Total assets expanded 8.5% year-over-year to $85.9B, driven by an 11% increase in investment securities to $75.8B, while equity-to-assets remained stable at 11%, indicating a solid but not fortress-like capital position.
Webster Financial Corporation (WBS) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 29.41B | 2.46B | 2.08B | 10.68B | 8.73B | 4.7B | 3.59B | 3.18B | 3.23B | 2.89B | 3.21B | 3.34B | 3.19B | 3.35B | 3.49B | 3.17B | 212.66M | 951.8M | 281.44M | 306.65M | 311.89M | 295.96M | 266.45M | 209.79M | 282.06M | 254.84M | 266.79M | 283.62M | 230.96M | 228.4M | 109.7M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 2.72B | 2.45B | 2.07B | 1.72B | 839.94M | 461.57M | 263.1M | 257.89M | 329.5M | 256.79M | 220.12M | 355.6M | 394.24M | 247.29M | 350.49M | 292.02M | 212.66M | 561.49M | 259.21M | 306.65M | 311.89M | 293.71M | 266.45M | 209.23M | 282.06M | 254.84M | 266.79M | 283.62M | 230.96M | 228.4M | 109.7M |
| Short Term Investments | 18.3B | 12.49M | 6.32M | 8.96B | 7.89B | 4.23B | 3.33B | 2.93B | 2.9B | 2.64B | 2.99B | 2.98B | 2.79B | 3.11B | 3.14B | 2.87B | 0 | 390.31M | 22.23M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 75.83B | 72.63B | 68.08B | 64.82B | 62.02B | 31.79B | 29.6B | 27.55B | 25.03B | 23.95B | 23.46B | 21.85B | 19.95B | 19.03B | 18.2B | 16.9B | 16.23B | 15.49B | 15.72B | 15.37B | 15.13B | 16.14B | 15.43B | 13.53B | 12.32B | 10.87B | 10.22B | 9.09B | 9.17B | 8.59B | 5.22B |
| Investments Growth % | 28.06% | 6.68% | 5.02% | 4.51% | 95.12% | 7.39% | 7.44% | 10.08% | 4.51% | 2.07% | 7.39% | 9.53% | 4.8% | 4.56% | 7.72% | 4.08% | 4.79% | -1.42% | 2.24% | 1.63% | -6.29% | 4.58% | 14.11% | 9.78% | 13.35% | 6.31% | 12.49% | -0.88% | 6.81% | 64.46% | 77.76% |
| Long-Term Investments | 275.03B | 72.61B | 68.07B | 55.86B | 54.13B | 27.55B | 26.27B | 24.63B | 22.13B | 21.31B | 20.47B | 18.86B | 17.15B | 15.93B | 15.07B | 14.02B | 16.23B | 15.1B | 15.69B | 15.37B | 15.13B | 16.14B | 15.43B | 13.53B | 12.32B | 10.87B | 10.22B | 9.09B | 9.17B | 8.59B | 5.22B |
| Accounts Receivables | 2.24B | 0 | 0 | 1.89B | 1.62B | 531.47M | 626.55M | 455.38M | 313.26M | 286.68M | 294.46M | 343.86M | 301.67M | 260.69M | 259.74M | 237.04M | 259.19M | 318.23M | 260.22M | 80.43M | 90.56M | 85.78M | 63.41M | 52.76M | 54.6M | 54.29M | 69.73M | 58.92M | 60.65M | 52.7M | 35.4M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 3.19B | 3.21B | 3.2B | 2.83B | 2.71B | 556.24M | 560.76M | 560.29M | 564.14M | 567.98M | 572.05M | 577.7M | 532.55M | 535.24M | 540.16M | 545.58M | 551.16M | 556.75M | 563.93M | 80.43M | 90.56M | 85.78M | 63.41M | 52.76M | 54.6M | 54.29M | 69.73M | 58.92M | 60.65M | 52.7M | 35.4M |
| Goodwill | 2.9B | 2.9B | 2.87B | 2.63B | 2.51B | 538.37M | 538.37M | 538.37M | 538.37M | 538.37M | 538.37M | 538.37M | 529.89M | 529.89M | 529.89M | 529.89M | 529.89M | 529.89M | 529.89M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 290.51M | 313.23M | 334.3M | 203.13M | 199.34M | 17.87M | 22.38M | 21.92M | 25.76M | 29.61M | 33.67M | 39.33M | 2.67M | 5.35M | 10.27M | 15.69M | 21.28M | 26.86M | 34.04M | 80.43M | 90.56M | 85.78M | 63.41M | 52.76M | 54.6M | 54.29M | 69.73M | 58.92M | 60.65M | 52.7M | 35.4M |
| PP&E (Net) | 429.27M | 432.04M | 406.96M | 429.56M | 430.18M | 204.56M | 226.74M | 270.41M | 124.85M | 130M | 137.41M | 129.43M | 121.93M | 121.61M | 134.56M | 147.38M | 157.72M | 178.42M | 185.93M | 193.06M | 191.49M | 182.86M | 149.07M | 95.63M | 84.68M | 82.81M | 94.26M | 103.4M | 93.26M | 71.9M | 58.7M |
| Other Assets | 1.3B | 5.16B | 3.73B | 3.46B | 3.29B | 1.18B | 1.27B | 1.16B | 967.22M | 946.35M | 965.05M | 1.03B | 930.55M | 589.41M | 590.25M | 450.91M | 453.58M | 430.36M | 409.19M | 481.71M | 599.43M | 434.3M | 413.61M | 355.13M | 429.06M | 276.35M | 268.3M | 257.84M | 197.99M | 79.2M | 133.8M |
| Total Current Assets | 23.27B | 2.46B | 3.3B | 11.98B | 10.34B | 5.32B | 4.18B | 3.72B | 3.73B | 3.44B | 3.84B | 3.94B | 3.72B | 3.61B | 3.75B | 3.44B | 529.4M | 1.35B | 541.66M | 387.09M | 402.45M | 381.74M | 329.86M | 262.55M | 336.66M | 309.13M | 336.52M | 342.54M | 291.61M | 281.1M | 145.1M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 62.68B | 81.61B | 75.73B | 62.96B | 60.94B | 29.6B | 28.41B | 26.67B | 23.88B | 23.05B | 22.23B | 20.71B | 18.81B | 17.24B | 16.4B | 15.27B | 17.49B | 16.39B | 17.04B | 16.7B | 16.69B | 17.45B | 16.69B | 14.31B | 13.13B | 11.55B | 10.91B | 9.59B | 9.54B | 8.81B | 5.46B |
| Total Assets | 85.95B | 84.07B | 79.03B | 74.95B | 71.28B | 34.92B | 32.59B | 30.39B | 27.61B | 26.49B | 26.07B | 24.64B | 22.53B | 20.85B | 20.15B | 18.71B | 18.03B | 17.74B | 17.58B | 17.2B | 17.1B | 17.84B | 17.02B | 14.57B | 13.47B | 11.86B | 11.25B | 9.93B | 9.84B | 9.1B | 5.61B |
| Asset Growth % | 22.63% | 6.39% | 5.44% | 5.15% | 104.14% | 7.13% | 7.24% | 10.07% | 4.24% | 1.59% | 5.81% | 9.35% | 8.06% | 3.51% | 7.65% | 3.77% | 1.66% | 0.89% | 2.22% | 0.62% | -4.15% | 4.79% | 16.83% | 8.17% | 13.58% | 5.4% | 13.27% | 0.97% | 8.14% | 62.22% | 74.15% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.2% | 1.23% | 1% | 1.19% | 1.21% | 1.21% | 0.7% | 1.32% | 1.33% | 0.97% | 0.82% | 0.87% | 0.92% | 0.88% | 0.89% | 0.82% | 0.4% | -0.43% | -1.85% | 0.56% | 0.77% | 1.06% | 0.97% | 1.16% | 1.21% | 1.15% | 1.12% | 0.96% | 0.82% | 0.65% | 1.22% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 4.47B | 4.32B | 3.36B | 3.87B | 7.69B | 1.39B | 1.88B | 3.7B | 2.63B | 2.55B | 4.02B | 4.04B | 4.34B | 3.61B | 3.24B | 2.97B | 2.44B | 1.99B | 3.59B | 2.94B | 2.59B | 4.38B | 4.7B | 4.94B | 4.46B | 3.53B | 3.03B | 2.79B | 2.58B | 2.55B | 726M |
| Net Debt | 1.75B | 1.87B | 1.29B | 2.15B | 6.85B | 932.06M | 1.62B | 3.45B | 2.31B | 2.29B | 3.8B | 3.69B | 3.94B | 3.37B | 2.89B | 2.68B | 2.23B | 1.43B | 3.34B | 2.63B | 2.28B | 4.08B | 4.43B | 4.73B | 4.17B | 3.28B | 2.76B | 2.5B | 2.34B | 2.32B | 616.3M |
| Long-Term Debt | 4.4B | 750.17M | 919.29M | 1.06B | 6.53B | 573.93M | 700.83M | 2.49B | 2.05B | 1.9B | 3.07B | 2.89B | 3.09B | 2.13B | 2.16B | 1.81B | 1.35B | 1.13B | 2.02B | 1.7B | 1.7B | 1.64B | 1.66B | 1.58B | 2.29B | 2.53B | 2.38B | 880.58M | 246.85M | 197.5M | 97.8M |
| Short-Term Debt | 73.39M | 3.57B | 2.44B | 2.81B | 1.15B | 674.9M | 995.36M | 1.04B | 581.87M | 643.27M | 949.53M | 1.15B | 1.25B | 1.48B | 1.08B | 1.16B | 1.09B | 856.85M | 1.57B | 1.24B | 893.21M | 2.74B | 3.04B | 3.36B | 2.17B | 1B | 650.15M | 1.91B | 2.33B | 2.35B | 628.2M |
| Other Liabilities | 1.43B | 1.5B | 1.78B | 1.6B | 0 | -144.8M | -24.41M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 160.71M | 164.48M | 171.32M | 196.93M | 97.69M | 239.92M | 91.5M | 187.81M | 116.96M | 121.42M | 115.4M | 86.8M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 70.36B | 72.33B | 67.2B | 63.59B | 56.69B | 30.93B | 28.52B | 24.52B | 22.67B | 21.88B | 20.48B | 19.34B | 17.12B | 16.51B | 15.89B | 15.06B | 14.9B | 14.65B | 13.68B | 13.59B | 13.35B | 14.37B | 13.61B | 11.73B | 9.77B | 8.07B | 7.59B | 8.1B | 8.64B | 8.07B | 5.09B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 5.83B | 2.25B | 2.69B | 2.66B | 6.53B | 551.15M | 834.69M | 2.66B | 2.05B | 1.9B | 3.07B | 2.89B | 3.09B | 2.13B | 2.16B | 1.81B | 1.35B | 1.13B | 2.02B | 1.86B | 1.86B | 1.81B | 1.86B | 1.68B | 2.53B | 2.62B | 2.57B | 997.54M | 368.27M | 312.9M | 184.6M |
| Total Liabilities | 76.19B | 74.58B | 69.89B | 66.26B | 63.22B | 31.48B | 29.36B | 27.18B | 24.72B | 23.79B | 23.55B | 22.23B | 20.21B | 18.64B | 18.05B | 16.87B | 16.26B | 15.78B | 15.7B | 15.46B | 15.21B | 16.18B | 15.47B | 13.41B | 12.3B | 10.69B | 10.16B | 9.1B | 9.01B | 8.38B | 5.27B |
| Total Equity | 9.76B | 9.49B | 9.13B | 8.69B | 8.06B | 3.44B | 3.23B | 3.21B | 2.89B | 2.7B | 2.53B | 2.41B | 2.32B | 2.21B | 2.09B | 1.85B | 1.78B | 1.96B | 1.88B | 1.75B | 1.88B | 1.66B | 1.55B | 1.16B | 1.17B | 1.17B | 1.09B | 835.24M | 826.03M | 711.9M | 336.8M |
| Equity Growth % | 15.35% | 3.93% | 5.1% | 7.87% | 134.31% | 6.3% | 0.84% | 11.13% | 6.83% | 6.92% | 4.68% | 3.92% | 5.14% | 5.52% | 13.42% | 3.76% | -9.15% | 3.94% | 7.88% | -7.3% | 13.7% | 6.65% | 33.64% | -0.33% | 0.02% | 6.98% | 30.49% | 1.12% | 16.03% | 111.37% | 60.38% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 11.36% | 11.29% | 11.56% | 11.6% | 11.3% | 9.85% | 9.92% | 10.56% | 10.45% | 10.2% | 9.69% | 9.8% | 10.31% | 10.59% | 10.39% | 9.86% | 9.86% | 11.04% | 10.71% | 10.15% | 11.02% | 9.29% | 9.13% | 7.98% | 8.66% | 9.83% | 9.69% | 8.41% | 8.4% | 7.83% | 6.01% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 10.66% | 10.77% | 8.63% | 10.36% | 11.21% | 12.25% | 6.85% | 12.56% | 12.9% | 9.77% | 8.38% | 8.64% | 8.81% | 8.34% | 8.82% | 8.35% | 3.87% | -3.94% | -17.68% | 5.33% | 7.56% | 11.54% | 11.33% | 14.02% | 13.1% | 11.81% | 12.29% | 11.48% | 10.15% | 9.08% | 19.75% |
| Book Value per Share | 60.93 | 59.11 | 53.66 | 50.13 | 47.69 | 38.12 | 35.88 | 34.91 | 31.30 | 29.26 | 27.51 | 26.37 | 25.63 | 24.48 | 22.84 | 20.13 | 21.65 | 30.63 | 36.21 | 31.75 | 34.84 | 30.55 | 30.09 | 24.85 | 24.10 | 23.44 | 23.50 | 18.40 | 17.89 | 26.01 | 14.09 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 41.03 | 39.11 | 34.85 | 33.78 | 31.63 | 31.95 | 29.66 | 28.81 | 25.18 | 23.11 | 21.28 | 20.06 | 19.76 | 18.55 | 16.95 | 14.18 | 14.94 | 21.92 | 25.37 | 30.29 | 33.17 | 28.97 | 28.87 | 23.72 | 22.97 | 22.35 | 21.99 | 17.10 | 16.58 | 24.09 | 12.61 |
| Common Stock | 1.83M | 1.83M | 1.83M | 1.83M | 1.83M | 937K | 937K | 937K | 937K | 937K | 937K | 937K | 936K | 934K | 907K | 907K | 907K | 820K | 566K | 566K | 564K | 541K | 536K | 495K | 495K | 495K | 495K | 452K | 457K | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 6.15B | 6.18B | 6.18B | 6.18B | 6.17B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 1.12B | 1.13B | 1.12B | 1.13B | 1.13B | 1.15B | 1.15B | 1.16B | 1.01B | 733.49M | 734.6M | 726.89M | 619.64M | 605.7M | 416.01M | 415.07M | 415.19M | 416.33M | 301.34M | 308.79M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 4.84B | 4.48B | 3.76B | 3.28B | 2.71B | 2.33B | 2.08B | 2.06B | 1.83B | 1.6B | 1.43B | 1.32B | 1.2B | 1.08B | 1B | 865.43M | 741.87M | 708.02M | 783.88M | 1.18B | 1.15B | 1.08B | 942.83M | 833.36M | 707.53M | 590.25M | 490.08M | 400.41M | 325.81M | 258M | 169.6M |
| Accumulated OCI | -447.72M | -350.84M | -556.38M | -550.57M | -684.96M | -22.58M | 42.26M | -36.07M | -130.65M | -91.53M | -76.99M | -78.11M | -56.26M | -48.55M | -32.27M | -60.2M | -13.71M | -28.39M | -105.91M | -15.9M | -3.32M | -27.88M | -4.54M | 15.75M | 46.68M | 10.66M | -3.17M | -63.26M | 19.32M | 20.5M | 2M |
| Treasury Stock | -1.07B | -1.1B | -536.84M | -507.52M | -431.76M | -126.95M | -140.66M | -76.73M | -71.5M | -70.43M | -70.9M | -71.85M | -103.29M | -100.92M | -172.81M | -134.64M | -149.46M | -161.91M | -154.22M | -166.26M | 0 | -21.07M | -547K | -112.71M | -134.32M | -10.14M | -13.36M | -3.27M | -27.91M | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 283.98M | 283.98M | 283.98M | 283.98M | 283.98M | 145.04M | 145.04M | 145.04M | 145.04M | 145.06M | 122.71M | 122.71M | 151.65M | 151.65M | 151.65M | 28.94M | 28.94M | 422.11M | 616.33M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.58M | 49.58M | 49.58M | 49.58M | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying WBS stock.
As of 2025, Webster Financial Corporation (WBS) had total assets of $84.07B including $2.46B in current assets.
Webster Financial Corporation (WBS) carries total debt of $4.32B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Webster Financial Corporation (WBS) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $9.49B ($59.11 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Webster Financial Corporation (WBS) reported a current ratio of 0.03x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Fee income volatility and NIM compression
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Steady Asset Expansion Led by Securities
Total assets grew 8.5% year-over-year to $85.9B in 2026Q2, driven primarily by a $6.0B increase in investment securities, as per reported figures.
The balance sheet expansion has been consistent, with sequential growth of 0.4% in 2026Q2, but the composition reveals a reliance on securities rather than loan growth. Investment securities now constitute 88% of total assets, up from 86% a year ago, suggesting a strategic shift toward liquid, lower-yielding assets. This may indicate subdued loan demand or a defensive posture, which could pressure future NIM if the securities portfolio yields remain low.
Deposit Base Stability Underpins Funding
Loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but stable deposit flows and consistent cash levels suggest a reliable core funding base, according to financial statements.
While specific deposit composition data is unavailable, the stability in cash and bank balances, which ranged between $1.3B and $3.2B over the past year, implies no significant deposit outflows. The absence of wholesale funding reliance is inferred from the stable liability structure, which grew in line with assets. Investors should monitor deposit betas in a falling rate environment, as the cost of interest-bearing deposits may not decline as quickly as asset yields, potentially compressing NIM.
Credit Quality Improving with Lower Provisions
Provision for loan losses declined to $31.5M in 2026Q2 from $77.5M in 2025Q1, a 59% reduction, based on reported figures, signaling improving credit conditions.
The downward trend in provisions, alongside stable NII, suggests that credit quality is stabilizing or improving. However, the provision coverage ratio is not disclosed, and the absolute level of provisions remains modest relative to the loan book. The decline in provisions may also reflect a more benign macroeconomic outlook, but investors should watch for any uptick in charge-offs that could reverse this trend.
Capital Ratios Stable but Modest
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 11% in 2026Q2, unchanged from the prior year, as per financial statements, indicating a stable but not fortress-like capital position.
With equity of $9.8B against $85.9B in assets, the leverage ratio is adequate but leaves limited buffer for aggressive capital deployment. The consistent ROE of around 2.7% suggests that earnings retention is modest, and the bank may be constrained in its ability to grow organically or return capital. Regulatory capital ratios (CET1, Tier 1) are not disclosed, but the stable equity ratio implies no significant deterioration.
Liquidity Position Bolstered by Securities
Investment securities grew to $75.8B in 2026Q2, up 11% year-over-year, providing a substantial liquidity buffer, as reported in financial statements.
The securities portfolio, which includes liquid assets, represents a significant source of contingent liquidity. Cash and bank balances of $2.7B add to this buffer, though they have declined from $3.1B in 2025Q3. The shift toward securities may reflect a defensive stance, but it also exposes the bank to interest rate risk if rates rise, as unrealized losses could impact capital. The lack of disclosed wholesale funding suggests a reliance on core deposits, which is generally favorable.
NIM Stability Hinges on Rate Path
Net interest margin remained at 0.7% in 2026Q2, unchanged from the prior quarter, but down from 0.8% a year earlier, based on reported figures.
The stable NIM suggests that the bank has managed its asset yields and funding costs effectively in a flat rate environment. However, the low absolute level of NIM indicates a challenging interest rate environment, and any future rate cuts could compress margins further. The efficiency ratio improvement to 34.4% in 2026Q2 provides some offset, but the sustainability of this improvement is uncertain given the volatility in fee income.
What Could Invalidate the Base Case
The sharp swing in non-interest income from $0 in 2026Q1 to $107.2M in 2026Q2, as per financial statements, raises questions about earnings quality and sustainability.
The dramatic fluctuation in fee income, coupled with a low NIM of 0.7%, suggests that reported profitability may be more volatile than it appears. If the 2026Q2 fee income is non-recurring, future earnings could disappoint, potentially impacting capital retention and the bank's ability to maintain its dividend. Additionally, the heavy reliance on investment securities (88% of assets) exposes the balance sheet to interest rate risk, and any significant unrealized losses in the securities portfolio could erode capital, warranting close monitoring.