Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio 13.6x · EV/EBITDA 9.6x · ROE 28.9%. (1996–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $5.5B | $6.0B | $7.5B | $9.5B | $5.4B | $5.3B | $5.6B | $2.5B | $4.0B | $5.0B | $4.7B |
| Enterprise Value | $7.0B | $7.5B | $8.7B | $10.6B | $6.5B | $6.2B | $6.4B | $4.0B | $4.6B | $5.6B | $5.4B |
| P/E Ratio → | 13.59 | 14.44 | 16.12 | 19.97 | 11.78 | 14.04 | 17.04 | 34.77 | 57.35 | 19.52 | 23.69 |
| P/S Ratio | 2.37 | 2.58 | 3.30 | 4.22 | 2.53 | 2.82 | 3.46 | 1.70 | 2.84 | 3.62 | 3.88 |
| P/B Ratio | 3.81 | 4.04 | 5.13 | 7.29 | 4.59 | 4.63 | 4.14 | 2.55 | 3.27 | 3.54 | 3.90 |
| P/FCF | 27.71 | 30.21 | 21.14 | 21.50 | 12.60 | 11.86 | 9.54 | 9.25 | 21.81 | 24.37 | 17.10 |
| P/OCF | 8.91 | 9.71 | 13.61 | 16.91 | 10.04 | 10.16 | 8.74 | 6.19 | 11.29 | 14.85 | 14.17 |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 3.23 | 3.86 | 4.70 | 3.05 | 3.34 | 3.95 | 2.73 | 3.33 | 4.06 | 4.44 |
| EV / EBITDA | 9.60 | 10.28 | 11.51 | 13.70 | 9.03 | 10.32 | 13.13 | 10.15 | 11.27 | 13.67 | 15.15 |
| EV / EBIT | 12.43 | 12.45 | 13.76 | 16.07 | 10.48 | 12.27 | 13.67 | 13.48 | 42.87 | 18.77 | 16.95 |
| EV / FCF | — | 37.80 | 24.69 | 23.95 | 15.16 | 14.01 | 10.88 | 14.84 | 25.57 | 27.34 | 19.58 |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 28.3% | 28.3% | 29.8% | 30.3% | 29.8% | 27.9% | 25.2% | 22.8% | 23.4% | 24.4% | 25.8% |
| Operating Margin | 24.3% | 24.3% | 26.5% | 27.7% | 27.3% | 25.4% | 22.1% | 19.1% | 20.8% | 21.5% | 21.7% |
| Net Profit Margin | 18.4% | 18.4% | 20.5% | 21.1% | 21.5% | 20.1% | 20.9% | 4.9% | 4.9% | 18.5% | 16.4% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | 28.9% | 28.9% | 33.5% | 38.3% | 39.8% | 30.0% | 29.2% | 6.5% | 5.2% | 19.6% | 17.7% |
| ROA | 11.9% | 11.9% | 14.9% | 16.7% | 17.2% | 13.8% | 11.7% | 2.8% | 3.0% | 11.1% | 9.6% |
| ROIC | 14.8% | 14.8% | 17.6% | 20.0% | 20.1% | 16.8% | 11.7% | 9.5% | 11.1% | 11.4% | 11.5% |
| ROCE | 17.0% | 17.0% | 20.9% | 23.7% | 23.7% | 18.8% | 13.1% | 11.6% | 13.8% | 14.1% | 13.9% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | 1.22 | 1.22 | 0.88 | 0.86 | 0.94 | 0.86 | 0.77 | 1.67 | 0.57 | 0.44 | 0.57 |
| Debt / EBITDA | 2.48 | 2.48 | 1.68 | 1.44 | 1.55 | 1.62 | 2.15 | 4.13 | 1.68 | 1.51 | 1.93 |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | 1.02 | 0.86 | 0.83 | 0.93 | 0.84 | 0.58 | 1.55 | 0.56 | 0.43 | 0.56 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 2.07 | 2.07 | 1.66 | 1.40 | 1.53 | 1.59 | 1.61 | 3.83 | 1.66 | 1.49 | 1.92 |
| Debt / FCF | — | 7.59 | 3.55 | 2.45 | 2.56 | 2.16 | 1.33 | 5.60 | 3.76 | 2.97 | 2.48 |
| Interest Coverage | 10.16 | 10.16 | 15.00 | 15.27 | 17.54 | 16.37 | 10.55 | 7.66 | 3.81 | 10.84 | 14.02 |
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 3.66 | 3.66 | 2.73 | 2.62 | 2.45 | 2.13 | 3.91 | 4.00 | 2.38 | 2.56 | 1.75 |
| Quick Ratio | 2.09 | 2.09 | 1.03 | 1.06 | 1.08 | 0.99 | 2.52 | 2.39 | 0.85 | 1.12 | 0.64 |
| Cash Ratio | 1.15 | 1.15 | 0.08 | 0.15 | 0.07 | 0.09 | 1.56 | 0.70 | 0.05 | 0.05 | 0.03 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.60 | 0.69 | 0.77 | 0.77 | 0.72 | 0.57 | 0.49 | 0.64 | 0.59 | 0.54 |
| Inventory Turnover | 4.06 | 4.06 | 3.82 | 4.21 | 5.17 | 5.67 | 5.15 | 4.11 | 3.88 | 4.06 | 3.56 |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | 37.33 | 35.90 | 34.39 | 35.91 | 35.98 | 33.73 | 68.99 | 35.16 | 38.81 | 41.08 |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | 0.6% | 0.5% | 0.5% | 0.4% | 0.7% | 0.6% | 0.1% | 0.7% | 0.5% | 0.4% | 0.4% |
| Payout Ratio | 7.6% | 7.6% | 7.3% | 7.4% | 8.1% | 8.2% | 1.2% | 24.2% | 27.5% | 7.6% | 9.8% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | 7.4% | 6.9% | 6.2% | 5.0% | 8.5% | 7.1% | 5.9% | 2.9% | 1.7% | 5.1% | 4.2% |
| FCF Yield | 3.6% | 3.3% | 4.7% | 4.7% | 7.9% | 8.4% | 10.5% | 10.8% | 4.6% | 4.1% | 5.8% |
| Buyback Yield | 7.1% | 6.5% | 4.1% | 3.7% | 7.2% | 11.3% | 0.1% | 12.9% | 7.0% | 1.3% | 1.4% |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 7.7% | 7.1% | 4.5% | 4.1% | 7.9% | 11.9% | 0.1% | 13.6% | 7.5% | 1.7% | 1.8% |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $31M | $34M | $35M | $37M | $41M | $42M | $42M | $47M | $49M | $48M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 30 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying EXP stock.
Eagle Materials Inc.'s current P/E ratio is 13.6x. The historical average is 25.3x. This places it at the 23th percentile of its historical range.
Eagle Materials Inc.'s current EV/EBITDA is 9.6x. This enterprise value multiple compares the company's total value (equity + debt - cash) to its EBITDA. The historical average is 12.2x.
Eagle Materials Inc.'s return on equity (ROE) is 28.9%. This is above the typical threshold of 15-20% considered good for most companies. The historical average is 20.3%.
Based on historical data, Eagle Materials Inc. is trading at a P/E of 13.6x. This is at the 23th percentile of its historical P/E range. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
Eagle Materials Inc.'s current dividend yield is 0.58% with a payout ratio of 7.6%.
Eagle Materials Inc. has 28.3% gross margin and 24.3% operating margin. Operating margin above 20% indicates strong pricing power and cost efficiency.
Eagle Materials Inc.'s Debt/EBITDA ratio is 2.5x, indicating moderate leverage. A ratio between 2-4x is manageable but warrants monitoring.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Wallboard cyclicality and rate sensitivity
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Margin Compression Amid Cost Pressures
Gross margin fell to 24.8% in 2026Q1 from 29.2% a year earlier, yet operating margin of 21.7% remains above the 2025Q4 trough, indicating pricing power partially offsets input costs.
The sequential recovery from 22.2% gross margin in 2025Q4 to 24.8% in 2026Q1 suggests that energy and input cost pressures are easing, but the year-over-year decline of 440 basis points highlights the cyclicality of the wallboard segment. Operating margin compression to 21.7% from 26.0% in 2025Q1 reflects negative operating leverage as volumes stall, with fixed costs absorbing lower throughput. The tight spread between gross and operating margins (3.1 points) indicates disciplined SG&A control, but the sustainability of this spread depends on pricing discipline across the industry.
ROIC Decay Signals Capital Intensity Shift
ROIC dropped to 3.5% in 2026Q1 from 5.3% in 2024Q1, while asset turnover fell to 0.17 from 0.20, suggesting that the recent capex surge has yet to generate proportional returns.
The decline in ROIC from a peak of 5.7% in 2024Q2 to 3.5% in 2026Q1 is driven by both margin compression and a rising capital base, as net PPE expanded by $500M over the period. The asset turnover deterioration from 0.20 to 0.17 indicates that the new capacity is not yet contributing to revenue growth, which may reflect the long lead times of cement and wallboard projects. Investors should monitor whether the elevated capex (18.6% of revenue) translates into higher volumes and margins over the next 2-3 years, or if it merely maintains existing assets.
Working Capital Stretch Pressures Cash Conversion
Cash conversion cycle lengthened to 83 days in 2026Q1 from 88 days a year earlier, as DIO rose to 73 days, indicating slower inventory turnover that may signal demand softness.
The CCC improvement from 107 days in 2025Q4 to 83 days in 2026Q1 is largely due to a reduction in DIO from 96 to 73 days, but the year-over-year comparison shows a slight deterioration from 88 days. DSO has remained stable around 37 days, while DPO has declined from 32 to 27 days, suggesting that EXP is paying suppliers faster, which could be a sign of improved negotiating power or a strategic choice to secure supply. The elevated DIO relative to historical levels (80-90 days) may indicate that inventory is building ahead of expected demand, which could pressure cash flow if volumes do not materialize.
Debt-Funded Expansion Tests Conservative Stance
Debt-to-equity rose to 1.21 in 2026Q1 from 0.86 in 2023Q4, while interest coverage fell to 9.8x from 16.7x, indicating a strategic shift toward leverage that remains manageable but warrants monitoring.
The increase in total debt from $1.1B to $1.8B over the past two years has funded a $500M expansion in net PPE and a 48% rise in goodwill, reflecting an aggressive growth strategy. Despite the higher leverage, interest coverage of 9.8x remains comfortable, and the D/E ratio is still below peers like MLM (0.53) and VMC (0.63), suggesting ample headroom. However, the spike in D/EBITDA to 9.85 in 2026Q1 from 5.31 in 2024Q3 indicates that EBITDA has not kept pace with debt, which could become a concern if margins continue to compress.
Liquidity Buffer Thins but Remains Ample
Current ratio fell to 3.23 in 2026Q1 from 4.27 in 2025Q3, while cash declined to $233.5M, indicating reduced near-term flexibility but still a strong liquidity position.
The quick ratio of 1.91 remains well above 1.0, suggesting that EXP can cover short-term obligations without relying on inventory sales, which is crucial given the cyclicality of construction materials. The decline in cash from $419.0M to $233.5M reflects the heavy capex and share repurchase program, but the company still has access to undrawn credit facilities, though these are not disclosed in the provided data. Under a severe stress scenario, such as a prolonged housing downturn, the current ratio would likely remain above 2.0, providing a cushion against margin erosion.
Misapplied Metric: P/E Overlooks Asset Intensity
The P/E of 15.78 appears reasonable, but it fails to capture the capital intensity and cyclicality of EXP's business, where EV/EBITDA of 10.82 is a more appropriate valuation metric.
P/E ratios are distorted by non-cash depreciation and depletion charges, which are significant for mining and manufacturing assets, and by the cyclicality of earnings. EV/EBITDA normalizes for capital structure and provides a clearer picture of operating performance, and at 10.82, EXP trades at a discount to peers like MLM (17.04) and VMC (17.62), suggesting the market is pricing in higher risk or lower growth. Investors should also consider EV/EBITDAR to account for lease obligations, though these are not disclosed, and should adjust for the equity method accounting of the Texas Lehigh JV, which may understate true scale.