Total assets shrank 26% to $87.7B from $119.1B in 2024Q2, with equity flat at $8.1B (9% of assets) and investment securities swinging from $80.9B to $16.6B, suggesting potential realized losses.
Flagstar Financial, Inc. (FLG) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 42.11B | 16.25B | 25.83B | 20.62B | 10.66B | 6.82B | 6.48B | 5.22B | 5.86B | 4.8B | 662.13M | 741.93M | 737.93M | 925.29M | 2.86B | 2.73B | 2.58B | 4.19B | 1.21B | 1.72B | 2.17B | 2.61B | 187.68M | 285.9M | 97.64M | 178.62M | 257.71M | 31.2M | 46.6M | 22.8M | 21M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 416M | 553M | 15.43B | 11.47B | 2.03B | 2.21B | 1.95B | 741.87M | 1.47B | 2.53B | 557.85M | 537.67M | 564.15M | 644.55M | 2.43B | 2B | 1.93B | 2.67B | 203.22M | 335.74M | 230.76M | 231.8M | 187.68M | 285.9M | 97.64M | 178.62M | 257.71M | 31.2M | 46.6M | 22.8M | 21M |
| Short Term Investments | 16.55B | 15.7B | 10.4B | 9.14B | 8.63B | 4.61B | 4.54B | 4.48B | 4.38B | 2.27B | 104.28M | 204.25M | 173.78M | 280.74M | 429.27M | 724.66M | 652.96M | 1.52B | 1.01B | 1.38B | 1.94B | 2.38B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 16.55B | 15.7B | 76.27B | 90.78B | 76.68B | 48.57B | 45.83B | 45.14B | 43.9B | 40.03B | 40.82B | 41.85B | 42.72B | 40.58B | 36.49B | 34.86B | 33.83B | 34.13B | 28.09B | 26.01B | 24.49B | 22.58B | 20.4B | 19.92B | 10.18B | 7.99B | 4.16B | 1.81B | 1.66B | 1.54B | 1.31B |
| Investments Growth % | -144.36% | -79.41% | -15.98% | 18.38% | 57.88% | 5.97% | 1.54% | 2.82% | 9.67% | -1.93% | -2.46% | -2.05% | 5.28% | 11.19% | 4.68% | 3.05% | -0.89% | 21.51% | 8.01% | 6.22% | 8.45% | 10.68% | 2.39% | 95.75% | 27.38% | 91.87% | 129.61% | 9.05% | 7.83% | 18.06% | 12.07% |
| Long-Term Investments | 158.11B | 0 | 65.87B | 81.63B | 68.06B | 43.76B | 41.1B | 40.51B | 39.35B | 37.6B | 40.53B | 41.46B | 42.36B | 40.3B | 36.06B | 33.97B | 33.18B | 32.49B | 26.99B | 24.63B | 22.55B | 20.2B | 20.4B | 19.92B | 10.13B | 7.99B | 4.14B | 1.81B | 1.66B | 1.54B | 1.31B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 333M | 381M | 514M | 1.74B | 3.75B | 2.43B | 2.43B | 2.43B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.67B | 2.69B | 2.67B | 2.69B | 2.61B | 2.6B | 2.62B | 2.54B | 2.52B | 2.55B | 2.25B | 2.07B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.43B | 2.43B | 2.43B | 2.43B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.44B | 2.15B | 1.98B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 333M | 381M | 514M | 1.74B | 1.32B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 780K | 6.1M | 234.17M | 250.33M | 235.24M | 257.26M | 176.74M | 168.68M | 185.11M | 105.76M | 87.78M | 111.12M | 106.38M | 86.53M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 472M | 477M | 562M | 652M | 491M | 270M | 554M | 598.82M | 346.18M | 368.65M | 373.68M | 322.31M | 319M | 273.3M | 264.15M | 250.86M | 233.69M | 205.16M | 217.76M | 214.91M | 196.08M | 140.28M | 148.26M | 152.58M | 74.53M | 69.01M | 39.19M | 10.1M | 10.4M | 10.8M | 11.1M |
| Other Assets | 0 | 0 | 5.27B | 6.23B | 5.51B | 4.45B | 4B | 3.61B | 3.22B | 3.25B | 3.89B | 4.42B | 1.86B | 1.91B | 1.78B | 1.78B | 1.76B | 1.98B | 1.52B | 1.47B | 1.31B | 1.26B | 1.26B | 1.06B | 332.8M | 350.33M | 151.23M | 58.9M | 26.8M | 27.4M | 20.2M |
| Total Current Assets | 16.97B | 16.25B | 27.95B | 23.81B | 12.34B | 8.62B | 8.22B | 6.49B | 6.54B | 5.46B | 1.47B | 1.42B | 1.34B | 1.52B | 3.42B | 3.42B | 3.39B | 4.93B | 1.22B | 1.72B | 2.18B | 2.62B | 187.68M | 285.9M | 97.64M | 178.62M | 257.71M | 31.2M | 46.6M | 22.8M | 21M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 805M | 858M | 72.21B | 90.25B | 77.81B | 50.91B | 48.09B | 47.15B | 45.36B | 43.67B | 47.46B | 48.9B | 47.21B | 45.17B | 40.72B | 38.6B | 37.8B | 37.22B | 31.25B | 28.86B | 26.3B | 23.67B | 23.62B | 22.98B | 11.22B | 9.02B | 4.45B | 1.88B | 1.7B | 1.58B | 1.34B |
| Total Assets | 87.71B | 87.51B | 100.16B | 114.06B | 90.14B | 59.53B | 56.31B | 53.64B | 51.9B | 49.12B | 48.93B | 50.32B | 48.56B | 46.69B | 44.15B | 42.02B | 41.19B | 42.15B | 32.47B | 30.58B | 28.48B | 26.28B | 24.04B | 23.44B | 11.31B | 9.2B | 4.71B | 1.91B | 1.75B | 1.6B | 1.36B |
| Asset Growth % | -48.13% | -12.63% | -12.18% | 26.53% | 51.43% | 5.72% | 4.97% | 3.36% | 5.65% | 0.4% | -2.76% | 3.62% | 4.01% | 5.76% | 5.05% | 2.02% | -2.28% | 29.84% | 6.17% | 7.36% | 8.37% | 9.34% | 2.54% | 107.21% | 22.93% | 95.35% | 147.05% | 9.15% | 8.96% | 18% | 9.49% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.05% | -0.19% | -1.04% | -0.08% | 0.87% | 1.03% | 0.93% | 0.75% | 0.84% | 0.95% | 1% | -0.1% | 1.02% | 1.05% | 1.16% | 1.15% | 1.3% | 1.07% | 0.25% | 0.95% | 0.85% | 1.16% | 1.5% | 1.86% | 2.23% | 1.5% | 0.74% | 1.74% | 1.61% | 1.57% | 1.61% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18M | 19M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 10.94B | 12.18B | 14.43B | 28.62B | 31.66B | 20.56B | 16.35B | 14.84B | 14.21B | 12.91B | 13.67B | 15.75B | 14.23B | 15.1B | 13.43B | 14.05B | 14.14B | 14.82B | 13.5B | 12.92B | 11.9B | 10.57B | 10.16B | 10.01B | 4.6B | 2.59B | 1.08B | 636.4M | 439.1M | 309.7M | 81.4M |
| Net Debt | 10.52B | 11.63B | -1B | 17.14B | 29.63B | 18.35B | 14.4B | 14.1B | 12.73B | 10.39B | 13.12B | 15.21B | 13.66B | 14.46B | 11B | 12.05B | 12.22B | 12.15B | 13.29B | 12.58B | 11.67B | 10.34B | 9.97B | 9.72B | 4.51B | 2.42B | 821.03M | 605.2M | 392.5M | 286.9M | 60.4M |
| Long-Term Debt | 10.94B | 12.18B | 10.68B | 21.27B | 21.33B | 15.76B | 15.28B | 13.76B | 13.71B | 12.46B | 12.02B | 13.82B | 10.54B | 11.23B | 9.2B | 9.84B | 9.41B | 10.04B | 8.86B | 8.5B | 8.05B | 6.22B | 10.14B | 9.93B | 4.59B | 2.51B | 1.04B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 3.75B | 7.35B | 10.32B | 4.55B | 800M | 800M | 500M | 450M | 1.65B | 1.93B | 3.69B | 3.87B | 4.22B | 4.22B | 4.73B | 4.78B | 4.63B | 4.41B | 3.85B | 4.35B | 16.83M | 78.12M | 11.54M | 87.65M | 41.24M | 636.4M | 439.1M | 309.7M | 81.4M |
| Other Liabilities | 68.64B | 36.89B | 1.7B | -4.45B | -9.06B | -3.15B | 657M | 428.41M | 271.85M | 312.98M | 241.28M | 207.94M | 222.18M | 190.93M | 185.42M | 78.25M | -289.16M | -350.68M | 375.3M | 324.5M | 273.36M | 281.83M | 289.92M | 234.44M | 129.93M | 174.42M | 67.44M | 57.2M | 56.1M | 53.9M | 42M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 30.29B | 79.62B | 88.88B | 69.05B | 39.63B | 33.26B | 32.46B | 31.26B | 29.55B | 30.54B | 30.35B | 32.01B | 29.53B | 29.1B | 26.54B | 26.54B | 27.1B | 19.01B | 17.57B | 16.47B | 16.46B | 10.42B | 10.41B | 5.27B | 5.54B | 3.3B | 1.71B | 1.54B | 1.38B | 1.11B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 79.57B | 49.08B | 12.37B | 16.81B | 12.27B | 12.86B | 16.21B | 14.47B | 13.98B | 12.78B | 12.26B | 14.03B | 10.76B | 11.42B | 9.39B | 9.91B | 9.12B | 9.69B | 9.24B | 8.83B | 8.32B | 6.5B | 10.43B | 10.17B | 4.72B | 2.68B | 1.1B | 57.2M | 56.1M | 53.9M | 42M |
| Total Liabilities | 79.57B | 79.37B | 91.99B | 105.69B | 81.32B | 52.48B | 49.46B | 46.93B | 45.24B | 42.33B | 42.8B | 44.38B | 42.78B | 40.95B | 38.49B | 36.46B | 35.66B | 36.79B | 28.25B | 26.4B | 24.79B | 22.96B | 20.85B | 20.57B | 9.99B | 8.22B | 4.4B | 1.77B | 1.6B | 1.43B | 1.15B |
| Total Equity | 8.14B | 8.14B | 8.17B | 8.37B | 8.82B | 7.04B | 6.84B | 6.71B | 6.66B | 6.8B | 6.12B | 5.93B | 5.78B | 5.74B | 5.66B | 5.57B | 5.53B | 5.37B | 4.22B | 4.18B | 3.69B | 3.32B | 3.19B | 2.87B | 1.32B | 983.13M | 307.41M | 137.1M | 149.4M | 170.5M | 211.4M |
| Equity Growth % | -5.52% | -0.28% | -2.39% | -5.18% | 25.27% | 2.95% | 1.94% | 0.85% | -2.06% | 10.96% | 3.19% | 2.64% | 0.8% | 1.4% | 1.63% | 0.71% | 2.97% | 27.2% | 0.88% | 13.35% | 10.98% | 4.35% | 11.08% | 116.75% | 34.62% | 219.81% | 124.22% | -8.23% | -12.38% | -19.35% | -2.85% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 9.28% | 9.31% | 8.15% | 7.34% | 9.79% | 11.83% | 12.15% | 12.51% | 12.82% | 13.83% | 12.52% | 11.79% | 11.91% | 12.29% | 12.81% | 13.24% | 13.42% | 12.73% | 13% | 13.68% | 12.95% | 12.65% | 13.26% | 12.24% | 11.7% | 10.68% | 6.53% | 7.19% | 8.55% | 10.63% | 15.56% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 0.59% | -2.17% | -13.52% | -0.92% | 8.19% | 8.58% | 7.54% | 5.91% | 6.28% | 7.22% | 8.22% | -0.8% | 8.43% | 8.35% | 8.93% | 8.66% | 9.93% | 8.32% | 1.85% | 7.09% | 6.63% | 8.97% | 11.73% | 15.43% | 19.88% | 16.19% | 11.01% | 22.13% | 16.82% | 12.2% | 9.74% |
| Book Value per Share | 17.19 | 19.61 | 24.70 | 35.17 | 54.57 | 45.54 | 44.31 | 43.24 | 40.97 | 41.85 | 37.87 | 39.65 | 39.33 | 39.17 | 38.77 | 38.28 | 38.18 | 45.75 | 37.74 | 40.33 | 38.67 | 38.00 | 35.82 | 43.91 | 21.65 | 21.28 | 11.87 | 5.42 | 5.58 | 5.85 | 6.49 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 16.49 | 18.69 | 23.14 | 27.88 | 31.40 | 29.85 | 28.60 | 27.61 | 25.97 | 26.81 | 21.36 | 21.70 | 21.16 | 20.78 | 20.86 | 20.37 | 20.07 | 24.08 | 15.16 | 15.75 | 15.04 | 14.37 | 35.82 | 43.91 | 21.65 | 21.28 | 11.87 | 5.42 | 5.58 | 5.85 | 6.49 |
| Common Stock | 4M | 4M | 4M | 2M | 7M | 5M | 5M | 4.9M | 4.9M | 4.89M | 4.87M | 4.85M | 4.43M | 4.41M | 4.39M | 4.37M | 4.36M | 4.33M | 3.45M | 3.24M | 2.95M | 2.73M | 2.73M | 1.95M | 1.08M | 1.08M | 310K | 300K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 9.3B | 9.3B | 9.28B | 8.24B | 8.13B | 6.13B | 6.12B | 6.12B | 6.1B | 6.07B | 6.05B | 6.02B | 5.37B | 5.35B | 5.33B | 5.31B | 5.29B | 5.24B | 4.18B | 3.81B | 3.34B | 3.01B | 3.01B | 2.57B | 1.1B | 898.83M | 174.45M | 147.6M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | -958M | -988M | -763M | 443M | 1.04B | 741M | 494M | 342.02M | 297.2M | 237.87M | 128.44M | -36.57M | 464.57M | 422.76M | 387.53M | 324.97M | 281.84M | 175.19M | 123.51M | 390.76M | 421.31M | 475.5M | 452.13M | 434.58M | 275.1M | 167.51M | 146.51M | 150.5M | 165.4M | 166.2M | 154.9M |
| Accumulated OCI | -547M | -489M | -640M | -599M | -620M | -85M | -25M | -32.84M | -87.65M | -15.17M | -56.71M | -57.02M | -55.69M | -36.49M | -61.7M | -71.91M | -45.7M | -49.9M | -87.32M | -21.32M | -68.05M | -55.86M | -58.47M | -53.74M | 11.53M | -6M | -11.48M | -16.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | -161M | -190M | -219M | -218M | -237M | -246M | -258M | -220.72M | -162M | -7.62M | -160K | -447K | -1.12M | -1.03M | -1.07M | -996K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -100.17M | -223.23M | -79.75M | -69.09M | -78.29M | -2.39M | -145.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 1M | 504M | 503M | 503M | 503M | 503M | 503M | 502.84M | 502.84M | 502.84M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying FLG stock.
As of 2025, Flagstar Financial, Inc. (FLG) had total assets of $87.51B including $16.25B in current assets.
Flagstar Financial, Inc. (FLG) carries total debt of $12.18B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Flagstar Financial, Inc. (FLG) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $8.14B ($19.61 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Flagstar Financial, Inc. (FLG) reported a current ratio of 0.54x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
NYC rent-regulated credit exposure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Shrinkage Continues Amid Repositioning
Total assets contracted from $119.1B in 2024Q2 to $87.7B in 2026Q2, a 26% reduction, reflecting deliberate deleveraging and portfolio restructuring, as reported in quarterly filings.
The balance sheet has been shrinking for eight consecutive quarters, with the most recent quarter showing a slight uptick of $0.6B sequentially. This contraction appears driven by runoff in the loan book and securities repositioning, as evidenced by the volatile investment securities line, which swung from $80.9B in 2026Q1 to $16.6B in 2026Q2. The shift suggests management is actively managing the securities portfolio, possibly to reduce duration risk or raise liquidity, but the lack of loan growth indicates a strategic pivot away from balance sheet expansion.
Deposit Base Stability Questionable
Loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but total liabilities fell from $110.7B in 2024Q2 to $79.6B in 2026Q2, a 28% decline, indicating significant deposit outflows or runoffs.
The substantial reduction in liabilities, which mirrors the asset decline, suggests that the bank has been losing deposits or allowing higher-cost deposits to run off. While this could be part of a deliberate strategy to reduce funding costs, it also raises concerns about franchise stability. The lack of a disclosed loan-to-deposit ratio limits visibility, but the overall liability shrinkage implies a shrinking funding base, which may constrain future lending capacity.
Credit Costs Normalize but Risks Persist
Loan loss provision fell from $390M in 2024Q2 to $18M in 2026Q2, a 95% reduction, yet criticized assets remain elevated, suggesting the credit cycle may have peaked but risks persist.
The dramatic decline in provision expense indicates that the bank has worked through a significant portion of its credit deterioration, particularly in its NYC rent-regulated multi-family portfolio. However, the prior income statement analysis noted that criticized assets remain elevated, which warrants caution. The low provision level may not be sustainable if economic conditions worsen or if the rent-regulated book experiences further stress. Investors should monitor NPL formation and charge-offs in coming quarters to confirm that the credit normalization is durable.
Capital Ratios Stabilize at Low Levels
Equity to assets ratio has remained at 0.09 for five consecutive quarters, with equity flat at $8.1B, indicating a stable but thin capital base relative to the bank's risk profile.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 9% is below the typical regional bank average, and the flat equity level suggests that retained earnings are barely offsetting any capital distributions or mark-to-market losses. The bank's ability to absorb further credit losses or regulatory capital increases appears limited. The recent capital raise and dividend cut have stabilized the balance sheet, but the thin capital buffer leaves little room for error. Regulatory capital ratios (CET1, Tier 1) are not disclosed, but the low equity ratio implies a strained capital position.
Liquidity Profile Shifts to Securities
Cash and bank balances fell from $15.4B in 2024Q4 to $416M in 2026Q2, while investment securities swung from $76.3B to $16.6B, indicating a significant liquidity repositioning.
The dramatic reduction in cash and the volatile securities portfolio suggest that the bank is actively managing its liquidity position, possibly to reduce excess cash and invest in higher-yielding securities. However, the sharp decline in cash could indicate a reliance on wholesale funding or a reduction in high-quality liquid assets (HQLA), which may increase liquidity risk. The bank's ability to meet contingent funding needs is unclear, and the lack of a disclosed loan-to-deposit ratio limits assessment of core deposit reliance.
NIM Trapped at 50 Basis Points
Net interest margin has remained at 0.5% for five consecutive quarters, far below peer averages, indicating persistent asset yield and funding cost pressures.
The stagnant NIM suggests that the bank's funding costs are rising in tandem with asset yields, leaving no spread expansion. This is consistent with a liability-sensitive balance sheet, where deposit repricing outpaces loan repricing. The bank's ability to improve NIM depends on its deposit beta and the pace of asset repricing. Given the high concentration in fixed-rate multi-family loans, the NIM may remain under pressure for an extended period. Investors should monitor management's guidance on deposit betas and any actions to reduce funding costs.
Unrealized Losses May Lurk in Securities
Investment securities swung from $80.9B in 2026Q1 to $16.6B in 2026Q2, a dramatic shift that may indicate sales of underwater positions, potentially crystallizing unrealized losses.
The volatile securities portfolio, which fluctuated between $15.7B and $80.9B over the past year, suggests active trading or repositioning. If the bank sold securities at a loss to fund liquidity or reduce duration, it could have realized losses that are not fully visible in the income statement. Additionally, the remaining securities may carry unrealized losses in AOCI, which could pressure capital if rates rise further. Investors should scrutinize the composition and duration of the securities book, as well as any AOCI impact, to assess hidden balance sheet risks.