Total assets surged 61% to $103.6B in 2026Q2, but equity only grew 31%, leaving equity at just 4.4% of assets, indicating a thinning capital buffer and rising leverage (D/E of 0.48).
F&G Annuities & Life, Inc. (FGN) balance sheet — 10-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 103.59B | 98.43B | 85.04B | 62.72B | 50.11B | 45.12B | 39.76B | 36.71B | 30.95B | 29.92B | 692M |
| Asset Growth % | 85.84% | 15.75% | 35.59% | 25.16% | 11.06% | 13.49% | 8.29% | 18.64% | 3.42% | 4224.14% | - |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 57.58B | 49.88B | 6.3B | 4.92B | 4.13B | 31.2B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 148.92B | 4.88B | 3.56B | 4.48B | 3.24B | 3.65B | 28.17B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Short-Term Investments | 545M | 52.7B | 46.32B | 1.83B | 1.68B | 479M | 25.95B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 2.65B | 1.49B | 48.58B | 3.88B | 3.03B | 2.06B | 0 | 969M | 571M | 1.22B | 1.02M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 2.1B | 1.49B | 2.26B | 1.56B | 960M | 1.53B | 889M | 969M | 571M | 1.22B | 1.02M |
| Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.18B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 496M | 386M | 53M | -30.45B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 33.92B | 8.46B | 7.75B | 5.96B | 1.75B | 1.76B | 3.67B | 1.92B | 1.83B | 1.32B | 0 |
| Goodwill | 2.12B | 2.18B | 2.18B | 1.75B | 1.75B | 1.76B | 1.76B | 467M | 467M | 467M | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 6.54B | 6.28B | 5.57B | 4.21B | 0 | 0 | 1.92B | 1.46B | 1.36B | 853M | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 285M | 0 | 49.7B | 39.51B | 21M | 19M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 22.38B | 83.24B | 14.52B | -3.16B | 1.09B | 663M | -31.86B | 33.82B | 28.55B | 27.39B | 690.98M |
| Total Liabilities | 98.9B | 93.51B | 80.96B | 59.62B | 47.7B | 40.63B | 35.68B | 33.95B | 30.03B | 27.94B | 70K |
| Total Debt | 2.24B | 2.24B | 2.17B | 1.76B | 1.13B | 991M | 603M | 542M | 541M | 412M | 0 |
| Net Debt | 136M | 751M | -93M | 202M | 167M | -542M | -286M | -427M | -30M | -803M | -1.02M |
| Long-Term Debt | 2.24B | 2.24B | 1.87B | 1.03B | 567M | 977M | 589M | 542M | 541M | 412M | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 302M | 729M | 547M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 2.85B | 0 | 5M | 43.33B | 37.79B | 33.64B | 0 | 129M | 81M | 43M | 70K |
| Accounts Payable | 2.85B | 0 | 0 | 49.09B | 40.96B | 35.6B | 206M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 0 | 0 | -297M | -6.49B | -3.71B | -1.96B | -572M | 129M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 93.81B | 91.28B | 78.79B | 13.5B | 8.27B | 5.95B | -605M | 33.28B | 29.4B | 27.48B | 0 |
| Total Equity | 4.69B | 4.92B | 4.08B | 3.1B | 2.4B | 4.49B | 4.07B | 2.76B | 919M | 1.99B | 5M |
| Equity Growth % | 59.94% | 20.63% | 31.36% | 29.02% | -46.38% | 10.09% | 47.61% | 200.33% | -53.73% | 39619.98% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 4.61B | 4.8B | 3.95B | 3.1B | 2.4B | 4.49B | 4.07B | 2.76B | 919M | 1.99B | 5M |
| Minority Interest | 85M | 113M | 125M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 2.67B | 2.57B | 2.44B | 1.93B | 2.06B | 1B | 136M | 300M | -167M | -149M | -280.22K |
| Common Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.99K |
| Accumulated OCI | -1.66B | -1.49B | -1.92B | -1.99B | -2.82B | 734M | 1.2B | 481M | -937M | 75M | 0 |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 8.68% | 5.89% | 17.33% | -2.11% | 18.43% | 28.98% | -5.21% | 22.4% | -1.1% | -112.1% | -6.73% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.42% | 0.29% | 0.84% | -0.1% | 1.33% | 2.92% | -0.47% | 1.22% | -0.05% | -7.29% | -0.05% |
| Equity / Assets | 4.53% | 5% | 4.79% | 4.95% | 4.8% | 9.94% | 10.25% | 7.52% | 2.97% | 6.64% | 0.72% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.48x | 0.45x | 0.53x | 0.57x | 0.47x | 0.22x | 0.15x | 0.20x | 0.59x | 0.21x | - |
| Book Value per Share | 36.11 | 37.25 | 31.11 | 25.02 | 20.91 | 42.71 | 27.16 | 12.94 | 4.25 | 9.26 | 0.27 |
| Tangible BV per Share | -30.51 | -26.80 | -28.05 | -23.01 | 5.70 | 25.99 | 2.67 | 3.93 | -4.20 | 3.11 | 0.27 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying FGN stock.
As of 2025, F&G Annuities & Life, Inc. (FGN) had total assets of $98.43B including $1.49B in current assets.
F&G Annuities & Life, Inc. (FGN) carries total debt of $2.24B, offset by $1.49B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
F&G Annuities & Life, Inc. (FGN) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $4.80B ($37.25 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Underwriting volatility and reserve releases
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Rapid Asset Growth Outpaces Equity
Total assets surged 61% from $64.3B in 2024Q1 to $103.6B in 2026Q2, while equity grew only 31%, according to FGN's balance sheet data, indicating leverage is building.
The balance sheet is expanding aggressively, with total assets growing from $64.3B to $103.6B over the period, a 61% increase. However, equity only rose from $3.5B to $4.6B, a 31% gain, implying that the growth is increasingly funded by liabilities. This trend suggests a rising financial leverage ratio, which may heighten solvency risk if asset quality deteriorates.
Investment Portfolio Data Opaque
Investment income and yield figures are unavailable across all quarters, leaving the portfolio's earnings contribution unquantified, as per FGN's reported balance sheet data.
The absence of investment income and yield data is a significant gap, especially given the company's reliance on investment income when combined ratios exceed 100%. Without this information, investors cannot assess the quality of the invested asset portfolio or its duration. This opacity warrants further investigation into the portfolio's allocation and unrealized positions.
Reserve Releases Mask Underlying Trends
Quarters with zero claims (e.g., 2026Q1, 2025Q3) show unusually high operating income, implying reserve releases or favorable development, based on FGN's reported figures.
The sporadic claims data, with zero claims in several quarters, suggests that reported operating income may be inflated by reserve releases. For instance, 2026Q1 reported no claims but generated $1.1B in operating income, while 2026Q2 had $1.1B in claims and a net loss. This pattern indicates that underwriting profitability is inconsistent and may be influenced by non-operating items.
Equity Cushion Thins Relatively
Equity as a percentage of assets fell from 5.4% in 2024Q1 to 4.4% in 2026Q2, as per FGN's balance sheet, indicating a thinner capital buffer relative to growth.
The equity-to-assets ratio has declined from 5.4% to 4.4% over the period, suggesting that capital generation is not keeping pace with asset growth. This trend may indicate reduced capacity for absorbing losses or supporting future business expansion. Investors should monitor statutory capital ratios, though they are not disclosed here.
Liquidity Profile Unclear
Cash balances are not reported, and claims payments are sporadic, making the claims-paying liquidity profile difficult to assess, according to FGN's balance sheet data.
The lack of cash data and the erratic claims payments (ranging from zero to $1.3B) obscure the company's ability to meet policyholder obligations. While operating cash flow has been strong, the balance sheet does not provide visibility into liquid assets relative to expected payouts. This warrants closer scrutiny of reinsurance recoverables and the quality of invested assets.
Leverage Buildup May Signal Risk
The rapid asset growth funded by liabilities, with equity only 4.4% of assets, may indicate a fragile capital structure, as per FGN's reported balance sheet data.
The balance sheet expansion appears to be driven by liability growth, as equity's share of assets has declined. This leverage buildup could amplify the impact of adverse underwriting or investment losses. Given the volatile loss ratios and reliance on reserve releases, the company's solvency may be more sensitive to shocks than the absolute equity level suggests.