Operating cash flow swung dramatically from $21.1M in 2026Q1 to $517.4M in 2026Q2, yet no capital is returned to shareholders, with zero dividends and buybacks, suggesting full earnings retention.
Circle Internet Group (CRCL) cash flow statement — 6-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 776.92M | 542.13M | 344.58M | 139.57M | -72.69M | -92.33M | -14.92M |
| Operating CF Growth % | 180.78% | 57.33% | 146.89% | 292% | 21.26% | -518.68% | - |
| Net Income | 451.27M | -69.52M | 155.67M | 267.56M | -768.85M | -508.21M | 3.79M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 105.2M | 76.63M | 50.85M | 34.89M | 13.28M | 3.94M | 4.5M |
| Deferred Taxes | 4.3M | -2.15M | -2.81M | -32.89M | -786K | -4.73M | 4.19M |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 170.66M | 80.53M | -26.71M | -65.53M | 443.5M | 404.51M | -44.69M |
| Working Capital Changes | -178.43M | -109.53M | 117.44M | -172.46M | 170.9M | -6.22M | 14.13M |
| Cash from Investing | -95.14M | -82.56M | 186.3M | 8.51B | -8.49B | -28.85M | -17.93M |
| Purchase of Investments | -14.66M | -9.29M | -103.58M | -314.3M | -102.87B | -15.72B | 0 |
| Sale/Maturity of Investments | 201K | 1.62M | 347.11M | 8.86B | 94.44B | 15.7B | 758K |
| Net Investment Activity | -14.46M | -7.67M | 243.53M | 8.54B | -8.42B | -16.75M | 758K |
| Acquisitions | 0 | -6.26M | 0 | 1.63M | -42.46M | -9.3M | -11.75M |
| Other Investing | -80.68M | 0 | -18.13M | -654K | -3.05M | -1.73M | 137K |
| Cash from Financing | 12.02B | 31.94B | 19.45B | -20.33B | 2.58B | 38.72B | 3.53B |
| Dividends Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | 0 | 0 | 0 | -8.74M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock Issued | 475.99M | 1.06B | 1.61M | 1.04M | 486K | 482K | 689K |
| Net Stock Activity | 475.99M | 1.06B | 1.61M | -7.71M | 486K | 482K | 689K |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Financing | 11.49B | 30.87B | 19.45B | -20.32B | 2.18B | 38.28B | 3.5B |
| Net Change in Cash | 12.65B | 775.07M | 19.97B | -11.68B | -5.98B | 38.6B | 3.49B |
| Exchange Rate Effect | -1.68B | -31.62B | -7.1M | 1.1M | 3.62M | 137K | 165K |
| Cash at Beginning | 1.52B | 750.98M | 24.99B | 36.67B | 42.65B | 4.05B | 557.87M |
| Cash at End | 0 | 1.53B | 44.97B | 24.99B | 36.67B | 42.65B | 4.05B |
| Interest Paid | 216K | 180K | 258K | 253K | 350K | 0 | 380K |
| Income Taxes Paid | 1.09M | 13.33M | 75.58M | 81.04M | 7.42M | 30K | 0 |
| Free Cash Flow | 776.92M | 529.7M | 305.48M | 106.71M | -91.01M | -100.2M | -22.01M |
| FCF Growth % | 66.46% | 73.4% | 186.28% | 217.25% | 9.17% | -355.32% | - |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CRCL stock.
Circle Internet Group (CRCL) generated $542.1M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Circle Internet Group (CRCL) generated $529.7M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Circle Internet Group (CRCL) spent $68.6M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Provision volatility and fee concentration
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Earnings Retention Drives Capital
Circle's operating cash flow swung from $21.1M in 2026Q1 to $517.4M in 2026Q2, per reported figures, while net income remained modest, suggesting capital generation is increasingly tied to non-earnings items.
The OCF/NI ratio of 10.73 in 2026Q2 indicates that operating cash flow far exceeded net income, likely due to changes in working capital or non-cash adjustments. This suggests that retained earnings alone may not fully explain capital accumulation, and investors should monitor the sustainability of these cash inflows. The absence of debt issuance or buybacks implies that capital is being built organically, but the volatility in OCF across quarters warrants caution.
Securities Portfolio Minimal Activity
Investment purchases and sales were negligible, with purchases of $950K and sales of $123K in 2026Q2, according to financial statements, indicating a largely static securities portfolio.
The minimal investment activity suggests that Circle is not actively managing a securities portfolio for yield, consistent with its fee-driven business model. This lack of reinvestment may indicate that excess cash is being held in liquid assets rather than deployed into higher-yielding securities, which could limit interest income but also reduce duration risk. The near-zero figures across all quarters imply that investment cash flows are not a meaningful driver of overall cash flow.
Loan Book Cash Flows Minimal
Loan loss provisions reached $412.5M in 2026Q2, per company reports, yet loan-related cash flows are not separately disclosed, suggesting that lending activity is not a primary cash flow driver.
The high provision expenses, which peaked at $910.0M in 2025Q2, indicate significant credit risk exposure, but the absence of loan origination or repayment cash flows in the statement suggests that the loan book may be small or that these flows are embedded in other line items. This disconnect between provisions and actual cash flows warrants further investigation into the nature of the lending portfolio and its impact on liquidity.
No Capital Return to Shareholders
Circle paid no dividends and repurchased no shares in any reported quarter, as per financial data, indicating a full retention policy despite volatile earnings.
The complete absence of capital return suggests that management is prioritizing capital preservation and reinvestment, possibly to support regulatory requirements or growth initiatives. However, given the volatility in net income, including a $482.1M loss in 2025Q2, this conservative approach may be prudent. Investors should monitor whether this policy shifts as earnings stabilize, but currently, there is no yield support from dividends or buybacks.
Deposit Flows Not Disclosed
Deposit inflows and outflows are not reported in the cash flow statement, based on available data, leaving the quality and stability of funding sources unclear.
Without explicit deposit flow data, it is difficult to assess the stability of Circle's funding base. The company's reliance on fee income and minimal interest-earning assets suggests that deposits may not be a primary funding source, but the lack of disclosure limits analysis. Investors should seek additional information on deposit composition and interest rate sensitivity to fully evaluate liquidity risk.
What the Cash Flow Statement Hides
The cash flow statement omits key items like off-balance-sheet commitments and AOCI impacts, per reported data, potentially masking true liquidity and risk exposure.
The absence of debt issuance and minimal investment activity suggests that Circle's cash flows are dominated by operating items, but the high provisions and volatile OCF may indicate underlying credit stress not fully captured. The lack of disclosure on undrawn credit commitments or securities gains/losses could obscure potential cash flow shocks. Analysts should probe management on these off-balance-sheet items and the drivers of the large OCF swings to assess the reliability of cash generation.