Revenue grew 5.5% year-over-year in Q2 2026 to $171.7M, with gross margin recovering to 54.9% in Q1 2026 from 50.2% in Q2 2024, though Q2 2026 EPS dropped to $0.52 from $0.94 sequentially.
American Public Education, Inc. (APEI) annual income statement — 22-year revenue, gross profit & net income history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'03 |
|---|
| Sales/Revenue | 668.01M | 648.86M | 624.56M | 600.54M | 606.33M | 418.8M | 321.79M | 286.27M | 297.69M | 299.25M | 313.14M | 327.91M | 350.02M | 329.48M | 313.52M | 260.38M | 198.17M | 149M | 107.15M | 69.09M | 40.05M | 28.18M | 17.76M |
| Revenue Growth % | 3.64% | 3.89% | 4% | -0.95% | 44.78% | 30.15% | 12.41% | -3.84% | -0.52% | -4.44% | -4.5% | -6.32% | 6.23% | 5.09% | 20.41% | 31.39% | 33% | 39.06% | 55.07% | 72.54% | 42.11% | 58.68% | - |
| Cost of Goods Sold | 303.2M | 313.17M | 295.7M | 292.86M | 288.47M | 172.62M | 122.16M | 111.92M | 115.28M | 116.16M | 117.01M | 118.85M | 123.77M | 112.78M | 110.19M | 95.22M | 75.31M | 58.38M | 43.56M | 29.48M | 17.96M | 13.25M | 8.6M |
| COGS % of Revenue | - | 48.26% | 47.35% | 48.77% | 47.58% | 41.22% | 37.96% | 39.09% | 38.73% | 38.82% | 37.37% | 36.24% | 35.36% | 34.23% | 35.15% | 36.57% | 38% | 39.18% | 40.66% | 42.66% | 44.85% | 47.01% | 48.45% |
| Gross Profit | 364.81M | 335.69M | 328.86M | 307.68M | 317.86M | 246.18M | 199.62M | 174.35M | 182.41M | 183.09M | 196.13M | 209.06M | 226.25M | 216.69M | 203.32M | 165.16M | 122.86M | 90.61M | 63.59M | 39.62M | 22.09M | 14.93M | 9.15M |
| Gross Margin % | 54.61% | 51.74% | 52.65% | 51.23% | 52.42% | 58.78% | 62.04% | 60.91% | 61.27% | 61.18% | 62.63% | 63.76% | 64.64% | 65.77% | 64.85% | 63.43% | 62% | 60.82% | 59.34% | 57.34% | 55.15% | 52.99% | 51.55% |
| Gross Profit Growth % | - | 2.08% | 6.88% | -3.2% | 29.11% | 23.32% | 14.49% | -4.41% | -0.37% | -6.65% | -6.19% | -7.6% | 4.41% | 6.58% | 23.11% | 34.42% | 35.59% | 42.51% | 60.51% | 79.37% | 47.92% | 63.09% | - |
| Operating Expenses | 300.74M | 281.83M | 295.79M | 355.99M | 455.2M | 215.81M | 174.87M | 153.71M | 149M | 146.13M | 147.15M | 156.78M | 160.42M | 149.26M | 134.52M | 102.3M | 72.84M | 50.75M | 37.9M | 24.93M | 19.15M | 12.71M | 7.31M |
| OpEx % of Revenue | - | 43.44% | 47.36% | 59.28% | 75.08% | 51.53% | 54.34% | 53.69% | 50.05% | 48.83% | 46.99% | 47.81% | 45.83% | 45.3% | 42.91% | 39.29% | 36.76% | 34.06% | 35.37% | 36.07% | 47.81% | 45.1% | 41.15% |
| Selling, General & Admin | 288.79M | 281.83M | 270.77M | 261.19M | 275M | 196.7M | 161.03M | 138.11M | 131.5M | 127.36M | 127.76M | 136.26M | 144.3M | 135.75M | 123.38M | 93.06M | 66.34M | 45.52M | 33.66M | 22.1M | 14.04M | 11.41M | 2.82M |
| SG&A % of Revenue | - | 43.44% | 43.35% | 43.49% | 45.36% | 46.97% | 50.04% | 48.24% | 44.17% | 42.56% | 40.8% | 41.55% | 41.23% | 41.2% | 39.35% | 35.74% | 33.48% | 30.55% | 31.42% | 31.98% | 35.07% | 40.48% | 15.86% |
| Research & Development | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| R&D % of Revenue | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Other Operating Expenses | 2M | 0 | 25.02M | 94.8M | 180.2M | 19.11M | 13.84M | 15.6M | 17.5M | 18.78M | 19.38M | 20.52M | 16.12M | 13.51M | 11.15M | 9.24M | 6.5M | 5.23M | 4.24M | 2.83M | 5.1M | 1.3M | 4.49M |
| Operating Income | 64.07M | 53.86M | 33.07M | -48.31M | -137.35M | 30.37M | 24.76M | 28.54M | 33.41M | 34.86M | 38.28M | 52.28M | 65.83M | 67.44M | 68.8M | 62.86M | 50.02M | 39.87M | 25.69M | 14.69M | 2.94M | 2.22M | 1.85M |
| Operating Margin % | 9.59% | 8.3% | 5.29% | -8.04% | -22.65% | 7.25% | 7.69% | 9.97% | 11.22% | 11.65% | 12.22% | 15.94% | 18.81% | 20.47% | 21.95% | 24.14% | 25.24% | 26.76% | 23.97% | 21.26% | 7.34% | 7.89% | 10.41% |
| Operating Income Growth % | - | 62.89% | 168.45% | 64.83% | -552.23% | 22.68% | -13.26% | -14.57% | -4.16% | -8.93% | -26.79% | -20.58% | -2.38% | -1.98% | 9.45% | 25.66% | 25.48% | 55.19% | 74.86% | 399.69% | 32.19% | 20.35% | - |
| EBITDA | 80.25M | 70.01M | 52.37M | -20.49M | -105.22M | 48.2M | 37.74M | 44.14M | 50.91M | 53.63M | 57.66M | 72.8M | 81.95M | 80.94M | 79.95M | 72.1M | 56.52M | 45.1M | 29.92M | 17.52M | 4.89M | 3.52M | 2.06M |
| EBITDA Margin % | 12.01% | 10.79% | 8.38% | -3.41% | -17.35% | 11.51% | 11.73% | 15.42% | 17.1% | 17.92% | 18.41% | 22.2% | 23.41% | 24.57% | 25.5% | 27.69% | 28.52% | 30.27% | 27.93% | 25.35% | 12.22% | 12.51% | 11.62% |
| EBITDA Growth % | 29.52% | 33.68% | 355.58% | 80.53% | -318.29% | 27.72% | -14.49% | -13.3% | -5.08% | -6.98% | -20.8% | -11.17% | 1.25% | 1.25% | 10.89% | 27.55% | 25.34% | 50.71% | 70.83% | 257.98% | 38.85% | 70.74% | - |
| D&A (Non-Cash Add-back) | 16.18M | 16.15M | 19.3M | 27.82M | 32.13M | 17.83M | 12.98M | 15.6M | 17.5M | 18.78M | 19.38M | 20.52M | 16.12M | 13.51M | 11.15M | 9.24M | 6.5M | 5.23M | 4.24M | 2.83M | 1.95M | 1.3M | 216K |
| EBIT | 66.84M | 47.94M | 33.07M | -53.54M | -133.52M | 29.54M | 25.61M | 20.65M | 33.41M | 36.95M | 48.98M | 53.1M | 65.95M | 67.75M | 68.94M | 62.86M | 50.02M | 39.87M | 25.69M | 14.69M | 2.94M | 2.22M | 1.85M |
| Net Interest Income | -2.96M | -4.23M | -2.13M | -4.46M | -17.73M | -4.28M | 1.09M | 3.91M | 2.92M | 185K | 116K | 115K | 361K | 309K | 135K | 109K | 111K | 94K | 706K | 888K | 289K | 225K | 0 |
| Interest Income | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.09M | 3.91M | 2.92M | 185K | 116K | 115K | 361K | 309K | 135K | 109K | 111K | 94K | 706K | 888K | 289K | 225K | 0 |
| Interest Expense | 2.96M | 4.23M | 2.13M | 4.46M | 17.73M | 4.28M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Income/Expense | -4.24M | -10.15M | -2.13M | -9.7M | -13.92M | -5.11M | 1.09M | -3.98M | 2.03M | 185K | 116K | 115K | 361K | 309K | 135K | 109K | 111K | 94K | 706K | 888K | 289K | 225K | 5K |
| Pretax Income | 59.84M | 43.7M | 30.94M | -58M | -151.27M | 25.26M | 25.85M | 16.66M | 35.44M | 35.04M | 38.39M | 52.4M | 66.19M | 67.75M | 68.94M | 62.97M | 50.13M | 39.96M | 26.39M | 15.58M | 3.23M | 2.45M | 1.85M |
| Pretax Margin % | 8.96% | 6.74% | 4.95% | -9.66% | -24.95% | 6.03% | 8.03% | 5.82% | 11.91% | 11.71% | 12.26% | 15.98% | 18.91% | 20.56% | 21.99% | 24.18% | 25.3% | 26.82% | 24.63% | 22.55% | 8.06% | 8.69% | 10.43% |
| Income Tax | 14.16M | 12.15M | 10.42M | -10.71M | -36.28M | 7.51M | 7.02M | 5.19M | 9.29M | 11.49M | 14.94M | 20.07M | 25.15M | 25.64M | 26.53M | 22.21M | 20.27M | 16.02M | 10.21M | 6.83M | 771K | 1.06M | 634K |
| Effective Tax Rate % | 23.67% | 27.8% | 33.68% | 18.47% | 23.98% | 29.73% | 27.16% | 31.13% | 26.2% | 32.8% | 38.91% | 38.31% | 37.99% | 37.85% | 38.48% | 35.27% | 40.42% | 40.08% | 38.67% | 43.83% | 23.88% | 43.32% | 34.21% |
| Net Income | 45.67M | 31.56M | 16.11M | -47.29M | -114.99M | 17.75M | 18.82M | 10.01M | 25.64M | 21.12M | 24.16M | 32.41M | 40.88M | 42.03M | 42.32M | 40.76M | 29.87M | 23.94M | 16.19M | 8.75M | 1.8M | 1.08M | 217K |
| Net Margin % | 6.84% | 4.86% | 2.58% | -7.87% | -18.97% | 4.24% | 5.85% | 3.5% | 8.61% | 7.06% | 7.71% | 9.88% | 11.68% | 12.76% | 13.5% | 15.65% | 15.07% | 16.07% | 15.11% | 12.66% | 4.49% | 3.85% | 1.22% |
| Net Income Growth % | 59.61% | 95.85% | 134.08% | 58.88% | -747.77% | -5.68% | 87.98% | -60.95% | 21.39% | -12.56% | -25.48% | -20.7% | -2.75% | -0.68% | 3.84% | 36.46% | 24.75% | 47.91% | 84.99% | 386.65% | 65.71% | 400% | - |
| Net Income (Continuing) | 45.67M | 31.56M | 20.52M | -47.29M | -114.99M | 17.75M | 18.82M | 10.01M | 25.64M | 21.12M | 24.16M | 32.41M | 40.88M | 42.03M | 42.32M | 40.76M | 29.87M | 23.94M | 16.19M | 8.75M | 2.46M | 1.39M | 1.22M |
| Discontinued Operations | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| EPS (Diluted) | 2.43 | 1.36 | 0.55 | -2.94 | -6.08 | 0.97 | 1.25 | 0.62 | 1.54 | 1.29 | 1.49 | 1.93 | 2.33 | 2.35 | 2.35 | 2.23 | 1.59 | 1.27 | 0.86 | 0.64 | 0.15 | -1.44 | 0.04 |
| EPS Growth % | 128.81% | 147.27% | 118.71% | 51.64% | -726.8% | -22.4% | 101.61% | -59.74% | 19.38% | -13.42% | -22.8% | -17.17% | -0.85% | 0% | 5.38% | 40.25% | 25.2% | 47.67% | 34.38% | 326.67% | 110.42% | -3700% | - |
| EPS (Basic) | - | 1.40 | 0.57 | -2.94 | -6.10 | 0.98 | 1.27 | 0.62 | 1.56 | 1.30 | 1.50 | 1.94 | 2.36 | 2.38 | 2.38 | 2.28 | 1.63 | 1.32 | 0.91 | 0.69 | 0.15 | -1.44 | 0.04 |
| Diluted Shares Outstanding | 18.81M | 18.66M | 18.15M | 18.19M | 18.91M | 18.25M | 15.05M | 16.25M | 16.63M | 16.38M | 16.21M | 16.8M | 17.54M | 17.92M | 18.04M | 18.3M | 18.84M | 18.91M | 18.82M | 13.6M | 12.18M | 8.06M | 5.4M |
| Basic Shares Outstanding | 18.36M | 18.01M | 17.63M | 18.11M | 18.86M | 18.09M | 14.88M | 16.09M | 16.4M | 16.24M | 16.07M | 16.68M | 17.36M | 17.66M | 17.77M | 17.88M | 18.28M | 18.17M | 17.84M | 12.76M | 11.74M | 8.06M | 5.4M |
| Dividend Payout Ratio | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 1071.43% | - | - | - |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying APEI stock.
For fiscal year 2025, American Public Education, Inc. (APEI) reported total revenue of $648.9M. This represents a 3553.9% increase compared to $17.8M in 2003.
American Public Education, Inc. (APEI) is profitable, generating $31.6M in net income for the fiscal year ending 2025 with a net profit margin of 4.9%.
American Public Education, Inc. (APEI) reported an operating income of $53.9M, resulting in an operating profit margin of 8.3%. This margin reflects the operational efficiency of the business before interest and taxes.
American Public Education, Inc. (APEI) generated $335.7M in gross profit for the year, representing a gross profit margin of 51.7%. This demonstrates the company's core pricing power and production efficiency.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Nursing faculty wage inflation
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Revenue Stabilization Amidst Segment Shifts
APEI's revenue grew 5.5% year-over-year in Q2 2026 to $171.7M, marking the third consecutive quarter of positive growth after a -3.5% dip in Q4 2025, as reported in the latest income statement.
The revenue trajectory appears to have stabilized, with sequential growth from $158.3M in Q4 2025 to $171.7M in Q2 2026, suggesting that enrollment trends across APUS and nursing segments are firming. However, the growth rate remains modest compared to peers like PRDO (24.2% 1Y), indicating that APEI is not experiencing the same acceleration. The stabilization likely reflects the integration of Rasmussen and Hondros, but the lack of double-digit growth suggests that the company is still in a consolidation phase rather than a high-growth mode.
Gross Margin Recovery but Below Peers
Gross margin improved to 54.9% in Q1 2026 from 50.2% in Q2 2024, yet remains below PRDO's 71.7% and STRA's 49.0%, as per the latest financial statements.
The gross margin has shown a clear upward trend from the low 50s in 2024 to the mid-50s in 2026, indicating that the company is achieving better cost efficiencies, likely from scaling online programs and optimizing campus-based nursing operations. However, the margin is still structurally lower than PRDO's, which reflects APEI's heavier mix of campus-based nursing education that requires physical infrastructure. The improvement suggests that management's integration efforts are yielding results, but the gap to the best-in-class peer highlights the inherent cost disadvantage of the campus model.
Operating Leverage Emerging from Cost Discipline
Operating income surged from $2.2M in Q2 2024 to $21.8M in Q1 2026, with operating margin expanding from 1.5% to 12.5%, as reported in the income statement data.
The operating leverage is evident as revenue grew only modestly (from $152.9M to $174.7M over the same period), yet operating income multiplied tenfold. This suggests that SG&A costs have been kept in check while gross profit expanded, indicating that the company is benefiting from fixed cost absorption. The Q2 2026 operating income is not disclosed, but the net income of $9.8M implies continued profitability. The margin expansion from 1.5% to 12.5% is a strong signal that the operational restructuring is paying off, though investors should monitor whether this is sustainable given the ongoing nursing faculty wage pressures.
Earnings Quality Bolstered by Tax and One-Time Items
Net income swung from $371K in Q2 2024 to $17.7M in Q1 2026, with EPS growth of 129.3% year-over-year, but SBC of $2.2M per quarter remains a modest drag, per the latest filings.
The earnings quality appears to be improving, but the jump in Q1 2026 EPS to $0.94 from $0.41 in Q1 2025 warrants scrutiny. The effective tax rate may have been lower than usual, and there could be one-time gains from the integration. The SBC of around $2.2M per quarter is relatively small, representing less than 2% of revenue, so it does not materially distort EPS. However, the negative EPS in Q2 2025 (reported as -$0.02) despite positive net income suggests that there may have been preferred stock dividends or other adjustments, which investors should note when comparing EPS trends.
SG&A Efficiency Drives Margin Expansion
SG&A as a percentage of revenue declined from 44.7% in Q2 2024 to 42.4% in Q1 2026, while gross margin improved by 470 basis points, as per the income statement data.
The cost structure is dominated by SG&A, which includes marketing and administrative expenses, and it has been the primary lever for margin improvement. The decline in SG&A intensity from 44.7% to 42.4% indicates that the company is gaining operational efficiency, likely from consolidating back-office functions and optimizing marketing spend. However, the risk of rising nursing faculty wages could pressure COGS, which is not separately disclosed but is embedded in the gross margin. The company's ability to maintain this discipline will be critical to sustaining the margin gains.
2025-2026 Turnaround Marked by Margin Recovery
The inflection point occurred in Q1 2026 when operating margin jumped to 12.5% from 7.4% in Q1 2025, driven by a 6.2% revenue increase and a 54.9% gross margin, as reported in the latest income statement.
The most significant inflection in the income statement history is the transition from the low-margin, low-profitability period of 2024 (operating margins of 1.5-3.4%) to the current level of 12.5% in Q1 2026. This was driven by a combination of revenue stabilization and cost discipline, particularly in SG&A. The Q2 2026 net income of $9.8M, despite the lack of operating income disclosure, suggests that the momentum continued. This inflection appears to be the result of the successful integration of Rasmussen and Hondros, which initially dragged margins but now seems to be contributing positively. The lasting impact is a more diversified revenue base and a leaner cost structure, though the sustainability depends on enrollment trends and faculty costs.
What Could Invalidate the Base Case
Despite the Q1 2026 margin expansion, the Q2 2026 EPS of $0.52 fell sharply from $0.94, and the forward guidance range of $0.18-$0.29 suggests potential volatility, as per the latest earnings release.
The sharp sequential decline in EPS from Q1 to Q2 2026, coupled with the wide forward guidance range, raises questions about the sustainability of the margin recovery. The operating margin in Q2 2026 is not disclosed, but the net margin of 5.7% is significantly lower than Q1's 10.1%, indicating that the operating leverage may not be as durable as it appears. Additionally, the persistent nursing faculty shortages and wage inflation could erode gross margins, which are already below peers like PRDO. If enrollment growth stalls or regulatory changes under Gainful Employment rules materialize, the current valuation could be at risk. Investors should monitor whether the Q1 2026 margin spike was a one-time event or the start of a sustainable trend.