Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio 4.8x · EV/EBITDA 22.7x · ROE 15.6%. (2010–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $1.0B | $924M | $509M | $376M | $393M | $545M | $351M | $330M | $334M | $381M | $261M |
| Enterprise Value | $10.6B | $10.4B | $200M | $204M | $188M | $160M | $3.6B | $139M | $225M | $167M | $188M |
| P/E Ratio → | 4.79 | 5.81 | 13.41 | — | — | — | 163.13 | 13.60 | — | 185.60 | 135.38 |
| P/S Ratio | 5.74 | 5.15 | 9.36 | — | — | — | 27.69 | 9.51 | 2.68 | 2.76 | 2.89 |
| P/B Ratio | 0.56 | 0.67 | 0.76 | 0.80 | 0.90 | 0.71 | 0.84 | 0.83 | 0.99 | 0.82 | 0.78 |
| P/FCF | 8.56 | 7.67 | 7.60 | 47.03 | 1.36 | 5.65 | 6.34 | 6.84 | 3.55 | 4.48 | 5.55 |
| P/OCF | 8.56 | 7.67 | 7.60 | 47.03 | 1.36 | 5.65 | 6.34 | 6.84 | 3.55 | 4.48 | 5.55 |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 58.18 | 3.67 | — | — | — | 287.79 | 4.00 | 1.81 | 1.21 | 2.08 |
| EV / EBITDA | 22.70 | 22.47 | 0.73 | 1.26 | — | — | 1713.78 | 5.72 | 8.67 | 83.06 | 94.76 |
| EV / EBIT | 66.34 | 22.47 | 0.73 | 1.26 | — | — | — | — | 8.67 | 83.06 | 94.76 |
| EV / FCF | — | 86.70 | 2.98 | 25.55 | 0.65 | 1.66 | 65.86 | 2.88 | 2.40 | 1.96 | 3.99 |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 97.8% | 97.8% | 100.0% | 100.0% | 101.2% | 100.0% | 79.7% | 93.1% | 93.7% | 94.9% | 94.6% |
| Operating Margin | 88.6% | 88.6% | — | — | 107.2% | — | 16.8% | 70.0% | 20.9% | 1.5% | 2.2% |
| Net Profit Margin | 88.6% | 88.6% | 69.2% | 189.5% | 107.2% | 129.8% | 16.8% | 70.0% | -35.7% | 1.5% | 2.2% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | 15.6% | 15.6% | 6.6% | -8.6% | -42.8% | -10.9% | 0.5% | 6.6% | -11.1% | 0.5% | 0.7% |
| ROA | 1.8% | 1.8% | 0.8% | -1.0% | -4.7% | -1.2% | 0.1% | 0.7% | -1.2% | 0.1% | 0.1% |
| ROIC | 2.1% | 2.1% | — | — | -62.9% | — | 0.1% | 8.4% | 8.1% | 0.6% | 0.5% |
| ROCE | 11.1% | 11.1% | — | — | -4.7% | — | 0.1% | 1.3% | 0.7% | 0.1% | 0.7% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | 7.47 | 7.47 | — | — | — | — | 8.66 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Debt / EBITDA | 22.04 | 22.04 | — | — | — | — | 1689.66 | 0.12 | 0.12 | 0.11 | 0.11 |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | 6.94 | -0.46 | -0.37 | -0.47 | -0.50 | 7.94 | -0.48 | -0.32 | -0.46 | -0.22 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 20.48 | 20.48 | -1.13 | -1.06 | — | — | 1548.91 | -7.86 | -4.17 | -106.81 | -37.13 |
| Debt / FCF | — | 79.03 | -4.62 | -21.48 | -0.71 | -3.99 | 59.52 | -3.96 | -1.15 | -2.52 | -1.56 |
| Interest Coverage | 1.52 | 1.52 | 1.16 | 0.81 | -4.19 | -8.13 | 0.08 | 0.29 | 0.37 | 0.05 | 0.13 |
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 0.09 | 0.09 | — | — | — | — | — | 0.08 | 18.93 | 13.27 | 0.04 |
| Quick Ratio | 0.09 | 0.09 | — | — | — | — | — | 0.08 | 18.93 | 13.27 | 0.04 |
| Cash Ratio | 0.07 | 0.07 | — | — | — | — | — | 0.06 | 5.97 | 10.50 | 0.03 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.02 | 0.01 | -0.00 | -0.06 | -0.01 | 0.00 | 0.01 | 0.04 | 0.03 | 0.03 |
| Inventory Turnover | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | 23.5% | 19.4% | 18.2% | 21.5% | 23.8% | 16.7% | 15.3% | 16.2% | 17.8% | 17.8% | 14.1% |
| Payout Ratio | 112.5% | 112.5% | 245.6% | — | — | — | 2520.9% | 219.7% | — | 3383.4% | 1858.1% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | 20.9% | 17.2% | 7.5% | — | — | — | 0.6% | 7.4% | — | 0.5% | 0.7% |
| FCF Yield | 11.7% | 13.0% | 13.2% | 2.1% | 73.6% | 17.7% | 15.8% | 14.6% | 28.2% | 22.3% | 18.0% |
| Buyback Yield | 0.7% | 0.8% | 0.7% | 2.6% | 6.3% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.9% | 7.9% | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 24.2% | 20.2% | 18.8% | 24.0% | 30.1% | 16.7% | 15.3% | 17.1% | 25.7% | 17.8% | 14.1% |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $128M | $65M | $45M | $37M | $24M | $13M | $11M | $10M | $8M | $5M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 16 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ORC stock.
Orchid Island Capital, Inc.'s current P/E ratio is 4.8x. The historical average is 90.1x.
Orchid Island Capital, Inc.'s current EV/EBITDA is 22.7x. This enterprise value multiple compares the company's total value (equity + debt - cash) to its EBITDA. The historical average is 27.3x.
Orchid Island Capital, Inc.'s return on equity (ROE) is 15.6%. The historical average is -2.3%.
Based on historical data, Orchid Island Capital, Inc. is trading at a P/E of 4.8x. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
Orchid Island Capital, Inc.'s current dividend yield is 23.47% with a payout ratio of 112.5%.
Orchid Island Capital, Inc. has 97.8% gross margin and 88.6% operating margin. Operating margin above 20% indicates strong pricing power and cost efficiency.
Orchid Island Capital, Inc.'s Debt/EBITDA ratio is 22.0x, indicating high leverage. A ratio above 4x may signal elevated financial risk.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Prepayment and spread risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Discount to Book Masks Earnings Volatility
ORC trades at 0.63x book value and 5.4x P/E, but P/FFO is unavailable; the implied cap rate on its Agency RMBS portfolio appears attractive relative to peers, yet earnings quality is uncertain.
The 0.63x P/B suggests the market is pricing in significant discount to net asset value, common for mREITs during rate volatility. The P/E of 5.4x is misleading due to fair value swings; without P/FFO, investors should rely on core earnings estimates. The 20.8% dividend yield is unsustainable if not backed by distributable cash flow, as the high yield may reflect market skepticism about dividend coverage.
NOI Margin Distorted by Fair Value
NOI margin averaged 97% in recent quarters, but this is an accounting artifact; the true economic margin is net interest spread, which appears compressed given interest coverage of 1.25x in 2026Q2.
The reported NOI margin of 97% in 2026Q2 is not comparable to traditional REITs, as it includes unrealized gains. The interest coverage ratio of 1.25x indicates that earnings before interest are barely covering interest expense, suggesting a thin net interest margin. This implies that profitability is highly sensitive to changes in short-term rates and prepayment speeds, and the recent EPS beat may be driven by non-recurring hedging gains.
Dividend Coverage Relies on Cash Flow
With FFO and AFFO not reported, dividend safety is uncertain; operating cash flow covered dividends at 1.28x in 2026Q2, but historical quarters show reliance on external funding, suggesting potential dividend pressure.
The absence of FFO and AFFO data is a critical gap, as these are the standard metrics for assessing mREIT dividend sustainability. The 20.8% dividend yield is exceptionally high, but if operating cash flow is volatile and sometimes insufficient, the dividend may be at risk. Investors should monitor whether the company can maintain distributions without resorting to dilutive equity raises, as seen in prior quarters.
Hidden Repo Leverage Raises Risk
Reported debt-to-equity of 8.04 likely excludes repurchase agreements, masking true leverage that may be significantly higher; interest coverage of 1.25x in 2026Q2 indicates vulnerability to margin calls.
The debt-to-equity ratio of 8.04 is already high, but for mREITs, this figure typically excludes repo borrowings, which are the primary funding source. The actual economic leverage could be 6-9x, as noted in the company intelligence. With interest coverage at 1.25x, a small increase in repo rates or a decline in asset values could trigger margin calls, forcing asset sales at unfavorable prices. The cash buffer of $813.6M provides some cushion, but it may not be sufficient in a severe liquidity event.
Concentration in Agency RMBS and IO Strips
ORC's portfolio is 100% Agency RMBS, with a significant allocation to IO and IIO strips, making it highly sensitive to prepayment speeds; occupancy metrics are not applicable, but G&A efficiency appears low due to external management.
The focus on IO and IIO strips means that prepayment rates are a critical driver of portfolio value; a rise in CPR would hurt these securities. The external management structure with Bimini Advisors may lead to higher G&A costs relative to internally managed peers, though specific G&A data is not provided. The geographic concentration is 100% US, which is typical for Agency mREITs, but the lack of diversification across property types is not a concern for this business model.
P/E Misleads in Mortgage REITs
The standard P/E ratio is commonly misapplied to mREITs like ORC because depreciation and fair value adjustments distort earnings; investors should use P/FFO or P/AFFO, which are not reported here.
For mortgage REITs, P/E is deeply misleading because net income includes unrealized gains and losses on securities and derivatives, which are non-cash and volatile. The P/E of 5.4x may appear cheap, but it does not reflect the true earning power of the portfolio. The appropriate metric is P/FFO or P/AFFO, which adjust for these items, but these are unavailable in the data. Analysts should also consider the implied cap rate (NOI/enterprise value) to compare against private market transactions, though NOI is distorted here.