Total assets grew 25% year-over-year to $25.0B in Q2 2026, but the equity-to-assets ratio held at 0.14, and investment securities constitute 89% of total assets, exposing the bank to unrealized losses and liquidity constraints.
Independent Bank Corp. (INDB) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 3.02B | 234.49M | 367.16M | 1.56B | 1.75B | 3.81B | 1.71B | 577.4M | 693.21M | 660.61M | 652.74M | 643.01M | 526.81M | 573.19M | 544.76M | 542.84M | 161.28M | 121.91M | 50.01M | 67.42M | 62.77M | 66.29M | 62.96M | 75.5M | 71.32M | 66.97M | 58.01M | 48.95M | 86.2M | 65M | 53.5M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 251.97M | 229.77M | 219.89M | 224.33M | 352.93M | 2.24B | 1.3B | 150.97M | 250.46M | 213.12M | 289.1M | 275.76M | 178.25M | 216.32M | 215.47M | 237.5M | 161.28M | 121.91M | 50.01M | 67.42M | 62.77M | 66.29M | 62.96M | 75.5M | 71.32M | 66.97M | 58.01M | 48.95M | 86.2M | 65M | 53.5M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 4.72M | 147.27M | 1.33B | 1.4B | 1.57B | 412.86M | 426.42M | 442.75M | 447.5M | 363.64M | 367.25M | 348.55M | 356.86M | 329.29M | 305.33M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 22.3B | 22.26B | 17.05B | 17.07B | 16.9B | 16.13B | 10.5B | 10.03B | 7.92B | 7.24B | 6.79B | 6.34B | 5.65B | 5.38B | 5.02B | 4.28B | 4.12B | 3.97B | 3.26B | 2.51B | 2.49B | 2.7B | 2.68B | 2.21B | 2.06B | 1.98B | 1.75B | 1.46B | 1.41B | 1.26B | 1B |
| Investments Growth % | 114.85% | 30.52% | -0.09% | 0.97% | 4.83% | 53.63% | 4.68% | 26.58% | 9.35% | 6.62% | 7.13% | 12.33% | 4.93% | 7.14% | 17.44% | 3.87% | 3.75% | 21.85% | 29.98% | 0.62% | -7.77% | 0.77% | 21.38% | 7.1% | 4.01% | 13.1% | 19.91% | 3.82% | 12.11% | 25.49% | 14.26% |
| Long-Term Investments | 86.88B | 22.25B | 16.91B | 15.73B | 15.51B | 14.56B | 10.08B | 9.6B | 7.48B | 6.8B | 6.43B | 5.98B | 5.3B | 5.02B | 4.69B | 3.97B | 4.12B | 3.97B | 3.26B | 2.51B | 2.49B | 2.7B | 2.68B | 2.21B | 2.06B | 1.98B | 1.75B | 1.46B | 1.41B | 1.26B | 1B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.21B | 1.22B | 997.36M | 1B | 1.01B | 1.02B | 529.31M | 535.49M | 271.36M | 241.15M | 231.37M | 212.91M | 180.31M | 182.64M | 162.14M | 140.72M | 141.96M | 143.73M | 127.21M | 60.41M | 58.97M | 56.86M | 57.29M | 36.24M | 38.27M | 36.24M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 1.09B | 1.09B | 985.07M | 985.07M | 985.07M | 985.07M | 506.21M | 506.21M | 256.11M | 231.81M | 221.53M | 201.08M | 170.42M | 170.42M | 150.39M | 130.07M | 129.62M | 129.35M | 116.44M | 58.3M | 55.08M | 55.08M | 55.19M | 36.24M | 36.24M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 119.9M | 133.58M | 12.28M | 18.19M | 25.07M | 32.77M | 23.11M | 29.29M | 15.25M | 9.34M | 9.85M | 11.83M | 9.88M | 12.22M | 11.75M | 10.65M | 12.34M | 14.38M | 10.77M | 2.12M | 3.9M | 1.78M | 2.1M | 0 | 2.04M | 36.24M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 217.88M | 218.19M | 193.32M | 193.05M | 196.5M | 195.59M | 116.39M | 123.67M | 97.58M | 94.72M | 78.48M | 75.66M | 64.07M | 64.95M | 55.23M | 48.25M | 45.71M | 44.23M | 36.43M | 39.09M | 37.32M | 37.43M | 36.45M | 32.48M | 30.87M | 29.92M | 30.37M | 14.27M | 15.2M | 12.8M | 10.6M |
| Other Assets | -22.3B | 974.03M | 910.23M | 858.64M | 830.14M | 843.11M | 764.9M | 557.33M | 310.15M | 288.18M | 315.53M | 302.49M | 295.75M | 253.85M | 301.17M | 266.84M | 229.26M | 203.47M | 157.91M | 93.78M | 179.69M | 178.26M | 61.86M | 85.17M | 83.79M | 84.43M | 70.37M | 63.53M | 66.2M | 36.7M | 28.2M |
| Total Current Assets | 251.97M | 229.77M | 367.16M | 1.56B | 1.75B | 3.81B | 1.71B | 577.4M | 693.21M | 660.61M | 652.74M | 643.01M | 526.81M | 573.19M | 544.76M | 542.84M | 161.28M | 121.91M | 50.01M | 67.42M | 62.77M | 66.29M | 62.96M | 75.5M | 71.32M | 66.97M | 58.01M | 48.95M | 86.2M | 65M | 53.5M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 1.43B | 24.67B | 19.01B | 17.79B | 17.54B | 16.61B | 11.49B | 10.82B | 8.16B | 7.42B | 7.06B | 6.57B | 5.84B | 5.53B | 5.21B | 4.43B | 4.53B | 4.36B | 3.58B | 2.7B | 2.77B | 2.98B | 2.88B | 2.36B | 2.21B | 2.13B | 1.89B | 1.54B | 1.49B | 1.3B | 1.04B |
| Total Assets | 24.97B | 24.91B | 19.37B | 19.35B | 19.29B | 20.42B | 13.2B | 11.4B | 8.85B | 8.08B | 7.71B | 7.21B | 6.36B | 6.1B | 5.76B | 4.97B | 4.7B | 4.48B | 3.63B | 2.77B | 2.83B | 3.04B | 2.94B | 2.44B | 2.29B | 2.2B | 1.95B | 1.59B | 1.58B | 1.37B | 1.09B |
| Asset Growth % | 106.55% | 28.59% | 0.14% | 0.28% | -5.53% | 54.67% | 15.88% | 28.74% | 9.52% | 4.83% | 6.93% | 13.28% | 4.36% | 5.94% | 15.83% | 5.85% | 4.77% | 23.52% | 31.07% | -2.14% | -7% | 3.32% | 20.81% | 6.62% | 3.92% | 12.78% | 22.64% | 0.95% | 14.97% | 25.37% | 10.65% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.09% | 0.93% | 0.99% | 1.24% | 1.33% | 0.72% | 0.99% | 1.63% | 1.44% | 1.1% | 1.03% | 0.96% | 0.96% | 0.85% | 0.79% | 0.94% | 0.88% | 0.57% | 0.75% | 1.01% | 1.12% | 1.11% | 1.14% | 1.12% | 1.12% | 1.06% | 0.86% | 1.08% | 1.09% | 1.15% | 1.12% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 701.47M | 901.25M | 701.37M | 1.22B | 113.38M | 152.37M | 181.06M | 303.1M | 406.51M | 323.7M | 335.47M | 343.93M | 406.65M | 448.49M | 591.05M | 537.69M | 565.43M | 647.4M | 695.32M | 501.27M | 601.9M | 792.48M | 655.16M | 415.37M | 362.15M | 387.08M | 275.04M | 359.47M | 396.6M | 248.2M | 81.1M |
| Net Debt | 449.49M | 671.48M | 481.48M | 994.05M | -239.56M | -2.09B | -1.12B | 152.13M | 156.06M | 110.58M | 46.38M | 68.17M | 228.4M | 232.16M | 375.58M | 300.18M | 404.15M | 525.49M | 645.31M | 433.86M | 539.12M | 726.19M | 592.2M | 339.87M | 290.84M | 320.11M | 217.04M | 310.52M | 310.4M | 183.2M | 27.6M |
| Long-Term Debt | 359.76M | 425.85M | 701.37M | 1.22B | 113.38M | 152.37M | 181.06M | 303.1M | 258.71M | 107.75M | 158.56M | 209.97M | 208.76M | 244.2M | 375.7M | 321.56M | 397.31M | 456.94M | 524.44M | 362.67M | 493.65M | 469.02M | 263.3M | 371.14M | 297.59M | 313.93M | 126.22M | 71.22M | 0 | 69.4M | 2.3M |
| Short-Term Debt | 341.7M | 415.62M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 147.81M | 215.94M | 176.91M | 133.96M | 197.89M | 204.29M | 215.36M | 216.13M | 168.12M | 190.45M | 170.88M | 138.6M | 108.25M | 323.45M | 391.86M | 44.23M | 64.56M | 73.14M | 148.82M | 288.24M | 396.6M | 178.8M | 78.8M |
| Other Liabilities | 367.95M | 20.45B | 373.09M | 368.2M | 415.09M | 335.54M | 327.39M | 236.55M | -55.53M | 85.27M | 96.96M | 103.37M | 107.26M | 72.79M | 89.93M | 86.67M | 66.05M | 46.68M | 48.8M | 20.06M | -93.11M | -184.44M | 17.79M | 18.34M | 25.47M | 21.9M | 19.68M | 21.9M | 10.6M | 12.4M | 12M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 20.73B | 415.62M | 15.31B | 14.87B | 15.88B | 16.92B | 10.99B | 9.15B | 7.57B | 6.95B | 6.59B | 6.12B | 5.41B | 5.19B | 4.76B | 4.09B | 3.8B | 3.57B | 2.75B | 2.17B | 2.2B | 2.53B | 2.45B | 1.83B | 1.75B | 1.65B | 1.64B | 1.37B | 1.44B | 1.17B | 997.4M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 727.71M | 20.93B | 1.07B | 1.59B | 528.47M | 487.91M | 508.45M | 539.65M | 203.18M | 193.02M | 255.52M | 313.35M | 316.03M | 316.99M | 465.63M | 408.23M | 463.36M | 503.63M | 573.24M | 382.74M | 400.54M | 284.59M | 281.08M | 389.48M | 323.06M | 335.84M | 145.91M | 93.13M | 10.6M | 81.8M | 14.3M |
| Total Liabilities | 21.46B | 21.35B | 16.38B | 16.45B | 16.41B | 17.4B | 11.5B | 9.69B | 7.78B | 7.14B | 6.84B | 6.44B | 5.72B | 5.51B | 5.23B | 4.5B | 4.26B | 4.07B | 3.32B | 2.55B | 2.6B | 2.81B | 2.73B | 2.22B | 2.08B | 1.99B | 1.78B | 1.46B | 1.45B | 1.25B | 1.01B |
| Total Equity | 3.51B | 3.57B | 2.99B | 2.9B | 2.89B | 3.02B | 1.7B | 1.71B | 1.07B | 943.81M | 864.69M | 771.46M | 640.53M | 591.54M | 529.32M | 469.06M | 436.47M | 412.65M | 305.27M | 220.47M | 229.78M | 228.15M | 210.74M | 219.7M | 209.02M | 208.59M | 166.03M | 126.88M | 124.6M | 121.3M | 81.1M |
| Equity Growth % | 69.26% | 19.13% | 3.38% | 0.3% | -4.36% | 77.28% | -0.32% | 59.12% | 13.74% | 9.15% | 12.08% | 20.44% | 8.28% | 11.75% | 12.85% | 7.47% | 5.77% | 35.17% | 38.47% | -4.06% | 0.71% | 8.26% | -4.08% | 5.11% | 0.2% | 25.63% | 30.86% | 1.83% | 2.72% | 49.57% | 11.71% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 14.06% | 14.31% | 15.45% | 14.96% | 14.96% | 14.78% | 12.89% | 14.99% | 12.13% | 11.68% | 11.22% | 10.7% | 10.06% | 9.7% | 9.19% | 9.44% | 9.3% | 9.21% | 8.41% | 7.96% | 8.12% | 7.5% | 7.16% | 9.02% | 9.15% | 9.48% | 8.51% | 7.98% | 7.91% | 8.85% | 7.42% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 7.66% | 6.25% | 6.52% | 8.28% | 8.94% | 5.13% | 7.1% | 11.88% | 12.06% | 9.64% | 9.37% | 9.2% | 9.71% | 8.97% | 8.54% | 10.04% | 9.48% | 6.4% | 9.12% | 12.61% | 14.35% | 15.13% | 14.3% | 12.33% | 12% | 11.77% | 10.37% | 13.54% | 13.09% | 14.03% | 15.09% |
| Book Value per Share | 73.09 | 72.07 | 70.41 | 65.51 | 62.23 | 86.52 | 51.15 | 51.99 | 38.82 | 34.48 | 32.68 | 29.72 | 26.70 | 25.62 | 24.27 | 21.87 | 20.58 | 20.98 | 19.37 | 15.57 | 15.21 | 14.70 | 14.01 | 14.91 | 14.30 | 14.44 | 11.61 | 8.83 | 8.34 | 8.12 | 5.52 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 47.90 | 47.33 | 46.95 | 42.81 | 40.45 | 57.34 | 35.25 | 35.69 | 29.01 | 25.67 | 23.94 | 21.52 | 19.18 | 17.71 | 16.83 | 15.31 | 13.89 | 13.67 | 11.30 | 11.30 | 11.30 | 11.04 | 10.20 | 12.45 | 11.68 | 11.93 | 11.61 | 8.83 | 8.34 | 8.12 | 5.52 |
| Common Stock | 473K | 490K | 423K | 427K | 455K | 472K | 328K | 342K | 279K | 273K | 268K | 260K | 237K | 235K | 225K | 213K | 210K | 209K | 163K | 137K | 147K | 154K | 155K | 149K | 149K | 149K | 149K | 149K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 2.2B | 2.34B | 1.91B | 1.93B | 2.11B | 2.25B | 945.64M | 1.04B | 527.65M | 479.43M | 451.66M | 405.49M | 311.98M | 305.18M | 269.95M | 233.88M | 226.71M | 225.09M | 137.49M | 60.63M | 60.18M | 59.7M | 59.47M | 42.29M | 41.99M | 43.63M | 44.08M | 44.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 1.37B | 1.27B | 1.17B | 1.08B | 934.44M | 766.72M | 716.02M | 654.18M | 546.74M | 465.94M | 414.1M | 368.17M | 330.44M | 293.56M | 263.67M | 239.45M | 210.32M | 184.6M | 177.49M | 164.56M | 175.15M | 175.28M | 152.13M | 129.76M | 110.91M | 92.78M | 77.03M | 67.55M | 56.1M | 45.8M | 36.7M |
| Accumulated OCI | -58.67M | -39.75M | -86.62M | -111.53M | -159.86M | 5.33M | 43.76M | 22.9M | -1.17M | -1.83M | -1.34M | -2.45M | -2.13M | -7.43M | -4.53M | -4.49M | -766K | 2.75M | -9.87M | -2.86M | -5.69M | -6.99M | 934K | 3.33M | 15.67M | 5.07M | 2.95M | -3.84M | 0 | 1.4M | -100K |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -2.98M | -2.74M | -2.48M | -2.27M | -2.01M | -1.79M | 0 | -1.95M | -3.69M | -7.48M | -8.37M | -9.49M | -10.68M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying INDB stock.
As of 2025, Independent Bank Corp. (INDB) had total assets of $24.91B including $229.8M in current assets.
Independent Bank Corp. (INDB) carries total debt of $901.3M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Independent Bank Corp. (INDB) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.57B ($72.07 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Independent Bank Corp. (INDB) reported a current ratio of 0.55x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Deposit migration and margin pressure
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates with Acquisition
Total assets surged 25% year-over-year to $25.0B in Q2 2026, per INDB's balance sheet, driven by the Meridian acquisition and organic loan growth, though equity growth lagged.
The balance sheet expanded from $19.3B in Q1 2024 to $25.0B by Q2 2026, a 29% increase, with the most significant jump occurring between Q2 and Q3 2025, likely reflecting the Meridian Bancorp acquisition. However, equity grew only from $2.9B to $3.5B over the same period, indicating that asset growth was primarily funded by liabilities, which may pressure capital ratios. The composition of assets shows a heavy tilt toward investment securities, which grew from $17.0B to $22.3B, while cash balances remained volatile, suggesting a strategy of deploying excess liquidity into higher-yielding securities.
Deposit Mix Shift Pressures Funding Costs
Management commentary indicates continued migration of low-cost deposits to money market accounts, as noted in recent filings, which may increase funding costs and compress net interest margins.
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the deposit base appears to be shifting toward higher-cost categories, as evidenced by the Q2 2026 EPS miss and the efficiency ratio deterioration. The bank's reliance on core deposits, a key strength, is being tested as customers seek higher yields, which could erode the low-cost funding advantage that has historically supported margins. Investors should monitor the cost of total deposits, a critical driver, as a rising trend would directly impact net interest income.
Credit Costs Remain Volatile but Manageable
Provision for credit losses swung from $38.5M in Q3 2025 to zero in Q2 2026, as per INDB's income statement, indicating lumpy credit costs that complicate earnings analysis.
The provision volatility suggests that credit quality is not deteriorating uniformly, but the $38.5M charge in Q3 2025 warrants attention, especially given the bank's concentration in commercial real estate. The zero provision in Q2 2026 may reflect improved economic forecasts or a reduction in specific reserves, but it also raises questions about the adequacy of reserves if conditions worsen. The bank's exposure to suburban Massachusetts CRE, which may have different dynamics than the Boston office core, could provide some resilience, but this remains an area to monitor.
Capital Ratios Stable but Thin Buffer
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 0.14 in Q2 2026, as reported in INDB's balance sheet, indicating a stable but modest capital position relative to peers.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 14% is consistent with the prior year, but the absolute equity growth of $0.6B over two years is modest compared to the $5.7B asset growth. This suggests that capital generation is not keeping pace with balance sheet expansion, which could limit the bank's ability to absorb losses or pursue further M&A. The high dividend payout ratio, which exceeded 100% of net income in Q2 2026, further constrains capital retention, leaving little room for organic capital build.
Liquidity Relies on Securities Portfolio
Cash and bank balances dropped to $252M in Q2 2026 from $729M in Q1, as per INDB's balance sheet, while investment securities grew to $22.3B, indicating a reliance on the securities portfolio for liquidity.
The sharp decline in cash balances suggests that the bank is deploying excess liquidity into longer-duration securities, which may enhance yield but reduces the immediate availability of cash. The investment securities portfolio, which constitutes 89% of total assets, provides a source of contingent liquidity, but its value is subject to interest rate risk, as unrealized losses in AOCI could impair the ability to sell without realizing losses. The bank's reliance on wholesale funding is not disclosed, but the deposit migration to higher-cost accounts may increase the need for alternative funding sources.
Margin Pressure Persists Despite Loan Growth
Net interest margin remained at 0.8% in Q2 2026, unchanged from prior quarters, as reported in INDB's financial statements, indicating persistent pressure on asset yields relative to funding costs.
Despite a 43% year-over-year increase in net interest income, the NIM has not expanded, suggesting that the bank is funding its loan growth with increasingly expensive deposits. The efficiency ratio rose to 48.5% from 42.6% a year earlier, indicating that operating expenses are growing faster than revenue, which may further pressure profitability. The bank's ability to reprice its loan portfolio faster than its deposit costs will be critical, but the current trend suggests that deposit betas are rising, potentially squeezing margins further.
Unrealized Losses Could Constrain Flexibility
Investment securities constitute 89% of total assets, as per INDB's balance sheet, and unrealized losses in AOCI may impair the bank's ability to sell securities without realizing losses.
The heavy allocation to investment securities, which grew to $22.3B, exposes the bank to interest rate risk. If rates have risen since purchase, the securities may carry unrealized losses, which are recorded in AOCI and reduce tangible common equity. This could constrain the bank's liquidity flexibility and capital adequacy, as selling these securities would realize losses. Investors should monitor the duration and yield of the securities portfolio, as a mismatch with deposit funding could amplify margin pressure.