Total assets contracted roughly 18% from $3.8 billion to $3.1 billion over the ten quarters while equity held near $292 million, leaving an equity-to-assets ratio of about 9%, which appears adequate but is being eroded by recent losses.
BCB Bancorp, Inc. (BCBP) balance sheet — 24-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 735.07M | 277.32M | 318.02M | 279.52M | 321.81M | 497.55M | 361.72M | 642.7M | 315.33M | 239.51M | 160.78M | 143.5M | 42.88M | 31.94M | 36.37M | 118.13M | 121.13M | 67.35M | 6.76M | 11.78M | 25.84M | 25.15M | 4.53M | 11.79M | 5.14M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 13.24M | 277.32M | 318.02M | 279.52M | 230.09M | 412.36M | 261.96M | 551.09M | 196M | 125.22M | 66.02M | 133.87M | 33.12M | 30.83M | 35.13M | 117.09M | 121.13M | 67.35M | 6.76M | 11.78M | 25.84M | 25.15M | 4.53M | 11.79M | 5.14M |
| Short Term Investments | 134.97M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 91.72M | 85.19M | 99.76M | 91.61M | 119.33M | 114.3M | 94.77M | 9.62M | 9.77M | 1.1M | 1.24M | 1.04M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 2.88B | 2.83B | 3.11B | 3.38B | 3.16B | 2.42B | 2.42B | 2.28B | 2.41B | 1.78B | 1.58B | 1.43B | 1.22B | 1.14B | 1.09B | 1.05B | 946.36M | 540.14M | 550.42M | 533.86M | 469.78M | 425.23M | 363.42M | 279.1M | 172.69M |
| Investments Growth % | -20.07% | -9.04% | -8.01% | 7.05% | 30.59% | 0.01% | 6.16% | -5.73% | 35.95% | 12.11% | 10.64% | 17.26% | 7.35% | 4.36% | 3.33% | 11.44% | 75.21% | -1.87% | 3.1% | 13.64% | 10.48% | 17.01% | 30.21% | 61.62% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 11.45B | 2.83B | 3.11B | 3.38B | 3.06B | 2.33B | 2.32B | 2.18B | 2.29B | 1.66B | 1.49B | 1.42B | 1.21B | 1.14B | 1.09B | 1.05B | 946.36M | 540.14M | 550.42M | 533.86M | 469.78M | 425.23M | 363.42M | 279.1M | 172.69M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 12.99M | 15.18M | 16.07M | 13.46M | 9.18M | 12.92M | 8.32M | 8.38M | 6.15M | 5.57M | 5.59M | 4.45M | 4.16M | 4.06M | 5M | 5.2M | 3.8M | 3.88M | 3.78M | 3.7M | 3.1M | 2.33M | 1.86M | 1.13M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.38M | 5.43M | 5.49M | 5.55M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.25M | 5.25M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 129K | 178K | 234K | 298K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 21.75M | 22.72M | 25.25M | 25.99M | 24.03M | 24.69M | 30.26M | 33.17M | 20.29M | 18.77M | 19.38M | 15.73M | 14.3M | 13.85M | 13.57M | 13.58M | 11.36M | 5.36M | 5.63M | 5.93M | 5.88M | 5.52M | 5.68M | 5.7M | 2.63M |
| Other Assets | -2.88B | 112.32M | 110.79M | 113.17M | 101.38M | 86.63M | 81.78M | 22.23M | 16.53M | 11.7M | 23.2M | 21.61M | 19.39M | 11.85M | 18.75M | 16.68M | 17.05M | 11.24M | 8.82M | 8.13M | 5.64M | 4.89M | 2.33M | 2.23M | 1.52M |
| Total Current Assets | 2.34B | 290.31M | 333.19M | 295.6M | 335.26M | 506.73M | 374.64M | 651.02M | 323.71M | 245.66M | 166.36M | 149.09M | 47.34M | 36.09M | 40.44M | 123.13M | 126.33M | 71.15M | 10.64M | 15.56M | 29.53M | 30.6M | 6.86M | 13.64M | 6.27M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 21.75M | 2.99B | 3.27B | 3.54B | 3.21B | 2.46B | 2.45B | 2.26B | 2.35B | 1.7B | 1.54B | 1.47B | 1.25B | 1.17B | 1.13B | 1.09B | 980.56M | 560.36M | 567.98M | 547.92M | 481.3M | 435.64M | 371.43M | 287.03M | 176.83M |
| Total Assets | 3.02B | 3.28B | 3.6B | 3.83B | 3.55B | 2.97B | 2.82B | 2.91B | 2.67B | 1.94B | 1.71B | 1.62B | 1.3B | 1.21B | 1.17B | 1.22B | 1.11B | 631.5M | 578.62M | 563.48M | 510.83M | 466.24M | 378.29M | 300.68M | 183.11M |
| Asset Growth % | -32.44% | -8.88% | -6.09% | 8.07% | 19.5% | 5.19% | -2.97% | 8.7% | 37.67% | 13.74% | 5.55% | 24.31% | 7.78% | 3.12% | -3.74% | 9.94% | 75.28% | 9.14% | 2.69% | 10.31% | 9.56% | 23.25% | 25.81% | 64.21% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | -4.87% | -0.36% | 0.5% | 0.8% | 1.4% | 1.18% | 0.73% | 0.75% | 0.73% | 0.55% | 0.48% | 0.48% | 0.6% | 0.79% | -0.17% | 0.52% | 1.65% | 0.62% | 0.61% | 0.83% | 1.14% | 1.12% | 1.07% | 0.99% | 0.71% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 10.64M | 289.35M | 511.46M | 523.75M | 433.63M | 121.74M | 243.43M | 295.99M | 282.38M | 189.12M | 179.12M | 204.12M | 163.12M | 132.12M | 131.12M | 129.53M | 114.12M | 114.12M | 116.12M | 114.12M | 74.12M | 54.12M | 14.12M | 25M | 0 |
| Net Debt | -2.59M | 12.03M | 193.44M | 244.23M | 203.53M | -290.63M | -18.54M | -255.1M | 86.38M | 63.91M | 113.11M | 70.25M | 130.01M | 101.29M | 95.99M | 12.44M | -7M | 46.78M | 109.36M | 102.34M | 48.29M | 28.98M | 9.59M | 13.21M | -5.14M |
| Long-Term Debt | 143.4M | 278.21M | 277.96M | 492.44M | 419.77M | 108.99M | 228.2M | 282.61M | 282.38M | 189.12M | 159.12M | 204.12M | 137.12M | 114.12M | 114.12M | 129.53M | 114.12M | 114.12M | 114.12M | 114.12M | 74.12M | 54.12M | 4.12M | 0 | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 10.64M | 0 | 220.36M | 18M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 20M | 0 | 26M | 18M | 17M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10M | 25M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 2.62B | 12.26M | 12.87M | 15.51M | 9.7M | 10.36M | 10.33M | 9.94M | 11.41M | 7.89M | 5.8M | 6.81M | 7.97M | 7.11M | 7.87M | 9.71M | 7.5M | 2.25M | 2.28M | 2.02M | 2M | 1.42M | 886K | 859K | 788.22K |
| Total Current Liabilities | 10.64M | 2.67B | 2.97B | 3B | 2.81B | 2.56B | 2.32B | 2.36B | 2.18B | 1.57B | 1.41B | 1.27B | 1.05B | 986.67M | 957.79M | 977.62M | 886.29M | 463.74M | 412.5M | 398.82M | 382.75M | 362.85M | 347.24M | 278.65M | 163.55M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 2.76B | 301.61M | 303.97M | 521.26M | 443.33M | 132.1M | 253.75M | 305.93M | 293.79M | 197.01M | 164.92M | 210.93M | 145.09M | 121.23M | 121.99M | 139.24M | 121.63M | 116.37M | 116.41M | 116.15M | 76.13M | 55.54M | 5.01M | 859K | 788.22K |
| Total Liabilities | 2.78B | 2.98B | 3.28B | 3.52B | 3.25B | 2.69B | 2.57B | 2.67B | 2.47B | 1.77B | 1.58B | 1.48B | 1.2B | 1.11B | 1.08B | 1.12B | 1.01B | 580.11M | 528.91M | 514.97M | 458.87M | 418.39M | 352.25M | 279.51M | 164.34M |
| Total Equity | 246.08M | 304.28M | 323.93M | 314.06M | 291.25M | 274.02M | 249.21M | 239.47M | 200.22M | 176.45M | 131.08M | 133.54M | 102.25M | 100.06M | 91.58M | 100.05M | 98.97M | 51.39M | 49.72M | 48.51M | 51.96M | 47.85M | 26.04M | 21.17M | 18.77M |
| Equity Growth % | -38.67% | -6.06% | 3.14% | 7.83% | 6.29% | 9.96% | 4.07% | 19.61% | 13.47% | 34.61% | -1.84% | 30.6% | 2.19% | 9.26% | -8.46% | 1.09% | 92.59% | 3.37% | 2.48% | -6.65% | 8.6% | 83.77% | 23% | 12.76% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 8.15% | 9.28% | 9% | 8.19% | 8.21% | 9.23% | 8.83% | 8.24% | 7.49% | 9.08% | 7.67% | 8.25% | 7.85% | 8.28% | 7.82% | 8.22% | 8.94% | 8.14% | 8.59% | 8.61% | 10.17% | 10.26% | 6.88% | 7.04% | 10.25% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | -53.7% | -3.99% | 5.84% | 9.74% | 16.13% | 13.09% | 8.54% | 9.57% | 8.9% | 6.49% | 6.05% | 5.96% | 7.5% | 9.83% | -2.15% | 6.08% | 19.05% | 7.41% | 7.07% | 8.83% | 11.16% | 12.8% | 15.33% | 12% | 6.97% |
| Book Value per Share | 12.86 | 17.71 | 19.03 | 18.55 | 16.79 | 15.90 | 14.47 | 14.58 | 12.78 | 14.11 | 11.65 | 15.05 | 12.17 | 11.91 | 10.24 | 10.61 | 14.17 | 10.99 | 10.56 | 9.81 | 10.05 | 12.13 | 6.71 | 5.69 | 6.16 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 12.86 | 17.40 | 18.73 | 18.24 | 16.48 | 15.58 | 14.15 | 14.24 | 12.78 | 14.11 | 11.65 | 15.05 | 12.17 | 11.91 | 10.24 | 10.61 | 14.17 | 10.99 | 10.56 | 9.81 | 10.05 | 12.13 | 6.71 | 5.69 | 6.16 |
| Common Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 879K | 699K | 694K | 694K | 692K | 649K | 332K | 331K | 325K | 324K | 323K | 239K | 229.7K | 9.49M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 296.62M | 228.67M | 225.66M | 223.97M | 217.17M | 222.85M | 218M | 215.31M | 195.21M | 177.47M | 135.88M | 136.86M | 106.01M | 104.62M | 100.42M | 91.72M | 85.33M | 46.93M | 46.86M | 45.8M | 45.63M | 45.52M | 27.73M | 26.48M | 9.78M |
| Retained Earnings | -29.23M | 116.42M | 141.85M | 135.93M | 115.11M | 81.17M | 58.34M | 48.43M | 38.41M | 31.24M | 28.16M | 27.38M | 25.98M | 23.71M | 18.88M | 25.25M | 23.75M | 12.84M | 11.32M | 9.75M | 6.87M | 2.8M | -1.93M | -5.55M | -500.64K |
| Accumulated OCI | -8.21M | -2.46M | -5.24M | -7.49M | -6.49M | 1.13M | -205K | -2.22M | -5.08M | -3.14M | -3.86M | -1.6M | -1.34M | 129K | -1.24M | -1.29M | 5K | 13K | -125K | 26K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | -38.35M | -38.35M | -38.35M | -38.35M | -34.53M | -31.13M | -26.92M | -22.05M | -28.32M | -29.12M | -29.1M | -29.1M | -29.11M | -29.09M | -27.18M | -16.33M | -10.76M | -8.72M | -8.68M | -7.38M | -859K | -795K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 25.24M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 13.33M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying BCBP stock.
As of 2025, BCB Bancorp, Inc. (BCBP) had total assets of $3.28B including $290.3M in current assets.
BCB Bancorp, Inc. (BCBP) carries total debt of $289.4M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
BCB Bancorp, Inc. (BCBP) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $304.3M ($17.71 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
BCB Bancorp, Inc. (BCBP) reported a current ratio of 0.11x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Credit costs eroding capital base
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Shrinking Asset Base Signals Deleveraging
According to reported balance sheet data, BCBP's total assets contracted from $3.8 billion in 2024Q1 to $3.1 billion in 2026Q2, a decline of roughly 18% that points to a deliberate or forced shrinkage of the balance sheet rather than organic expansion.
The reduction in total assets has been driven largely by a falling investment securities book, which dropped from about $3.3 billion to $2.9 billion, while cash and bank balances fluctuated sharply between periods. This pattern suggests the bank is running off securities and funding the runoff rather than growing its earning asset base, which may constrain future net interest income. Investors should monitor whether the loan book is stabilizing or continuing to decline, as the reported figures do not clearly isolate loan growth.
Funding Base Shrinks Alongside Assets
Based on reported figures, total liabilities fell from $3.5 billion to $2.8 billion over the ten quarters, and the proportional reduction in funding suggests the deposit franchise has been contracting in step with the asset base.
The steady decline in liabilities, with equity holding near $290 to $330 million, indicates the bank has not replaced maturing or withdrawn funding with new core deposits at a comparable pace. Deposit composition, cost of funds, and deposit beta are not disclosed in the supplied data, so the quality of this funding base cannot be assessed directly. The contraction warrants further investigation into whether it reflects rate-driven outflows or intentional balance sheet management.
Provision Spikes Signal Credit Stress
As reported in financial statements, BCBP's loan loss provisions surged to $20.8 million in 2025Q1 and $19.0 million in 2026Q2, against quarterly net interest income near $23 million, indicating that credit costs now rival core spread income.
Provision expense has been volatile, with several quarters below $5 million followed by sharp spikes, a pattern that may reflect lumpy credit migration or reserve reassessments rather than a steady trend. Non-performing loan balances, charge-off rates, and reserve coverage ratios are not included in the supplied data, so the adequacy of the allowance cannot be confirmed. Investors should monitor whether elevated provisioning persists into subsequent quarters.
Equity Ratio Holds But Earnings Erode It
Based on EDBL-style calculations from reported figures, BCBP's equity-to-assets ratio sits near 9%, roughly stable over the period, but the equity base has been unable to build meaningfully given recent losses in several quarters.
Equity has held in a narrow band of about $290 to $330 million even as assets shrank, which lifts the equity-to-assets ratio but does not by itself confirm regulatory capital strength. Regulatory ratios such as CET1, Tier 1, and leverage ratios are not disclosed in the supplied data and cannot be verified. The negative return on equity in recent quarters suggests capital generation is currently insufficient to support growth or capital return.
Shrinkage May Mask Underlying Earnings Weakness
As reported in financial statements, BCBP's apparent balance sheet stability may be flattered by asset runoff, since the shrinking base reduces the denominator of capital ratios while provisions and negative non-interest income continue to pressure earnings.
A bank that shrinks its assets can show a steadier equity-to-assets ratio even as absolute earnings power weakens, which may give a misleadingly favorable view of capital adequacy. Non-interest income has turned negative in several recent quarters, which is unusual for a regional bank and warrants further investigation. Investors should not treat the stable equity ratio as evidence of balance sheet resilience without confirming loan growth, credit quality, and regulatory capital levels.