Free cash flow was negative in every quarter shown, ranging from roughly -$22M to -$88M, with zero capital expenditure and stock-based compensation of $2.9M to $6.9M per quarter, indicating that the cash burn is driven by operating expenses and that investors should track the quarterly burn rate against the $444.0M cash balance.
COMPASS Pathways plc (CMPS) cash flow statement — 8-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | -176.8M | -157.24M | -119.19M | -97.38M | -105.45M | -67.75M | -41.38M | -17.81M | -9.8M |
| Operating CF Margin % | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Operating CF Growth % | -44.28% | -31.93% | -22.4% | 7.66% | -55.66% | -63.71% | -132.3% | -81.75% | - |
| Net Income | -266.3M | -287.86M | -155.12M | -118.46M | -91.5M | -71.74M | -60.33M | -19.61M | -13.22M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 6K | 216K | 233K | 242K | 330K | 175K | 112K | 63K | 22K |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 14.23M | 13.59M | 19.52M | 17.28M | 13.12M | 8.64M | 17.98M | 3.25M | 1.42M |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 22K | -221K | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 76.18M | 131.1M | 4.46M | 86K | 3.27M | 1.8M | 1.99M | 1.14M | 2.68M |
| Working Capital Changes | -911.27K | -14.28M | 11.72M | 3.48M | -30.67M | -6.64M | -912K | -2.66M | -704K |
| Change in Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Inventory | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Payables | 3.59M | 2.03M | 6.59M | 864K | 2.5M | -163K | 1.3M | 580K | -12K |
| Cash from Investing | 0 | 0 | 0 | -64K | -596K | -334K | -628K | -165K | -130K |
| Capital Expenditures | 0 | 0 | 0 | -66K | -596K | -334K | -131K | -165K | -130K |
| CapEx % of Revenue | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Acquisitions | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Other Investing | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Financing | 433.29M | 140.71M | 63.82M | 173.83M | 1.04M | 156.65M | 194.16M | 18.38M | 32.96M |
| Debt Issued (Net) | -3.03K | 0 | 0 | 29.59M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18.43M | 8.26M |
| Equity Issued (Net) | 414.76M | 141.04M | 26.22M | 144.94M | 440K | 154.79M | 194.14M | 0 | 24.7M |
| Dividends Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Financing | 18.54M | -328.82K | 37.6M | -690K | 600K | 1.85M | 16K | -55K | 0 |
| Net Change in Cash | 258.09M | -15.48M | -55.17M | 77.26M | -129.97M | 82.99M | 165.37M | 2.08M | 21.86M |
| Free Cash Flow | -176.8M | -157.24M | -119.19M | -97.44M | -106.05M | -68.08M | -41.51M | -17.98M | -9.93M |
| FCF Margin % | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| FCF Growth % | -9.67% | -31.93% | -22.31% | 8.11% | -55.77% | -64% | -130.9% | -81.03% | - |
| FCF per Share | -1.09 | -1.68 | -1.77 | -1.91 | -2.50 | -1.70 | -1.16 | -0.83 | -1.77 |
| FCF Conversion (FCF/Net Income) | 0.66x | 0.55x | 0.77x | 0.82x | 1.15x | 0.94x | 0.68x | 0.91x | 0.74x |
| Interest Paid | 0 | 0 | 3.07M | 1.25M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Taxes Paid | 0 | 0 | 1.12M | 2.44M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CMPS stock.
COMPASS Pathways plc (CMPS) generated $-157.2M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
COMPASS Pathways plc (CMPS) reported negative free cash flow of $157.2M in 2025, indicating capital requirements exceeded cash from operations.
COMPASS Pathways plc (CMPS) spent $0.0M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Persistent operating cash burn
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Net Income Divorced From Operating Cash
Based on reported figures, operating cash flow has been negative in nine of ten quarters while net income swung between large losses and a single $91.2M profit, leaving the earnings-to-cash relationship largely unanchored to operations.
The reported net income figures, including a $253.8M loss in 2026Q2 and a $91.2M profit in 2026Q1, do not track operating cash flow, which stayed within roughly -$35M to -$88M per quarter. This divergence suggests that non-cash or non-operating items, such as fair value movements or financing-related charges, are driving reported earnings, warranting further investigation before either figure is treated as indicative of underlying performance. The negative OCF/NI ratios in 2026Q1 and the erratic positive ratios elsewhere reflect this disconnect rather than any conversion quality.
Free Cash Burn Persists Without Revenue
As reported in the financial statements, free cash flow was negative in every quarter shown, ranging from roughly -$22M to -$88M, with no revenue available to compute a free cash flow margin.
With no reported revenue across the ten quarters, FCF margin is undefined and the analysis must rely on absolute burn rates. The most recent quarter at -$50.8M and the peak at -$88.2M indicate a cash requirement that is material relative to a company without commercial sales. Investors should monitor how long existing liquidity can fund this burn, as the data does not disclose cash balances or financing access.
Working Capital Swings Mask Steady Burn
According to reported figures, working capital changes ranged from roughly -$17.6M to +$13.9M per quarter, with the sign alternating and producing meaningful timing noise against a consistently negative operating base.
The alternating working capital movements, including a $13.9M inflow in 2025Q4 and a $17.6M outflow in 2025Q1, appear to reflect timing of payables and accrued liabilities rather than a structural shift. These swings are large relative to the underlying operating burn, so quarterly OCF figures should be read with caution. The absence of revenue limits interpretation of collection efficiency, and inventory dynamics are not meaningful for a pre-commercial profile.
Minimal Capital Intensity, Heavy Expense Base
Based on the supplied data, reported capital expenditure was zero across all ten quarters, while depreciation and amortization stayed near zero, indicating a capital-light operating model in this period.
The absence of capex and the negligible D&A suggest the company is not investing in physical productive assets during the reported window, consistent with a development-stage biotechnology profile. Cash consumption is therefore driven almost entirely by operating expenses rather than asset build, which means the burn reflects R&D and administrative spending. Whether future clinical or manufacturing scale-up will require capital investment remains outside what the supplied data can establish.
Stock-Based Compensation Cushions Reported Burn
As reported in the financial statements, stock-based compensation ran between roughly $2.9M and $6.9M per quarter, a non-cash add-back that narrows the gap between reported losses and cash outflows but does not reduce true economic cost.
Adding back stock-based compensation does not change the underlying cash burn, which remains between roughly $22M and $88M per quarter, but it shows that some reported expense is paid in equity rather than cash. Shareholders bear the economic cost of this dilution even though it is absent from operating cash flow. The data does not disclose share count changes, so the magnitude of dilution cannot be quantified here, and this should be investigated alongside any future financing needs.