Total assets shrank from $8.0B in 2024Q1 to $4.1B in 2026Q2, with debt-to-equity at 1.63, down from 2.12 in 2024Q4, but still above peers like WPC at 1.07, reflecting elevated leverage.
Global Net Lease, Inc. (GNL) balance sheet — 14-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 4.07B | 4.35B | 6.96B | 8.1B | 3.96B | 4.18B | 3.97B | 3.7B | 3.31B | 3.04B | 2.89B | 2.55B | 2.43B | 214.93M | 2.93M |
| Asset Growth % | -119.25% | -37.5% | -14.12% | 104.43% | -5.29% | 5.44% | 7.17% | 11.85% | 8.91% | 5.09% | 13.48% | 4.91% | 1030.06% | 7227.89% | - |
| Real Estate & Other Assets | -3.61B | 3.89B | 6.48B | 7.59B | 2.98B | 3.94B | 10.24M | 15.38M | -211.44M | -136.09M | -86.06M | -15M | 24.87M | 149.57M | -2.56M |
| PP&E (Net) | 101M | 63.36M | 74.27M | 77.01M | 49.17M | 52.85M | 3.31B | 2.89B | 2.53B | 2.37B | 2.23B | 1.96B | 1.82B | 148.14M | 1.72M |
| Investment Securities | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 490K | 1000K | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 156.12M | 344.92M | 341.12M | 249.84M | 177.48M | 167.53M | 231.53M | 367.95M | 286.04M | 150.48M | 112.94M | 73.39M | 96.16M | 17.46M | 338K |
| Cash & Equivalents | 167.99M | 180.11M | 159.7M | 121.57M | 103.33M | 89.67M | 124.25M | 270.3M | 100.32M | 102.42M | 69.83M | 69.94M | 64.68M | 11.5M | 262K |
| Receivables | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 16K | 1000K | 136K | 500K | 1000K | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | -14.35M | 63.95M | 81.92M | 44.02M | 1.11M | -45.53M | 46.28M | 45.26M | 94.03M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.19M | 76K |
| Intangible Assets | 492.33M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 689.27M | 0 | 415.73M | 423.29M | 675.55M | 629.63M | 587.06M | 518.29M | 484.08M | 47.9M | 838K |
| Total Liabilities | 2.56B | 2.68B | 4.77B | 5.46B | 2.51B | 2.56B | 2.41B | 1.99B | 1.88B | 1.62B | 1.54B | 1.33B | 1.01B | 92.21M | 3.73M |
| Total Debt | 2.46B | 2.58B | 4.64B | 5.29B | 2.44B | 2.48B | 2.31B | 1.9B | 1.77B | 1.51B | 1.42B | 1.25B | 941.62M | 78.57M | 1.2M |
| Net Debt | 2.29B | 2.4B | 4.48B | 5.17B | 2.34B | 2.39B | 2.18B | 1.63B | 1.67B | 1.41B | 1.35B | 1.18B | 876.93M | 67.07M | 938K |
| Long-Term Debt | 2.4B | 2.19B | 3.13B | 3.4B | 1.73B | 2.36B | 2.27B | 1.87B | 1.77B | 1.51B | 747.38M | 1.24B | 282.35M | 78.57M | 1.23M |
| Short-Term Borrowings | 472.95M | 324.17M | 1.39B | 1.74B | 669.97M | 67.12M | 15.43M | 6.68M | 0 | 0 | 672M | 0 | 659.27M | 0 | 0 |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 232.3M | 58.93M | 125.13M | 144.18M | 46.43M | 52.12M | 25.35M | 23.98M | 35.76M | 31.39M | 33.04M | 27.98M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 555.08M | 408.91M | 1.51B | 1.9B | 727.68M | 99.29M | 53.45M | 35.46M | 417.33M | 346.53M | 724.54M | 757.44M | 701.99M | 5.22M | 2.5M |
| Accounts Payable | 42.77M | 43.82M | 75.73M | 99.01M | 22.89M | 25.89M | 28.31M | 22.9M | 31.53M | 23.23M | 22.86M | 18.66M | 14.79M | 2.52M | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 26.96M | 28.25M | 28.73M | 46.21M | 28.46M | 32.76M | 0 | 0 | 16.22M | 18.54M | 18.43M | 15.49M | 12.25M | 1.86M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 56.95M | 5.3M | 3.72M | 5.14M | 328K | -2.45B | 68.61M | 63.08M | 38.87M | 42.4M | 712.51M | 32.94M | 19.2M | 5.85M | -1.23M |
| Total Equity | 1.51B | 1.66B | 2.19B | 2.64B | 1.45B | 1.63B | 1.55B | 1.71B | 1.43B | 1.41B | 1.36B | 1.22B | 1.42B | 122.72M | -796K |
| Equity Growth % | -85.31% | -23.94% | -17.13% | 81.52% | -10.62% | 4.66% | -9.1% | 19.68% | 1.03% | 4.3% | 11.14% | -13.87% | 1054.39% | 15517.09% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 1.51B | 1.66B | 2.19B | 2.64B | 1.44B | 1.62B | 1.53B | 1.7B | 1.43B | 1.41B | 1.35B | 1.21B | 1.42B | 122.72M | -796K |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.4M | 14.9M | 5.92M | 21.76M | 12.33M | 3.26M | 1.08M | 8.2M | 14.73M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Common Stock | 3.44M | 3.49M | 3.64M | 3.64M | 2.37M | 2.37M | 2.23M | 2.23M | 2.09M | 2M | 1.99M | 1.69M | 1.78M | 157K | 3K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 4.21B | 4.25B | 4.36B | 4.35B | 2.68B | 2.68B | 2.42B | 2.41B | 2.03B | 1.86B | 1.71B | 1.48B | 1.58B | 133.59M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | -2.72B | -2.61B | -2.15B | -1.7B | -1.25B | -1.07B | -896.55M | -733.25M | -615.45M | -468.4M | -346.06M | -272.81M | -155.12M | -11.35M | -445K |
| Preferred Stock | 68K | 240K | 240K | 240K | 115K | 113K | 107K | 103K | 54K | 54K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 43K |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | -0.31% | -3.99% | -1.75% | -3.51% | 0.3% | 0.28% | 0.28% | 1.33% | 0.34% | 0.79% | 1.73% | -0.08% | -4.05% | -6.42% | -14.08% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | -0.84% | -11.71% | -5.45% | -10.35% | 0.78% | 0.71% | 0.66% | 2.96% | 0.77% | 1.7% | 3.66% | -0.16% | -6.96% | -11.46% | - |
| Debt / Assets | 60.39% | 59.25% | 66.75% | 65.34% | 61.65% | 59.26% | 58.13% | 51.32% | 53.56% | 49.82% | 49.09% | 49.05% | 38.77% | 36.56% | 40.91% |
| Debt / Equity | 1.63x | 1.55x | 2.12x | 2.01x | 1.68x | 1.52x | 1.48x | 1.11x | 1.24x | 1.07x | 1.05x | 1.02x | 0.66x | 0.64x | - |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 7.95x | 6.66x | 7.79x | 23.68x | 9.02x | 8.53x | 9.02x | 6.74x | 6.17x | 5.43x | 6.95x | 9.57x | - | - | - |
| Book Value per Share | 7.14 | 7.45 | 9.49 | 18.51 | 14.02 | 16.55 | 17.37 | 19.80 | 20.51 | 21.15 | 23.91 | 21.00 | 25.16 | 2.18 | -0.01 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying GNL stock.
As of 2025, Global Net Lease, Inc. (GNL) had total assets of $4.35B including $344.9M in current assets.
Global Net Lease, Inc. (GNL) carries total debt of $2.58B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Global Net Lease, Inc. (GNL) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.66B ($7.45 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Global Net Lease, Inc. (GNL) reported a current ratio of 0.84x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Persistent portfolio contraction and losses
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Base Shrinks Amid Deleveraging
Total assets contracted from $8.0B in 2024Q1 to $4.1B in 2026Q2, reflecting aggressive dispositions and portfolio repositioning, as reported in quarterly filings.
The balance sheet is clearly in a contraction phase, with total assets down nearly 49% over the period. This deleveraging is evident in total debt falling from $5.3B to $2.5B, but the pace of asset sales may be outpacing the reduction in leverage, as the debt-to-equity ratio remains elevated at 1.63. The trajectory suggests a strategic shift toward a smaller, more focused portfolio, but the continued negative revenue growth indicates the repositioning is still underway.
Portfolio Quality Under Transition
Occupancy and asset quality are in flux following the merger, with NOI margins recovering to 88% in 2026Q2 from a trough of 13.3% in 2025Q4, per reported data.
The portfolio is undergoing significant transformation, with the low gross margin of 12.9% suggesting that not all properties are under absolute triple-net leases, potentially indicating higher property-level operating costs. The recovery in NOI margins to 88% in the latest quarter suggests that the core portfolio is stabilizing, but the low PPE net of $101M relative to total assets of $4.1B implies a relatively small property base, which may be a result of sale-leaseback structures or data reporting nuances. Investors should monitor tenant concentration and the mix of industrial versus office assets, as the latter may carry higher re-leasing risk.
Leverage Elevated Despite Debt Reduction
Debt-to-equity stands at 1.63, down from 2.12 in 2024Q4, but remains above peers like WPC at 1.07, based on reported figures.
While total debt has been reduced from $5.3B to $2.5B, the debt-to-equity ratio remains high relative to the peer group, indicating that equity has also contracted. The reduction in debt is a positive sign, but the pace of deleveraging may be constrained by the need to fund ongoing operations and dividends. The maturity ladder and interest rate exposure are not disclosed in the provided data, but given the high leverage, refinancing risk in a higher-rate environment is a concern. The anomalous debt/equity figure of 1.55% in the data appears to be a data error, and actual leverage is likely much higher, as evidenced by the debt-to-equity ratio of 1.63.
Equity Base Eroded by Losses
Equity fell from $2.5B in 2024Q1 to $1.5B in 2026Q2, with negative ROE in most quarters, indicating persistent value destruction, per financial statements.
The equity base has been significantly eroded by cumulative losses, with ROE negative in seven of the last ten quarters. This suggests that the company is not generating sufficient returns to cover its cost of capital, and the reliance on external financing to bridge the dividend gap may be further diluting shareholders. The internalization of management and merger-related costs have likely contributed to these losses, but the ongoing negative ROE indicates that the underlying portfolio may not be generating adequate returns. Investors should monitor whether the new management can improve capital allocation and reverse this trend.
Liquidity Position Appears Adequate
Cash and equivalents of $168M in 2026Q2 provide a cushion, but the fixed charge coverage ratio is not disclosed, based on available data.
With cash of $168M and total debt of $2.5B, the liquidity position appears manageable in the near term, but the lack of disclosure on coverage ratios limits a full assessment. The negative FFO in some quarters and the thin AFFO coverage of dividends suggest that cash flow generation may be insufficient to service debt and maintain distributions without asset sales or external financing. The working capital swings noted in the cash flow analysis may indicate that operating cash flow is being supported by non-recurring items, which could mask underlying liquidity pressures.
Lease Expirations Pose Uncertainty
With a weighted average lease term not disclosed, the lease expiration schedule remains a key risk, especially given the office portfolio's exposure, per reported data.
The lack of disclosure on lease expirations and WALT is a significant gap in assessing forward visibility. Given the company's exposure to office properties, which are typically harder to re-lease, any concentration of expirations in the near term could pressure occupancy and NOI. The recent revenue decline of 38% suggests that dispositions are reducing the income stream, but the stability of the remaining portfolio is uncertain. Investors should seek additional disclosure on lease rollover and mark-to-market opportunities to better gauge future cash flows.
Hidden Risks in Portfolio Composition
The low gross margin of 12.9% and minimal PPE net suggest potential off-balance-sheet liabilities or aggressive accounting, warranting scrutiny, based on reported figures.
The reported gross margin is unusually low for a net-lease REIT, which may indicate that a significant portion of the portfolio is not under absolute triple-net leases, leading to higher property-level expenses. Additionally, the PPE net of $101M is minuscule relative to total assets of $4.1B, which could imply that many properties are held via joint ventures or are subject to sale-leaseback arrangements that are not fully consolidated. This raises questions about the true extent of off-balance-sheet debt and the quality of the asset base. Investors should investigate the nature of these arrangements and the potential for hidden liabilities that could impact the balance sheet.