Balance sheet expansion is rapid, with total assets growing 13.1% quarter-over-quarter to $247.3B, supported by a $46.2B jump in cash and bank balances to $64.3B, while equity remains modest at $5.9B with an equity-to-assets ratio of 0.09, indicating high leverage that warrants monitoring.
Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. (IBKR) balance sheet — 21-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 122.4B | 4.96B | 3.63B | 3.75B | 3.44B | 2.4B | 4.29B | 2.88B | 2.6B | 1.73B | 1.93B | 1.6B | 1.27B | 1.21B | 1.38B | 1.7B | 1.35B | 806.56M | 943.5M | 521.78M | 669.27M | 408.23M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 64.31B | 4.96B | 3.63B | 3.75B | 3.44B | 2.4B | 4.29B | 2.88B | 2.6B | 1.73B | 1.93B | 1.6B | 1.27B | 1.21B | 1.38B | 1.7B | 1.35B | 806.56M | 943.5M | 521.78M | 669.27M | 408.23M |
| Short Term Investments | 42.92B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 59.87B | 23.58B | 13.79B | 12.76B | 11.17B | 8.85B | 544M | 1.75B | 1.93B | 1.95B | 2.1B | 1.99B | 2.04B | 3.29B | 3.62B | -1.17B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments Growth % | 287.93% | 70.97% | 8.07% | 14.2% | 26.25% | 1527.02% | -69% | -9.11% | -0.97% | -7.32% | 5.89% | -2.69% | -37.84% | -9.19% | 409.87% | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 87.68B | 23.58B | 13.79B | 12.76B | 11.17B | 8.85B | 544M | 1.75B | 1.93B | 1.95B | 2.1B | 1.99B | 2.04B | 3.29B | 3.62B | -1.17B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 90.47B | 64.43B | 44.47B | 38.76B | 54.94B | 39.33B | 31.3B | 27.02B | 29.82B | 19.41B | 17.05B | 17.05B | 13.6B | 9.85B | 7.02B | 6.99B | 3.25B | 1.65B | 2B | 911.22M | 474.51M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 0 | 48M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 37M | 34M | 33M | 29M | 28M | 30M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 48M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 37M | 34M | 33M | 29M | 28M | 30M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 67M | 62M | 20M | 14M | 13M | 10M | 32M | 32.24M | 34.67M | 35.94M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | -926M | 1.57B | 1.07B | 955M | 926M | 911M | 50.05B | 34.8B | 28.1B | 26.68B | 30.1B | 27.3B | 21.82B | 18.86B | 17.45B | 21.4B | 19.42B | 22.05B | 23.24B | 29.53B | 29.64B | 22.83B |
| Total Current Assets | 231.29B | 178.09B | 135.23B | 114.53B | 103.04B | 99.35B | 44.98B | 35.03B | 30.46B | 32.49B | 22.43B | 19.41B | 19.49B | 15.69B | 12.1B | 10.14B | 9.08B | 4.56B | 5.12B | 5.01B | 2.44B | 1.47B |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 16.02B | 25.15B | 14.91B | 13.72B | 12.1B | 9.76B | 50.7B | 36.65B | 30.09B | 28.67B | 32.24B | 29.33B | 23.9B | 22.18B | 21.1B | 20.27B | 19.42B | 22.05B | 23.24B | 29.53B | 29.64B | 22.83B |
| Total Assets | 247.31B | 203.24B | 150.14B | 128.25B | 115.14B | 109.11B | 95.68B | 71.68B | 60.55B | 61.16B | 54.67B | 48.73B | 43.38B | 37.87B | 33.2B | 30.4B | 28.5B | 26.61B | 28.36B | 34.54B | 32.08B | 24.29B |
| Asset Growth % | 145.19% | 35.37% | 17.07% | 11.38% | 5.53% | 14.04% | 33.49% | 18.38% | -1.01% | 11.87% | 12.19% | 12.33% | 14.56% | 14.07% | 9.19% | 6.68% | 7.12% | -6.18% | -17.91% | 7.67% | 32.06% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.52% | 0.56% | 0.54% | 0.49% | 0.34% | 0.3% | 0.23% | 0.24% | 0.28% | 0.13% | 0.16% | 0.11% | 0.11% | 0.1% | 0.13% | 2.35% | 1.02% | 1.78% | 3.57% | 2.61% | 2.6% | 2.2% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 156.72B | 116.48B | 102.11B | 94.02B | 86.68B | 76.36B | 56.76B | 48.44B | 47.98B | 42.05B | 37.59B | 32.12B | 26.75B | 21.89B | 17.66B | 15.32B | 10.76B | 8.56B | 9.25B | 4.71B | 2.53B |
| Total Debt | 45.42B | 19M | 16.26B | 11.36B | 8.96B | 11.8B | 9.96B | 3.83B | 4.05B | 2.65B | 4.37B | 5.79B | 3.23B | 2.59B | 1.95B | 107.95M | 481.98M | 526.58M | 651.17M | 1.88B | 1.6B | 871.96M |
| Net Debt | -18.88B | -4.94B | 12.63B | 7.61B | 5.52B | 9.4B | 5.66B | 952M | 1.46B | 915M | 2.44B | 4.19B | 1.96B | 1.38B | 569.1M | -1.59B | -872.24M | -279.98M | -292.33M | 1.35B | 928.24M | 463.73M |
| Long-Term Debt | 45.41B | 0 | 16.25B | 11.35B | 8.94B | 11.77B | 9.84B | 1.91B | 4.04B | 1.32B | 4.29B | 2.89B | 3.2B | 2.56B | 1.84B | 101.41M | 294.6M | 205.78M | 443.05M | 460.46M | 300.6M | 164.67M |
| Short-Term Debt | 13M | 19M | 14M | 17M | 18M | 27M | 118M | 1.93B | 17M | 1.33B | 74M | 2.89B | 34M | 24.64M | 110.42M | 6.54M | 187.38M | 320.8M | 208.12M | 1.42B | 1.3B | 707.3M |
| Other Liabilities | 179.64B | 25.49B | 293M | 193M | 146M | 182M | 352M | 3.11B | 852M | 4.08B | 2.43B | 14M | 2.85B | 3.44B | 4.55B | 6.93B | 1.94B | 1.43B | 970.42M | 5.29B | 8.03B | 6.15B |
| Total Current Liabilities | 13M | 157.28B | 117B | 102.64B | 94.44B | 86.94B | 76.49B | 58.72B | 48.5B | 49.33B | 42.13B | 40.48B | 32.16B | 26.77B | 22B | 23.83B | 21.97B | 20.09B | 22.54B | 25.22B | 20.95B | 15.8B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 225.05B | 25.49B | 16.54B | 11.54B | 9.09B | 11.95B | 10.19B | 5.02B | 4.89B | 5.4B | 6.72B | 2.91B | 6.04B | 6B | 6.38B | 7.03B | 2.24B | 1.64B | 1.41B | 5.75B | 8.33B | 6.32B |
| Total Liabilities | 225.06B | 182.77B | 133.54B | 114.18B | 103.53B | 98.89B | 86.68B | 63.74B | 53.39B | 54.73B | 48.85B | 43.39B | 38.2B | 32.78B | 28.39B | 30.86B | 24.21B | 21.73B | 23.95B | 30.97B | 29.28B | 22.12B |
| Total Equity | 22.25B | 20.47B | 16.6B | 14.07B | 11.62B | 10.22B | 9B | 7.94B | 7.16B | 6.43B | 5.82B | 5.34B | 5.18B | 5.09B | 4.81B | -457.66M | 4.29B | 4.88B | 4.41B | 3.57B | 2.8B | 2.17B |
| Equity Growth % | 86.82% | 23.35% | 17.99% | 21.11% | 13.63% | 13.54% | 13.39% | 10.96% | 11.24% | 10.53% | 8.91% | 3.07% | 1.82% | 5.8% | 1151.68% | -110.66% | -11.98% | 10.64% | 23.34% | 27.55% | 28.87% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 9% | 10.07% | 11.05% | 10.97% | 10.09% | 9.37% | 9.41% | 11.08% | 11.82% | 10.52% | 10.65% | 10.97% | 11.95% | 13.45% | 14.5% | -1.51% | 15.06% | 18.33% | 15.55% | 10.35% | 8.73% | 8.95% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 5.4% | 5.31% | 4.92% | 4.67% | 3.48% | 3.2% | 2.3% | 2.13% | 2.49% | 1.24% | 1.5% | 0.93% | 0.88% | 0.75% | 1.92% | 36.02% | 6.12% | 10.56% | 28.1% | 27.24% | 29.51% | 24.63% |
| Book Value per Share | 49.43 | 45.71 | 38.07 | 33.22 | 28.66 | 26.90 | 27.91 | 25.84 | 24.09 | 22.64 | 21.62 | 21.27 | 22.18 | 25.00 | 25.56 | -2.57 | 26.97 | 30.61 | 22.01 | 22.33 | 17.50 | 13.58 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 49.43 | 45.71 | 37.96 | 33.22 | 28.66 | 26.90 | 27.80 | 25.73 | 23.98 | 22.54 | 21.52 | 21.15 | 22.18 | 25.00 | 25.56 | -2.57 | 26.97 | 30.61 | 22.01 | 22.33 | 17.50 | 13.58 |
| Common Stock | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 548K | 478K | 460K | 429K | 478K | 453K | 433K | 2.8B | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 2.02B | 1.96B | 1.82B | 1.73B | 1.58B | 1.44B | 1.24B | 934M | 898M | 832M | 775M | 718M | 635M | 583.31M | 493.91M | 0 | 535.63M | 528.59M | 485.84M | 450.67M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 3.87B | 3.37B | 2.52B | 1.85B | 1.29B | 953M | 683M | 520M | 390M | 251M | 203M | 145M | 121M | 98.87M | 82.07M | -465.14M | -2.03B | 177.41M | 141.21M | 48.16M | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 20M | 56M | -45M | 8M | -22M | 4M | 26M | 0 | -4M | 9M | -2M | 2M | 12M | 27.03M | 29.75M | 18.49M | 21.14M | 10.91M | 3.91M | 4.11M | 98.57M | 47.27M |
| Treasury Stock | -9M | -16M | -7M | -3M | -6M | -5M | -3M | -3M | -3M | -3M | -3M | -3M | -3M | -2.49M | -7.72M | -13.31M | -19.13M | -142.44M | -117.55M | -94.97M | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying IBKR stock.
As of 2025, Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. (IBKR) had total assets of $203.24B including $178.09B in current assets.
Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. (IBKR) carries total debt of $19.0M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. (IBKR) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $5.36B ($45.71 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Interactive Brokers Group, Inc. (IBKR) reported a current ratio of 1.13x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Rate cut sensitivity on NII
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Client Inflows
Total assets surged 13.1% quarter-over-quarter to $247.3B in 2026Q2, per reported figures, driven by a $46.2B jump in cash and bank balances, indicating robust client activity and balance sheet expansion.
The sequential increase in total assets from $218.7B to $247.3B is substantial, with cash and bank balances rising from $5.1B to $64.3B, a 12.6x increase. This suggests a significant influx of client funds, likely reflecting heightened market volatility or new account openings. The growth appears organic, as investment securities also rose from $24.0B to $59.9B, indicating deployment of client cash into higher-yielding instruments. The equity base expanded modestly to $5.9B, consistent with retained earnings, while the equity-to-assets ratio remained stable at 0.09, indicating the growth is liability-funded, primarily through client deposits.
Client Cash Drives Funding Base Expansion
Total liabilities grew 14.0% to $225.1B in 2026Q2, per financial statements, with client cash balances likely the primary driver, reflecting a strong deposit franchise that funds asset growth without external debt.
The balance sheet expansion is almost entirely liability-driven, with total liabilities increasing by $27.6B quarter-over-quarter. Given IBKR's zero debt-to-equity ratio, this growth is attributable to client deposits and other payables, underscoring the firm's reliance on its core brokerage franchise for funding. The deposit base appears stable and low-cost, as the firm does not rely on wholesale funding, which is a competitive advantage versus peers like Schwab, which carries a 0.63 D/E ratio. However, the composition of these deposits—whether interest-bearing or not—is not disclosed, but the negative NII in some quarters suggests that the cost of these deposits may be rising, warranting monitoring of deposit betas.
Provision Reversals Signal Minimal Credit Stress
Loan loss provisions were negative in every quarter, with -$1.0B in 2026Q2, as reported, indicating net reversals that suggest minimal credit losses on the margin lending book, though sustainability warrants scrutiny.
The consistent negative provisions imply that IBKR is releasing reserves rather than building them, which may indicate that credit quality on its margin loan portfolio is better than previously estimated. This is plausible given the firm's automated risk management and collateralized lending model, which likely mitigates losses. However, the magnitude of reversals—$1.0B in 2026Q2—is significant relative to equity of $5.9B, suggesting that earnings are being flattered by these reversals. Investors should monitor whether this trend continues, as a reversal to positive provisions could pressure earnings, especially if market volatility increases and margin loan defaults rise.
Equity Base Strengthens with Retained Earnings
Equity grew 5.4% quarter-over-quarter to $5.9B in 2026Q2, per reported figures, with the equity-to-assets ratio stable at 0.09, indicating a modest but growing capital buffer that supports balance sheet expansion.
The equity increase from $5.6B to $5.9B is consistent with net income retention, as dividends and buybacks remain modest. The equity-to-assets ratio of 0.09 is low compared to traditional banks, but this is typical for a broker-dealer where client assets are off-balance sheet and the balance sheet is primarily composed of customer margin loans and segregated cash. The firm's zero debt-to-equity ratio provides a fortress-like capital structure, but the low absolute equity base means that any significant credit event could quickly erode capital. Regulatory capital ratios are not disclosed, but the firm's history of maintaining excess capital suggests it remains well above minimums, though investors should monitor for any changes in capital requirements.
Liquidity Profile Bolstered by Cash and Securities
Cash and bank balances jumped to $64.3B in 2026Q2, per financial statements, while investment securities rose to $59.9B, indicating a highly liquid balance sheet that can meet client withdrawals and margin calls.
The combined cash and securities position of $124.2B represents over 50% of total assets, providing substantial liquidity to support client activity. The increase in cash and bank balances from $5.1B to $64.3B is particularly notable, suggesting that IBKR is holding more client cash in bank deposits, which may be a strategic shift to capture higher yields or a response to regulatory requirements. The investment securities portfolio, which grew from $24.0B to $59.9B, likely consists of short-term U.S. Treasuries and other highly liquid instruments, given the firm's need for immediate liquidity. This liquidity profile appears robust, but the reliance on client deposits as a funding source means that a sudden withdrawal of client funds could strain liquidity, though the firm's history suggests it can manage such events.
NIM Volatility Reflects Rate Sensitivity
Net interest margin swung from -0.5% in 2026Q2 to 0.4% in 2026Q1, per reported figures, indicating that IBKR's earnings are highly sensitive to interest rate movements and the yield on client cash balances.
The negative NIM in several quarters, including -0.5% in 2026Q2, is unusual and likely reflects accounting treatments related to client cash segregation and the cost of funding those balances. The positive NIM in 2026Q1 and 2025Q4 suggests that IBKR benefits from rising rates, as it captures a spread on client cash. However, the volatility in NIM indicates that the firm's interest rate sensitivity is a double-edged sword: while rate cuts could compress NII, rate hikes could boost it. Given the prior income statement analysis that a 100bps rate cut could reduce EPS by 15-20%, investors should closely monitor the trajectory of interest rates and IBKR's ability to manage deposit betas. The firm's high operating margin of 86% provides some cushion, but the reliance on NII as a key profit driver means that forward visibility is heavily dependent on the rate environment.
Unrealized Losses Could Surface in AOCI
The $59.9B investment securities portfolio, per reported figures, may carry unrealized losses if rates rise, potentially pressuring equity and capital ratios, though current data does not disclose AOCI.
While the balance sheet appears highly liquid, the significant growth in investment securities to $59.9B in 2026Q2 raises questions about the duration and mark-to-market exposure of these holdings. If these securities are classified as available-for-sale, any increase in interest rates could generate unrealized losses in accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI), which would reduce reported equity and potentially impact regulatory capital. The data does not provide a breakdown of the securities portfolio by type or duration, so the extent of this risk is unclear. Investors should monitor the firm's disclosures on AOCI and the composition of the securities portfolio, as a rate hike could create a hidden drag on the balance sheet that is not apparent from the headline equity figure.