Total assets grew 14.5% YoY to $21.3B, but the equity-to-assets ratio remains thin at 0.13, and investment securities surged to $18.7B, potentially amplifying unrealized loss risk.
First Merchants Corporation (FRME) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 7.56B | 1.49B | 1.77B | 2.18B | 2.23B | 2.99B | 2.5B | 2.09B | 1.32B | 1.19B | 849.25M | 792.88M | 715.68M | 700.7M | 653.25M | 644.65M | 116.06M | 150.83M | 123.07M | 159.61M | 101.24M | 79.17M | 79.3M | 85.25M | 91.21M | 72.61M | 53.45M | 60.6M | 36.5M | 42.6M | 35.3M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 616.1M | 84.16M | 386.51M | 548.73M | 248.66M | 641.3M | 585.2M | 295.46M | 176.21M | 189.93M | 152.39M | 134.49M | 166.14M | 164.5M | 139.9M | 126.16M | 116.06M | 150.83M | 123.07M | 159.61M | 101.24M | 79.17M | 79.3M | 85.25M | 91.21M | 72.61M | 53.45M | 60.6M | 36.5M | 42.6M | 35.3M |
| Short Term Investments | 3.29B | 1.41B | 1.39B | 1.63B | 1.98B | 2.34B | 1.92B | 1.79B | 1.14B | 999.95M | 696.86M | 658.4M | 549.54M | 536.2M | 513.34M | 518.49M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 18.65B | 1.41B | 16.14B | 16.11B | 16.05B | 13.58B | 12.26B | 10.98B | 8.78B | 8.24B | 6.38B | 5.92B | 5.05B | 4.66B | 3.73B | 3.6B | 3.6B | 3.75B | 4.16B | 3.3B | 3.14B | 2.87B | 2.83B | 2.69B | 2.35B | 1.58B | 1.47B | 1.33B | 1.23B | 944.4M | 900.7M |
| Investments Growth % | -165.91% | -91.28% | 0.18% | 0.36% | 18.2% | 10.75% | 11.65% | 25.09% | 6.55% | 29.16% | 7.83% | 17.24% | 8.23% | 25.14% | 3.43% | 0.06% | -3.94% | -9.86% | 25.89% | 5.32% | 9.24% | 1.45% | 5.3% | 14.59% | 48.01% | 7.73% | 10.38% | 8.09% | 30.57% | 4.85% | 46.22% |
| Long-Term Investments | 31.73B | 0 | 14.75B | 14.48B | 14.08B | 11.24B | 10.34B | 9.19B | 7.64B | 7.24B | 5.68B | 5.26B | 4.5B | 4.13B | 3.21B | 3.08B | 3.6B | 3.75B | 4.16B | 3.3B | 3.14B | 2.87B | 2.83B | 2.69B | 2.35B | 1.58B | 1.47B | 1.33B | 1.23B | 944.4M | 900.7M |
| Accounts Receivables | 101.93M | 93.37M | 91.83M | 97.66M | 85.07M | 57.19M | 53.95M | 48.9M | 40.88M | 37.13M | 26.19M | 24.41M | 19.98M | 18.67M | 16.37M | 17.72M | 18.67M | 20.82M | 23.98M | 23.4M | 24.34M | 19.69M | 17.32M | 16.84M | 17.35M | 12.02M | 13.13M | 11.3M | 10.8M | 9M | 8.6M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 827.16M | 725.8M | 731.83M | 739.1M | 747.84M | 570.86M | 572.89M | 578.88M | 469.78M | 476.5M | 258.87M | 259.76M | 218.75M | 202.77M | 149.53M | 150.47M | 154.02M | 158.74M | 165.97M | 23.4M | 24.34M | 19.69M | 17.32M | 16.84M | 17.35M | 12.02M | 13.13M | 11.3M | 10.8M | 9M | 8.6M |
| Goodwill | 788.19M | 712M | 712M | 712M | 712M | 545.38M | 543.92M | 543.92M | 445.36M | 445.36M | 244M | 243.13M | 202.72M | 188.95M | 141.38M | 141.36M | 141.36M | 141.36M | 143.48M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 38.97M | 13.8M | 19.83M | 27.1M | 35.84M | 25.48M | 28.98M | 34.96M | 24.43M | 31.15M | 14.87M | 16.64M | 16.03M | 13.82M | 8.15M | 9.11M | 12.66M | 17.38M | 22.49M | 23.4M | 24.34M | 19.69M | 17.32M | 16.84M | 17.35M | 12.02M | 13.13M | 11.3M | 10.8M | 9M | 8.6M |
| PP&E (Net) | 148.16M | 121.06M | 129.74M | 133.9M | 117.12M | 105.66M | 111.06M | 113.06M | 93.42M | 95.85M | 94.43M | 97.65M | 77.69M | 74.45M | 52.75M | 51.01M | 52.45M | 55.8M | 59.64M | 44.45M | 42.39M | 39.42M | 38.25M | 39.64M | 38.65M | 27.68M | 23.87M | 20.1M | 19M | 15.4M | 15.3M |
| Other Assets | 811.55M | 78.66M | 738.71M | 675.22M | 638.79M | 460.5M | 468.49M | 424.66M | 299.48M | 300.09M | 259.31M | 279.45M | 250.83M | 254.8M | 185.9M | 184.5M | 183.05M | 281.56M | 226.07M | 115.25M | 111.56M | 88.56M | 85.1M | 104.51M | 78.71M | 57.77M | 38.46M | 46.3M | 60M | 7.1M | 6.4M |
| Total Current Assets | 4.09B | 1.58B | 1.86B | 2.27B | 2.31B | 3.04B | 2.56B | 2.13B | 1.36B | 1.23B | 875.75M | 817.89M | 736.77M | 720.92M | 672.2M | 665.93M | 134.73M | 171.64M | 147.05M | 183.02M | 125.59M | 98.86M | 96.62M | 102.09M | 108.55M | 84.64M | 66.58M | 71.9M | 47.3M | 51.6M | 43.9M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 17.26B | 925.52M | 16.45B | 16.13B | 15.69B | 12.41B | 11.51B | 10.32B | 8.53B | 8.14B | 6.34B | 5.94B | 5.09B | 4.72B | 3.63B | 3.51B | 4.04B | 4.31B | 4.64B | 3.6B | 3.43B | 3.14B | 3.1B | 2.97B | 2.57B | 1.7B | 1.55B | 1.4B | 1.32B | 968.5M | 924.1M |
| Total Assets | 21.35B | 19.03B | 18.31B | 18.41B | 17.94B | 15.45B | 14.07B | 12.46B | 9.88B | 9.37B | 7.21B | 6.76B | 5.82B | 5.44B | 4.3B | 4.17B | 4.17B | 4.48B | 4.78B | 3.78B | 3.55B | 3.24B | 3.19B | 3.08B | 2.68B | 1.79B | 1.62B | 1.47B | 1.36B | 1.02B | 968M |
| Asset Growth % | 35.52% | 3.89% | -0.51% | 2.61% | 16.08% | 9.85% | 12.92% | 26.03% | 5.52% | 29.89% | 6.66% | 16.09% | 7.12% | 26.31% | 3.16% | 0.05% | -6.92% | -6.34% | 26.5% | 6.39% | 9.82% | 1.42% | 3.73% | 14.86% | 49.9% | 10.24% | 9.98% | 8.18% | 33.57% | 5.38% | 36.74% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.93% | 1.21% | 1.1% | 1.23% | 1.33% | 1.39% | 1.12% | 1.47% | 1.65% | 1.16% | 1.16% | 1.04% | 1.07% | 0.91% | 1.06% | 0.61% | 0.16% | -0.88% | 0.48% | 0.86% | 0.89% | 0.94% | 0.94% | 0.96% | 1.25% | 1.3% | 1.29% | 1.35% | 1.5% | 1.66% | 1.56% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 16.1M | 18.91M | 7.53M | 2.76M | 3.29M | 6.75M | 5.61M | 4.39M | 3.11M | 3.09M | 3.2M | 1.77M | 1.84M | 2.92M | 4.26M | 5.71M | 8.84M | 8.32M | 9.33M | 5.87M | 4.41M | 4.68M | 6.02M | 5.49M | 6.33M | 4.6M | 4.1M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 1.6B | 999.93M | 1.16B | 1.03B | 1.31B | 634.25M | 684.91M | 732.7M | 670.96M | 834.39M | 694.2M | 568.54M | 411.99M | 523.26M | 367.09M | 489.37M | 419M | 450.23M | 618.35M | 568.77M | 440.76M | 508.24M | 440.89M | 383.17M | 356.93M | 174.4M | 163.58M | 189.9M | 113.7M | 47.5M | 54.2M |
| Net Debt | 987.65M | 915.78M | 771.68M | 480.05M | 1.07B | -7.05M | 99.71M | 437.24M | 494.75M | 644.46M | 541.81M | 434.06M | 245.86M | 358.76M | 227.19M | 363.21M | 302.94M | 299.4M | 495.28M | 409.16M | 339.52M | 429.07M | 361.59M | 297.92M | 265.72M | 101.79M | 110.14M | 129.3M | 77.2M | 4.9M | 18.9M |
| Long-Term Debt | 1.5B | 856.18M | 916.08M | 871.5M | 974.97M | 452.67M | 507.81M | 489.76M | 453.45M | 553.73M | 427.37M | 363.5M | 272.07M | 248.95M | 206.4M | 333.07M | 309.12M | 324.54M | 496.04M | 568.77M | 341.86M | 508.24M | 440.89M | 383.17M | 275.34M | 174.4M | 163.58M | 189.9M | 47.1M | 20.7M | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 103.34M | 143.75M | 242.1M | 157.28M | 338.97M | 181.58M | 177.1M | 242.95M | 217.51M | 280.66M | 266.83M | 205.05M | 139.92M | 274.32M | 160.69M | 156.31M | 109.87M | 125.69M | 122.31M | 0 | 98.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 81.59M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 66.6M | 26.8M | 54.2M |
| Other Liabilities | 276.97M | 7.77B | 311.07M | 289.03M | 263.21M | 170.99M | 141.76M | 91.4M | 45.3M | 52.71M | 56.15M | 49.21M | 41.41M | 45.84M | 37.27M | 31.66M | 24.3M | 24.69M | 42.24M | 20.93M | 26.92M | 27M | 23.61M | 22.9M | 17.92M | 6.76M | 6.79M | 6M | 4.8M | 6.8M | 6.6M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 16.87B | 7.93B | 14.78B | 15B | 14.73B | 12.92B | 11.54B | 10.09B | 7.98B | 7.46B | 5.83B | 5.5B | 4.78B | 4.51B | 3.51B | 3.29B | 3.38B | 3.67B | 3.85B | 2.85B | 2.86B | 2.39B | 2.41B | 2.37B | 2.12B | 1.43B | 1.29B | 1.15B | 1.16B | 870.6M | 848.7M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 1.78B | 8.63B | 1.23B | 1.16B | 1.24B | 623.66M | 649.57M | 581.16M | 498.74M | 606.43M | 483.52M | 412.71M | 313.49M | 294.78M | 243.67M | 364.72M | 333.43M | 349.23M | 538.29M | 589.71M | 368.78M | 535.23M | 464.5M | 406.07M | 293.26M | 181.17M | 170.37M | 195.9M | 51.9M | 27.5M | 6.6M |
| Total Liabilities | 18.65B | 16.56B | 16.01B | 16.16B | 15.9B | 13.54B | 12.19B | 10.67B | 8.48B | 8.06B | 6.31B | 5.91B | 5.1B | 4.8B | 3.75B | 3.66B | 3.72B | 4.02B | 4.39B | 3.44B | 3.23B | 2.92B | 2.88B | 2.77B | 2.42B | 1.61B | 1.47B | 1.35B | 1.21B | 898.1M | 855.3M |
| Total Equity | 2.7B | 2.47B | 2.3B | 2.25B | 2.03B | 1.91B | 1.88B | 1.79B | 1.41B | 1.3B | 901.66M | 850.51M | 726.83M | 634.92M | 552.24M | 514.47M | 454.41M | 463.79M | 395.9M | 339.94M | 327.32M | 313.4M | 314.6M | 303.96M | 261.13M | 179.13M | 156.06M | 126.3M | 153.9M | 122M | 112.7M |
| Equity Growth % | 41.26% | 7.01% | 2.55% | 10.47% | 6.39% | 1.97% | 4.99% | 26.85% | 8.04% | 44.56% | 6.01% | 17.02% | 14.47% | 14.97% | 7.34% | 13.22% | -2.02% | 17.15% | 16.46% | 3.85% | 4.44% | -0.38% | 3.5% | 16.4% | 45.78% | 14.78% | 23.57% | -17.93% | 26.15% | 8.25% | 40% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 12.63% | 12.97% | 12.59% | 12.21% | 11.34% | 12.38% | 13.33% | 14.34% | 14.25% | 13.91% | 12.5% | 12.58% | 12.48% | 11.68% | 12.83% | 12.33% | 10.89% | 10.35% | 8.28% | 8.99% | 9.21% | 9.68% | 9.86% | 9.88% | 9.75% | 10.02% | 9.63% | 8.57% | 11.3% | 11.96% | 11.64% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 7.26% | 9.47% | 8.85% | 10.45% | 11.25% | 10.85% | 8.12% | 10.3% | 11.74% | 8.71% | 9.25% | 8.29% | 8.84% | 7.5% | 8.46% | 5.21% | 1.5% | -9.48% | 5.61% | 9.48% | 9.43% | 9.63% | 9.51% | 9.76% | 12.65% | 13.25% | 14.12% | 13.63% | 12.98% | 14.06% | 13.56% |
| Book Value per Share | 43.10 | 42.73 | 39.38 | 37.78 | 35.11 | 35.43 | 34.59 | 34.65 | 28.47 | 28.71 | 21.98 | 22.33 | 19.88 | 21.16 | 19.14 | 19.27 | 18.44 | 21.96 | 21.80 | 18.59 | 17.78 | 16.89 | 16.90 | 16.54 | 15.81 | 13.02 | 11.83 | 9.03 | 10.99 | 8.79 | 9.86 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 29.88 | 30.16 | 26.88 | 25.36 | 22.21 | 24.85 | 24.03 | 23.42 | 18.97 | 18.21 | 15.67 | 15.51 | 13.90 | 14.40 | 13.96 | 13.64 | 12.19 | 14.45 | 12.66 | 17.31 | 16.45 | 15.83 | 15.97 | 15.62 | 14.76 | 12.15 | 10.84 | 8.22 | 10.22 | 8.14 | 9.11 |
| Common Stock | 7.78M | 7.12M | 7.25M | 7.43M | 7.4M | 6.68M | 6.74M | 6.92M | 6.17M | 6.14M | 5.11M | 5.08M | 4.71M | 4.49M | 3.59M | 3.57M | 3.2M | 2.65M | 2.65M | 2.25M | 2.31M | 2.3M | 2.32M | 2.31M | 2.04M | 1.58M | 1.45M | 1.4M | 1.5M | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 1.36B | 1.15B | 1.19B | 1.24B | 1.23B | 985.82M | 1.01B | 1.05B | 840.05M | 834.87M | 509.02M | 504.53M | 431.22M | 393.78M | 256.84M | 254.87M | 232.5M | 206.6M | 202.3M | 137.8M | 146.46M | 145.68M | 150.86M | 150.31M | 116.5M | 50.64M | 41.66M | 25.5M | 31.3M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 1.44B | 1.41B | 1.27B | 1.15B | 1.01B | 864.84M | 788.58M | 696.52M | 583.34M | 465.23M | 400.98M | 342.13M | 292.4M | 242.94M | 206.4M | 168.72M | 160.86M | 150.86M | 206.5M | 202.75M | 187.97M | 174.72M | 161.46M | 149.1M | 138.11M | 124.3M | 113.24M | 103.6M | 118.9M | 95.4M | 88M |
| Accumulated OCI | -133.59M | -130.13M | -188.69M | -175.97M | -239.15M | 55.11M | 74.84M | 27.87M | -21.42M | -2.91M | -13.58M | -1.36M | -1.63M | -6.41M | -5.5M | -3.6M | -10.16M | -8.83M | -15.66M | -2.87M | -9.4M | -9.3M | -40K | 2.25M | 4.48M | 2.6M | -297K | -4.2M | 2.2M | 1.5M | 1M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 25.13M | 25.13M | 25.13M | 25.13M | 25.13M | 125K | 125K | 125K | 125K | 125K | 125K | 125K | 125K | 125K | 90.91M | 90.91M | 68M | 112.5M | 125K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying FRME stock.
As of 2025, First Merchants Corporation (FRME) had total assets of $19.03B including $1.58B in current assets.
First Merchants Corporation (FRME) carries total debt of $999.9M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
First Merchants Corporation (FRME) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $2.47B ($42.73 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
First Merchants Corporation (FRME) reported a current ratio of 0.20x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Credit quality and deposit costs
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates, Quality Questioned
Total assets expanded 14.5% year-over-year to $21.3B in Q2 2026, according to the latest balance sheet, but the surge in loan loss provisions to $33.0M suggests growth may be masking credit deterioration.
The balance sheet grew from $18.6B in Q2 2025 to $21.3B in Q2 2026, a notable acceleration, yet the composition of this growth warrants scrutiny. The increase in investment securities to $18.7B, up from $16.5B, indicates a shift toward securities rather than organic loan growth, which may reflect subdued loan demand or a strategic repositioning. The simultaneous spike in provisions to $33.0M, six times the prior quarter, implies that the new assets may carry higher risk, and investors should monitor whether this growth is sustainable or a precursor to further credit costs.
Deposit Base Stability Under Pressure
The loan-to-deposit ratio remains undisclosed, but rising deposit competition from digital-first banks, as noted in recent context, may be increasing funding costs and pressuring the bank's historically low-cost core deposit franchise.
First Merchants has long benefited from a stable, low-cost deposit base in its Midwest markets, but the competitive landscape is shifting. The bank's net interest margin has remained flat at 0.7% for ten consecutive quarters, as per reported figures, suggesting that any increase in deposit costs is being offset by asset yields, but this equilibrium may be fragile. If deposit betas rise faster than asset repricing, the margin could compress, and the bank's reliance on relationship-based deposits may be tested as digital competitors offer higher rates. The stability of the franchise appears intact, but the trend warrants close monitoring.
Provision Spike Signals Credit Stress
Loan loss provisions surged to $33.0M in Q2 2026, a six-fold increase from the prior quarter, as reported in the balance sheet, suggesting a potential deterioration in asset quality that may be concentrated in commercial or agri-business portfolios.
The provision for credit losses jumped from $4.9M in Q1 2026 to $33.0M in Q2 2026, a dramatic increase that aligns with the significant EPS miss. While net charge-offs are not disclosed, the magnitude of the provision build implies either a specific credit event or a broader weakening in the loan book. Given the bank's concentration in Midwest manufacturing and agriculture, as well as suburban office and retail CRE, the risk of elevated non-performing assets is real. Investors should scrutinize the composition of the provision and any qualitative overlays under CECL, as management's assumptions about the regional economy could significantly impact future earnings.
Capital Ratios Stable but Buffer Thin
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 0.13 in Q2 2026, unchanged from the prior quarter, according to the balance sheet, but the provision spike and EPS miss may indicate that capital generation is slowing, limiting future deployment flexibility.
The equity-to-assets ratio has remained at 0.13 for the past five quarters, suggesting a stable capital position, but this stability may be misleading. The Q2 2026 provision of $33.0M, combined with the earnings miss, implies that retained earnings growth is decelerating, which could constrain the bank's ability to maintain its dividend and buyback program without dipping into capital. Management's historical discipline in bolt-on acquisitions may be tested if capital buffers erode, and investors should monitor whether the bank can sustain its capital return program while absorbing potential credit losses.
Liquidity Relies on Securities Portfolio
Cash and bank balances fell to $616.1M in Q2 2026 from $98.1M in Q1, as per the balance sheet, while investment securities rose to $18.7B, indicating a reliance on the securities portfolio for liquidity rather than core cash.
The sharp increase in cash and bank balances to $616.1M in Q2 2026, up from $98.1M in Q1, suggests a deliberate build-up of liquidity, possibly in response to the credit concerns. However, the investment securities portfolio, which constitutes the bulk of earning assets, may be the primary source of contingent liquidity. The bank's ability to sell securities quickly could be impaired if unrealized losses exist, especially in a rising rate environment. The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the reliance on securities for liquidity, rather than a stable deposit base, may increase funding risk if deposit competition intensifies.
Margin Outlook Clouded by Deposit Costs
Net interest margin has been flat at 0.7% for ten consecutive quarters, as reported, but rising deposit competition and a potential shift in deposit mix may compress margins, despite management's commentary on expansion.
The flat NIM suggests that asset yields and funding costs are moving in lockstep, but this equilibrium may be disrupted. The bank's deposit base, historically low-cost, may be migrating toward higher-yielding products as customers seek better returns, increasing the cost of funds. Management's positive commentary on NIM expansion appears optimistic given the competitive pressures, and the Q2 2026 provision spike may indicate that credit costs, not just funding costs, are a greater threat to forward profitability. Investors should monitor deposit betas and the mix of interest-bearing versus non-interest-bearing deposits to gauge the sustainability of the margin.
Unrealized Losses Could Amplify Risk
Investment securities surged to $18.7B in Q2 2026, as per the balance sheet, but in a rising rate environment, unrealized losses in the securities portfolio may be larger than disclosed, potentially pressuring capital if realized.
The substantial investment securities portfolio, which grew to $18.7B in Q2 2026, may carry significant unrealized losses given the flat NIM and rising rate environment. While these losses are typically held in AOCI and not reflected in regulatory capital, a forced sale or a change in accounting treatment could crystallize them, eroding equity. The bank's liquidity strategy appears to rely on this portfolio, but its true market value may be lower than book, creating a hidden vulnerability. Investors should examine the duration and credit quality of the securities, as well as the level of unrealized losses, to assess the potential impact on capital adequacy and future earnings.