The balance sheet shows a thin equity cushion at 18% of assets, with investment securities spiking to $8.0B in 2025Q4 then collapsing to $116.6M by 2026Q2, suggesting potential unrealized losses or strategic repositioning.
Credit Acceptance Corporation (CACC) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 553.3M | 510.3M | 854.5M | 477.8M | 421.7M | 23.3M | 16M | 187.4M | 25.7M | 8.2M | 14.6M | 6.3M | 6.4M | 4.2M | 9M | 4.66M | 3.79M | 2.17M | 3.15M | 712K | 8.53M | 10.44M | 1.54M | 36.04M | 13.64M | 15.95M | 21.48M | 22.72M | 23.98M | 10.35M | 6.53M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 1.4M | 500.7M | 845M | 470.9M | 417.7M | 23.3M | 16M | 187.4M | 25.7M | 8.2M | 14.6M | 6.3M | 6.4M | 4.2M | 9M | 4.66M | 3.79M | 2.17M | 3.15M | 712K | 8.53M | 7.09M | 614K | 36.04M | 13.47M | 15.77M | 20.73M | 11.12M | 13.78M | 349K | 229K |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 9.6M | 9.5M | 6.9M | 4M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.35M | 928K | 0 | 173K | 173K | 751K | 11.6M | 10.2M | 10M | 6.3M |
| Total Investments | 116.6M | 8.02B | 9.5M | 6.9M | 4M | 0 | 0 | 59.3M | 56.9M | 43.6M | 43.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.35M | 928K | 4.45M | 18.05M | 42.95M | 44.42M | 31.07M | 20.39M | 19.97M | 12.62M |
| Investments Growth % | 85444.4% | 84272.63% | 37.68% | 72.5% | - | - | -100% | 4.22% | 30.5% | -0.23% | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | -100% | 260.45% | -79.13% | -75.37% | -57.97% | -3.32% | 42.99% | 52.36% | 2.09% | 58.26% | 404.8% |
| Long-Term Investments | 16.2B | 8.01B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 59.3M | 56.9M | 43.6M | 43.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.45M | 17.88M | 42.77M | 43.67M | 19.47M | 10.19M | 9.97M | 6.32M |
| Accounts Receivables | 7.97B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.45B | 6.93B | 6.69B | 5.76B | 4.62B | 3.89B | 3.1B | 2.51B | 2.21B | 1.93B | 1.6B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 831.26M | 637.51M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 14.1M | 12.6M | 14.7M | 46.5M | 51.4M | 57.3M | 59.4M | 59.7M | 40.2M | 20.5M | 18.2M | 18.9M | 20.9M | 22.3M | 22.2M | 18.47M | 16.31M | 18.73M | 21.05M | 20.12M | 16.2M | 17.99M | 19.71M | 18.5M | 19.95M | 19.65M | 18.42M | 18.24M | 20.63M | 20.84M | 14.96M |
| Other Assets | 0 | 35.8M | -901.2M | -830.1M | -780.1M | 110.9M | 97.4M | -287.4M | -198.6M | 33.4M | 26.3M | -211.9M | -180.4M | -129.1M | -119.5M | -92.55M | -82.02M | -77.97M | -61.5M | -49.89M | -27.93M | -17.99M | -19.71M | -22.95M | -37.83M | -62.42M | -62.09M | -37.71M | -30.82M | -30.81M | -21.28M |
| Total Current Assets | 8.45B | 577.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.88B | 7.33B | 7.33B | 6.16B | 4.93B | 4.17B | 3.33B | 2.73B | 2.38B | 2.08B | 1.71B | 1.3B | 1.14B | 1.1B | 907.18M | 692.54M | 14.46M | 10.99M | 44.29M | 18.09M | 22.39M | 29.93M | 50.9M | 38.05M | 30.15M | 22.02M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 130.7M | 9.02B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 168.2M | 156.8M | 94.8M | 78.3M | 53.9M | 44.5M | 55.9M | 53.9M | 50.4M | 51.1M | 49.37M | 42.37M | 34.52M | 34.6M | 35M | 32.67M | 17.99M | 19.71M | 22.95M | 37.83M | 62.42M | 62.09M | 37.71M | 30.82M | 30.81M | 21.28M |
| Total Assets | 8.62B | 9.6B | 9.74B | 8.39B | 7.63B | 7.05B | 7.49B | 7.42B | 6.24B | 4.99B | 4.22B | 3.39B | 2.79B | 2.43B | 2.13B | 1.76B | 1.34B | 1.18B | 1.14B | 942.18M | 725.21M | 619.39M | 591.31M | 943.78M | 842.33M | 861.43M | 671.03M | 660.24M | 751.93M | 1.12B | 1.07B |
| Asset Growth % | -9.21% | -1.46% | 16.05% | 9.96% | 8.26% | -5.85% | 0.89% | 19.01% | 25.11% | 18.2% | 24.45% | 21.68% | 14.47% | 14.07% | 21.3% | 30.9% | 14.22% | 3.24% | 20.93% | 29.92% | 17.08% | 4.75% | -37.35% | 12.04% | -2.22% | 28.37% | 1.63% | -12.19% | -32.6% | 3.83% | 56.53% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 5.65% | 4.38% | 2.73% | 3.57% | 7.3% | 13.18% | 5.65% | 9.61% | 10.23% | 10.22% | 8.75% | 9.71% | 10.2% | 11.08% | 11.29% | 12.12% | 13.5% | 12.63% | 6.45% | 6.59% | 8.72% | 11.99% | 7.47% | 3.16% | 3.49% | 3.22% | 3.55% | -1.79% | 2.68% | 0.14% | 4.71% |
| Accounts Payable | 394M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 175M | 186.7M | 206.4M | 186.4M | 151.7M | 143.9M | 127.8M | 114.4M | 113.8M | 105.8M | 95.8M | 75.3M | 77.3M | 83.95M | 79.83M | 78.29M | 55.7M | 65.06M | 33.12M | 22.25M | 34.21M | 0 | 34.03M | 25.99M | 26.65M | 33.14M |
| Total Debt | 6.29B | 6.35B | 6.35B | 5.07B | 4.59B | 4.62B | 4.7B | 4.54B | 3.82B | 3.07B | 2.6B | 2.08B | 1.75B | 1.39B | 1.25B | 997.85M | 685.67M | 506.98M | 641.71M | 532.13M | 392.18M | 183.21M | 201.25M | 106.47M | 153.4M | 202.53M | 149.08M | 150.77M | 215.23M | 387.87M | 305.08M |
| Net Debt | 6.28B | 5.85B | 5.51B | 4.6B | 4.17B | 4.6B | 4.69B | 4.35B | 3.8B | 3.06B | 2.59B | 2.08B | 1.75B | 1.39B | 1.24B | 993.19M | 681.88M | 504.81M | 638.56M | 531.42M | 383.65M | 176.12M | 200.63M | 70.42M | 139.93M | 186.76M | 128.36M | 139.65M | 201.46M | 387.52M | 304.85M |
| Long-Term Debt | 6.29B | 4.17B | 6.27B | 4.99B | 3.08B | 4.62B | 4.61B | 4.54B | 3.82B | 3.07B | 2.6B | 1.59B | 1.75B | 1.03B | 1.1B | 0 | 631.09M | 396.3M | 206.89M | 532.13M | 392.18M | 145.31M | 183.7M | 105.42M | 107.9M | 202.53M | 149.08M | 150.77M | 215.23M | 387.87M | 284.88M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 2.18B | 87.3M | 74.1M | 1.51B | 2.6M | 95.9M | 11.3M | 550M | 0 | 749.6M | 489.7M | 119.5M | 362M | 150.2M | 51.61M | 54.57M | 110.68M | 434.83M | 36.3M | 92.85M | 36.3M | 7.7M | 0 | 43.55M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 20.2M |
| Other Liabilities | 0 | 324.1M | -7.55B | -6.23B | -4.29B | 0 | 0 | 529.1M | 0 | 151.7M | 143.9M | 600.7M | 0 | 495.7M | 256M | 0 | 54.57M | 110.68M | 434.83M | -995K | -1.8M | 0 | -225.36M | -129.24M | -121.51M | -213.2M | -159.82M | -160.57M | -226.33M | -402.48M | -293.87M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 398.3M | 2.18B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 175.2M | 186.9M | 206.6M | 188.9M | 191.6M | 167.5M | 127.8M | 117.3M | 133.7M | 112.1M | 97.35M | 75.3M | 77.3M | 84.83M | 449.27M | 78.29M | 36.3M | 72.76M | 33.12M | 65.8M | 34.21M | 0 | 34.03M | 25.99M | 26.65M | 53.34M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 6.64B | 5.89B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.05B | 5B | 4.86B | 4.06B | 3.26B | 2.88B | 2.33B | 1.97B | 1.55B | 1.4B | 1.12B | 793.74M | 600.73M | 716.77M | 227.46M | 436.57M | 190.66M | 225.36M | 129.24M | 121.51M | 213.2M | 159.82M | 160.57M | 226.33M | 402.48M | 293.87M |
| Total Liabilities | 7.03B | 8.07B | 7.99B | 6.64B | 6.01B | 5.23B | 5.19B | 5.07B | 4.25B | 3.45B | 3.04B | 2.46B | 2.08B | 1.68B | 1.51B | 1.22B | 869.04M | 678.03M | 801.6M | 676.73M | 514.87M | 246.37M | 290.42M | 586.22M | 518.48M | 573M | 159.82M | 397.26M | 475.67M | 866.62M | 828.27M |
| Total Equity | 1.59B | 1.52B | 1.75B | 1.75B | 1.62B | 1.82B | 2.3B | 6.38B | 5.48B | 4.34B | 3.54B | 928.1M | 702.2M | 750.1M | 621.9M | 539.95M | 474.47M | 498.21M | 337.75M | 265.45M | 210.35M | 373.03M | 300.89M | 357.56M | 323.85M | 288.44M | 262.23M | 262.98M | 276.26M | 248.99M | 246.14M |
| Equity Growth % | -26.34% | -12.92% | -0.23% | 7.99% | -10.97% | -20.77% | -63.91% | 16.39% | 26.28% | 22.73% | 281.05% | 32.17% | -6.39% | 20.61% | 15.18% | 13.8% | -4.76% | 47.51% | 27.24% | 26.2% | -43.61% | 23.97% | -15.85% | 10.41% | 12.28% | 10% | -0.28% | -4.81% | 10.95% | 1.16% | 23.69% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 18.43% | 15.87% | 17.96% | 20.89% | 21.27% | 25.87% | 30.75% | 85.94% | 87.87% | 87.06% | 83.84% | 27.38% | 25.21% | 30.83% | 29.15% | 30.7% | 35.32% | 42.36% | 29.64% | 28.17% | 29% | 60.22% | 50.89% | 37.89% | 38.45% | 33.48% | 39.08% | 39.83% | 36.74% | 22.32% | 22.91% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 32.35% | 25.9% | 14.15% | 16.94% | 31.08% | 46.44% | 9.7% | 11.06% | 11.69% | 11.94% | 14.91% | 36.77% | 36.66% | 36.9% | 37.82% | 37.07% | 34.98% | 34.99% | 22.27% | 23.08% | 20.1% | 21.55% | 17.41% | 8.27% | 9.7% | 8.96% | 9.01% | -4.69% | 9.52% | 0.61% | 18.65% |
| Book Value per Share | 148.02 | 134.97 | 140.32 | 134.79 | 119.19 | 113.30 | 128.37 | 336.16 | 280.60 | 221.91 | 173.27 | 44.24 | 31.44 | 31.24 | 24.29 | 20.30 | 15.82 | 15.73 | 10.86 | 8.52 | 5.96 | 9.51 | 7.34 | 8.24 | 7.47 | 6.68 | 5.93 | 5.69 | 5.86 | 4.98 | 5.28 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 148.02 | 134.97 | 140.32 | 134.79 | 119.19 | 113.30 | 128.37 | 336.16 | 280.60 | 221.91 | 173.27 | 44.24 | 31.44 | 31.24 | 24.29 | 20.30 | 15.82 | 15.73 | 10.86 | 8.52 | 5.96 | 9.51 | 7.34 | 8.24 | 7.47 | 6.68 | 5.93 | 5.69 | 5.86 | 4.98 | 5.28 |
| Common Stock | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 100K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 200K | 256K | 273K | 311K | 306K | 302K | 302K | 370K | 369K | 421K | 423K | 422K | 425K | 461K | 463K | 461K | 458K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 507.9M | 403.3M | 335.1M | 279M | 245.7M | 197.2M | 161.9M | 157.7M | 154.9M | 145.5M | 131.7M | 100.8M | 88.7M | 63.2M | 53.6M | 39.2M | 32.01M | 24.91M | 11.89M | 10.58M | 54.01M | 29.75M | 25.64M | 125.08M | 107.16M | 109M | 110.23M | 128.92M | 129.9M | 128.34M | 125.4M |
| Retained Earnings | 1.08B | 1.12B | 1.41B | 1.48B | 1.38B | 1.63B | 2.14B | 2.2B | 1.84B | 1.39B | 1.04B | 827.2M | 613.4M | 686.9M | 568.4M | 500.89M | 443.33M | 474.43M | 328.18M | 264.08M | 403.15M | 344.51M | 271.91M | 227.04M | 214.86M | 185.16M | 155.95M | 132.3M | 142.99M | 118.02M | 116.49M |
| Accumulated OCI | -200K | 1M | -300K | -1M | -2.9M | 200K | 1.6M | 800K | -300K | -200K | -200K | -100K | -100K | -200K | -100K | 6K | -110K | -904K | -2.56M | 13K | -36K | -37K | 2.97M | 5.03M | 1.4M | -6.14M | -4.38M | 1.29M | 2.9M | 2.17M | 3.8M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -480.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -152.4M | -130.8M | -202.21M | -541K | -66K | -9.53M | -247.08M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 128.2M | 1.39B | 1.04B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CACC stock.
As of 2025, Credit Acceptance Corporation (CACC) had total assets of $9.60B including $577.5M in current assets.
Credit Acceptance Corporation (CACC) carries total debt of $6.35B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Credit Acceptance Corporation (CACC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.52B ($134.97 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Credit Acceptance Corporation (CACC) reported a current ratio of 0.26x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Provision volatility and rate sensitivity
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Base Fluctuates with Loan Purchases
According to recent financial statements, CACC's total assets oscillated between $8.1B and $9.7B over the past ten quarters, with a notable $1B decline in 2025Q4, suggesting a dynamic balance sheet.
The asset base shows significant volatility, with a peak of $9.7B in 2024Q4 and a trough of $8.1B in 2024Q1. The most recent quarter (2026Q2) saw assets at $8.6B, down from $8.7B in the prior quarter, indicating a slight contraction. This fluctuation appears driven by loan purchase and sale activity, as evidenced by the cash flow statement showing $2.1B in purchases and $1.8B in sales in 2026Q2. The equity base has remained relatively stable around $1.5-1.7B, but the equity-to-assets ratio has hovered between 0.16 and 0.20, suggesting a modest leverage profile that may limit expansion capacity.
Deposit Base Not Disclosed
Based on available data, CACC does not disclose deposit flows or a loan-to-deposit ratio, indicating a non-deposit funding model that relies on alternative sources, as reported in financial statements.
The absence of deposit-related metrics in the balance sheet data is notable. CACC's funding structure appears to rely on wholesale borrowings or securitizations rather than a traditional deposit franchise. This is a critical distinction from typical banks, as it may expose the company to funding liquidity risk and higher costs. Investors should monitor the stability and cost of these alternative funding sources, as they are not explicitly detailed in the provided data.
Provision Reversals Mask Credit Trends
As reported in financial statements, CACC's loan loss provisions swung from positive $220.4M in 2025Q3 to negative $101.9M in 2026Q1, indicating volatile credit quality and potential earnings management.
The provision for loan losses has been highly erratic, with large positive provisions in 2025Q2 and Q3 (over $200M each) followed by negative provisions in 2025Q4 and 2026Q1. This pattern suggests that CACC may be adjusting reserves based on portfolio performance, but the magnitude of swings raises questions about the adequacy of coverage. The negative provisions in recent quarters could indicate improving credit conditions or a release of reserves, but they also may signal a reduction in reserve buffers that could be insufficient if delinquencies rise. The lack of a disclosed NPL ratio or charge-off data limits deeper analysis, but the volatility warrants close monitoring.
Equity Cushion Stable but Thin
Based on reported figures, CACC's equity-to-assets ratio has remained between 0.16 and 0.20 over the past ten quarters, with equity around $1.6B, suggesting a stable but modest capital buffer.
The equity base has been relatively stable, ranging from $1.5B to $1.7B, with the equity-to-assets ratio consistently around 0.17-0.18 in recent quarters. This indicates a moderate leverage level, but for a consumer finance company with significant credit risk, the capital cushion may be considered thin. The company has been active in buybacks, repurchasing $320.3M in 2026Q2, which could further deplete capital if not offset by earnings. The lack of disclosed regulatory capital ratios (CET1, Tier 1) limits a full assessment, but the equity ratio suggests an adequate, though not fortress-like, position.
Cash and Securities Provide Buffer
According to recent financial statements, CACC's cash and bank balances fluctuated widely, from $1.4M in 2026Q2 to $1.1B in 2025Q1, while investment securities spiked to $8.0B in 2025Q4, indicating a variable liquidity profile.
Liquidity appears to be managed through a combination of cash and investment securities, but the composition has been volatile. In 2025Q4, investment securities jumped to $8.0B, likely representing a temporary allocation, but by 2026Q2 they fell to $116.6M, while cash dropped to just $1.4M. This suggests that CACC may be deploying cash into loans or other assets, potentially leaving a thin liquidity buffer. The reliance on wholesale funding, as indicated by the absence of deposits, could amplify liquidity risk if market conditions tighten. Investors should monitor the availability of undrawn credit lines or other contingent funding sources, though these are not disclosed in the provided data.
Rate Sensitivity and Provision Swings
As reported in financial statements, CACC's net interest margin collapsed from 5.0% in 2026Q1 to 0.1% in 2025Q1, reflecting a shift to fee-based income and heightened sensitivity to interest rates.
The dramatic decline in NIM, from 5.0% to 0.1%, indicates a fundamental change in the revenue model, with non-interest income now dominating. This shift may reduce the direct impact of interest rate changes on net interest income, but it also implies that CACC's earnings are increasingly dependent on fee income, which could be more volatile. The provision swings, with negative provisions in recent quarters, suggest that credit costs are a key variable. If interest rates rise, the cost of funding could increase, potentially pressuring margins, while the fee-based model may be less sensitive. However, the lack of detailed duration or beta data limits a precise forward-looking assessment.
What Could Invalidate the Base Case
Based on reported figures, CACC's investment securities surged to $8.0B in 2025Q4 but collapsed to $116.6M by 2026Q2, suggesting potential unrealized losses or a strategic shift that warrants scrutiny.
The dramatic swing in investment securities, from $8.0B in 2025Q4 to $116.6M in 2026Q2, is a non-obvious risk. This could indicate a temporary allocation that was unwound, but it may also reflect realized or unrealized losses that are not fully disclosed. The lack of AOCI data in the balance sheet limits visibility into the impact of interest rate changes on the securities portfolio. If the securities were sold at a loss, it could have implications for capital and future earnings. Investors should investigate the composition and duration of the securities portfolio, as well as any off-balance-sheet commitments, to assess the true risk exposure.