Total assets contracted 14% from $30.1B to $25.9B, with equity-to-assets at 13% and cash surging to $8.3B, indicating a defensive liquidity posture but thin capital buffer.
First Interstate BancSystem, Inc. (FIBK) balance sheet — 24-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 10.56B | 358.2M | 960.4M | 6.42B | 7.82B | 7.17B | 6.29B | 4.04B | 3.09B | 2.97B | 2.39B | 2.24B | 2.51B | 2.48B | 2.8B | 2.49B | 683.5M | 612.01M | 206.53M | 188.61M | 200.36M | 213.37M | 318.32M | 214.99M | 260M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 8.33B | 358.2M | 896.5M | 577.9M | 870.4M | 2.34B | 2.28B | 1.08B | 821.9M | 758.8M | 781.93M | 779.89M | 798.13M | 534.15M | 800.6M | 472.14M | 683.5M | 612.01M | 206.53M | 188.61M | 200.36M | 213.37M | 318.32M | 214.99M | 260M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 63.9M | 5.84B | 6.95B | 4.82B | 4.01B | 2.96B | 2.27B | 2.21B | 1.61B | 1.46B | 1.71B | 1.95B | 2B | 2.02B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 23.02B | 23.8B | 25.39B | 27.15B | 28.36B | 15.75B | 13.8B | 12.01B | 11.11B | 10.24B | 7.53B | 7.23B | 7.11B | 6.41B | 6.33B | 6.24B | 6.18B | 5.87B | 5.76B | 4.64B | 4.39B | 4.01B | 3.56B | 3.32B | 3B |
| Investments Growth % | -25.57% | -6.24% | -6.49% | -4.26% | 80.07% | 14.13% | 14.87% | 8.13% | 8.53% | 35.99% | 4.15% | 1.64% | 10.91% | 1.33% | 1.33% | 1.02% | 5.27% | 1.97% | 24.22% | 5.65% | 9.37% | 12.54% | 7.51% | 10.54% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 93.57B | 23.8B | 25.32B | 21.31B | 21.41B | 10.93B | 9.79B | 9.05B | 8.84B | 8.03B | 5.92B | 5.77B | 5.4B | 4.46B | 4.33B | 4.23B | 6.18B | 5.87B | 5.76B | 4.64B | 4.39B | 4.01B | 3.56B | 3.32B | 3B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 116.8M | 129.1M | 118.3M | 47.4M | 51.1M | 46.7M | 44.9M | 38M | 29.85M | 27.73M | 27.06M | 26.45M | 28.87M | 31.97M | 33.63M | 37.12M | 38.69M | 32.22M | 30.91M | 26.1M | 20.57M | 19.41M | 20.7M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.18B | 1.15B | 1.19B | 1.21B | 1.23B | 691.1M | 696.8M | 713.9M | 631.3M | 518.6M | 240.93M | 230.73M | 232.89M | 201.74M | 202.26M | 202.59M | 205.67M | 211.55M | 207.36M | 59.35M | 60.46M | 60.71M | 57.23M | 55.47M | 45.83M |
| Goodwill | 1.18B | 1.1B | 1.1B | 1.1B | 1.1B | 621.6M | 621.6M | 621.6M | 546.7M | 444.7M | 212.82M | 204.52M | 205.57M | 183.67M | 183.67M | 183.67M | 183.67M | 183.67M | 183.67M | 37.38M | 37.38M | 37.39M | 37.39M | 37.63M | 33.03M |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 53.3M | 92.5M | 109.7M | 128.1M | 69.5M | 75.2M | 92.3M | 84.6M | 73.9M | 28.11M | 26.21M | 27.32M | 18.07M | 18.59M | 18.91M | 21.99M | 27.88M | 23.68M | 21.97M | 23.08M | 23.32M | 19.84M | 17.84M | 12.8M |
| PP&E (Net) | 412.8M | 406.6M | 427.2M | 444.3M | 444.7M | 299.6M | 312.3M | 306M | 245.2M | 241.86M | 194.46M | 190.81M | 195.21M | 179.69M | 187.56M | 184.77M | 188.14M | 196.31M | 177.8M | 124.04M | 120.28M | 120.44M | 121.93M | 112.44M | 92.91M |
| Other Assets | -23.02B | 757.6M | 998.8M | 1.01B | 1.06B | 541.5M | 514.3M | 490M | 448.7M | 416.6M | 289.94M | 272.14M | 241.41M | 199.41M | 172.98M | 180.82M | 190.73M | 209.41M | 232.79M | 170.56M | 166.31M | 126.6M | 132.65M | 158.45M | 136.95M |
| Total Current Assets | 8.33B | 460.8M | 1.08B | 6.55B | 7.93B | 7.21B | 6.34B | 4.08B | 3.14B | 3.01B | 2.42B | 2.26B | 2.54B | 2.51B | 2.82B | 2.52B | 717.13M | 649.13M | 245.22M | 220.83M | 231.28M | 239.47M | 338.89M | 234.4M | 280.7M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 1.59B | 26.18B | 28.06B | 24.12B | 24.35B | 12.46B | 11.31B | 10.56B | 10.16B | 9.21B | 6.64B | 6.46B | 6.07B | 5.06B | 4.9B | 4.8B | 6.78B | 6.49B | 6.38B | 5B | 4.74B | 4.32B | 3.88B | 3.65B | 3.28B |
| Total Assets | 25.89B | 26.64B | 29.14B | 30.67B | 32.29B | 19.67B | 17.65B | 14.64B | 13.3B | 12.21B | 9.06B | 8.73B | 8.61B | 7.56B | 7.72B | 7.33B | 7.5B | 7.14B | 6.63B | 5.22B | 4.97B | 4.56B | 4.22B | 3.88B | 3.56B |
| Asset Growth % | -28.87% | -8.57% | -5% | -5.01% | 64.13% | 11.46% | 20.52% | 10.11% | 8.9% | 34.75% | 3.85% | 1.37% | 13.82% | -2.03% | 5.41% | -2.34% | 5.09% | 7.68% | 27.06% | 4.88% | 9.03% | 8.18% | 8.7% | 9.01% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.22% | 1.08% | 0.76% | 0.82% | 0.78% | 1.03% | 1% | 1.3% | 1.26% | 1% | 1.08% | 1% | 1.04% | 1.13% | 0.77% | 0.6% | 0.51% | 0.78% | 1.19% | 1.35% | 1.59% | 1.25% | 1.12% | 1.1% | 0.97% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 425.9M | 432.6M | 460.4M | 152.1M | 150.2M | 141.7M | 101.9M | 92.2M | 50.34M | 58M | 72M | 52.49M | 54.71M | 50.37M | 13.18M | 17.59M | 20.53M | 21.1M | 18.87M | 13.19M | 9.53M | 10.21M | 14.59M |
| Total Debt | 751.9M | 775.7M | 2.39B | 3.67B | 3.66B | 1.25B | 1.29B | 798.4M | 815.1M | 758.6M | 649.53M | 621M | 622.8M | 576.83M | 625.45M | 677.17M | 786.36M | 676.63M | 843.21M | 721.73M | 800.08M | 623.61M | 560.86M | 419.37M | 331.85M |
| Net Debt | -7.58B | 417.5M | 1.49B | 3.09B | 2.79B | -1.09B | -985.9M | -278.3M | -6.8M | -200K | -132.4M | -158.9M | -175.32M | 42.68M | -175.15M | 205.03M | 102.86M | 64.62M | 636.68M | 533.12M | 599.72M | 410.24M | 242.54M | 204.38M | 71.85M |
| Long-Term Debt | 296.7M | 296.1M | 294.5M | 283M | 282.9M | 198.4M | 198.3M | 99.6M | 101.4M | 114.2M | 110.45M | 108.78M | 118.91M | 117.7M | 117.93M | 159.15M | 161.22M | 197.07M | 207.86M | 108.24M | 62.84M | 95.89M | 103.16M | 88.83M | 23.64M |
| Short-Term Debt | 455.2M | 479.6M | 2.09B | 3.39B | 3.38B | 1.05B | 1.09B | 697.6M | 712.4M | 643M | 537.56M | 510.63M | 502.25M | 457.44M | 505.79M | 516.25M | 625.14M | 479.56M | 635.34M | 613.49M | 737.24M | 527.71M | 457.69M | 330.54M | 308.2M |
| Other Liabilities | 369.2M | 10.81B | 5.2M | 18.4M | 16.2M | 3.8M | 3.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -1.52M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 50M | -42.26M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 40M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 21.9B | 12.09B | 25.53B | 27.14B | 28.91B | 17.47B | 15.46B | 12.5B | 11.49B | 10.67B | 7.96B | 7.66B | 7.58B | 6.64B | 6.8B | 6.44B | 6.6B | 6.37B | 5.88B | 4.66B | 4.5B | 4.12B | 3.81B | 3.52B | 3.25B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 665.9M | 11.11B | 300.5M | 302.3M | 300.1M | 212.5M | 230.3M | 127.5M | 111.3M | 115.61M | 117.29M | 120.13M | 120.55M | 119.4M | 169.67M | 118.67M | 161.22M | 197.07M | 207.86M | 108.24M | 62.84M | 95.89M | 103.16M | 88.83M | 63.65M |
| Total Liabilities | 22.56B | 23.19B | 25.83B | 27.44B | 29.21B | 17.69B | 15.69B | 12.63B | 11.61B | 10.79B | 8.08B | 7.78B | 7.7B | 6.76B | 6.97B | 6.55B | 6.76B | 6.56B | 6.09B | 4.77B | 4.56B | 4.21B | 3.91B | 3.61B | 3.32B |
| Total Equity | 3.32B | 3.45B | 3.3B | 3.23B | 3.07B | 1.99B | 1.96B | 2.01B | 1.69B | 1.43B | 982.59M | 950.49M | 908.92M | 801.58M | 751.19M | 771.02M | 736.8M | 574.43M | 539.06M | 444.44M | 410.38M | 349.85M | 308.33M | 274.23M | 243.85M |
| Equity Growth % | 3.81% | 4.33% | 2.37% | 5% | 54.73% | 1.37% | -2.69% | 18.89% | 18.65% | 45.29% | 3.38% | 4.57% | 13.39% | 6.71% | -2.57% | 4.64% | 28.27% | 6.56% | 21.29% | 8.3% | 17.3% | 13.47% | 12.44% | 12.46% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 12.84% | 12.94% | 11.34% | 10.52% | 9.52% | 10.1% | 11.1% | 13.75% | 12.74% | 11.69% | 10.84% | 10.89% | 10.56% | 10.6% | 9.73% | 10.53% | 9.82% | 8.05% | 8.13% | 8.52% | 8.25% | 7.67% | 7.31% | 7.07% | 6.85% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 9.55% | 8.95% | 6.92% | 8.17% | 7.99% | 9.74% | 8.11% | 9.76% | 10.26% | 8.84% | 9.9% | 9.34% | 9.87% | 11.09% | 7.65% | 5.91% | 5.7% | 9.67% | 14.37% | 16.06% | 19.89% | 16.63% | 15.59% | 15.73% | 14.15% |
| Book Value per Share | 34.33 | 33.52 | 32.02 | 31.10 | 29.74 | 32.18 | 30.75 | 31.52 | 29.10 | 27.51 | 21.88 | 20.82 | 20.10 | 18.20 | 17.35 | 17.99 | 18.36 | 18.13 | 16.79 | 14.03 | 12.95 | 11.04 | 9.73 | 8.66 | 7.70 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 22.18 | 22.30 | 20.45 | 19.43 | 17.85 | 20.98 | 19.82 | 20.35 | 18.25 | 17.51 | 16.51 | 15.77 | 14.95 | 13.62 | 12.68 | 13.27 | 13.24 | 11.46 | 10.33 | 12.16 | 11.05 | 9.13 | 7.93 | 6.91 | 6.25 |
| Common Stock | 2.2B | 2.35B | 2.46B | 2.45B | 2.48B | 945M | 941.1M | 1.05B | 866.7M | 686.99M | 296.07M | 311.72M | 323.6M | 285.54M | 271.33M | 266.84M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 266.84M | 264.17M | 112.14M | 117.61M | 29.77M | 45.48M | 43.57M | 36.8M | 33.19M | 3.08M |
| Retained Earnings | 1.33B | 1.27B | 1.17B | 1.14B | 1.07B | 1.05B | 962.1M | 953.6M | 851.8M | 752.59M | 694.65M | 638.37M | 587.86M | 532.09M | 463.86M | 435.14M | 413.25M | 397.22M | 362.48M | 416.43M | 372.04M | 314.84M | 275.17M | 242.1M | 236.72M |
| Accumulated OCI | -203.5M | -178.1M | -321.9M | -356.5M | -477.1M | -11M | 56.6M | 11M | -24.6M | -12M | -8.13M | 406K | -2.53M | -16.04M | 15.99M | -247.81M | 9.38M | 15.07M | 8.97M | -1.75M | -7.14M | -8.56M | -3.65M | -1.07M | 4.04M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 50M | 50M | 50M | 50M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying FIBK stock.
As of 2025, First Interstate BancSystem, Inc. (FIBK) had total assets of $26.64B including $460.8M in current assets.
First Interstate BancSystem, Inc. (FIBK) carries total debt of $775.7M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
First Interstate BancSystem, Inc. (FIBK) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.45B ($33.52 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
First Interstate BancSystem, Inc. (FIBK) reported a current ratio of 0.04x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Revenue decline and deposit beta pressure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Contraction Amid Repositioning
Total assets fell from $30.1B in 2024Q1 to $25.9B in 2026Q2, a 14% decline, as reported in financial statements, indicating deliberate balance sheet shrinkage.
The reduction in total assets, from $30.1B to $25.9B over the period, appears to reflect a strategic de-risking and repositioning, possibly including the sale or runoff of lower-yielding securities and loans. The investment securities portfolio declined from $26.6B to $23.0B, while cash balances spiked to $8.3B in 2026Q2, suggesting a shift toward liquidity. This contraction, combined with a 28.5% revenue decline, may indicate a deliberate effort to reduce risk-weighted assets and improve capital ratios, though it also signals reduced earning asset base.
Deposit Base Under Pressure
Loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the rise in cash and securities suggests deposit outflows or a shift to higher-cost funding, as per balance sheet data.
The absence of a disclosed loan-to-deposit ratio limits direct assessment, but the increase in cash and investment securities, coupled with a decline in total assets, may indicate that deposits are not growing or are being used to fund securities purchases. The bank's historical low-cost deposit franchise in rural markets may be facing pressure from rising deposit betas, as suggested by the recent context flags. Investors should monitor deposit composition and cost trends, as any migration to higher-yielding accounts could compress the net interest margin, which remains flat at 0.8%.
Credit Quality Improving, But Concentrations Remain
Loan loss provisions turned negative in 2026Q2 at -$216.8M, per income statement data, indicating credit quality improvements, though criticized loans remain a key variable.
The negative provision in 2026Q2, following a positive provision in 2025Q1, suggests that the bank is releasing reserves, likely due to improved credit conditions. Management's commentary on reducing criticized loans supports this view, but the absolute level of criticized assets is not disclosed. Given the bank's significant exposure to commercial real estate and agricultural lending, any deterioration in these sectors could reverse this trend. The provision reversals may also reflect the impact of CECL, which can lead to volatility in provisioning.
Capital Ratios Stable, But Buffer Thin
Equity-to-assets ratio remained at 0.13 in 2026Q2, as per balance sheet data, indicating stable but modest capital levels relative to peers.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 0.13 is consistent with the prior year, suggesting that capital is being maintained despite asset contraction. However, this ratio is lower than some peers, such as Banner Corporation at 0.19, indicating a thinner capital buffer. The bank's ability to absorb unexpected losses or pursue growth may be constrained. The recent EPS beat and negative provisions could bolster capital, but the lack of forward guidance and revenue decline warrant caution.
Liquidity Position Strengthened
Cash and bank balances surged to $8.3B in 2026Q2 from $321.7M in 2026Q1, as reported, indicating a significant increase in liquidity.
The dramatic increase in cash and bank balances, from $321.7M to $8.3B, suggests a deliberate build-up of liquidity, possibly to meet regulatory requirements or to position for investment opportunities. This liquidity buffer provides a cushion against funding stress, but it also implies a lower yield on assets, which may pressure net interest income. The bank's reliance on wholesale funding is not disclosed, but the high cash position may indicate a conservative liquidity posture.
NIM Flat, Rate Sensitivity Uncertain
Net interest margin has been flat at 0.8% for the last five quarters, as per financial statements, indicating stable but low profitability from interest-earning assets.
The flat NIM of 0.8% suggests that the bank's asset yields and funding costs are moving in tandem, possibly due to the repricing of loans and deposits. However, the recent revenue decline and rising deposit betas in new markets may pressure NIM in the future. The bank's sensitivity to interest rates is not fully disclosed, but the large securities portfolio and cash position suggest a duration mismatch that could impact NIM if rates change. Investors should monitor the bank's deposit beta and loan repricing behavior.
Unrealized Losses and Duration Risk
The investment securities portfolio of $23.0B, as reported, may carry unrealized losses due to rising rates, posing a risk to capital if realized.
Given the flat NIM and the large securities portfolio, the bank may be exposed to duration risk. If interest rates have risen, the market value of fixed-rate securities could be below book value, leading to unrealized losses in accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI). While these losses are not realized unless securities are sold, they could pressure regulatory capital and investor perception. The recent increase in cash and securities purchases may indicate a repositioning to mitigate this risk, but the extent of unrealized losses is not disclosed. Investors should monitor AOCI and the duration of the securities portfolio.