 4.75% | 0.19% | 4.05% | 0.56% | 4.81% | -9.56% | -2.4% | 3.12% | 4.75% | 3.17% | 10.09% | 8.72% | 11.69% | 7.82% | 1.7% | 4.37% | 9.03% | -0% | 4.22% | -3.38% |
| Accounts Payable | 4.76M | 7.38M | 29.19M | 12.51M | 44.17M | 34.83M | 9.81M | 8.92M | 34.61M | 15.99M | 10.79M | 11.18M | 10.51M | 10.51M | 9.54M | 7.64M | 2.39M | 2.33M | 1.88M | 698.74K | 606.3K | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 1.39B | 1.43B | 1.45B | 1.44B | 1.45B | 1.37B | 944M | 669.15M | 1.14B | 565.8M | 535.16M | 514.05M | 436.9M | 354.01M | 149.5M | 239.24M | 202.46M | 121.91M | 115.11M | 37.01M | 0 | 31.8M | 17.7M |
| Net Debt | 1.34B | 1.36B | 1.37B | 1.37B | 1.31B | 1.29B | 855M | 647.16M | 1.13B | 373.95M | 428.07M | 461.43M | 358.14M | 220.7M | 77.2M | 172.37M | 147.64M | 66.71M | 87.92M | 15.22M | -2.56M | 25.73M | 14.85M |
| Long-Term Debt | 1.12B | 1.43B | 1.45B | 1.44B | 1.45B | 1.37B | 944M | 669.15M | 570M | 565.8M | 535.16M | 514.05M | 436.9M | 354.01M | 149.5M | 239.24M | 202.46M | 121.91M | 115.11M | 37.01M | 0 | 31.8M | 17.7M |
| Short-Term Debt | 277.23M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 570M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 0 | 3.62M | 25.69M | 27.89M | 25.34M | 11.4M | 5.42M | 3.69M | -570M | -1.33M | 489.69K | 735.5K | -6.43M | 1.06M | 216.82M | -2.71M | 197.98K | 4.83M | 2.8M | 2.09M | 32.36M | -32.4M | -18.24M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 317.48M | 41.98M | 29.19M | 12.51M | 44.17M | 34.83M | 9.81M | 8.92M | 604.61M | 15.99M | 10.79M | 11.18M | 10.51M | 10.51M | 9.54M | 11.76M | 4.66M | 4.56M | 3.49M | 1.84M | 1.4M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 1.12B | 1.43B | 1.48B | 1.47B | 1.47B | 1.38B | 949.42M | 672.84M | 0 | 565.8M | 537.7M | 519.77M | 433.83M | 358.59M | 367.66M | 237.15M | 202.91M | 127.4M | 118.75M | 40.89M | 32.36M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 1.44B | 1.48B | 1.51B | 1.48B | 1.52B | 1.42B | 959.23M | 681.76M | 604.61M | 581.79M | 548.49M | 530.95M | 444.34M | 369.1M | 377.2M | 248.91M | 207.57M | 131.95M | 122.24M | 42.74M | 33.76M | 32.98M | 18.47M |
| Total Equity | 1.15B | 1.16B | 1.19B | 1.2B | 1.19B | 741.93M | 717.8M | 570.87M | 562.97M | 641.28M | 611.16M | 508.37M | 530.83M | 445.79M | 417.34M | 334.29M | 180.48M | 129.1M | 91.43M | 93.47M | 25.16M | 79.97M | 18.82M |
| Equity Growth % | -10.33% | -2.49% | -0.52% | 0.35% | 60.71% | 3.36% | 25.74% | 1.4% | -12.21% | 4.93% | 20.22% | -4.23% | 19.07% | 6.82% | 24.84% | 85.22% | 39.8% | 41.21% | -2.19% | 271.56% | -68.54% | 325.01% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 44.34% | 44.03% | 44.16% | 44.69% | 44% | 34.33% | 42.8% | 45.57% | 48.22% | 52.43% | 52.7% | 48.91% | 54.43% | 54.71% | 52.53% | 57.32% | 46.51% | 49.45% | 42.79% | 68.62% | 42.7% | 70.8% | 50.47% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 7.53% | 8.67% | 9.24% | 10.72% | 0.48% | 10.64% | 1.27% | 10.26% | -18.98% | -4.58% | 6.12% | 9.21% | 5.81% | 18.82% | 15.98% | 22.06% | 16.4% | 3.66% | 8.26% | 14.86% | -0% | 6.42% | -6.71% |
| Book Value per Share | 10.94 | 11.04 | 11.26 | 11.18 | 11.59 | 11.36 | 14.78 | 11.38 | 11.28 | 13.79 | 16.79 | 15.30 | 17.83 | 16.17 | 15.61 | 17.09 | 14.14 | 15.02 | 13.29 | 13.89 | 3.76 | 11.96 | 2.81 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 10.94 | 11.04 | 11.26 | 11.18 | 11.59 | 11.36 | 14.78 | 11.38 | 11.28 | 13.79 | 16.79 | 15.30 | 17.83 | 16.17 | 15.61 | 17.09 | 14.14 | 15.02 | 13.29 | 13.89 | 3.76 | 11.96 | 2.81 |
| Common Stock | 104K | 104K | 105K | 106K | 108K | 65K | 65.32K | 48.95K | 51.28K | 47.74K | 40.4K | 33.38K | 32.95K | 27.7K | 27.29K | 22.77K | 14.93K | 11.7K | 6.92K | 6.8K | 0 | 6K | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 1.86B | 1.86B | 1.85B | 1.85B | 1.86B | 1.03B | 1.03B | 853.77M | 884.89M | 823.61M | 686.84M | 549.24M | 542.12M | 409.04M | 403.32M | 318.3M | 183.6M | 136.77M | 87.84M | 86.95M | 1.5K | 78.47M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | -718.38M | -702.26M | -656.73M | -658M | -663.75M | -285.82M | -309.97M | -282.94M | -321.98M | -182.39M | 5.88M | 16.13M | 12.93M | 8.61M | 6.78M | 6.85M | 0 | 1.07M | 2.12M | 0 | -103 | 1.49M | -2.43M |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -190.69M | -81.6M | -57.04M | -24.25M | 36.72M | 13.99M | 9.12M | -3.14M | -7.68M | 1.47M | 6.52M | 3.91M | 0 | 21.25M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BBDC stock.
As of 2025, Barings BDC, Inc. (BBDC) had total assets of $2.64B including $164.2M in current assets.
Barings BDC, Inc. (BBDC) carries total debt of $1.43B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Barings BDC, Inc. (BBDC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.16B ($11.04 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Barings BDC, Inc. (BBDC) reported a current ratio of 3.91x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Fee waiver expiration overhang
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Base Stabilizes After Repositioning
Total assets held steady near $2.6B in 2026Q2, with investment securities at $2.5B, indicating a pause in portfolio expansion after prior acquisitions, per reported figures.
The balance sheet has contracted slightly from $2.8B in 2025Q3 to $2.6B in 2026Q2, suggesting a deliberate slowdown in deployment. Equity remained stable at $1.1-1.2B, but the shift from cash to securities (investment securities jumped from $71.6M to $2.5B in 2026Q2) implies a reallocation into income-generating assets. This may reflect management's focus on optimizing yield rather than growing the balance sheet, consistent with the recent earnings beat.
Funding Mix Relies on Borrowings
BBDC's loan-to-deposit ratio is not reported, but total liabilities of $1.4B against $1.1B equity indicate a leverage ratio of 1.27x, per balance sheet data.
As a BDC, BBDC does not rely on traditional deposits; instead, it funds through senior notes and credit facilities. The stable liability base suggests manageable refinancing risk, but the absence of a core deposit franchise means funding costs are market-driven. The efficiency ratio's volatility (38.9% in 2026Q2 vs. 2.9% in 2026Q1) highlights the impact of fee waivers, which may be masking true operating leverage.
Credit Recoveries Offset Weak Quarter
Loan loss provisions were negative in 2026Q2 (-$7.0M) and 2026Q1 (-$5.9M), indicating recoveries that boosted earnings, as reported in quarterly filings.
The negative provisions suggest improving credit conditions or recoveries on previously reserved loans, which is a positive signal for asset quality. However, the sharp swing in net interest income to -$19.8M in 2026Q2, despite stable assets, warrants scrutiny; it may reflect non-cash adjustments or realized losses. Investors should monitor non-accrual rates, which are not disclosed here, to assess whether the recoveries are sustainable.
Leverage Within Target Range
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 0.44 in 2026Q2, with net leverage at 1.23x, per reported figures, suggesting ample capacity for new investments.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 44% is robust for a BDC, providing a cushion against mark-to-market volatility. With net leverage at 1.23x, BBDC operates near the middle of its target range, limiting aggressive expansion without new equity issuance. This conservative posture may constrain growth but supports dividend stability, though the recent payout ratio of 149% in 2026Q2 indicates reliance on external sources or non-cash income.
Cash Buffer Thin but Manageable
Cash and bank balances fell to $51.4M in 2026Q2 from $79.8M in 2026Q1, a 36% decline, per balance sheet data, while investment securities provide secondary liquidity.
The reduction in cash suggests deployment into higher-yielding investments, but the absolute level remains modest relative to total assets. The investment securities portfolio of $2.5B, primarily loans, is less liquid than Treasuries, so BBDC may face liquidity constraints in a stress scenario. However, its access to credit facilities and the backing of MassMutual may mitigate this risk, though such support is not guaranteed.
Rate Sensitivity Cuts Both Ways
Net interest margin swung from 1.5% in 2026Q1 to -0.8% in 2026Q2, a 230 basis point drop, per reported financials, highlighting extreme rate sensitivity.
The dramatic NIM contraction suggests BBDC's floating-rate assets repriced faster than its fixed-rate liabilities, or that non-cash items distorted the quarter. In a rising rate environment, BBDC should benefit from higher yields on new loans, but the negative NIM in 2026Q2 implies either a one-time adjustment or a structural mismatch. Investors should monitor the duration of the investment portfolio and the cost of borrowings to gauge future NIM stability.
Fee Waivers Mask True Earnings Power
Temporary fee waivers and support agreements may be inflating net investment income; their expiration could reduce NII by an estimated $5-10M per quarter, based on reported expense levels.
The efficiency ratio of 2.9% in 2026Q1 is unsustainably low, indicating that Barings LLC is absorbing costs that would otherwise reduce NII. If these waivers lapse, BBDC's profitability could weaken even if the loan portfolio performs well. This overhang is the most significant non-obvious risk, as it directly impacts dividend coverage and NAV growth. The market may be pricing in a 'show-me' period until the fee structure normalizes.