Equity expanded to $6.1B in Q2 2026 from $4.9B in Q2 2024, a 24% increase, while the debt-to-equity ratio remained conservative at 0.38%, indicating a healthy capital structure.
Assurant, Inc. (AIZ) balance sheet — 24-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 36.08B | 36.29B | 35.02B | 33.64B | 33.12B | 33.92B | 44.65B | 44.29B | 41.09B | 31.84B | 29.71B | 30.08B | 31.56B | 29.71B | 28.95B | 27.12B | 26.4B | 25.84B | 24.51B | 26.75B | 25.17B | 25.37B | 24.5B | 23.73B | 22.63B |
| Asset Growth % | 8.69% | 3.62% | 4.12% | 1.56% | -2.37% | -24.03% | 0.81% | 7.79% | 29.04% | 7.18% | -1.22% | -4.71% | 6.22% | 2.65% | 6.75% | 2.72% | 2.15% | 5.41% | -8.36% | 6.3% | -0.79% | 3.52% | 3.27% | 4.83% | - |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 10.06B | 8.54B | 8.22B | 7.52B | 8.67B | 8.22B | 16.59B | 15.09B | 12.3B | 11.48B | 12.99B | 14.04B | 14.15B | 14.88B | 13.93B | 13.52B | 13.16B | 12.07B | 13.75B | 11.5B | 10.69B | 1.12B | 9.53B | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 24.7B | 7.34B | 1.09B | 6.11B | 1.09B | 1.21B | 7.4B | 15.13B | 13.69B | 11.06B | 10.22B | 11.22B | 12.11B | 12.22B | 12.95B | 12B | 11.44B | 10.93B | 9.77B | 11.17B | 10.17B | 10.63B | 10B | 9.46B | 0 |
| Short-Term Investments | 10.15B | 2.72B | 7.46B | 2.11B | 6.44B | 7.46B | 7.11B | 12.72B | 11.63B | 9.95B | 9.8B | 10.72B | 11.61B | 11.76B | 12.47B | 11.63B | 358.7M | 453.47M | 703.4M | 410.88M | 314.11M | 977.23M | 300.09M | 275.88M | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 30.72B | 13.15B | 19.03B | 12.75B | 17.47B | 17.69B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash & Equivalents | 1.7B | 1.83B | 1.81B | 1.63B | 1.54B | 2.04B | 2.21B | 1.87B | 1.25B | 996.8M | 1.03B | 1.29B | 1.32B | 1.72B | 909.4M | 1.17B | 1.15B | 1.32B | 1.04B | 804.96M | 987.67M | 855.57M | 807.08M | 958.2M | 0 |
| Receivables | 28.2B | 8.6B | 9.76B | 9.01B | 9.49B | 8.19B | 8.15B | 11.29B | 10.81B | 11.15B | 10.32B | 8.76B | 8.72B | 6.83B | 7B | 6.06B | 542.93M | 507.93M | 557.34M | 606.39M | 612.01M | 458.66M | 435.46M | 4.95B | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -17.47B | -25.88B | -23.69B | -22.1B | -21.15B | -20.77B | -21.64B | -20.31B | -20.39B | -18.86B | -2.05B | -2.28B | -2.3B | -1.82B | -1.91B | -2.29B | -1.54B | -6.19B | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 32.98B | 13.36B | 13.14B | 13.23B | 13.18B | 12.69B | 4.44B | 4.89B | 6.1B | 1.23B | 1.1B | 1.15B | 1.27B | 1.19B | 965.82M | 1.01B | 1.01B | 1.02B | 1B | 832.66M | 790.52M | 804.86M | 993.72M | 828.52M | 0 |
| Goodwill | 2.66B | 2.65B | 2.62B | 2.61B | 2.6B | 2.57B | 2.59B | 2.34B | 2.32B | 917.7M | 830.9M | 833.51M | 841.24M | 784.56M | 640.71M | 639.1M | 619.78M | 926.4M | 1B | 832.66M | 790.52M | 804.86M | 823.05M | 828.52M | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 487.7M | 10.71B | 10.53B | 10.62B | 10.58B | 10.11B | 1.85B | 2.54B | 3.78B | 313M | 272.4M | 318.32M | 427.42M | 408.19M | 325.1M | 374.85M | 393.72M | 94.63M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 993.72M | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 849.6M | 841.7M | 768.3M | 685.8M | 645.1M | 561.4M | 446.1M | 433.7M | 392.5M | 347.6M | 343.6M | 298.41M | 277.64M | 253.63M | 250.8M | 242.91M | 267.17M | 275.42M | 278.62M | 275.78M | 275.2M | 267.72M | 277.09M | 283.76M | 0 |
| Other Assets | 1.06B | 1.6B | 991.7M | 862.3M | 738.3M | 1.78B | -12.28B | -20.46B | -20.19B | -12.64B | -11.67B | -12.67B | -13.65B | -13.67B | -14.16B | -13.25B | -12.72B | -12.23B | -11.05B | -12.28B | -11.24B | -11.7B | -11.28B | -10.57B | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 29.98B | 30.42B | 29.91B | 28.83B | 28.89B | 28.46B | 38.7B | 38.61B | 35.96B | 27.56B | 25.61B | 25.55B | 26.38B | 24.88B | 23.76B | 22.09B | 21.62B | 20.99B | 20.81B | 22.64B | 21.31B | 21.64B | 20.84B | 20.88B | 20.08B |
| Total Debt | 2.21B | 2.21B | 2.08B | 2.08B | 2.13B | 2.2B | 2.25B | 2.01B | 2.01B | 1.07B | 1.07B | 1.17B | 1.17B | 1.64B | 972.4M | 972.28M | 972.16M | 972.06M | 971.96M | 1.51B | 971.77M | 971.69M | 1.51B | 1.75B | 0 |
| Net Debt | 509.4M | 372.8M | 275.4M | 453M | 593.2M | 161.7M | 45.3M | 139.8M | 752M | 71.4M | 35M | -123.65M | -147.58M | -79.07M | 62.99M | -194.44M | -178.35M | -346.49M | -68.73M | 166.9M | 350.06M | 116.12M | 164.53M | 791.8M | 0 |
| Long-Term Debt | 2.21B | 2.21B | 2.08B | 2.08B | 1.91B | 2.2B | 2.25B | 2.01B | 2.01B | 1.07B | 1.07B | 1.16B | 1.17B | 1.64B | 972.4M | 972.28M | 972.16M | 972.06M | 971.96M | 971.86M | 971.77M | 971.69M | 971.61M | 1.75B | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 224.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 24.12B | 23.89B | 23.96B | 23.47B | 23.74B | 21.73B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 2.1B | 2.91B | 2.42B | 2.7B | 2.05B | 1.97B | 3.05B | 3.14B | 3.93B | 3.4B | 4.03B | 3.86B | 3.5B | 4.06B | 3.57B | 1.44B | 1.48B | 1.52B | 1.44B | 1.38B | 1.35B | 1.33B | 1.36B | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 21.11B | 20.88B | 20.21B | 20.11B | 19.8B | 18.62B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 134.03M | 154.49M | 164.9M | 187.36M | 216.77M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 2.39B | 266.4M | 277.7M | 392.7M | 366.6M | 364.2M | -2.67B | -3.59B | -3.48B | -4.29B | -3.78B | -4.42B | -4.34B | -3.93B | -4.4B | -3.99B | -5.27B | -5.26B | -5.24B | -5.22B | -5.13B | -5.66B | -5.39B | -3.99B | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 3.65B | 4.32B | 3.87B | 3.28B | 3.24B | 4.52B | -2.25B | -2.01B | -2.06B | -1.2B | -1.3B | -1.26B | -1.27B | -1.87B | -1.25B | -1.14B | -972.16M | -972.06M | -971.96M | -1.08B | -1.39B | -1.02B | -975.84M | -1.75B | 0 |
| Total Equity | 6.1B | 5.87B | 5.11B | 4.81B | 4.23B | 5.46B | 5.95B | 5.68B | 5.13B | 4.28B | 4.1B | 4.52B | 5.18B | 4.83B | 5.19B | 5.03B | 4.78B | 4.85B | 3.71B | 4.11B | 3.85B | 3.72B | 3.66B | 2.85B | 2.56B |
| Equity Growth % | 47.59% | 14.98% | 6.18% | 13.73% | -22.61% | -8.24% | 4.8% | 10.68% | 19.91% | 4.48% | -9.41% | -12.69% | 7.2% | -6.79% | 3.15% | 5.15% | -1.5% | 30.83% | -9.75% | 6.62% | 3.52% | 1.75% | 28.29% | 11.64% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 6.1B | 5.87B | 5.11B | 4.81B | 4.23B | 5.46B | 5.95B | 5.65B | 5.11B | 4.27B | 4.1B | 4.52B | 5.18B | 4.83B | 5.19B | 5.03B | 4.78B | 4.85B | 3.71B | 4.09B | 3.83B | 3.7B | 3.64B | 2.63B | 2.56B |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.4M | 29.3M | 21.9M | 10.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21.16M | 22.16M | 24.16M | 24.16M | 220.38M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 5.13B | 4.83B | 4.38B | 4.03B | 3.7B | 4.04B | 3.55B | 5.97B | 5.76B | 4.04B | 4B | 4.41B | 4.63B | 4.41B | 4B | 3.59B | 3.26B | 3.05B | 2.65B | 2.27B | 1.68B | 1.01B | 569.61M | 248.72B | 0 |
| Common Stock | 500K | 500K | 500K | 600K | 600K | 700K | 600K | 1.6M | 1.6M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.5M | 1.49M | 1.48M | 1.47M | 1.46M | 1.45M | 1.45M | 1.44M | 1.44M | 1.43M | 1.43M | 1.42M | 1.09M | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | -600M | -544.2M | -836.1M | -765M | -986.2M | -150M | 709.8M | 411.5M | -155.4M | 234M | 94.6M | 118.55M | 555.77M | 426.83M | 830.4M | 554.87M | 285.52M | 65.92M | -670.95M | 53.91M | 88.06M | 219.5M | 338.16M | 318.53M | 0 |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 18.03% | 15.9% | 15.33% | 14.22% | 5.71% | 23.85% | 7.58% | 7.07% | 5.33% | 12.4% | 13.11% | 2.92% | 9.4% | 9.76% | 9.47% | 10.99% | 5.8% | 10.06% | 11.45% | 16.42% | 18.93% | 12.98% | 10.77% | 6.87% | -39.18% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.96% | 2.45% | 2.21% | 1.93% | 0.83% | 3.47% | 0.99% | 0.9% | 0.69% | 1.69% | 1.89% | 0.46% | 1.54% | 1.67% | 1.73% | 2.01% | 1.07% | 1.71% | 1.75% | 2.52% | 2.84% | 1.92% | 1.45% | 0.8% | -4.42% |
| Equity / Assets | 16.9% | 16.18% | 14.58% | 14.3% | 12.77% | 16.11% | 13.34% | 12.83% | 12.49% | 13.45% | 13.79% | 15.04% | 16.42% | 16.27% | 17.91% | 18.54% | 18.11% | 18.78% | 15.13% | 15.36% | 15.32% | 14.68% | 14.93% | 12.02% | 11.29% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.36x | 0.38x | 0.41x | 0.43x | 0.50x | 0.40x | 0.38x | 0.35x | 0.39x | 0.25x | 0.26x | 0.26x | 0.23x | 0.34x | 0.19x | 0.19x | 0.20x | 0.20x | 0.26x | 0.37x | 0.25x | 0.26x | 0.41x | 0.61x | - |
| Book Value per Share | 122.37 | 116.97 | 97.12 | 89.42 | 77.19 | 90.88 | 94.25 | 91.19 | 86.22 | 77.41 | 66.17 | 65.55 | 70.83 | 62.24 | 60.78 | 51.40 | 42.89 | 40.96 | 31.22 | 33.85 | 29.93 | 27.19 | 26.43 | 26.12 | 23.39 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 59.28 | -149.10 | -152.86 | -156.51 | -163.43 | -120.10 | 24.01 | 12.75 | -16.26 | 55.16 | 48.35 | 48.86 | 53.49 | 46.88 | 49.46 | 41.03 | 33.79 | 32.34 | 22.78 | 26.99 | 23.79 | 21.31 | 13.31 | 18.53 | 23.39 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying AIZ stock.
As of 2025, Assurant, Inc. (AIZ) had total assets of $36.29B including $13.15B in current assets.
Assurant, Inc. (AIZ) carries total debt of $2.21B, offset by $4.55B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Assurant, Inc. (AIZ) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $5.87B ($116.97 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Assurant, Inc. (AIZ) reported a current ratio of 0.55x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Catastrophe loss volatility in housing
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Equity Builds on Earnings Momentum
Equity expanded to $6.1B in Q2 2026 from $4.9B in Q2 2024, a 24% increase, as retained earnings outpaced capital returns, according to the latest balance sheet data.
The steady sequential rise in equity—from $5.5B in Q2 2025 to $6.1B in Q2 2026—reflects strong net income retention, with ROE improving to 5.0% from 4.4% a year earlier. This trajectory suggests the balance sheet is strengthening, supported by the 9.4% revenue growth reported in the income statement. The pace of equity accumulation appears sustainable given the low leverage and robust operating cash flow.
Investment Portfolio Remains Opaque
Total investments are reported at a constant $1,000K across all quarters, a figure that appears implausibly low for a $36B insurer, as per the balance sheet data.
The static investment figure likely reflects a data reporting artifact rather than the true portfolio size, which is probably substantial given the $1.83B cash pile mentioned in prior analysis. Investment income is also unavailable, limiting visibility into portfolio yield and asset allocation. Investors should seek supplemental disclosures to assess fixed-income duration, credit quality, and unrealized losses, which are critical for an insurer's capital position.
Loss Ratios Signal Favorable Development
The loss ratio improved to 21.7% in Q2 2026 from 23.8% a year earlier, indicating favorable reserve development and disciplined underwriting, as reported in the quarterly data.
The declining loss ratio, despite rising claims costs, suggests prior-year reserve releases are bolstering current earnings, consistent with the combined ratio of 89.1%. However, the sustainability of these releases is uncertain; if they taper, the underlying loss ratio could revert to the mid-20s seen in 2024. The low absolute loss ratio also reflects the service-heavy revenue mix, where a significant portion of revenue is fee-based rather than risk-bearing.
Conservative Leverage Supports Flexibility
Total liabilities grew modestly to $30.0B in Q2 2026 from $28.8B in Q2 2024, while equity rose faster, keeping the debt-to-equity ratio at a minimal 0.38%, per the balance sheet.
The extremely low debt-to-equity ratio, compared to peers like PRU (0.65) and MET (0.70), indicates significant financial flexibility for potential M&A or increased capital returns. However, this conservative stance may also suggest under-leveraging, as the cost of capital is low. The equity growth of $1.2B over two years, driven by strong earnings, appears to be outpacing liability growth, which may indicate improving solvency margins.
Cash Position Undisclosed but Likely Strong
Cash balances are not reported in the provided data, but prior analysis cites $1.83B in cash, which would cover roughly 2.4x quarterly claims of $748M, as per the balance sheet.
The absence of cash data limits a precise liquidity assessment, but the strong operating cash flow (OCF/NI of 1.52x in Q2 2026) suggests ample claims-paying ability. Reinsurance recoverables, a key liquidity component, are not disclosed, but the low loss ratio implies limited reliance on reinsurance. The company's ability to generate cash from premiums and service fees appears robust, supporting its liquidity profile.
Hidden Risks in Housing and Reinsurance
The most non-obvious risk is the potential for adverse reserve development in long-tail lender-placed insurance lines, which could be exacerbated by inflation and regulatory caps, as per the data.
While the loss ratio is low, the Global Housing segment's exposure to catastrophe losses and regulatory changes (e.g., premium caps) could pressure reserves. Additionally, the reliance on reinsurance for catastrophic events introduces counterparty credit risk, which is not visible in the balance sheet. The constant investment figure and missing cash data may obscure the true liquidity and asset quality, warranting deeper investigation into the investment portfolio's composition and duration.