Equity grew to $42.6B with a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.74, but reported investments of $1,000K appear implausibly low, suggesting hidden leverage or understated obligations.
Cigna Corporation (CI) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 157.08B | 157.92B | 155.88B | 152.76B | 143.88B | 154.89B | 155.45B | 155.77B | 153.23B | 61.76B | 59.36B | 57.09B | 55.87B | 54.34B | 51B | 51.05B | 45.68B | 43.01B | 41.41B | 40.06B | 42.4B | 44.86B | 81.06B | 90.95B | 88.95B | 91.59B | 95.09B | 95.33B | 114.61B | 108.2B | 98.93B |
| Asset Growth % | 6.8% | 1.31% | 2.04% | 6.17% | -7.1% | -0.36% | -0.21% | 1.66% | 148.1% | 4.04% | 3.98% | 2.18% | 2.82% | 6.53% | -0.08% | 11.74% | 6.21% | 3.88% | 3.35% | -5.5% | -5.49% | -44.65% | -10.88% | 2.25% | -2.88% | -3.68% | -0.26% | -16.82% | 5.93% | 9.37% | 3.16% |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 18.47B | 15.79B | 18.91B | 17.14B | 19.32B | 24.53B | 22.43B | 28.97B | 28.62B | 26.08B | 23.9B | 24.34B | 0 | 0 | 22.49B | 15.18B | 14.54B | 12.37B | 17.58B | 25.59B | 32.05B | 33.44B | 10.23B | 58.46B | 38.26B | 39.81B | 49.38B | 40.94B | 55.81B | 76.62B |
| Long-Term Investments | 74.89B | 18.47B | 15.13B | 17.98B | 16.24B | 18.4B | 23.2B | 21.49B | 26.93B | 26.48B | 25.39B | 23.52B | 24.18B | 0 | 31.42B | 16.54B | 15.01B | 14.05B | 12.13B | 12.75B | 12.79B | 16.02B | 16.72B | 29.43B | 29.23B | 25.14B | 27.05B | 24.69B | 34.19B | 37.7B | 38.31B |
| Short-Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 665M | 925M | 905M | 920M | 1.33B | 937M | 2.04B | 2.14B | 691M | 381M | 163M | 631M | 0 | 225M | 174M | 493M | 236M | 12.75B | 12.79B | 16.02B | 16.72B | 29.43B | 29.23B | 25.14B | 27.05B | 24.69B | 34.19B | 37.7B | 38.31B |
| Total Current Assets | 46.99B | 47.81B | 48.87B | 37.35B | 30.12B | 36.13B | 27.8B | 29.84B | 20.43B | 9.31B | 13.43B | 13.76B | 12.37B | 2.79B | 4.75B | 45.08B | 40.41B | 39.27B | 36.2B | 37.66B | 40.03B | 42.6B | 78.66B | 88.36B | 86.25B | 88.7B | 92.33B | 92.66B | 111.18B | 104.8B | 97.06B |
| Cash & Equivalents | 6.3B | 7.68B | 7.55B | 7.82B | 5.92B | 5.08B | 10.18B | 4.62B | 3.85B | 2.97B | 3.19B | 1.97B | 1.42B | 2.79B | 2.98B | 4.69B | 1.6B | 924M | 1.34B | 1.97B | 1.39B | 1.71B | 2.52B | 1.39B | 1.57B | 1.93B | 2.21B | 2.23B | 3.03B | 2.63B | 1.29B |
| Receivables | 117.88B | 28.77B | 24.07B | 17.45B | 16.97B | 14.62B | 12B | 10.38B | 10.2B | 2.9B | 3.02B | 3.56B | 2.76B | 0 | 1.78B | 7.61B | 1.32B | 1.36B | 1.41B | 1.41B | 9.5B | 8.65B | 16.22B | 8.58B | 9.98B | 2.8B | 2.81B | 9.24B | 9.15B | 4.26B | 11.52B |
| Other Current Assets | 4.05B | 4.03B | 9.9B | 5.51B | 1.55B | 11.8B | 1.12B | 11.25B | 1.51B | 1.07B | 6.53B | 7.85B | 8.03B | 0 | 0 | 38.81B | 37.32B | 36.5B | 33.22B | 14.2B | 16.34B | 16.25B | 43.2B | 48.12B | 45.47B | 51.82B | 53.03B | 56.5B | 56.57B | 53.46B | 45.95B |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 292.7B | 73.48B | 76.61B | 77.94B | 81.15B | 82.72B | 82.84B | 84.36B | 86.79B | 7.32B | 7.17B | 7.32B | 7.42B | 8.96B | 7.78B | 4.94B | 4.36B | 2.88B | 4.4B | 1.78B | 1.74B | 1.62B | 1.62B | 1.62B | 1.62B | 1.81B | 1.88B | 1.96B | 2.5B | 2.54B | 1.07B |
| Goodwill | 45.53B | 44.92B | 44.37B | 44.26B | 45.81B | 45.81B | 44.65B | 44.6B | 44.51B | 6.16B | 5.98B | 6.02B | 5.99B | 6.03B | 6B | 3.16B | 3.12B | 2.88B | 0 | 1.78B | 1.74B | 1.62B | 1.62B | 1.62B | 1.62B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.07B |
| Intangible Assets | 26.93B | 28.56B | 32.24B | 33.68B | 35.34B | 36.91B | 38.19B | 39.76B | 42.28B | 1.15B | 1.19B | 1.3B | 1.43B | 2.93B | 1.78B | 1.78B | 1.24B | 0 | 4.4B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.81B | 1.88B | 1.96B | 2.5B | 2.54B | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 3.74B | 3.65B | 828M | 877M | 1.3B | 1.66B | 1.74B | 1.75B | 1.28B | 756M | 767M | 800M | 778M | 829M | 1.12B | 1.02B | 912M | 862M | 804M | 625M | 632M | 638M | 777M | 973M | 1.08B | 1.08B | 879M | 715M | 938M | 857M | 802M |
| Other Assets | 14.85B | 14.5B | 14.44B | 18.61B | 15.07B | 15.97B | 19.87B | 18.32B | 17.8B | 17.89B | 12.6B | 11.69B | 11.12B | 41.75B | 0 | -16.54B | -15.01B | -14.05B | -12.13B | -12.75B | -12.79B | -16.02B | -16.72B | -29.43B | -29.23B | -25.14B | -27.05B | -24.69B | -34.19B | -37.7B | -38.31B |
| Total Liabilities | 114.17B | 116.05B | 114.64B | 106.41B | 98.98B | 107.7B | 105.06B | 110.39B | 112.15B | 47.97B | 45.58B | 44.98B | 45.02B | 43.66B | 41.12B | 42.7B | 39.02B | 37.58B | 37.81B | 35.32B | 38.07B | 39.5B | 75.86B | 86.43B | 85.08B | 86.53B | 89.67B | 89.18B | 106.33B | 100.27B | 91.72B |
| Total Debt | 31.88B | 31.46B | 31.97B | 30.93B | 31.55B | 34.27B | 33.56B | 38.04B | 42.48B | 5.44B | 5.03B | 5.17B | 5.13B | 5.01B | 5.19B | 5.09B | 2.84B | 2.54B | 2.39B | 1.79B | 1.68B | 1.44B | 1.44B | 1.5B | 1.63B | 1.68B | 1.31B | 1.42B | 1.7B | 2.15B | 1.31B |
| Net Debt | 25.58B | 23.79B | 24.42B | 23.11B | 25.63B | 29.18B | 23.38B | 33.42B | 38.62B | 2.47B | 1.85B | 3.2B | 3.71B | 2.22B | 2.21B | 404M | 1.24B | 1.62B | 1.05B | -177M | 284M | -271M | -1.08B | 108M | 55M | -256M | -897M | -816M | -1.32B | -470M | 23M |
| Long-Term Debt | 29.09B | 30.87B | 28.9B | 28.09B | 28.03B | 31.1B | 29.51B | 31.83B | 39.49B | 5.19B | 4.74B | 5.02B | 4.97B | 5.01B | 4.99B | 4.99B | 2.29B | 2.44B | 2.09B | 1.79B | 1.29B | 1.34B | 1.44B | 1.5B | 1.5B | 1.63B | 1.16B | 1.36B | 1.43B | 1.47B | 1.02B |
| Short-Term Debt | 2.79B | 592M | 2.99B | 2.73B | 2.96B | 2.52B | 3.36B | 5.49B | 2.84B | 231M | 250M | 100M | 100M | 0 | 201M | 104M | 552M | 104M | 301M | 3M | 382M | 100M | 0 | 0 | 130M | 50M | 146M | 57M | 272M | 690M | 289M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 55.56B | 56.34B | 57.98B | 48.72B | 41.23B | 43.57B | 36.02B | 40.14B | 31.89B | 11.01B | 8.26B | 5.82B | 6.53B | 0 | -2.07B | 104M | 552M | 104M | 301M | 3M | 382M | 100M | 0 | 0 | 130M | 50M | 146M | 57M | 7.04B | 7.25B | 5.62B |
| Accounts Payable | 10.41B | 10.66B | 37.76B | 28.37B | 24.84B | 21.96B | 18.82B | 15.54B | 15.07B | 489M | 5.45B | 4.66B | 5.33B | 0 | -2.82B | 1.33B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6.76B | 6.56B | 5.33B |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 549M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 42.36B | 45.09B | 10.7B | 9.73B | 5.41B | 11.74B | 5.31B | 13.05B | 6.8B | 6.57B | 0 | 885M | 929M | 0 | 0 | -1.44B | -552M | -104M | -301M | -3M | -382M | -100M | 0 | 0 | -130M | -50M | -146M | -57M | -7.09B | -7.31B | -5.84B |
| Deferred Taxes | 27.72B | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 22.79B | 21.69B | 20.75B | 22.37B | 29.46B | 32.57B | 39.01B | 37.9B | 40.74B | 31.79B | 32.56B | 34.14B | 33.49B | 38.65B | 36.87B | -4.99B | -2.29B | -2.44B | -2.09B | -1.79B | -1.29B | -1.34B | -1.44B | -1.5B | -1.5B | -1.63B | -1.16B | -1.36B | -1.43B | -1.47B | -1.02B |
| Total Equity | 42.91B | 41.87B | 41.24B | 46.35B | 44.95B | 47.18B | 50.39B | 45.38B | 41.07B | 13.78B | 13.79B | 12.11B | 10.88B | 10.68B | 9.88B | 8.34B | 6.66B | 5.43B | 3.59B | 4.75B | 4.33B | 5.36B | 5.2B | 4.52B | 3.87B | 5.05B | 5.41B | 6.15B | 8.28B | 7.93B | 7.21B |
| Equity Growth % | 12.01% | 1.53% | -11.02% | 3.11% | -4.73% | -6.35% | 11.03% | 10.49% | 197.97% | -0.01% | 13.8% | 11.34% | 1.89% | 8.03% | 18.44% | 25.23% | 22.73% | 51.14% | -24.35% | 9.65% | -19.22% | 3.02% | 15.14% | 16.86% | -23.5% | -6.61% | -11.97% | -25.71% | 4.35% | 10.04% | 0.71% |
| Shareholders Equity | 42.62B | 41.71B | 41.03B | 46.22B | 44.87B | 47.11B | 50.32B | 45.34B | 41.03B | 13.73B | 13.72B | 12.04B | 10.77B | 10.57B | 9.77B | 8.34B | 6.64B | 5.42B | 3.59B | 4.75B | 4.33B | 5.36B | 5.2B | 4.52B | 3.87B | 5.05B | 5.41B | 6.15B | 8.28B | 7.93B | 7.21B |
| Minority Interest | 290M | 161M | 210M | 128M | 79M | 72M | 65M | 41M | 44M | 49M | 62M | 78M | 105M | 110M | 114M | 0 | 18M | 12M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 50.35B | 47.87B | 43.52B | 41.65B | 37.87B | 32.59B | 28.57B | 20.16B | 15.09B | 15.82B | 13.86B | 12.12B | 10.29B | 13.68B | 12.33B | 11.14B | 9.88B | 8.63B | 7.37B | 7.11B | 6.18B | 5.16B | 3.68B | 9.78B | 9.3B | 9.88B | 9.08B | 8.29B | 6.75B | 5.7B | 4.86B |
| Common Stock | 4M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 74M | 74M | 74M | 74M | 92M | 92M | 92M | 88M | 88M | 88M | 88M | 40M | 40M | 40M | 69M | 68M | 68M | 67M | 67M | 66M | 88M | 88M |
| Accumulated OCI | -4.36B | -2.81B | -2.34B | -1.86B | -1.4B | -884M | -861M | -941M | -1.71B | -1.08B | -1.38B | -1.25B | -936M | -520M | -671M | -793M | -614M | -618M | -1.07B | 51M | -169M | -509M | -336M | -54M | -202M | 147M | 221M | 166M | 842M | 0 | 0 |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 15.16% | 14.33% | 7.84% | 11.31% | 14.55% | 11.01% | 17.66% | 11.81% | 9.61% | 16.23% | 14.42% | 18.21% | 19.5% | 14.36% | 17.81% | 16.79% | 21.15% | 28.87% | 7% | 24.56% | 23.84% | 30.77% | 29.58% | 15.07% | -10.02% | 17.94% | 16.35% | 24.59% | 15.94% | 14.35% | 14.7% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 4.1% | 3.8% | 2.23% | 3.48% | 4.49% | 3.46% | 5.44% | 3.3% | 2.45% | 3.69% | 3.21% | 3.71% | 3.81% | 2.8% | 3.18% | 2.61% | 2.88% | 3.08% | 0.72% | 2.7% | 2.65% | 2.58% | 1.67% | 0.7% | -0.5% | 1.01% | 0.99% | 1.69% | 1.16% | 1.05% | 1.08% |
| Equity / Assets | 27.32% | 26.52% | 26.46% | 30.34% | 31.24% | 30.46% | 32.41% | 29.13% | 26.8% | 22.32% | 23.22% | 21.22% | 19.47% | 19.65% | 19.38% | 16.35% | 14.59% | 12.62% | 8.68% | 11.85% | 10.21% | 11.95% | 6.42% | 4.97% | 4.35% | 5.52% | 5.69% | 6.45% | 7.22% | 7.33% | 7.29% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.74x | 0.75x | 0.78x | 0.67x | 0.70x | 0.73x | 0.67x | 0.84x | 1.03x | 0.39x | 0.37x | 0.43x | 0.47x | 0.47x | 0.52x | 0.61x | 0.43x | 0.47x | 0.67x | 0.38x | 0.39x | 0.27x | 0.28x | 0.33x | 0.42x | 0.33x | 0.24x | 0.23x | 0.21x | 0.27x | 0.18x |
| Book Value per Share | 162.56 | 157.45 | 145.62 | 156.13 | 143.58 | 138.38 | 136.77 | 119.48 | 166.52 | 56.50 | 53.09 | 46.48 | 40.50 | 37.50 | 34.13 | 30.42 | 24.20 | 19.72 | 12.88 | 16.77 | 12.86 | 13.77 | 12.58 | 10.73 | 9.14 | 11.18 | 11.15 | 10.39 | 12.92 | 11.87 | 10.50 |
| Tangible BV per Share | -111.97 | -118.86 | -124.89 | -106.40 | -115.63 | -104.23 | -88.10 | -102.64 | -185.34 | 26.51 | 25.47 | 18.39 | 12.87 | 6.03 | 7.27 | 12.41 | 8.38 | 9.27 | -2.89 | 10.47 | 7.70 | 9.60 | 8.66 | 6.88 | 5.31 | 7.18 | 7.28 | 7.08 | 9.03 | 8.07 | 8.94 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CI stock.
As of 2025, Cigna Corporation (CI) had total assets of $157.92B including $47.81B in current assets.
Cigna Corporation (CI) carries total debt of $31.46B, offset by $7.68B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Cigna Corporation (CI) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $41.71B ($157.45 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Cigna Corporation (CI) reported a current ratio of 0.85x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
PBM regulatory overhaul risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Expands on Evernorth Growth
Total assets grew from $153.1B in Q1 2024 to $157.1B in Q2 2026, a 2.6% increase, while equity rose to $42.6B, reflecting sustained capital generation. According to Cigna's quarterly filings, the balance sheet remains stable despite revenue acceleration.
The modest asset growth masks a more dynamic underlying story: equity has expanded by $1.4B over the period, suggesting retained earnings are accumulating even as the company returns capital. The stability in total liabilities, which hovered around $114B, indicates that debt levels are not expanding in tandem with revenue growth, a positive sign for leverage. However, the growth is not dramatic, implying that the balance sheet is being managed conservatively rather than aggressively deployed for expansion.
Investment Portfolio Minimal, Not a Key Driver
Total investments are reported at a nominal $1,000K across all quarters, a figure that appears implausibly low for a company of Cigna's size. As per financial statements, investment income is not disclosed, suggesting it is not a material earnings contributor.
The near-zero investment balance likely reflects a data reporting anomaly or a classification where most invested assets are held in separate accounts or not consolidated. Regardless, the absence of meaningful investment income in the income statement analysis confirms that Cigna's earnings are driven by underwriting and service fees, not portfolio yields. Investors should not expect investment gains to offset any operational pressures, and the lack of transparency here warrants further investigation into the actual composition of the balance sheet's asset side.
Reserve Releases Mask Underlying Volatility
Claims and loss reserves rose from $50.9B in Q1 2024 to $56.7B in Q2 2026, an 11.4% increase, while the loss ratio swung from 88.8% to 79.1%. Based on Cigna's reported figures, favorable reserve development appears to be supporting earnings.
The sharp drop in the loss ratio in Q2 2026 to 79.1% from 90.6% in the prior quarter, combined with the income statement's indication of reserve releases, suggests that prior-year reserves were redundant. This is a double-edged sword: while it boosts current earnings, it also implies that the underlying medical cost trend may be higher than the reported loss ratio suggests. The steady increase in absolute reserve levels, however, indicates that Cigna is setting aside more for future claims, which is prudent. Investors should monitor whether reserve releases continue to flatter earnings, as this could signal a future earnings headwind if the favorable development reverses.
Equity Buffer Stable, Debt Levels Unchanged
Equity grew from $41.2B in Q1 2024 to $42.6B in Q2 2026, a 3.4% increase, while total liabilities remained around $114B. As reported in financial statements, the debt-to-equity ratio appears low, but this may be understated.
The reported debt-to-equity of 0.75% is suspiciously low for a company that took on significant debt for the Express Scripts acquisition, suggesting that the figure may exclude certain obligations or reflect a subsidiary-level view. Even so, the stability in total liabilities relative to equity implies that Cigna is not aggressively levering up, which provides financial flexibility. The consistent equity growth, albeit modest, indicates that the company is generating enough capital to support its operations and return cash to shareholders without eroding its base. However, the true leverage position may be higher than reported, and investors should seek clarity on the actual debt structure.
Liquidity Position Opaque, Cash Not Disclosed
Cash balances are not reported in the provided data, and the current ratio is unavailable, leaving Cigna's liquidity position unclear. According to Cigna's cash flow statements, operating cash flow turned negative in Q2 2026, which may raise concerns about near-term claims-paying ability.
The absence of cash and investment data makes it difficult to assess Cigna's ability to meet unexpected claims or take advantage of strategic opportunities. The negative operating cash flow in Q2 2026, as highlighted in the cash flow analysis, could be a timing issue, but it also underscores the importance of maintaining adequate liquidity buffers. Given the high volume of pharmacy claims processed by Evernorth, any disruption in cash flows could have ripple effects. Investors should monitor the company's cash position in future filings to ensure it remains sufficient to cover short-term obligations.
Unearned Premiums and PBM Exposure Shape Outlook
Cigna's forward visibility is supported by recurring premium and service revenue, but the pending sale of its Medicare Advantage business and regulatory scrutiny of PBM practices introduce uncertainty. As per recent filings, the MA divestiture may reduce revenue but also lower regulatory risk.
The strategic retreat from Medicare Advantage suggests a deliberate shift toward less capital-intensive, fee-based services, which could improve capital efficiency and reduce exposure to government pricing pressures. However, the ongoing legislative focus on PBM rebate structures poses a direct threat to Evernorth's profitability, as any mandated shift to flat-fee models could compress margins. The raised full-year guidance for 2026 indicates management's confidence in near-term performance, but the longer-term visibility is clouded by these regulatory overhangs. Investors should weigh the potential for margin expansion from biosimilar adoption against the risk of PBM reform.
Hidden Leverage and Reserve Timing Risks
The reported debt-to-equity of 0.75% is implausibly low, suggesting that off-balance-sheet obligations or subsidiary-level debt may be understated. According to Cigna's financial statements, the true leverage could be higher, and reserve releases may be masking underlying cost inflation.
The most non-obvious risk is that the balance sheet appears healthier than it actually is. The nominal investment balance and missing cash data obscure the true liquidity position, while the low D/E ratio contradicts industry norms and the company's own history. If the actual debt load is closer to peers like UNH (D/E 0.77), then Cigna's equity buffer is thinner than it appears, leaving less room for adverse developments. Additionally, the reliance on reserve releases to boost earnings, as seen in Q2 2026, may indicate that the underlying medical cost trend is running hotter than reported, which could lead to future earnings shortfalls. Investors should demand greater transparency on debt and reserve assumptions before taking the balance sheet at face value.