Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio -76.4x · EV/EBITDA N/A · ROE -3.5%. (2000–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $937M | $523M | $745M | $533M | $593M | $1.0B | $1.0B | $602M | $497M | $1.0B | $724M |
| Enterprise Value | $927M | $513M | $732M | $516M | $581M | $981M | $993M | $590M | $475M | $1.0B | $705M |
| P/E Ratio → | -76.41 | — | — | — | — | 2543.53 | — | 22466.67 | 866.27 | 61.53 | 55.00 |
| P/S Ratio | 8.55 | 4.77 | 6.97 | 5.47 | 4.92 | 8.83 | 10.03 | 6.91 | 6.38 | 11.90 | 9.96 |
| P/B Ratio | 2.43 | 1.55 | 2.79 | 2.02 | 2.29 | 3.63 | 3.86 | 2.40 | 2.02 | 4.26 | 3.42 |
| P/FCF | 1815.18 | 1013.23 | 1443.78 | — | 173.06 | 42.58 | 82.26 | — | 149.14 | 51.20 | 59.93 |
| P/OCF | 269.85 | 150.63 | 214.63 | — | 85.61 | 38.96 | 66.34 | 62.21 | 57.72 | 42.55 | 50.04 |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 4.68 | 6.85 | 5.30 | 4.81 | 8.61 | 9.90 | 6.77 | 6.10 | 11.65 | 9.71 |
| EV / EBITDA | — | — | — | — | 50.67 | 69.92 | 196.41 | 176.29 | 163.06 | 53.31 | 41.43 |
| EV / EBIT | — | — | — | — | 126.36 | 101.72 | 335.06 | 306.97 | 228.72 | 50.77 | 40.32 |
| EV / FCF | — | 993.72 | 1418.71 | — | 169.49 | 41.53 | 81.25 | — | 142.46 | 50.14 | 58.41 |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 87.1% | 87.1% | 88.1% | 88.0% | 87.5% | 90.9% | 89.3% | 88.4% | 89.8% | 92.1% | 91.6% |
| Operating Margin | -10.4% | -10.4% | -7.1% | -13.8% | 3.2% | 6.2% | -0.8% | -2.2% | -1.6% | 18.1% | 19.8% |
| Net Profit Margin | -9.7% | -9.7% | -8.2% | -12.2% | -19.2% | 0.3% | -2.4% | 0.0% | 0.7% | 19.5% | 18.0% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | -3.5% | -3.5% | -3.3% | -4.5% | -8.7% | 0.1% | -0.9% | 0.0% | 0.2% | 7.5% | 6.6% |
| ROA | -3.1% | -3.1% | -2.9% | -3.9% | -7.2% | 0.1% | -0.8% | 0.0% | 0.2% | 6.6% | 5.8% |
| ROIC | -2.9% | -2.9% | -2.3% | -4.1% | 1.2% | 2.1% | -0.2% | -0.6% | -0.4% | 5.7% | 6.0% |
| ROCE | -3.6% | -3.6% | -2.7% | -4.9% | 1.4% | 2.4% | -0.3% | -0.7% | -0.5% | 6.7% | 7.0% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | 0.09 | 0.09 | 0.02 | 0.02 | 0.03 | 0.03 | 0.03 | 0.04 | — | — | — |
| Debt / EBITDA | — | — | — | — | 0.69 | 0.60 | 1.73 | 3.19 | — | — | — |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | -0.03 | -0.05 | -0.06 | -0.05 | -0.09 | -0.05 | -0.05 | -0.09 | -0.09 | -0.09 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | — | — | — | — | -1.07 | -1.76 | -2.45 | -3.63 | -7.64 | -1.14 | -1.08 |
| Debt / FCF | — | -19.51 | -25.07 | — | -3.57 | -1.05 | -1.01 | — | -6.68 | -1.07 | -1.52 |
| Interest Coverage | — | — | — | — | 11.57 | 22.95 | 6.68 | 3.47 | 2.69 | 17.03 | 16.44 |
Net cash position: cash ($41M) exceeds total debt ($31M)
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 9.93 | 9.93 | 7.09 | 7.79 | 5.34 | 5.33 | 5.95 | 6.77 | 8.15 | 6.98 | 6.47 |
| Quick Ratio | 9.93 | 9.93 | 7.09 | 7.79 | 5.34 | 5.33 | 5.95 | 6.77 | 8.15 | 6.98 | 6.47 |
| Cash Ratio | 7.74 | 7.74 | 5.36 | 6.19 | 4.16 | 4.37 | 4.62 | 5.48 | 6.71 | 6.09 | 5.60 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.28 | 0.35 | 0.32 | 0.39 | 0.34 | 0.33 | 0.29 | 0.28 | 0.32 | 0.30 |
| Inventory Turnover | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | 164.37 | 127.00 | 113.55 | 90.29 | 88.01 | 113.60 | 118.55 | 122.59 | 68.80 | 75.58 |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Payout Ratio | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | — | — | — | — | — | 0.0% | — | 0.0% | 0.1% | 1.6% | 1.8% |
| FCF Yield | 0.1% | 0.1% | 0.1% | — | 0.6% | 2.3% | 1.2% | — | 0.7% | 2.0% | 1.7% |
| Buyback Yield | 0.8% | 1.4% | 1.1% | 1.2% | 1.1% | 0.0% | 0.5% | 1.5% | 4.0% | 0.0% | 0.5% |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 0.8% | 1.4% | 1.1% | 1.2% | 1.1% | 0.0% | 0.5% | 1.5% | 4.0% | 0.0% | 0.5% |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $24M | $24M | $23M | $23M | $23M | $22M | $22M | $23M | $23M | $22M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 26 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CEVA stock.
CEVA, Inc.'s current P/E ratio is -76.4x. The historical average is 50.1x.
CEVA, Inc.'s return on equity (ROE) is -3.5%. The historical average is 29.7%.
Based on historical data, CEVA, Inc. is trading at a P/E of -76.4x. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
CEVA, Inc. has 87.1% gross margin and -10.4% operating margin.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Persistent operating losses despite growth
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Gross Margin Strength Masks Operating Inefficiency
CEVA's gross margin held at 87.4% in 2026Q2, but operating margin remained deeply negative at -7.2%, per reported financials, indicating the high-margin IP model is not yet covering R&D costs.
The 87.4% gross margin reflects the asset-light IP licensing model, yet operating margin of -7.2% shows that R&D intensity, consuming 66.6% of revenue, is the primary drag. The gap between gross and operating margins has persisted for ten quarters, with only 2024Q4 showing a positive operating margin of 0.3%. This suggests that revenue scale, not cost structure, is the binding constraint on profitability, and investors should monitor whether royalty growth can eventually absorb the fixed R&D base.
Return on Capital Trapped in Negative Territory
ROIC has remained negative for nine of the last ten quarters, with 2026Q2 at -0.5%, per CEVA's financials, indicating the company is not yet generating returns above its cost of capital.
ROIC of -0.5% in 2026Q2, though improved from -1.4% in 2025Q2, still reflects a business where invested capital is not being productively deployed. The asset-light model means ROIC is driven almost entirely by operating margins rather than asset turnover, which sits at a low 0.07. The persistent negative ROIC suggests that the company is in an investment phase, but the lack of a clear inflection point warrants caution; investors should watch for sustained positive ROIC as a sign that the royalty ramp is finally covering R&D.
Working Capital Efficiency Strained by DSO
DSO rose to 150 days in 2026Q2 from 119 days in 2024Q4, per CEVA's balance sheet data, indicating slower cash collection from licensing customers and potential pressure on working capital efficiency.
The 31-day increase in DSO over six quarters suggests that CEVA is extending payment terms to win licensing deals, which may be a competitive necessity but also ties up cash. With DPO at 49 days, the cash conversion cycle is effectively driven by DSO, and the absence of inventory (DIO not reported) means the cycle is purely receivables-driven. This trend warrants monitoring, as a continued rise in DSO could signal deteriorating customer credit quality or aggressive revenue recognition, though the current cash position provides a buffer.
Minimal Leverage Provides Strategic Flexibility
CEVA's debt-to-equity ratio stands at 0.05 in 2026Q2, with total debt of $17.4M against $340.2M equity, per balance sheet data, indicating negligible leverage and ample financial headroom.
The near-zero leverage is a key strength, especially given the company's negative operating margins and reliance on external funding for R&D. With interest coverage not reported but debt levels minimal, the risk of financial distress appears low. However, the $17.4M debt, likely in the form of operating leases, is manageable, and the clean balance sheet provides a cushion during semiconductor downcycles. Investors should note that the lack of debt also means no tax shield, but the strategic flexibility to raise capital or make acquisitions is preserved.
Liquidity Buffer Strong but Cash Flow Volatile
CEVA's current ratio of 10.12 in 2026Q2, with cash of $44.3M, per balance sheet data, provides a robust liquidity buffer, though operating cash flow has been erratic, swinging from -$7.3M to +$5.8M.
The current ratio, which has risen from 7.69 in 2024Q1 to 10.12, indicates that CEVA can easily cover short-term obligations, even under stress. However, the volatility in operating cash flow, driven by working capital swings and lumpy licensing payments, means that the cash position could be overstated in any given quarter. The $44.3M cash balance, combined with minimal debt, suggests the company can sustain its R&D investment for several quarters even if royalty revenue disappoints, but the lack of consistent positive cash flow from operations remains a concern.
Misapplied P/E on Negative Earnings
The trailing P/E of -75.64 is meaningless for CEVA given negative earnings, per reported financials, and investors should instead focus on EV/Sales or forward P/E to gauge valuation.
CEVA's negative net income makes the trailing P/E non-informative, yet it is often cited in market commentary. The forward P/E of 62.72 implies the market expects a significant earnings recovery, but given the persistent operating losses, this may be overly optimistic. A more appropriate metric is EV/Sales, which at 8.46 reflects the high gross margin and long-duration royalty streams, but even this must be compared to peers like Rambus (EV/EBITDA 37.11) and InterDigital (EV/EBITDA 16.05). The market appears to be pricing in a future royalty ramp that has yet to materialize, and investors should use forward EV/EBITDA of 169.31 with caution, as it assumes a dramatic margin expansion.