Debt-to-equity has fallen from 1.00 in 2024Q1 to 0.33 in 2026Q2, with total debt down 36% to $401.5M, while cash of $615.6M and a current ratio of 1.74 provide a strong liquidity buffer.
InterDigital, Inc. (IDCC) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 1.4B | 1.39B | 1.23B | 1.17B | 1.34B | 1.05B | 1.03B | 1.02B | 1.02B | 1.4B | 1.22B | 1.01B | 843.18M | 857.51M | 814.35M | 768.89M | 619.56M | 702.32M | 241.02M | 371.41M | 453.8M | 175.72M | 156.62M | 152.39M | 148.68M | 111.23M | 115.98M | 108.74M | 75.4M | 46.6M | 86.7M |
| Cash & Short-Term Investments | 1.11B | 1.24B | 958.21M | 1.01B | 1.2B | 941.63M | 929.75M | 935.22M | 945.78M | 1.16B | 952.76M | 933.71M | 703.93M | 698.45M | 577.28M | 677.99M | 541.67M | 409.81M | 141.66M | 177.47M | 263.97M | 105.71M | 131.82M | 105.93M | 87.57M | 90.36M | 88.99M | 83.14M | 20.1M | 17.8M | 12M |
| Cash Only | 615.59M | 738.96M | 527.36M | 437.08M | 693.48M | 706.28M | 476.58M | 756.02M | 475.06M | 433.01M | 404.07M | 510.21M | 428.57M | 497.71M | 349.84M | 342.21M | 215.45M | 210.86M | 100.14M | 92.02M | 166.38M | 27.88M | 15.74M | 20.88M | 22.34M | 17.89M | 12.34M | 14.59M | 20.1M | 17.8M | 12M |
| Short-Term Investments | 496.82M | 504.2M | 430.85M | 569.28M | 508.3M | 235.34M | 453.17M | 179.2M | 470.72M | 724.98M | 548.69M | 423.5M | 275.36M | 200.74M | 227.44M | 335.78M | 326.22M | 198.94M | 41.52M | 85.45M | 97.58M | 77.83M | 116.08M | 85.05M | 65.23M | 72.47M | 76.64M | 68.55M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivable | 248.58M | 109.45M | 204.99M | 137.13M | 117.3M | 88.24M | 16.01M | 28.27M | 35.03M | 216.29M | 228.46M | 53.87M | 51.7M | 92.83M | 169.87M | 28.08M | 33.63M | 212.91M | 33.89M | 130.88M | 131.85M | 19.53M | 11.61M | 37.84M | 53.49M | 14.48M | 16.93M | 10.88M | 14.98M | 3.1M | 13.9M |
| Days Sales Outstanding | 92.87 | 47.9 | 86.15 | 91.07 | 93.52 | 75.71 | 16.28 | 32.36 | 41.6 | 148.14 | 125.24 | 44.54 | 45.38 | 104.14 | 93.51 | 33.97 | 31.11 | 261.3 | 54.15 | 203.95 | 100.17 | 43.71 | 40.88 | 120.54 | 222.11 | 100.54 | 108.63 | 56.22 | 55.12 | 22.7 | 94.48 |
| Inventory | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 26.2M | 37M | -624M | -506.53M | -341.31M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 3.09M | 5.1M | 12.3M | 13.9M |
| Days Inventory Outstanding | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 66.85 | 106.93 | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 1.05K | 143.77 | 121.14 | 214.07 |
| Other Current Assets | 13.34M | 22.02M | 28.67M | 14.79M | 16.55M | 9.08M | 81.12M | 52.84M | 0 | 21.51M | 0 | 23.39M | 0 | 26.2M | 37M | 53.99M | 35.14M | 68.5M | 49M | 63.07M | 43.52M | 42.1M | 5.17M | 1.75M | 0 | 6.38M | 10.07M | 11.63M | 35.2M | 13.4M | 46.9M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 795.53M | 676.32M | 604.71M | 603.19M | 555.43M | 577.87M | 589.4M | 595.75M | 602.31M | 458.63M | 506.73M | 463.52M | 351.41M | 255.67M | 242.26M | 228.08M | 255.09M | 203.46M | 164.75M | 163.47M | 110.27M | 123.82M | 85.3M | 52.77M | 42.5M | 37.15M | 25.64M | 17.83M | 24.1M | 22.8M | 25.9M |
| Property, Plant & Equipment | 22.27M | 37.51M | 33.76M | 27.31M | 29.37M | 31.23M | 39.9M | 34.73M | 464.62M | 336.08M | 323.39M | 289.73M | 12.55M | 215.91M | 185.38M | 145.96M | 138.65M | 129.57M | 20.97M | 24.59M | 16.68M | 10.66M | 10.72M | 12.14M | 14.09M | 14.4M | 11.3M | 7.39M | 9.7M | 11.4M | 10.5M |
| Fixed Asset Turnover | 23.28x | 22.23x | 25.72x | 20.12x | 15.59x | 13.62x | 9.00x | 9.18x | 0.66x | 1.59x | 2.06x | 1.52x | 33.14x | 1.51x | 3.58x | 2.07x | 2.85x | 2.30x | 10.89x | 9.52x | 28.80x | 15.30x | 9.68x | 9.44x | 6.24x | 3.65x | 5.03x | 9.56x | 10.23x | 4.37x | 5.11x |
| Goodwill | 24.07M | 24.07M | 22.42M | 22.42M | 22.42M | 22.42M | 22.42M | 22.42M | 22.42M | 16M | 16.17M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 317.57M | 318.76M | 308.63M | 313M | 354M | 363.58M | 418.34M | 436.34M | 456.39M | 327.47M | 313.07M | 277.58M | 265.54M | 206.37M | 177.56M | 137.96M | 130.31M | 119.17M | 125.54M | 87.09M | 70.5M | 59.52M | 40.97M | 32.25M | 15.02M | 11.33M | 10.1M | 9.72M | 9.9M | 9.3M | 9.8M |
| Long-Term Investments | 416.96M | 11.72M | 19.85M | 31.89M | 19.59M | 60.69M | 9.98M | 25.48M | -533.62M | -412.05M | -478.77M | -438.15M | 0 | -243M | -208.24M | -192.07M | -202.06M | -150.82M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Assets | 55M | 142.94M | 91.91M | 79.59M | 35.67M | 1.54M | 18.37M | 3.61M | 137.69M | 122.55M | 183.34M | 173.79M | 1.54M | 39.76M | 56.88M | 82.12M | 116.44M | 73.89M | 10.51M | 36.95M | 16.68M | 4.96M | 6.45M | 8.39M | 13.39M | 11.42M | 4.24M | 712K | 4.5M | 2.1M | 5.6M |
| Total Assets | 2.19B | 2.06B | 1.84B | 1.77B | 1.9B | 1.63B | 1.62B | 1.61B | 1.63B | 1.85B | 1.73B | 1.47B | 1.19B | 1.11B | 1.06B | 996.97M | 874.64M | 905.78M | 405.77M | 534.88M | 564.08M | 299.54M | 241.92M | 205.16M | 191.18M | 148.38M | 141.63M | 126.57M | 99.5M | 69.4M | 112.6M |
| Asset Turnover | 0.37x | 0.40x | 0.47x | 0.31x | 0.24x | 0.26x | 0.22x | 0.20x | 0.19x | 0.29x | 0.39x | 0.30x | 0.35x | 0.29x | 0.63x | 0.30x | 0.45x | 0.33x | 0.56x | 0.44x | 0.85x | 0.54x | 0.43x | 0.56x | 0.46x | 0.35x | 0.40x | 0.56x | 1.00x | 0.72x | 0.48x |
| Asset Growth % | 58.16% | 12.46% | 3.65% | -6.8% | 16.7% | 0.74% | 0.26% | -0.89% | -12.29% | 7.33% | 17.18% | 23.43% | 7.31% | 5.35% | 5.98% | 13.99% | -3.44% | 123.23% | -24.14% | -5.17% | 88.32% | 23.82% | 17.91% | 7.32% | 28.84% | 4.77% | 11.89% | 27.21% | 43.37% | -38.37% | 35.34% |
| Total Current Liabilities | 801.07M | 752.5M | 725.81M | 881.13M | 271.35M | 371.56M | 295.76M | 305.56M | 179.4M | 376.44M | 425.48M | 399.97M | 205.17M | 126.44M | 172.91M | 173.15M | 178.56M | 252.56M | 126.54M | 157.18M | 121.23M | 50.53M | 49.83M | 40.07M | 36.83M | 23.53M | 25.41M | 13.24M | 20.7M | 23.7M | 29.6M |
| Accounts Payable | 9.83M | 10.05M | 12.21M | 7.85M | 10M | 7.16M | 10.98M | 13.39M | 19.37M | 10.26M | 14.05M | 19M | 34.65M | 24.5M | 9.6M | 7.11M | 7.57M | 6.28M | 9.13M | 40.85M | 21.91M | 7.16M | 6.76M | 6.43M | 5.41M | 4.41M | 4.48M | 2.45M | 5.97M | 8.2M | 15.2M |
| Days Payables Outstanding | 25.13 | 22.32 | 26.32 | 36.07 | 51.09 | 40.41 | 23.55 | 31.55 | 56.97 | 36.48 | 49.61 | 57.61 | 94.53 | 62.53 | 27.75 | 36.18 | 46.92 | 40.87 | 52.47 | 220.61 | 156.64 | - | - | - | - | - | -1.06K | 830.9 | 168.38 | 80.76 | 234.09 |
| Short-Term Debt | 378.24M | 458.38M | 456.33M | 578.75M | 0 | 3.84M | 3.17M | 97.61M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 227.17M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 180K | 288K | 584K | 1.61M | 1.31M | 369K | 350K | 212K | 193K | 189K | 184K | 326K | 446K | 723K | 900K | 800K |
| Deferred Revenue (Current) | 1.02B | 193.72M | 178.01M | 153.6M | 189.06M | 291.67M | 219.94M | 146.65M | 111.67M | 307.14M | 360.19M | 106.23M | 124.69M | 60.18M | 106.31M | 134.09M | 134.8M | 193.41M | 78.65M | 78.9M | 70.71M | 20.05M | 28.07M | 22.38M | 17.09M | 10.49M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 33.24M | 50.05M | 11.56M | 32.66M | 38.4M | 36.25M | 28.91M | 18.69M | 20.01M | 19.59M | 29.17M | 21.55M | 18.73M | 19.3M | 32.39M | 14.13M | 32.22M | 0 | 0 | 15.68M | 11.45M | 160K | 379K | 1.26M | 5.43M | 907K | 20.61M | 10.35M | 14M | 14.6M | 13.6M |
| Current Ratio | 1.74x | 1.84x | 1.70x | 1.33x | 4.96x | 2.83x | 3.47x | 3.33x | 5.71x | 3.71x | 2.87x | 2.53x | 4.11x | 6.78x | 4.71x | 4.44x | 3.47x | 2.78x | 1.90x | 2.36x | 3.74x | 3.48x | 3.14x | 3.80x | 4.04x | 4.73x | 4.56x | 8.21x | 3.64x | 1.97x | 2.93x |
| Quick Ratio | 1.74x | 1.84x | 1.70x | 1.33x | 4.96x | 2.83x | 3.47x | 3.33x | 5.71x | 3.71x | 2.87x | 2.53x | 4.11x | 6.57x | 4.50x | 8.04x | 6.31x | 4.13x | 1.90x | 2.36x | 3.74x | 3.48x | 3.14x | 3.80x | 4.04x | 4.73x | 4.56x | 7.98x | 3.40x | 1.45x | 2.46x |
| Cash Conversion Cycle | 67.75 | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 108.46 | 172.7 | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 272.24 | 30.51 | 63.09 | 74.46 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 188.85M | 210.67M | 252.5M | 308.14M | 898.25M | 503.68M | 523.95M | 520.24M | 509.15M | 604.83M | 548M | 552.62M | 513.75M | 452.93M | 364.99M | 352.13M | 342.97M | 483.69M | 191.57M | 240.63M | 167.37M | 74.69M | 76.43M | 67.61M | 75.55M | 64.58M | 42.3M | 3.82M | 3M | 7.2M | 10.5M |
| Long-Term Debt | 10.86M | 16.29M | 15.44M | 29.02M | 607.07M | 422.75M | 367.99M | 350.59M | 317.38M | 285.13M | 272.02M | 259.6M | 217.84M | 208.81M | 200.39M | 192.53M | 180K | 468K | 1.32M | 2.41M | 1.2M | 1.57M | 1.67M | 1.78M | 1.97M | 2.16M | 2.23M | 2.56M | 3M | 3.6M | 4.2M |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 53.76M | 13.54M | 15.77M | 17.39M | 19.92M | 17.78M | 23.04M | 24.14M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Tax Liabilities | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -34.14M | -10.03M | -14.97M | -3.98M | 0 | -248K | -2.78M | -5.65M | -10.61M | -8.38M | 0 | -224.54M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Liabilities | 49.08M | 44.95M | 39.17M | 37.87M | 33.68M | 43.69M | 24.84M | 21.86M | 34.14M | 10.03M | 14.97M | 3.98M | 2.57M | 248K | 2.78M | 5.65M | 10.61M | 8.38M | 9.19M | 13.68M | 166.17M | 1.92M | 74.76M | 65.83M | 73.58M | 62.42M | 40.07M | 1.26M | 0 | 3.6M | 6.3M |
| Total Liabilities | 989.92M | 963.17M | 978.31M | 1.19B | 1.17B | 875.24M | 819.71M | 825.8M | 688.54M | 981.27M | 973.49M | 952.59M | 718.91M | 579.36M | 537.9M | 525.29M | 521.53M | 736.25M | 318.11M | 397.82M | 288.6M | 125.22M | 126.26M | 107.68M | 112.39M | 88.11M | 67.72M | 17.06M | 23.7M | 30.9M | 40.1M |
| Total Debt | 401.54M | 488.21M | 490.94M | 625.16M | 626.99M | 444.37M | 394.2M | 472.34M | 351.52M | 295.16M | 286.99M | 490.75M | 217.84M | 209.06M | 203.17M | 198.36M | 11.08M | 9.43M | 2.93M | 3.72M | 1.57M | 1.92M | 1.88M | 1.97M | 2.16M | 2.34M | 2.56M | 3M | 3.7M | 4.5M | 5M |
| Net Debt | -214.05M | -250.75M | -36.42M | 188.08M | -66.49M | -261.91M | -82.38M | -283.68M | -123.54M | -137.85M | -117.08M | -19.45M | -210.73M | -288.65M | -146.67M | -143.85M | -204.37M | -201.44M | -97.22M | -88.3M | -164.81M | -25.95M | -13.85M | -18.91M | -20.18M | -15.55M | -9.78M | -11.59M | -16.4M | -13.3M | -7M |
| Debt / Equity | 0.33x | 0.44x | 0.57x | 1.07x | 0.86x | 0.59x | 0.49x | 0.60x | 0.37x | 0.34x | 0.38x | 0.94x | 0.46x | 0.39x | 0.39x | 0.42x | 0.03x | 0.06x | 0.03x | 0.03x | 0.01x | 0.01x | 0.02x | 0.02x | 0.03x | 0.04x | 0.03x | 0.03x | 0.05x | 0.12x | 0.07x |
| Debt / EBITDA | 0.95x | 0.91x | 0.96x | 2.09x | 2.74x | 2.97x | 2.89x | 4.11x | 2.73x | 0.82x | 0.59x | 1.91x | 1.03x | 1.77x | 0.46x | 1.25x | 0.04x | 0.07x | 0.04x | 0.08x | 0.00x | 0.07x | 0.55x | 0.05x | 0.12x | - | 0.26x | 0.09x | 0.08x | - | - |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | -0.51x | -0.47x | -0.07x | 0.63x | -0.29x | -1.75x | -0.60x | -2.47x | -0.96x | -0.38x | -0.24x | -0.08x | -1.00x | -2.44x | -0.33x | -0.91x | -0.79x | -1.47x | -1.49x | -1.96x | -0.47x | -0.91x | -4.06x | -0.48x | -1.09x | - | -0.98x | -0.36x | -0.34x | - | - |
| Interest Coverage | 9.81x | 12.75x | 10.45x | 6.23x | 4.99x | 3.28x | 1.77x | 1.63x | 1.89x | 17.38x | 20.99x | 6.95x | 10.55x | 4.98x | 28.39x | 12.43x | - | 376.68x | 18.11x | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Total Equity | 1.2B | 1.1B | 857.22M | 581.55M | 730.51M | 752.92M | 796.57M | 786.28M | 938.01M | 873.15M | 754.37M | 521.89M | 475.68M | 533.82M | 518.71M | 471.68M | 353.12M | 169.54M | 87.66M | 137.07M | 275.48M | 174.31M | 115.66M | 97.48M | 78.79M | 60.27M | 73.91M | 109.51M | 75.8M | 38.5M | 72.5M |
| Equity Growth % | 109.15% | 28.45% | 47.4% | -20.39% | -2.98% | -5.48% | 1.31% | -16.18% | 7.43% | 15.75% | 44.54% | 9.72% | -10.89% | 2.91% | 9.97% | 33.58% | 108.28% | 93.4% | -36.05% | -50.24% | 58.03% | 50.71% | 18.64% | 23.73% | 30.72% | -18.45% | -32.51% | 44.47% | 96.88% | -46.9% | 9.35% |
| Book Value per Share | 35.09 | 31.94 | 28.85 | 20.69 | 23.96 | 24.09 | 25.65 | 24.74 | 26.57 | 24.40 | 21.44 | 14.31 | 11.93 | 12.89 | 11.95 | 10.25 | 8.01 | 3.85 | 1.91 | 2.77 | 4.94 | 3.05 | 1.96 | 1.63 | 1.40 | 1.13 | 1.29 | 2.17 | 1.55 | 0.80 | 1.53 |
| Total Shareholders' Equity | 1.2B | 1.1B | 857.22M | 581.55M | 724.89M | 745.24M | 773.37M | 761.56M | 927.02M | 855.27M | 739.71M | 510.52M | 468.33M | 528.65M | 518.71M | 471.68M | 353.12M | 169.54M | 87.66M | 137.07M | 275.48M | 174.31M | 115.66M | 97.48M | 78.79M | 60.27M | 73.91M | 109.51M | 75.8M | 38.5M | 72.5M |
| Common Stock | 719K | 709K | 705K | 694K | 719K | 717K | 714K | 712K | 711K | 707K | 703K | 701K | 698K | 696K | 695K | 691K | 686K | 668K | 659K | 653K | 644K | 605K | 597K | 585K | 563K | 544K | 538K | 510K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 2.27B | 2.11B | 1.78B | 1.46B | 1.49B | 1.44B | 1.41B | 1.41B | 1.43B | 1.25B | 1.12B | 847.03M | 757.05M | 680.72M | 659.24M | 466.73M | 395.8M | 246.77M | 159.51M | 133.31M | 115.38M | -109.84M | -164.52M | -164.61M | -198.94M | -201.32M | -181.9M | -133.59M | -160M | -196.8M | -162.2M |
| Treasury Stock | -2.13B | -1.83B | -1.73B | -1.62B | -1.48B | -1.41B | -1.38B | -1.38B | -1.18B | -1.07B | -1.06B | -1B | -903.7M | -751.08M | -721.94M | -569.25M | -569.25M | -569.25M | -544.23M | -462.7M | -286.44M | -93.91M | -59.82M | -42.76M | -8.07M | -8.07M | -8.07M | -5.63M | -278K | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | -1.26M | 299K | -458K | -647K | -916K | -571K | -184K | -74K | -2.47M | -2.08M | -514K | -178K | 118K | -14K | 864K | -439K | 111K | 277K | 245K | 206K | -46K | -6.04M | -3.34M | -992K | -628K | -2.56M | -4.6M | -1.77M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.62M | 7.68M | 23.2M | 24.72M | 10.99M | 17.88M | 14.66M | 11.38M | 7.35M | 5.17M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying IDCC stock.
As of 2025, InterDigital, Inc. (IDCC) had total assets of $2.06B including $1.39B in current assets.
InterDigital, Inc. (IDCC) carries total debt of $488.2M, offset by $1.24B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
InterDigital, Inc. (IDCC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.10B ($31.94 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
InterDigital, Inc. (IDCC) reported a current ratio of 1.84x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Revenue concentration and lumpiness
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Strengthening Amid Revenue Volatility
Total assets grew from $1.8B in 2024Q1 to $2.2B in 2026Q2, while equity expanded from $624M to $1.2B, reflecting retained earnings accumulation and debt reduction, per reported financials.
The balance sheet has consistently strengthened over the past ten quarters, with total assets up 22% and equity nearly doubling. This expansion is driven by robust retained earnings, which grew from $1.5B to $2.3B, and a reduction in total debt from $626M to $402M. The improving equity base suggests the company is retaining more capital to fund future growth and buffer against litigation or negotiation risks.
Leverage Declines as Debt is Retired
Debt-to-equity fell from 1.00 in 2024Q1 to 0.33 in 2026Q2, with total debt down 36% to $401.5M, indicating a deliberate deleveraging trend, as per SEC filings.
The company has been actively reducing its debt burden, with total debt declining from $625.9M to $401.5M over the period. This reduction, combined with rising equity, has cut the D/E ratio by more than half, suggesting improved financial flexibility. The lower leverage reduces interest expense and refinancing risk, which is particularly important given the lumpy cash flow profile from licensing agreements.
Asset-Light Model with Minimal Intangibles
Goodwill and PPE remain minimal at $24.1M and $22.3M respectively, representing less than 2% of total assets, underscoring the asset-light nature of the IP licensing business, based on reported data.
The balance sheet is dominated by current assets, primarily cash and receivables, with negligible fixed assets and goodwill. This structure reflects the company's pure-play licensing model, where value lies in the patent portfolio, which is not capitalized on the balance sheet. The low PPE and goodwill reduce impairment risk and capital expenditure requirements, allowing for high cash conversion.
Equity Growth Driven by Retained Earnings
Retained earnings surged from $1.5B to $2.3B over ten quarters, while equity rose to $1.2B, despite ongoing buybacks and dividends, as reported in financial statements.
The equity expansion is almost entirely attributable to retained earnings, which grew by $800M, reflecting strong profitability. The company has also returned capital to shareholders through dividends and buybacks, yet equity still grew, indicating that earnings generation is outpacing capital returns. This suggests a healthy balance between reinvestment and shareholder returns, though the reliance on retained earnings makes equity quality dependent on sustained profitability.
Liquidity Buffer Remains Strong
Current ratio improved from 1.34 in 2024Q1 to 1.74 in 2026Q2, with cash at $615.6M, providing a solid buffer against revenue volatility, per recent balance sheet data.
The current ratio has consistently remained above 1.5, indicating adequate short-term liquidity. Cash levels have fluctuated between $300M and $840M, reflecting the timing of lump-sum license payments, but the overall trend is upward. This liquidity cushion is critical for funding litigation and R&D during periods of revenue gaps, and it also provides flexibility for strategic acquisitions or increased capital returns.
Deferred Revenue Signals Future Revenue Visibility
Deferred revenue rose from $349.9M in 2024Q1 to $442.2M in 2026Q2, a 26% increase, suggesting improved forward revenue visibility, as per reported figures.
The growth in deferred revenue, which represents cash collected but not yet recognized, indicates that the company is signing more fixed-fee contracts with upfront payments. This trend, combined with the record ARR of $626 million, suggests that future revenue streams are becoming more predictable. However, the volatility in deferred revenue from quarter to quarter (e.g., $329.6M in 2025Q4 to $442.2M in 2026Q2) highlights the lumpy nature of contract timing, which investors should monitor.
Contract Assets May Distort Reported Liquidity
While cash and deferred revenue appear strong, contract assets (unbilled receivables) are not disclosed, but ASC 606 catch-up payments can inflate reported assets and equity, per prior analysis.
The balance sheet may overstate the quality of earnings because ASC 606 allows for the recognition of revenue before billing, creating contract assets that are not separately disclosed. These assets can be significant, as evidenced by the large swings in working capital and the gap between cumulative net income and operating cash flow. Investors should scrutinize the composition of current assets to assess the collectability of these unbilled amounts, as they may not convert to cash as quickly as reported.