Operating cash flow of $95.9M in 2026Q2 exceeded net income of $102.0M, but cumulative OCF of $1.12B over ten quarters contrasts with -$1.02B net income, highlighting non-cash charges; aggressive buybacks ($245.4M in 2026Q2) strain liquidity as cash fell to $300.2M.
Teleflex Incorporated (TFX) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 387.04M | 340.68M | 635.74M | 510.64M | 342.14M | 651.42M | 436.41M | 439.52M | 437.38M | 419.88M | 408.48M | 300.81M | 286.56M | 226.54M | 186.05M | 94.48M | 213.1M | 204.17M | 171.17M | 393.59M | 344.66M | 335.89M | 247.44M | 225.2M | 200.59M | 188.26M | 189.41M | 134.1M | 131.6M | 80.8M | 71.6M |
| Operating CF Margin % | - | 17.1% | 20.86% | 17.17% | 12.26% | 23.19% | 17.2% | 16.93% | 17.86% | 19.56% | 21.87% | 16.62% | 15.58% | 13.36% | 12% | 6.18% | 11.83% | 10.8% | 7.07% | 20.35% | 13.02% | 13.36% | 9.96% | 9.87% | 9.66% | 9.88% | 10.73% | 8.38% | 9.15% | 7.05% | 7.69% |
| Operating CF Growth % | 1063.86% | -46.41% | 24.5% | 49.25% | -47.48% | 49.27% | -0.71% | 0.49% | 4.17% | 2.79% | 35.79% | 4.97% | 26.49% | 21.76% | 96.93% | -55.67% | 4.37% | 19.28% | -56.51% | 14.2% | 2.61% | 35.75% | 9.87% | 12.27% | 6.55% | -0.61% | 41.25% | 1.9% | 62.87% | 12.85% | 1.13% |
| Net Income | 306.96M | 58.53M | 69.67M | 356.33M | 363.14M | 485.37M | 335.32M | 461.47M | 200.8M | 152.53M | 237.84M | 245.71M | 188.75M | 151.75M | -189.1M | 121.7M | 125.91M | 142.94M | 133.98M | 146.48M | 139.43M | 138.82M | 9.52M | 109.1M | 125.27M | 112.31M | 109.22M | 95.2M | 82.6M | 70.1M | 57.2M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 155.15M | 177.74M | 274.6M | 242.12M | 230.59M | 237.36M | 227.25M | 214.06M | 209.98M | 155.26M | 117.91M | 108.39M | 111.13M | 92.98M | 80.47M | 85.62M | 92.19M | 101.06M | 111.22M | 78.76M | 99M | 100.85M | 114.59M | 104.35M | 95.12M | 92.4M | 77.42M | 67.4M | 60.1M | 47.9M | 38.8M |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 18.45M | 0 | 31.35M | 31.46M | 27.22M | 22.94M | 20.74M | 26.94M | 22.44M | 19.41M | 16.87M | 14.47M | 12.23M | 11.87M | 8.62M | 3.99M | 9.62M | 9.06M | 8.64M | 7.51M | 6.78M | 23.17M | 16.23M | 6.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | -61.92M | -100.97M | 0 | -13.05M | -13.01M | -110.24M | -32.67M | -168.59M | -6.1M | -41.82M | -29.35M | -54.41M | -14.15M | -8.93M | -39.18M | -13.16M | 1.33M | 14.25M | -29.5M | 83.15M | 13.39M | 14.09M | -3.33M | 17.88M | 7.28M | 9.68M | 8.97M | 4.7M | 2.7M | 1.5M | -700K |
| Other Non-Cash Items | -904.11M | 286.46M | 261.94M | 5.54M | -25.84M | -111.36M | -136.51M | 20.15M | 54.55M | 2.53M | 46.63M | -9.9M | -1.46M | 2.82M | 342.26M | 9.44M | 36.54M | 38.19M | 57.39M | 14.41M | 39.24M | -10.78M | 96.55M | -6.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -200K | 100K | -2.1M |
| Working Capital Changes | 164.06M | -81.09M | -1.82M | -111.77M | -239.96M | 127.34M | 22.28M | -114.5M | -44.3M | 131.97M | 18.57M | -3.44M | -9.94M | -23.94M | -17.02M | -113.11M | -52.48M | -101.32M | -110.57M | 63.26M | 46.82M | 69.74M | 13.88M | -6.14M | -27.08M | -26.14M | -6.2M | -33.2M | -13.6M | -38.8M | -21.6M |
| Change in Receivables | -32.72M | -85.53M | -27.95M | -15.76M | -38.46M | -600K | 44.75M | -59.79M | -23.41M | -11.04M | -11.03M | 398K | 9.39M | -1.29M | -2.93M | -43.12M | -56.3M | 10.54M | 2.85M | 5.4M | 71.68M | 49.62M | -34.66M | -25.26M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Inventory | 88.5M | 84.04M | 1.72M | -41.07M | -110.69M | -11.14M | -5.5M | -53.17M | -37.2M | -22.36M | 6.41M | -8.37M | -15.53M | -8.93M | -1.97M | -32.66M | -3.69M | 37.04M | -20.88M | 62.45M | 10.26M | 2.83M | 27.38M | -8M | -25.25M | -14.62M | -18.15M | 5.5M | -8.6M | -13.9M | -4M |
| Change in Payables | 35.42M | -8.28M | 9.66M | -31.26M | -24.79M | 94.02M | -3.68M | 5M | 52.05M | 39M | 15.42M | -117K | 9.82M | -684K | -1.46M | -248K | -1.33M | -28.19M | 0 | 9.47M | -15.71M | 10.04M | 42.05M | 20.19M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Investing | 1.46B | -849.19M | -99.36M | -621.23M | -257.94M | 156.74M | -837.78M | -73.48M | -196.39M | -1.83B | -56.97M | -154.85M | -108.14M | -372.64M | -388.2M | 297.85M | 147.8M | 281.2M | -39.45M | -1.54B | -100.51M | 56.01M | -465.61M | -185.51M | -128.77M | -272.37M | -152M | -164.2M | -69.1M | -187.5M | -40.1M |
| Capital Expenditures | -651K | -95.24M | -126.43M | -91.44M | -79.19M | -71.62M | -90.69M | -102.69M | -80.8M | -70.9M | -53.13M | -61.45M | -67.57M | -63.58M | -65.39M | -45.09M | -33.54M | -30.41M | -39.27M | -44.73M | -63.23M | -69.85M | -55.58M | -94.23M | -87.16M | -97.74M | -80.65M | -140.4M | -91.1M | -74.6M | -40.5M |
| CapEx % of Revenue | 0.03% | 4.78% | 4.15% | 3.07% | 2.84% | 2.55% | 3.57% | 3.96% | 3.3% | 3.3% | 2.84% | 3.4% | 3.67% | 3.75% | 4.22% | 2.95% | 1.86% | 1.61% | 1.62% | 2.31% | 2.39% | 2.78% | 2.24% | 4.13% | 4.2% | 5.13% | 4.57% | 8.77% | 6.34% | 6.51% | 4.35% |
| Acquisitions | 1.31M | -825.14M | -120K | -588.92M | -186M | 220.32M | -766.43M | 10.88M | -117.15M | -1.76B | -3.84M | -93.4M | -40.57M | -309.06M | -320.46M | 345.45M | 181.47M | 312.78M | 8.46M | -1.47B | -39.78M | -14.7M | -458.53M | -93.96M | -57.23M | -170.7M | -87.85M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Other Investing | 1.47B | 76.19M | 27.2M | 63.13M | 22.24M | 19.15M | 19.34M | 18.33M | 1.55M | 6.33M | 10.2M | 408K | 5.21M | -50K | -2.35M | -2.37M | -129K | -1.17M | -6.08M | -17.1M | 2.5M | 140.56M | 48.5M | 2.68M | 15.62M | -3.92M | 16.5M | -23.8M | 22M | -101.4M | 3M |
| Cash from Financing | -61.61M | 611.54M | -421.93M | 38.54M | -217.51M | -715.82M | 455.16M | -418.84M | -206.43M | 1.14B | -118.69M | -85.58M | -287.7M | 232.6M | -47.29M | -5.16M | -336.63M | -413.29M | -218.01M | 1.09B | -250.1M | -261.63M | 277.55M | -27.6M | -74.22M | 85.87M | -21.32M | -7.5M | -26.5M | 68.8M | -18.5M |
| Debt Issued (Net) | 138.79M | 982.04M | -161.5M | 101.25M | -145.45M | -634.5M | 575M | -253.5M | -93.5M | 1.22B | -42.87M | -15.66M | -230.1M | 305M | -706K | 34.49M | -196.87M | -349.04M | -134.94M | 1.16B | -123.79M | -133.22M | 295.89M | -2.44M | -55.85M | 103.23M | -4.41M | 5.8M | -15.8M | 78.7M | -12M |
| Equity Issued (Net) | -250M | -300M | -200M | 0 | 0 | 11.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 7.61M | 9M | 34.01M | 10.66M | 1.55M | 7.3M | 24.17M | -81.6M | -23.34M | 16.23M | 6.5M | 9.85M | 8.23M | 5.26M | 5.9M | 5.9M | 4.4M | 5.5M |
| Dividends Paid | -58.77M | -60.27M | -63.54M | -63.9M | -63.79M | -63.65M | -63.22M | -62.83M | -62.16M | -61.24M | -58.96M | -56.53M | -56.26M | -55.92M | -55.59M | -55.14M | -54.31M | -54.02M | -53.05M | -48.93M | -44.1M | -39.32M | -34.58M | -30.88M | -27.86M | -25.59M | -22.16M | -19.1M | -16.6M | -14.3M | -12.1M |
| Share Repurchases | -554.95M | -300M | -200M | 0 | -4.31M | 0 | 0 | -21.21M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -93.55M | -46.52M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Financing | 108.38M | -10.23M | 3.12M | 1.19M | -8.27M | -28.77M | -56.62M | -102.51M | -50.77M | -21.43M | -16.87M | -13.39M | -1.34M | -24.09M | 0 | -18.52M | -96.1M | -702K | -37.32M | -47.71M | -618K | -63.03M | 0 | -775K | -355K | 0 | 0 | -100K | 0 | 0 | 100K |
| Net Change in Cash | 39.8M | 73.68M | 104.8M | -69.19M | -153.05M | 69.2M | 74.8M | -56.08M | 23.6M | -210.23M | 205.42M | 35.13M | -128.75M | 94.94M | -247.05M | 375.64M | 20.15M | 81.03M | -94.07M | -47.07M | 8.87M | 123.58M | 59.38M | 12.09M | -2.41M | 1.76M | 16.1M | -37.7M | -26.5M | 68.8M | -18.5M |
| Free Cash Flow | 386.39M | 245.44M | 509.31M | 419.2M | 262.95M | 579.8M | 345.71M | 336.83M | 356.58M | 348.98M | 355.35M | 239.36M | 218.99M | 162.96M | 120.66M | 49.39M | 179.56M | 173.76M | 131.9M | 348.85M | 281.43M | 266.04M | 191.85M | 130.97M | 113.42M | 90.51M | 108.76M | -6.3M | 40.5M | 6.2M | 31.1M |
| FCF Margin % | 17.13% | 12.32% | 16.71% | 14.09% | 9.42% | 20.64% | 13.63% | 12.98% | 14.56% | 16.26% | 19.02% | 13.23% | 11.9% | 9.61% | 7.78% | 3.23% | 9.97% | 9.19% | 5.45% | 18.03% | 10.63% | 10.58% | 7.72% | 5.74% | 5.46% | 4.75% | 6.16% | -0.39% | 2.82% | 0.54% | 3.34% |
| FCF Growth % | 46.18% | -51.81% | 21.5% | 59.42% | -54.65% | 67.71% | 2.64% | -5.54% | 2.18% | -1.79% | 48.46% | 9.3% | 34.38% | 35.06% | 144.3% | -72.49% | 3.34% | 31.74% | -62.19% | 23.96% | 5.78% | 38.67% | 46.49% | 15.47% | 25.31% | -16.78% | 1826.4% | -115.56% | 553.23% | -80.06% | -22.44% |
| FCF per Share | 9.28 | 5.49 | 10.81 | 8.86 | 5.56 | 12.23 | 7.31 | 7.15 | 7.62 | 7.48 | 7.46 | 4.98 | 4.71 | 3.73 | 2.95 | 1.21 | 4.46 | 4.35 | 3.31 | 8.89 | 7.04 | 6.50 | 4.74 | 3.28 | 2.79 | 2.30 | 2.82 | -0.16 | 1.05 | 0.16 | 0.86 |
| FCF Conversion (FCF/Net Income) | 1.26x | -0.38x | 9.12x | 1.43x | 0.94x | 1.34x | 1.30x | 0.95x | 2.18x | 2.75x | 1.72x | 1.23x | 1.53x | 1.50x | -0.98x | 0.29x | 1.06x | 0.67x | 1.43x | 2.69x | 2.47x | 2.42x | 26.00x | 2.06x | 1.60x | 1.68x | 1.73x | 1.41x | 1.59x | 1.15x | 1.25x |
| Interest Paid | 0 | 0 | 98.38M | 100.22M | 70.92M | 73.6M | 0 | 0 | 101.79M | 74.26M | 44.2M | 45.97M | 49.8M | 43.58M | 46.68M | 45.34M | 76.4M | 88.58M | 113.89M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Taxes Paid | 0 | 0 | 164.9M | 114.21M | 162.05M | 108.61M | 0 | 0 | 65.61M | 49.14M | 23.95M | 56.08M | 52.87M | 43.98M | 74.91M | 67.42M | 97.54M | 181.05M | 206.37M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying TFX stock.
Teleflex Incorporated (TFX) generated $340.7M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Teleflex Incorporated (TFX) generated $245.4M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Teleflex Incorporated (TFX) spent $95.2M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Teleflex Incorporated (TFX) returned $60.3M to shareholders via cash dividends and spent $300.0M on share repurchases. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Impairments and revenue volatility
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Earnings Quality Masked by Impairments
Teleflex's operating cash flow exceeded net income in most quarters, but 2025Q4's -$714.3M net loss versus $152.2M OCF highlights non-cash charges, per reported figures.
The OCF/NI ratio swung wildly, from -5.72 in 2026Q1 to 7.26 in 2024Q1, reflecting impairment-driven net losses rather than operational deterioration. In 2025Q4, OCF of $152.2M against a net loss of -$714.3M suggests that reported losses are largely non-cash, but the volatility in OCF itself—ranging from $7.7M to $231.0M—indicates inconsistent cash generation. Investors should monitor whether the gap between net income and OCF narrows as impairment charges subside.
FCF Volatility Undermines Stability
Free cash flow swung from -$26.9M in 2025Q2 to $209.8M in 2024Q3, with FCF margins ranging -3.4% to 27.4%, as reported in quarterly data.
The erratic FCF trajectory, including a negative quarter in 2025Q2, suggests that Teleflex's cash generation is not yet stable despite a rebound to $114.7M in 2026Q2. The 2026Q2 FCF margin of 20.1% is respectable, but the prior quarter's 8.5% and the negative print in 2025Q2 indicate that the company has not consistently converted revenue into cash. This volatility may reflect working capital swings and one-time items, warranting a longer-term view to assess true FCF power.
Capital Intensity Remains Moderate
CapEx as a percentage of revenue averaged around 3.5% over the last ten quarters, with CapEx ranging from -$38.4M to $18.8M, per reported financials.
Teleflex's capital expenditure is relatively low for a medical device manufacturer, suggesting a lighter asset base or a shift toward less capital-intensive operations. However, the negative CapEx figures in several quarters (e.g., -$34.6M in 2025Q2) are unusual and may indicate asset sales or timing effects, which could distort the true maintenance capex requirement. The low capital intensity implies that FCF is less constrained by heavy reinvestment, but investors should verify whether this level sustains product innovation.
Working Capital Swings Drive Cash Flow
Working capital changes ranged from -$140.9M to $164.1M over the past ten quarters, significantly impacting operating cash flow, as reported in quarterly statements.
The large swings in working capital, particularly the -$140.9M drag in 2025Q2 and the +$164.1M boost in 2025Q4, indicate that Teleflex's cash flow is heavily influenced by inventory, receivables, and payables timing. These fluctuations may reflect channel inventory adjustments or supply chain disruptions, but they obscure the underlying cash generation. The 2026Q2 positive $14.9M contribution suggests some normalization, yet the pattern remains unpredictable, complicating cash flow forecasting.
Aggressive Buybacks Amidst Cash Flow Strain
Teleflex deployed $245.4M on buybacks in 2026Q2 and $300.0M in 2025Q1, while dividends remained steady near $15M quarterly, per reported cash flow data.
The substantial share repurchases, totaling over $545M in two quarters, appear aggressive given the volatile operating cash flow and negative net income in some periods. This suggests a commitment to returning capital to shareholders, but it may strain liquidity if cash generation falters. The steady dividend, though modest, adds to the cash outflow, and investors should monitor whether buybacks are funded by debt or cash reserves, as the data does not specify the source.
Cumulative Cash Outpaces Reported Earnings
Over the last ten quarters, cumulative operating cash flow of approximately $1.12B exceeds cumulative net income of -$1.02B, per reported figures, indicating significant non-cash charges.
The massive divergence between cumulative OCF and net income is primarily due to impairment charges in 2025Q3 and 2025Q4, which totaled over $1.1B. This suggests that the company's underlying cash-generating ability is stronger than reported earnings imply, but it also raises questions about the sustainability of those impairments and whether future write-downs could recur. The positive OCF despite net losses indicates that the core business is still generating cash, but the earnings quality remains clouded by these charges.
What Could Invalidate the Base Case
The apparent cash flow strength may be overstated if working capital swings reverse or if buybacks are debt-funded, as reported data does not specify financing sources.
The positive OCF in quarters with large net losses could be flattered by aggressive working capital management, such as delaying payables or accelerating collections, which may not be sustainable. Additionally, the heavy buyback activity, totaling over $545M in two quarters, could be financed by debt, increasing leverage and interest costs that are not visible in the cash flow statement. Investors should scrutinize the sustainability of working capital contributions and the capital structure implications of the buybacks.