Operating cash flow averaged 1.4x net income over the last four quarters, supporting organic growth, while dividends rose to $48.6M in Q2 2026 from $41.4M a year earlier, reflecting a conservative capital return policy.
Associated Banc-Corp (ASB) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 719.01M | 615.69M | 580.25M | 442.74M | 846.57M | 529.55M | 550.02M | 574.26M | 496.57M | 458.37M | 641.38M | 301.21M | 199.51M | 477.96M | 350.48M | 309.79M | 509.42M | 121.76M | 437.86M | 291.38M | 330.16M | 328.39M | 358.32M | 496.8M | 298.58M | -409K | 189.15M | 270.1M | 138.6M | 150.8M | 174.2M |
| Operating CF Growth % | 140.35% | 6.11% | 31.06% | -47.7% | 59.86% | -3.72% | -4.22% | 15.65% | 8.33% | -28.53% | 112.94% | 50.97% | -58.26% | 36.37% | 13.14% | -39.19% | 318.38% | -72.19% | 50.27% | -11.75% | 0.54% | -8.35% | -27.87% | 66.39% | 73103.42% | -100.22% | -29.97% | 94.88% | -8.09% | -13.43% | 34.21% |
| Net Income | 505.06M | 474.78M | 123.14M | 182.96M | 366.12M | 350.99M | 306.77M | 326.79M | 333.56M | 229.26M | 200.27M | 188.3M | 190.51M | 188.69M | 178.97M | 139.7M | -856K | -131.86M | 168.45M | 285.75M | 316.64M | 320.16M | 258.29M | 228.66M | 210.72M | 179.52M | 167.98M | 164.9M | 157M | 52.4M | 107.7M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 66.03M | 102.14M | 102.51M | 94.31M | 68.88M | 70.44M | 108.45M | 104.1M | 77.63M | 96.49M | 106.47M | 101.67M | 93.24M | 114.21M | 126.25M | 129.84M | 120.68M | 36.17M | 35.21M | 54.55M | 65.37M | 82.64M | 38.67M | 67.74M | 18.7M | 50.28M | 39.65M | 40.7M | 22.6M | 25.1M | 21.7M |
| Deferred Taxes | 11.79M | 35.51M | 34.84M | 34.25M | 34.68M | 34.07M | 25.56M | 20.06M | 19.43M | 41.24M | 15.93M | -422K | 9.89M | 25.92M | 54.29M | 34.74M | 50.81M | -134.83M | -41.55M | 9.47M | 19.64M | -684K | -23.1M | -13.2M | -14.88M | 16.65M | -13.94M | 4.5M | 9.9M | -21M | -4.3M |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 29.18M | 16.48M | 326.53M | 247.8M | 129.65M | -130.1M | 277.51M | 213.56M | -22.5M | 121.82M | 305.05M | 19.05M | -90.74M | 149.28M | -56.21M | -77.5M | 290.5M | 790.34M | 270.23M | -29.6M | -41.89M | -86.27M | 39.13M | 246.04M | 111.06M | -251.62M | -9.2M | 67.5M | -50.2M | 60.4M | 32.9M |
| Working Capital Changes | 106.96M | -13.21M | -6.78M | -116.57M | 247.24M | 204.15M | -168.27M | -90.25M | 88.45M | -30.44M | 13.67M | -7.39M | -3.39M | -136K | 47.17M | 83M | 48.29M | -438.06M | 5.51M | -28.79M | -29.6M | 12.55M | 45.34M | -32.43M | -27.02M | 4.76M | 4.66M | -7.5M | -800K | 33.9M | 16.2M |
| Cash from Investing | -2.29B | -1.62B | -2.22B | -1.44B | -5.25B | -1.58B | -793.74M | 1.62B | -380.87M | -1.4B | -1.65B | -1.53B | -2.12B | -1.25B | -1.63B | -472.54M | 616.77M | 1.03B | -2.48B | -245.62M | 1.2B | 20.01M | -1.27B | -551.03M | -534.85M | -28.78M | -474.48M | -996.3M | -182.9M | -616.6M | -519.7M |
| Purchase of Investments | -3.01B | -1.96B | -3.32B | -1.98B | -1.26B | -3.37B | -1.77B | -883.81M | -1.48B | -1.43B | -1.52B | -3.13B | -1.33B | -2.09B | -2.12B | -777.31M | -3.37B | -3.68B | -2.71B | -1.46B | -1.02B | -1B | -1.33B | -1.76B | -1.62B | -664.33M | -933.2M | -1.21B | -802.4M | -519.9M | -1.35B |
| Sale/Maturity of Investments | 2.68B | 1.33B | 2.42B | 1.26B | 800.98M | 1.68B | 2.42B | 2.19B | 1.45B | 942.71M | 1.62B | 2.72B | 970.47M | 1.43B | 1.99B | 1.95B | 3B | 3.07B | 1.2B | 1.41B | 2.29B | 1.35B | 915.67M | 1.32B | 1.66B | 783.25M | 1.02B | 959.4M | 948.3M | 379.4M | 1.18B |
| Net Investment Activity | -325.91M | -630.94M | -890.47M | -719.57M | -460.05M | -1.69B | 644M | 1.31B | -24.7M | -482.63M | 99.19M | -406.62M | -355.74M | -656.49M | -132.57M | 1.18B | -369.72M | -613.21M | -1.51B | -47.42M | 1.27B | 353.48M | -412.01M | -443.94M | 37.92M | 118.92M | 87.75M | -251.1M | 145.9M | -140.5M | -169.4M |
| Acquisitions | 220.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.42M | 224.99M | 551.25M | 59.47M | 339K | -685K | 1.13M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -33.8M | 0 | 25.15M | 29.27M | -18.02M | 17.98M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Investing | -2.14B | -957.5M | -1.28B | -654.87M | -4.73B | 157.28M | -1.61B | -172.18M | -349.79M | -867.19M | -1.65B | -1.07B | -1.71B | -529.02M | -1.42B | -1.57B | 1.02B | 1.66B | -943.04M | -129.58M | -52.87M | -342.71M | -870.58M | -75.77M | -577.89M | -140M | -550.4M | -724.7M | -298.5M | -464.3M | -322.8M |
| Cash from Financing | 2.14B | 1.71B | 1.73B | 1.3B | 4B | 1.36B | 371.02M | -2.48B | 44.98M | 1.01B | 1.18B | 674.23M | 2.35B | 639.65M | 1.4B | -88.82M | -1.08B | -897.98M | 2.03B | 59.36M | -1.54B | -314.18M | 968.18M | 9.08M | 75.84M | 238.1M | 367.68M | 503.9M | 274.1M | 385.9M | 377.6M |
| Dividends Paid | -176.04M | -167.27M | -150.7M | -141.03M | -134.64M | -133.17M | -130.38M | -127.01M | -116.3M | -85.76M | -76.76M | -69.56M | -63.71M | -60.15M | -44.83M | -21.2M | -33.2M | -86.6M | -162.35M | -155.81M | -151.24M | -138.97M | -112.56M | -98.17M | -90.17M | -80.55M | -75.72M | -73.7M | -65.8M | -49.3M | -39.6M |
| Share Repurchases | -33.05M | -29.02M | -24.52M | -6.59M | -6.48M | -137.8M | -77.37M | -186.08M | -247.21M | -46.32M | -25.08M | -98.15M | -262.81M | -123.35M | -61.65M | -659K | -830K | -599K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock Issued | 14.83M | 6.89M | 331.02M | 4.3M | 0 | 0 | 3.97M | 11.22M | 18.41M | 27.62M | 21.75M | 20.05M | 13.23M | 9.3M | 0 | 0 | 478.36M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Net Stock Activity | -18.22M | -22.14M | 306.5M | -2.3M | -6.48M | -137.8M | -73.4M | -174.86M | -228.8M | -18.7M | -3.33M | -78.1M | -249.58M | -114.04M | -61.65M | -659K | 477.53M | -599K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Financing | 2.35B | 904.12M | 1.22B | 3.81B | 1.18B | 2.01B | 2.27B | -1.84B | 270.48M | 897.51M | 880.78M | 2.24B | 1.5B | 328.91M | 1.86B | -134.74M | -1.5B | 1.57B | 1.72B | -631.75M | 746.23M | -261.37M | 293.47M | 669.3M | -271.2M | -678.13M | 610.98M | -355.5M | 45.6M | 337M | 163.7M |
| Net Change in Cash | 570.69M | 700.62M | 95.78M | 302.37M | -404.06M | 309.47M | 127.3M | -287.95M | 160.68M | 73.78M | 168.55M | -558.38M | 429.82M | -135.63M | 121.28M | -251.57M | 47.47M | 249.96M | -16.42M | 105.11M | -10.26M | 34.22M | 58.21M | -45.15M | -160.42M | 208.92M | 82.35M | -222.3M | 229.8M | -79.7M | -337.9M |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash at Beginning | 1.39B | 1.02B | 923.82M | 621.46M | 1.03B | 716.05M | 588.74M | 876.7M | 716.02M | 642.23M | 473.69M | 1.03B | 602.25M | 737.87M | 616.6M | 868.16M | 820.69M | 570.73M | 587.15M | 482.04M | 492.3M | 458.07M | 399.86M | 445.01M | 605.44M | 396.52M | 314.17M | 536.5M | 306.7M | 369.8M | 337.9M |
| Cash at End | 1.83B | 1.72B | 1.02B | 923.82M | 621.46M | 1.03B | 716.05M | 588.74M | 876.7M | 716.02M | 642.23M | 473.69M | 1.03B | 602.25M | 737.87M | 616.6M | 868.16M | 820.69M | 570.73M | 587.15M | 482.04M | 492.3M | 458.07M | 399.86M | 445.01M | 605.44M | 396.52M | 314.2M | 536.5M | 290.2M | 408.8M |
| Interest Paid | 500.05M | 988.32M | 1.08B | 838.83M | 174.68M | 81.6M | 159.29M | 332.92M | 261.72M | 138.17M | 88.27M | 73.05M | 54.33M | 65.55M | 97.94M | 129.72M | 175.78M | 265.5M | 438M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Income Taxes Paid | 217K | 0 | 17.75M | 69.42M | 18.39M | 57.73M | 17.73M | 41.13M | 18.34M | 81.45M | 75.56M | 84.41M | 72.43M | 49.2M | 0 | 10.84M | 93.72M | 46.21M | 85.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Free Cash Flow | 679.64M | 579.32M | 535.26M | 380.93M | 783.86M | 477.27M | 495.14M | 506.8M | 430.71M | 411M | 537.5M | 246.57M | 149.11M | 410.24M | 266.51M | 233.14M | 474.83M | 98.97M | 406.38M | 256.56M | 312.01M | 312.48M | 343.35M | 483.51M | 285.72M | -8.11M | 177.32M | 249.6M | 108.3M | 139M | 146.7M |
| FCF Growth % | 33.56% | 8.23% | 40.52% | -51.4% | 64.24% | -3.61% | -2.3% | 17.67% | 4.8% | -23.54% | 117.99% | 65.36% | -63.65% | 53.93% | 14.31% | -50.9% | 379.78% | -75.65% | 58.4% | -17.77% | -0.15% | -8.99% | -28.99% | 69.23% | 3622.62% | -104.57% | -28.96% | 130.47% | -22.09% | -5.25% | 20.15% |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying ASB stock.
Associated Banc-Corp (ASB) generated $615.7M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Associated Banc-Corp (ASB) generated $579.3M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Associated Banc-Corp (ASB) spent $36.4M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Associated Banc-Corp (ASB) returned $167.3M to shareholders via cash dividends and spent $29.0M on share repurchases. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
CRE concentration in softening markets
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Earnings Retention Supports Organic Growth
ASB's operating cash flow averaged 1.4x net income over the last four quarters, per reported figures, indicating strong earnings retention that may fund loan growth without external capital.
The OCF/NI ratio has consistently exceeded 1.0 since Q3 2025, with Q2 2026 at 1.68, suggesting that non-cash items like provisions and depreciation are boosting cash generation. This internal capital generation appears sufficient to support the bank's organic expansion in C&I lending, as highlighted by management, while maintaining a stable dividend. However, the Q2 2026 EPS miss warrants monitoring to ensure earnings quality remains intact.
Securities Portfolio Churn Reflects Yield Management
Investment purchases outpaced sales by $1.4B in Q2 2026, per cash flow data, indicating active portfolio repositioning to capture higher yields amid a stable NIM.
The bank has been a net buyer of securities in most quarters, with Q2 2026 showing the largest net purchase ($1.4B) in the series, likely to deploy excess liquidity. This activity may indicate a strategy to extend duration or rotate into higher-yielding assets, though it also increases interest rate risk. The consistent churn suggests management is actively managing the portfolio to support NIM, which has held at 0.7% for five quarters.
Loan Growth Outpaces Deposit Inflows
Cash flow data shows no direct loan origination figures, but strong C&I growth reported by management suggests loan demand is absorbing available liquidity, potentially pressuring funding.
While the cash flow statement does not break out loan originations, the reported double-digit C&I growth implies that loan disbursements are a significant use of cash, likely funded by deposit inflows and securities sales. The net securities sales in Q2 2026 ($1.5B) may have been used to fund loan growth, indicating a shift from investment securities to higher-yielding loans. This trend, if sustained, could improve NIM but may also increase credit risk, especially given the CRE concentration concerns.
Dividend Stability Amid Modest Buybacks
Dividends paid rose to $48.6M in Q2 2026 from $41.4M a year earlier, per cash flow data, while buybacks remained minimal, suggesting a conservative capital return policy.
The bank has consistently paid dividends, with a slight increase in Q2 2026, reflecting confidence in earnings stability. Buybacks are negligible, totaling less than $1M per quarter, indicating management prefers to retain capital for organic growth and regulatory buffers. This approach aligns with the bank's historical conservative capital allocation, but investors should monitor whether dividend growth keeps pace with earnings, especially if credit costs rise.
Deposit Growth Improves but Mix Remains Key
Management commentary highlights improving annual deposit growth through mid-2026, per recent statements, which may support funding stability and reduce reliance on wholesale funding.
While the cash flow statement does not detail deposit flows, the reported improvement in deposit growth suggests a positive trend in core funding. The bank's dominant market share in Wisconsin likely provides a stable, low-cost deposit base, which may keep deposit betas low and protect margins. However, the mix between interest-bearing and non-interest-bearing deposits is not disclosed, and a shift toward higher-cost deposits could pressure NIM in a rising rate environment.
Provisions Rise, Signaling Caution
Loan loss provisions increased to $19.4M in Q2 2026 from $11.0M in Q1, per cash flow data, suggesting a potential uptick in credit risk or reserve building.
The sequential increase in provisions aligns with the income statement's provision expense spike, indicating management may be responding to softening CRE markets or broader economic uncertainty. However, net charge-offs are not disclosed in the cash flow data, so it is unclear whether provisions are outpacing actual losses. If provisions continue to rise without corresponding charge-offs, it may indicate reserve building, which could be prudent but also signals caution about asset quality.
What the Cash Flow Statement Hides
The cash flow statement does not reveal off-balance-sheet commitments or AOCI impacts, per available data, which may obscure true liquidity and capital flexibility.
While the cash flow data shows strong operating cash generation, it does not disclose undrawn credit commitments or the unrealized losses in the securities portfolio that could affect AOCI and regulatory capital. The bank's heavy securities activity may mask duration risk, and the lack of detail on deposit mix and loan originations limits full assessment of funding stability. Investors should monitor these off-statement factors, as they could influence capital adequacy and earnings quality beyond what the cash flow statement alone suggests.