The balance sheet shows elevated leverage (D/E of 4.65) and a shrinking asset base (down 16.7% to $19.4B), with equity eroding 19.5% to $3.3B and cash reserves down 35.3% to $432.8M, indicating tightening liquidity and potential credit risk in the loan book.
Blackstone Mortgage Trust, Inc. (BXMT) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 19.4B | 20B | 19.8B | 24.04B | 25.35B | 22.7B | 16.96B | 16.55B | 14.47B | 10.26B | 8.81B | 9.38B | 4.59B | 2.21B | 322.34M | 1.37B | 4.12B | 1.94B | 2.84B | 3.21B | 2.65B | 1.56B | 877.77M | 397.14M | 384.98M | 678.8M | 644.39M | 827.8M | 766.4M | 317.4M | 30M |
| Asset Growth % | -14.49% | 1.01% | -17.62% | -5.2% | 11.68% | 33.87% | 2.46% | 14.41% | 41.02% | 16.41% | -6.01% | 104.35% | 107.36% | 586.47% | -76.41% | -66.84% | 112.78% | -31.78% | -11.61% | 21.25% | 70.05% | 77.44% | 121.02% | 3.16% | -43.29% | 5.34% | -22.16% | 8.01% | 141.46% | 958% | -10.45% |
| Real Estate & Other Assets | 0 | 1.22B | -91.08M | 0 | 0 | -78.08M | 1.2M | 0 | -201.83M | -74.99M | -79.65M | 9.26B | 4.53B | 2.14B | -145.31M | -13M | -516.71M | -717.55M | -854.59M | -877.84M | -810.97M | -487.97M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 42.15M | 9.34M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 307K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8.6M |
| Investment Securities | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Total Current Assets | 17.37B | 586.53M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 16.88B | 0 | 14.37B | 69.65M | 8.81B | 96.45M | 4.51B | 2.1B | 156.92M | 54.1M | 633.16M | 1.19B | 0 | 44.85M | 41.03M | 34.41M | 38.89M | 12.92M | 15.04M | 17.46M | 18.84M | 48.7M | 55M | 50.4M | 5.4M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 432.83M | 452.53M | 323.48M | 350.01M | 291.34M | 551.15M | 289.97M | 150.09M | 105.66M | 69.65M | 75.57M | 96.45M | 51.81M | 52.34M | 15.42M | 34.82M | 24.45M | 27.95M | 45.38M | 25.83M | 26.14M | 24.97M | 24.58M | 8.74M | 10.19M | 11.65M | 11.39M | 38.7M | 46.6M | 49.3M | 4.7M |
| Receivables | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 700K |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 0 | -484.62M | -565.87M | -481.98M | -638.21M | 119.16M | -16.38B | 0 | -10.2B | 0 | -9.22B | 0 | -88.62M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 117.09M | 77.29M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10M | 8.4M | 1.1M | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 16.14B | 16.5B | 16.01B | 19.65B | 20.81B | 18.08B | 13.05B | 12.77B | 11.09B | 7.34B | 6.32B | 6.87B | 3.09B | 1.46B | 168.89M | 1.5B | 4.53B | 2.11B | 2.44B | 2.8B | 2.22B | 1.22B | 561.27M | 211.66M | 211.93M | 428.23M | 338.58M | 522.9M | 472.2M | 174.1M | 5.5M |
| Total Debt | 0 | 16.16B | 15.73B | 19.3B | 20.44B | 17.9B | 12.91B | 12.59B | 10.96B | 7.24B | 6.23B | 6.78B | 3.01B | 495.25M | 147.68M | 1.39B | 3.85B | 1.33B | 1.38B | 1.4B | 1.97B | 1.19B | 65.18M | 278.01M | 200.06M | 407.2M | 326.09M | 505.1M | 455.4M | 167M | 5.2M |
| Net Debt | -432.83M | 15.71B | 15.41B | 18.95B | 20.15B | 17.35B | 12.62B | 12.44B | 10.86B | 7.17B | 6.16B | 6.68B | 609.48M | 237.36M | 132.26M | 89.78M | 3.83B | 1.3B | 1.34B | 1.37B | 1.94B | 798.77M | 40.59M | 177.02M | 189.87M | 395.55M | 314.7M | 466.4M | 408.8M | 117.7M | 500K |
| Long-Term Debt | 0 | 6.05B | 6.03B | 6.62B | 6.92B | 5.62B | 12.85B | 12.44B | 10.96B | 7.2B | 6.23B | 6.78B | 3.01B | 495.25M | 147.68M | 1.39B | 3.85B | 1.33B | 1.38B | 1.4B | 1.26B | 823.74M | 452.14M | 278.01M | 200.06M | 407.2M | 326.09M | 505.1M | 455.4M | 167M | 5.2M |
| Short-Term Borrowings | 0 | 10.12B | 9.7B | 12.68B | 13.53B | 12.28B | 58.91M | 150.14M | 8.91B | 4.91M | 210K | 1.45M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 704.44M | 144.7M | 90.91M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 10.27B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 192.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.21B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 353M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18M | 14M | 12M | 21M | 13M | 18M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 58.87M | 77.86M | 97.82M | 80.26M | 29.85M | 2.67M | 0 | 25.59M | 14.16M | 9.05M | 93.68M | 61.01M | 97.15M | 21.21M | 11.92M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 11.09B | 7.34B | -1.77M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.62M | 228K | 836K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 0 | 180.57M | -6.03B | -6.62B | -6.92B | -5.62B | 10.03M | -12.44B | -2.05B | -7.2B | 5.05B | -1.12B | -3.01B | -495.25M | -147.68M | -1.39B | -3.85B | -1.33B | -1.38B | -1.4B | -1.26B | -1.05B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Equity | 3.26B | 3.5B | 3.79B | 4.39B | 4.54B | 4.62B | 3.9B | 3.78B | 3.37B | 2.92B | 2.49B | 2.51B | 1.5B | 756.75M | 153.45M | -128.94M | -411.19M | -169.17M | 401.44M | 408.24M | 426.27M | 338.85M | 316.5M | 185.48M | 173.04M | 250.57M | 305.81M | 304.9M | 294.2M | 143.3M | 24.5M |
| Equity Growth % | -31.69% | -7.64% | -13.52% | -3.45% | -1.61% | 18.3% | 3.16% | 12.15% | 15.67% | 17% | -0.48% | 66.95% | 98.33% | 393.15% | 219.01% | 68.64% | -143.07% | -142.14% | -1.66% | -4.23% | 25.8% | 7.06% | 70.63% | 7.19% | -30.94% | -18.06% | 0.3% | 3.64% | 105.3% | 484.9% | -1.61% |
| Shareholders Equity | 3.26B | 3.5B | 3.79B | 4.37B | 4.52B | 4.59B | 3.89B | 3.76B | 3.36B | 2.91B | 2.49B | 2.49B | 1.47B | 717.91M | 73.44M | -110.42M | -411.19M | -169.17M | 401.44M | 408.24M | 426.27M | 338.85M | 316.5M | 96.02M | 84.06M | 102.63M | 158.67M | 158.6M | 148.7M | 143.3M | 24.5M |
| Minority Interest | 3.05M | 5.48M | 6.88M | 19.79M | 25.41M | 30.52M | 18.16M | 22.1M | 10.48M | 6.34M | 6.16B | 13.14M | 35.52M | 38.84M | 80.01M | -18.52M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 89.47M | 88.99M | 147.94M | 147.14M | 146.3M | 145.5M | 0 | 0 |
| Common Stock | 1.69M | 1.68M | 1.73M | 1.73M | 1.72M | 1.68M | 1.47M | 1.35M | 1.23M | 1.08M | 945K | 937K | 583K | 295K | 293K | 220K | 219K | 219K | 220K | 176K | 174K | 153K | 148K | 65K | 165K | 187K | 221K | 200K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 5.43B | 5.51B | 5.51B | 5.48B | 5.37B | 4.7B | 4.37B | 3.97B | 3.51B | 3.09B | 3.07B | 2.03B | 1.25B | 609M | 597.05M | 559.41M | 559.14M | 557.43M | 426.11M | 417.64M | 326.3M | 321.94M | 141.4M | 126.81M | 136.81M | 181.51M | 189.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | -2.19B | -1.95B | -1.73B | -1.15B | -968.75M | -794.83M | -829.28M | -592.55M | -569.43M | -567.17M | -541.14M | -545.79M | -547.59M | -536.17M | -535.85M | -667.11M | -920.36M | -689.4M | -115.2M | -9.37M | -4.26M | -2.48M | -9.41M | -11.32M | -13.61M | -3.87M | -12.51M | -20.7M | -35.4M | -45.7M | -39.8M |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 63K | 100K | 100K | 12.3M | 0 |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.08% | 0.55% | -0.93% | 1% | 1.03% | 2.11% | 0.82% | 1.97% | 2.31% | 2.28% | 2.62% | 2.82% | 2.65% | 1.19% | 21.47% | 9.41% | -6.12% | -24.14% | -1.9% | 2.88% | 2.57% | 3.62% | 3.45% | 3.46% | -1.83% | 1.42% | 1.33% | 2.15% | 2.47% | -2.65% | -1.26% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 0.45% | 3% | -4.99% | 5.52% | 5.43% | 9.84% | 3.58% | 8.54% | 9.06% | 8.04% | 9.53% | 9.83% | 7.98% | 3.3% | 1479.11% | - | - | -496.34% | -14.21% | 20.22% | 14.13% | 13.46% | 8.76% | 7.54% | -4.6% | 3.37% | 3.2% | 5.71% | 6.13% | -5.48% | -1.62% |
| Debt / Assets | 0% | 80.81% | 79.43% | 80.29% | 80.63% | 78.85% | 76.13% | 76.07% | 75.79% | 70.56% | 70.71% | 72.28% | 65.62% | 22.38% | 45.81% | 101.81% | 93.47% | 68.45% | 48.79% | 43.47% | 74.32% | 76.63% | 7.43% | 70% | 51.97% | 59.99% | 50.6% | 61.02% | 59.42% | 52.62% | 17.33% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.00x | 4.61x | 4.15x | 4.40x | 4.50x | 3.88x | 3.31x | 3.33x | 3.25x | 2.48x | 2.50x | 2.70x | 2.01x | 0.65x | 0.96x | - | - | - | 3.45x | 3.42x | 4.62x | 3.52x | 0.21x | 1.50x | 1.16x | 1.63x | 1.07x | 1.66x | 1.55x | 1.17x | 0.21x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | -0.52x | 13.56x | 14.02x | 11.68x | 20.88x | 22.74x | 26.08x | 16.23x | 16.80x | 15.87x | 14.38x | 18.31x | 3.58x | 5.33x | 0.41x | 0.26x | - | - | 24.40x | 18.90x | 36.25x | 9.64x | 2.09x | 7.44x | 6.48x | 7.83x | 5.04x | 5.99x | 7.82x | - | 2.50x |
| Book Value per Share | 19.32 | 20.50 | 21.83 | 25.41 | 26.63 | 30.48 | 27.53 | 29.09 | 29.64 | 30.40 | 26.48 | 30.65 | 31.01 | 40.86 | 62.00 | -53.84 | -183.81 | -75.59 | 190.26 | 230.77 | 267.76 | 220.89 | 307.88 | 180.26 | 195.88 | 208.11 | 309.01 | 329.59 | 481.10 | 444.00 | 91.87 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BXMT stock.
As of 2025, Blackstone Mortgage Trust, Inc. (BXMT) had total assets of $20.00B including $586.5M in current assets.
Blackstone Mortgage Trust, Inc. (BXMT) carries total debt of $16.16B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Blackstone Mortgage Trust, Inc. (BXMT) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.50B ($20.50 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Blackstone Mortgage Trust, Inc. (BXMT) reported a current ratio of 0.06x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Credit losses and portfolio contraction
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Shrinking Asset Base Signals Contraction
Total assets contracted from $23.3B in 2024Q1 to $19.4B in 2026Q2, a 16.7% decline, indicating a deliberate or forced deleveraging, as per the latest quarterly data.
The balance sheet has been shrinking steadily, with total assets down from $23.3B in 2024Q1 to $19.4B in 2026Q2. This contraction is accompanied by a reduction in total debt from $18.9B to $15.9B over the same period, suggesting a strategic reduction in leverage. However, the pace of asset decline has accelerated recently, with a $0.2B drop in 2026Q2 alone, which may reflect asset sales or loan repayments. The shrinking asset base directly impacts future interest income, as the loan portfolio is the primary earning asset.
Portfolio Quality Under Pressure
NOI fell from $463.2M in 2024Q1 to $158.1M in 2026Q2, a 65.9% decline, while FFO turned negative in 2024, indicating deteriorating portfolio performance, as reported in financial statements.
The sharp decline in NOI from $463.2M in 2024Q1 to $158.1M in 2026Q2 suggests a significant reduction in income-generating assets, likely due to loan repayments, sales, or credit events. The negative FFO in 2024Q3 and Q4, followed by a modest recovery, indicates that credit losses have impaired earnings. The portfolio's ability to generate stable income appears compromised, and the recent NOI volatility (from $77.4M in 2026Q1 to $158.1M in 2026Q2) suggests lumpy cash flows, possibly from one-off recoveries or accelerated income recognition.
Leverage Elevated Despite Deleveraging
Debt-to-equity remains high at 4.65 in 2026Q1, down from 4.53 in 2024Q1, but still above peers, indicating significant financial leverage, as per the latest balance sheet data.
Despite a reduction in absolute debt, the debt-to-equity ratio remains elevated at 4.65 in 2026Q1, compared to the peer average of around 3.0. This high leverage amplifies the impact of credit losses on equity, as evidenced by the negative ROE in several quarters. The maturity ladder is not disclosed, but the reliance on secured financing is typical for mortgage REITs. The high leverage, combined with a shrinking asset base, suggests that the company may be constrained in its ability to absorb further losses without additional equity infusions.
Equity Erosion from Losses
Equity declined from $4.1B in 2024Q1 to $3.3B in 2026Q2, a 19.5% drop, driven by cumulative losses and dividends, as reported in the financial statements.
The equity base has been steadily eroded, falling from $4.1B in 2024Q1 to $3.3B in 2026Q2. This decline is consistent with the negative net income in several quarters, including -2.4% ROE in 2026Q2, and the payment of dividends that exceed operating cash flow. The company has not issued significant new equity, as indicated by the lack of secondary offerings in the data, so the equity decline is primarily due to retained losses. This erosion reduces the cushion for creditors and may limit future borrowing capacity.
Liquidity Buffer Thins
Cash and equivalents fell from $668.6M in 2025Q1 to $432.8M in 2026Q2, a 35.3% decline, while operating cash flow turned negative in 2026Q2, indicating tightening liquidity, as per the latest cash flow data.
The cash position has been drawn down from $668.6M in 2025Q1 to $432.8M in 2026Q2, reflecting the need to fund operations and dividends amid negative operating cash flow. The negative operating cash flow in 2026Q2 of -$169.7M suggests that the company is relying on external sources to cover its cash needs. The fixed charge coverage ratio is not disclosed, but the thin cash buffer and high leverage suggest limited headroom. Investors should monitor the company's ability to maintain liquidity without resorting to asset sales or additional debt.
Income Visibility Diminished
NOI volatility and declining FFO suggest limited forward visibility, with 2026Q2 NOI down 65.9% from 2024Q1, as reported in the latest quarterly data.
The sharp fluctuations in NOI and FFO across quarters indicate that the income stream is unpredictable, likely due to credit events and loan repayments. The lack of a stable earnings base makes it difficult to forecast future cash flows. The company's ability to generate consistent distributable income is questionable, as evidenced by the negative FFO in 2024 and the thin dividend coverage in 2025Q4. This uncertainty may lead to a reduction in the dividend or further asset sales to maintain liquidity.
Hidden Credit Risk in Loan Book
The balance sheet may understate credit risk, as loan loss provisions are not fully reflected in asset values, and the high leverage amplifies potential losses, according to the reported figures.
The most significant non-obvious risk is the potential for further credit deterioration in the loan portfolio. While the balance sheet shows a reduction in assets, the quality of the remaining loans is not disclosed. The negative FFO in 2024 and the volatile NOI suggest that credit losses are already impacting earnings. The high debt-to-equity ratio means that even a modest increase in loan loss provisions could significantly erode equity. Investors should scrutinize the composition of the loan portfolio and the adequacy of loan loss reserves, as the current data may not fully capture the extent of credit risk.