Total assets surged 20.4% year-over-year to $22.4B in 2026Q2, with equity-to-assets stable at 0.13, though the deposit mix shift toward interest-bearing accounts may pressure funding costs and NIM.
First Financial Bancorp. (FFBC) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 15.61B | 4.15B | 3.36B | 4.03B | 4.01B | 4.64B | 3.68B | 3.11B | 3.05B | 1.53B | 1.24B | 1.34B | 973.22M | 1.06B | 1.19B | 1.97B | 282.93M | 606.17M | 100.94M | 106.22M | 119.41M | 163.28M | 152.93M | 188.63M | 186.31M | 224.8M | 185.31M | 234.7M | 167.1M | 145.8M | 115.9M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 742.88M | 178.55M | 904.49M | 1.01B | 595.68M | 434.84M | 251.36M | 257.64M | 273.96M | 184.62M | 204.05M | 148.57M | 132.75M | 143.45M | 158.84M | 525.05M | 282.93M | 606.17M | 100.94M | 106.22M | 119.41M | 163.28M | 152.93M | 188.63M | 186.31M | 224.8M | 185.31M | 234.7M | 167.1M | 145.8M | 115.9M |
| Short Term Investments | 4.67B | 3.97B | 2.46B | 3.02B | 3.41B | 4.21B | 3.42B | 2.85B | 2.78B | 1.35B | 1.04B | 1.19B | 840.47M | 913.6M | 1.03B | 1.44B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 18.53B | 17.4B | 14.41B | 13.57B | 13.58B | 13.49B | 13.38B | 12.19B | 12B | 7.94B | 7.47B | 7.23B | 6.42B | 5.71B | 5.72B | 5.47B | 5.27B | 5.36B | 3.34B | 2.92B | 2.83B | 3.19B | 3.43B | 3.57B | 3.33B | 3.44B | 3.56B | 3.52B | 3.21B | 2.34B | 2.05B |
| Investments Growth % | 108.28% | 20.73% | 6.18% | -0.06% | 0.69% | 0.77% | 9.79% | 1.55% | 51.21% | 6.21% | 3.33% | 12.68% | 12.47% | -0.31% | 4.71% | 3.77% | -1.63% | 60.17% | 14.59% | 3.2% | -11.44% | -6.94% | -3.76% | 7.16% | -3.34% | -3.27% | 1.12% | 9.71% | 37.04% | 14.33% | 7.79% |
| Long-Term Investments | 60.18B | 13.42B | 11.95B | 10.55B | 10.17B | 9.28B | 9.96B | 9.34B | 9.22B | 6.59B | 6.43B | 6.04B | 5.58B | 4.79B | 4.69B | 4.03B | 5.27B | 5.36B | 3.34B | 2.92B | 2.83B | 3.19B | 3.43B | 3.57B | 3.33B | 3.44B | 3.56B | 3.52B | 3.21B | 2.34B | 2.05B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 283.39M | 244.37M | 262.35M | 300.39M | 241.27M | 140.84M | 130.07M | 138.99M | 127.55M | 112.27M | 101.63M | 91.54M | 87.86M | 87.99M | 73.8M | 52M | 40.6M | 41M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.24B | 1.22B | 1.09B | 1.09B | 1.1B | 1.11B | 1B | 1.01B | 921.06M | 207.87M | 210.63M | 211.87M | 145.85M | 100.97M | 102.7M | 105.89M | 57.42M | 59.37M | 29.26M | 130.07M | 138.99M | 127.55M | 112.27M | 107.86M | 91.54M | 87.86M | 87.99M | 73.8M | 52M | 40.6M | 0 |
| Goodwill | 1.1B | 1.1B | 1.01B | 1.01B | 1B | 1B | 937.77M | 937.77M | 880.25M | 204.08M | 204.08M | 204.08M | 137.74M | 95.05M | 95.05M | 95.05M | 51.82M | 51.91M | 28.26M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 135.08M | 118.83M | 79.29M | 83.95M | 93.92M | 104.37M | 64.55M | 76.2M | 40.8M | 3.79M | 6.54M | 7.78M | 8.11M | 5.92M | 7.65M | 10.84M | 5.6M | 7.46M | 1M | 130.07M | 138.99M | 127.55M | 112.27M | 107.86M | 91.54M | 87.86M | 87.99M | 73.8M | 52M | 40.6M | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 229.67M | 204.76M | 407.08M | 347.95M | 280.82M | 253.85M | 207.21M | 214.51M | 215.65M | 125.04M | 131.58M | 136.6M | 141.38M | 137.11M | 146.72M | 138.1M | 118.48M | 107.35M | 84.11M | 78.99M | 79.61M | 73.03M | 66.22M | 59.05M | 56.35M | 60.58M | 58.47M | 59M | 58M | 47M | 42.6M |
| Other Assets | 1.56B | 1.53B | 1.18B | 1.06B | 1.22B | 940.31M | 1.06B | 747.85M | 479.71M | 352.17M | 324.86M | 323.42M | 301.36M | 45.09M | 119.61M | 173.01M | 222.65M | 287.61M | 61K | 106.99M | 102M | 98M | 121.12M | 607K | 32.4M | 3.38M | 4.73M | 13.7M | 11.7M | 21.9M | 15M |
| Total Current Assets | 5.44B | 4.75B | 3.95B | 4.49B | 4.24B | 4.75B | 3.75B | 3.2B | 3.15B | 1.62B | 1.34B | 1.43B | 1.05B | 1.34B | 1.44B | 2.23B | 583.32M | 847.44M | 241.77M | 236.29M | 258.39M | 290.83M | 265.2M | 296.48M | 277.85M | 312.66M | 273.3M | 308.5M | 219.1M | 186.4M | 156.9M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 16.87B | 16.38B | 14.62B | 13.04B | 12.77B | 11.58B | 12.22B | 11.31B | 10.84B | 7.27B | 7.1B | 6.71B | 6.17B | 5.08B | 5.06B | 4.44B | 5.67B | 5.81B | 3.46B | 3.13B | 3.04B | 3.4B | 3.65B | 3.66B | 3.45B | 3.54B | 3.66B | 3.63B | 3.32B | 2.45B | 2.1B |
| Total Assets | 22.31B | 21.13B | 18.57B | 17.53B | 17B | 16.33B | 15.97B | 14.51B | 13.99B | 8.9B | 8.44B | 8.15B | 7.22B | 6.42B | 6.5B | 6.67B | 6.25B | 6.68B | 3.7B | 3.37B | 3.3B | 3.69B | 3.92B | 3.96B | 3.73B | 3.85B | 3.93B | 3.94B | 3.54B | 2.64B | 2.26B |
| Asset Growth % | 77.8% | 13.78% | 5.92% | 3.11% | 4.13% | 2.23% | 10.07% | 3.75% | 57.21% | 5.44% | 3.57% | 12.88% | 12.48% | -1.23% | -2.61% | 6.74% | -6.45% | 80.61% | 9.79% | 2.05% | -10.55% | -5.77% | -1% | 6.06% | -3.24% | -1.98% | -0.21% | 11.35% | 34.25% | 16.55% | 7.53% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.33% | 1.29% | 1.27% | 1.48% | 1.31% | 1.27% | 1.02% | 1.39% | 1.51% | 1.12% | 1.07% | 0.98% | 0.95% | 0.75% | 1.02% | 1.03% | 0.92% | 4.26% | 0.65% | 1.07% | 0.61% | 1% | 1.04% | 0.99% | 1.27% | 1.11% | 1.48% | 1.35% | 1.65% | 1.91% | 1.55% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 626.94M | 492.21M | 516.26M | 323.13M | 156.59M | 136.99M | 119.45M | 100.45M | 68.37M | 88.02M | 131.01M | 140.47M | 0 | 0 | 43.98M | 33.74M | 26.77M | 36.27M | 32.7M | 32.03M | 34.68M | 29.97M | 34.17M | 33M | 32.7M | 26.3M | 23M |
| Total Debt | 1.02B | 1.19B | 1.1B | 1.28B | 1.63B | 706.03M | 507.81M | 1.73B | 1.61B | 934.22M | 927.5M | 1.06B | 709.63M | 809.53M | 699.77M | 175.97M | 209.34M | 462.77M | 466.32M | 164.81M | 191.39M | 429.22M | 509.48M | 611.89M | 395.23M | 353.8M | 351.78M | 705.7M | 275.9M | 93.4M | 100.3M |
| Net Debt | 273.9M | 1.01B | 198.47M | 275.91M | 1.04B | 271.19M | 256.45M | 1.47B | 1.34B | 749.6M | 723.45M | 909.39M | 576.88M | 666.08M | 540.93M | -349.08M | -73.59M | -143.4M | 365.38M | 58.58M | 71.99M | 265.94M | 356.55M | 423.26M | 208.92M | 129M | 166.48M | 471M | 108.8M | -52.4M | -15.6M |
| Long-Term Debt | 364.93M | 514.05M | 345.99M | 342.5M | 344.97M | 385.02M | 339.36M | 413.16M | 570.74M | 119.65M | 119.59M | 119.54M | 23.24M | 8.28M | 10.2M | 11.54M | 149.5M | 425.34M | 168.78M | 66.52M | 94.69M | 317.58M | 361.29M | 352.98M | 300.05M | 260.35M | 205.22M | 161.8M | 120.8M | 41.1M | 6.5M |
| Short-Term Debt | 651.86M | 675M | 755.45M | 937.81M | 1.29B | 319.23M | 166.59M | 1.32B | 1.04B | 814.57M | 807.91M | 938.42M | 686.39M | 801.25M | 689.57M | 164.43M | 59.84M | 37.43M | 297.53M | 98.29M | 96.7M | 111.63M | 148.19M | 258.91M | 95.18M | 93.45M | 146.57M | 543.9M | 155.1M | 52.3M | 93.8M |
| Other Liabilities | 718.1M | 749.27M | 700.12M | 622.2M | 0 | 0 | 434.98M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -140.47M | 0 | 0 | 13.02M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 100.22M | 0 | 0 | 1.39M | 0 | -161.7M | -100K | -100K | -100K |
| Total Current Liabilities | 18.35B | 17.1B | 15.08B | 14.3B | 14.62B | 13.68B | 12.91B | 11.85B | 11.34B | 7.85B | 7.45B | 7.22B | 6.41B | 5.73B | 5.78B | 6.09B | 5.4B | 5.58B | 3.17B | 3.03B | 2.92B | 3.07B | 3.09B | 3.24B | 3.05B | 3.21B | 3.33B | 3.57B | 3.06B | 2.31B | 2B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 1.08B | 1.26B | 1.05B | 966.32M | 346.67M | 386.8M | 776.2M | 414.38M | 570.74M | 119.65M | 119.59M | 119.54M | 23.24M | 8.28M | 10.2M | -128.93M | 149.5M | 425.34M | 181.8M | 66.52M | 94.69M | 317.58M | 461.51M | 352.98M | 300.05M | 261.73M | 205.22M | 100K | 120.7M | 41M | 6.4M |
| Total Liabilities | 19.43B | 18.36B | 16.13B | 15.26B | 14.96B | 14.07B | 13.69B | 12.26B | 11.91B | 7.97B | 7.57B | 7.34B | 6.43B | 5.74B | 5.79B | 5.96B | 5.55B | 6.01B | 3.35B | 3.09B | 3.02B | 3.39B | 3.55B | 3.59B | 3.35B | 3.47B | 3.54B | 3.57B | 3.18B | 2.35B | 2B |
| Total Equity | 2.88B | 2.77B | 2.44B | 2.27B | 2.04B | 2.26B | 2.28B | 2.25B | 2.08B | 930.66M | 865.22M | 809.38M | 784.08M | 682.16M | 710.42M | 712.22M | 697.39M | 649.96M | 348.33M | 276.58M | 285.48M | 299.88M | 371.45M | 366.48M | 377.6M | 384.54M | 395.13M | 372.5M | 358.3M | 286.3M | 258.5M |
| Equity Growth % | 57.4% | 13.58% | 7.5% | 11.1% | -9.63% | -1.01% | 1.53% | 8.15% | 123.31% | 7.56% | 6.9% | 3.23% | 14.94% | -3.98% | -0.25% | 2.13% | 7.3% | 86.59% | 25.94% | -3.12% | -4.8% | -19.27% | 1.36% | -2.94% | -1.8% | -2.68% | 6.08% | 3.96% | 25.15% | 10.75% | 10.38% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 12.91% | 13.11% | 13.13% | 12.94% | 12.01% | 13.83% | 14.29% | 15.49% | 14.86% | 10.46% | 10.25% | 9.93% | 10.86% | 10.63% | 10.93% | 10.68% | 11.16% | 9.73% | 9.42% | 8.21% | 8.65% | 8.13% | 9.48% | 9.26% | 10.12% | 9.98% | 10.05% | 9.45% | 10.12% | 10.86% | 11.43% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 10.17% | 9.82% | 9.72% | 11.87% | 10.12% | 9.04% | 6.88% | 9.16% | 11.47% | 10.78% | 10.57% | 9.42% | 8.87% | 6.94% | 9.46% | 9.47% | 8.8% | 44.34% | 7.35% | 12.7% | 7.27% | 11.3% | 11.14% | 10.19% | 12.66% | 11.11% | 15.17% | 13.77% | 15.82% | 17.18% | 13.76% |
| Book Value per Share | 27.44 | 28.92 | 25.55 | 23.85 | 21.58 | 23.56 | 23.26 | 22.74 | 23.19 | 14.97 | 13.96 | 13.09 | 13.20 | 11.75 | 12.07 | 12.13 | 12.03 | 14.27 | 9.29 | 7.19 | 7.22 | 6.95 | 8.47 | 8.25 | 8.21 | 8.10 | 8.09 | 7.55 | 7.23 | 5.83 | 6.61 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 15.68 | 16.20 | 14.16 | 12.39 | 10.00 | 12.03 | 13.05 | 12.48 | 12.91 | 11.63 | 10.56 | 9.66 | 10.75 | 10.01 | 10.32 | 10.33 | 11.04 | 12.96 | 8.51 | 3.81 | 3.70 | 3.99 | 5.91 | 5.82 | 6.22 | 6.25 | 6.29 | 6.05 | 6.18 | 5.00 | 6.61 |
| Common Stock | 1.79B | 1.65B | 1.64B | 1.64B | 1.63B | 1.64B | 1.64B | 1.64B | 1.63B | 573.11M | 570.38M | 571.15M | 574.64M | 577.08M | 579.29M | 579.87M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 394.99M | 395.52M | 395.75M | 396.25M | 396.63M | 374.34M | 373.4M | 306.7M | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 579.87M | 580.1M | 490.53M | 394.17M | 391.96M | 392.74M | 392.61M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 1.59B | 1.44B | 1.28B | 1.14B | 968.24M | 837.47M | 720.43M | 711.25M | 600.01M | 491.85M | 437.19M | 388.24M | 352.89M | 324.19M | 330M | 331.35M | 310.27M | 276.12M | 76.34M | 82.09M | 71.32M | 75.36M | 65.09M | 50.33M | 39.01M | 18.24M | 36.23M | 5.9M | 50.2M | 52M | 93.4M |
| Accumulated OCI | -387.1M | -189.94M | -289.8M | -309.82M | -358.66M | -433K | 48.66M | 13.32M | -44.41M | -20.39M | -28.44M | -30.58M | -21.41M | -31.28M | -18.68M | -601.36M | -12.04M | -10.49M | -11.9M | -7.13M | -13.38M | -7.88M | -6.2M | -1.05M | 4.17M | 2.79M | 1.09M | -6.8M | 4.5M | 2.1M | 1.2M |
| Treasury Stock | -111.63M | -125.75M | -190.54M | -197.9M | -202.81M | -218.46M | -125.97M | -117.64M | -110.61M | -113.9M | -113.9M | -119.44M | -122.05M | -187.83M | -180.19M | -177.51M | -180.93M | -185.4M | -188.29M | -190.34M | -165.2M | -160.21M | -82.97M | -78.54M | -61.82M | -33.12M | -16.52M | 0 | -3.1M | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 79.19M | 78.02M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying FFBC stock.
As of 2025, First Financial Bancorp. (FFBC) had total assets of $21.13B including $4.75B in current assets.
First Financial Bancorp. (FFBC) carries total debt of $1.19B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
First Financial Bancorp. (FFBC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $2.77B ($28.92 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
First Financial Bancorp. (FFBC) reported a current ratio of 0.28x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Deposit mix shift pressure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Summit Integration
Total assets surged 20.4% year-over-year to $22.4B in 2026Q2, driven by the Summit Funding acquisition and organic loan expansion, as reported in quarterly filings.
The balance sheet expanded from $18.6B in 2025Q2 to $22.4B in 2026Q2, with investment securities growing to $18.5B, suggesting a deliberate shift toward higher-yielding assets. This growth appears to be primarily M&A-driven, as the Summit Funding integration added equipment finance capabilities, though organic loan demand may also be contributing. The pace of expansion, however, may strain capital ratios if not matched by retained earnings, warranting monitoring of future capital deployment.
Deposit Mix Shift Pressures Funding Costs
Non-interest-bearing deposits are migrating to interest-bearing accounts, as flagged in recent context, potentially compressing net interest margin despite stable NIM of 0.9% in 2026Q2.
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the shift in deposit composition suggests rising funding costs, which may offset gains from loan growth. This trend appears to be a key risk, as the bank may need to raise deposit rates to retain liquidity, eroding spread income. Investors should monitor deposit beta and mix disclosures in upcoming quarters to assess the magnitude of this pressure.
Credit Quality Stable Despite Specialty Exposures
Loan loss provisions remained steady at $10.8M in 2026Q2, with no significant deterioration in credit quality, though specialty lending verticals like franchises warrant close monitoring.
Provision expenses have been relatively consistent, ranging from $8.5M to $16.4M over the past ten quarters, indicating stable credit costs. However, the concentration in cyclical sectors such as restaurant franchises and equipment finance introduces residual value and consumer health risks that may not yet be reflected in provisions. The stable provision trend suggests management's underwriting discipline, but a downturn in these niches could lead to elevated charge-offs.
Capital Ratios Stable, M&A Buffer Intact
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 0.13 in 2026Q2, unchanged from prior quarters, indicating a stable capital position despite rapid asset growth, as per balance sheet data.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 13% suggests a solid capital base, though regulatory capital ratios like CET1 are not disclosed. The bank's ability to fund the Summit acquisition without diluting equity implies adequate capital generation, but continued asset growth may pressure capital adequacy. Management's conservative capital return policy, with no buybacks and modest dividends, appears to prioritize balance sheet strength over shareholder returns.
Liquidity Relies on Securities, Cash Fluctuates
Cash and bank balances swung from $787.9M in 2026Q2 to $170.6M in 2026Q1, while investment securities grew to $18.5B, indicating a reliance on the securities portfolio for liquidity.
The significant fluctuation in cash balances suggests active management of the securities portfolio, with sales funding loan growth and other needs. Investment securities represent a substantial portion of assets, providing a buffer, but their market value may be sensitive to interest rate changes. The bank's deposit franchise, while shifting in mix, remains a core funding source, reducing reliance on wholesale funding, though the loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed.
NIM Stability Hinges on Deposit Betas
Net interest margin remained at 0.9% in 2026Q2, but rising deposit costs from mix shift may compress spreads, challenging EPS estimates of $0.83, as per recent filings.
The stable NIM suggests asset yields are keeping pace with funding costs, but the accelerated migration to interest-bearing deposits could change this dynamic. If deposit betas rise faster than loan yields, NIM may contract, pressuring profitability. The bank's asset-sensitive balance sheet may benefit from rate hikes, but this advantage appears increasingly offset by the need to retain deposits, warranting close monitoring of rate sensitivity disclosures.
Deposit Mix Shift Could Undermine NIM
The accelerated migration of non-interest-bearing deposits to interest-bearing accounts may compress net interest margin, potentially offsetting NII growth and challenging EPS estimates, as flagged in recent context.
While NII grew 21.2% year-over-year in 2026Q2, this growth may be partially driven by the Summit acquisition and loan expansion, masking underlying funding cost pressures. If deposit costs rise faster than asset yields, NIM could contract, reducing the bank's earnings power. This risk is non-obvious because the balance sheet appears healthy, but the deposit mix shift suggests a structural change in funding costs that investors should monitor closely.