Total assets expanded 11.1% YoY to $866.9T, but the shift to a $741.3T securities portfolio with zero cash on hand and a thin equity/assets ratio of 0.07 suggests a liquidity and capital adequacy profile that warrants close monitoring.
KB Financial Group Inc. (KB) balance sheet — 27-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 20.38T | 0 | 124.69T | 113.29T | 112.01T | 92.05T | 88.54T | 68.05T | 21.46T | 21.03T | 19.12T | 17.52T | 16.77T | 16.19T | 10.59T | 9.19T | 6.26T | 4.57T | 3.31T | 2.84T | 4T | 3.56T | 3.3T | 3.91T | 3.89T | 3.63T | 6.43T | 1.6T |
| Cash & Due from Banks | - | 0 | 30.79T | 30.79T | 32.47T | 31.68T | 26.71T | 21.99T | 21.46T | 21.03T | 19.12T | 17.52T | 16.77T | 16.19T | 10.59T | 9.19T | 6.26T | 4.57T | 3.31T | 2.84T | 4T | 3.56T | 3.3T | 3.91T | 3.89T | 3.63T | 6.43T | 1.6T |
| Short Term Investments | - | 0 | 93.9T | 82.5T | 79.53T | 60.38T | 61.83T | 46.06T | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | - | 0 | 696.61T | 652.53T | 628.93T | 598.31T | 544.13T | 469.38T | 434.92T | 393.7T | 344.16T | 301.27T | 281.74T | 266.13T | 262.73T | 260.49T | 226.86T | 259.95T | 226.28T | 220.1T | 27.75T | 29.81T | 28.2T | 31.36T | 30.82T | 32.44T | 20.72T | 7.02T |
| Investments Growth % | -194.19% | -100% | 6.75% | 3.75% | 5.12% | 9.96% | 15.93% | 7.92% | 10.47% | 14.4% | 14.24% | 6.93% | 5.87% | 1.29% | 0.86% | 14.83% | -12.73% | 14.88% | 2.8% | 693.18% | -6.9% | 5.7% | -10.07% | 1.75% | -4.99% | 56.56% | 195.16% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 741.34T | 0 | 602.71T | 570.03T | 549.39T | 537.94T | 482.3T | 423.32T | 434.92T | 393.7T | 344.16T | 301.27T | 281.74T | 266.13T | 262.73T | 260.49T | 226.86T | 259.95T | 226.28T | 220.1T | 27.75T | 29.81T | 28.2T | 31.36T | 30.82T | 32.44T | 20.72T | 7.02T |
| Accounts Receivables | - | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 956.75B | 1.03T | 3.19T | 2.01T | 765.09B | 1.05T | 841.1B | 1.04T | 1.12T | 1.16T | 0 | 643.04B |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 0 | 1.97T | 1.95T | 1.86T | 1.79T | 3.35T | 2.74T | 2.76T | 2.94T | 652.32B | 466.83B | 488.92B | 443.2B | 493.13B | 461.99B | 861.22B | 770.16B | 786.94B | 577.93B | 552.99B | 605.25B | 705.12B | 857.3B | 630.62B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | - | 0 | 874.05B | 866.97B | 845.15B | 806.41B | 763.58B | 275.74B | 275.22B | 273.45B | 331.71B | 262.39B | 262.39B | 205.56B | 0 | 0 | 585.9B | 579.45B | 578.45B | 394.46B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | - | 0 | 1.09T | 1.08T | 1.01T | 980.4B | 2.59T | 2.46T | 2.48T | 2.67T | 320.61B | 204.44B | 226.53B | 237.64B | 493.13B | 461.99B | 275.32B | 190.72B | 208.49B | 183.47B | 552.99B | 605.25B | 705.12B | 857.3B | 630.62B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | - | 0 | 5.39T | 4.95T | 4.99T | 5.24T | 5.43T | 5.07T | 4.27T | 4.2T | 3.63T | 3.29T | 3.08T | 3.06T | 3.1T | 3.18T | 1.48T | 1.62T | 1.77T | 1.66T | 1.54T | 1.5T | 1.58T | 2T | 2.12T | 2.03T | 1.46T | 744.64B |
| Other Assets | - | 0 | 9.59T | 10.17T | 19.54T | 18.19T | 18.31T | 11.69T | 9.52T | 6.7T | 2.08T | 1.39T | 1.27T | 1.08T | 8.53T | 7.53T | 15.34T | -14.07T | 22.99T | -9.5T | -29.84T | -31.91T | -30.49T | -34.22T | -33.57T | 0 | 0 | -7.76T |
| Total Current Assets | - | 0 | 137.91T | 128.36T | 112.68T | 92.41T | 101.26T | 75.72T | 28.12T | 29.24T | 25.02T | 22.64T | 21.76T | 21.43T | 11.19T | 9.19T | 7.21T | 5.6T | 6.49T | 4.84T | 4.77T | 4.61T | 4.14T | 4.96T | 5.01T | 4.79T | 6.43T | 2.24T |
| Total Non-Current Assets | - | 0 | 619.93T | 587.37T | 575.97T | 563.31T | 509.46T | 442.82T | 451.47T | 407.55T | 350.65T | 306.42T | 286.6T | 270.73T | 274.88T | 271.68T | 244.54T | 248.26T | 251.83T | 212.84T | 29.84T | 31.91T | 30.49T | 34.22T | 33.57T | 34.47T | 22.18T | 7.76T |
| Total Assets | - | 0 | 757.85T | 715.73T | 688.65T | 655.71T | 610.72T | 518.54T | 479.59T | 436.79T | 375.67T | 329.07T | 308.36T | 292.17T | 286.07T | 280.87T | 251.75T | 253.86T | 258.33T | 217.68T | 184.07T | 176.62T | 171.52T | 192.93T | 184.09T | 168.3T | 91.43T | 45.28T |
| Asset Growth % | -82.81% | -100% | 5.88% | 3.93% | 5.02% | 7.37% | 17.78% | 8.12% | 9.8% | 16.27% | 14.16% | 6.72% | 5.54% | 2.13% | 1.85% | 11.57% | -0.83% | -1.73% | 18.67% | 18.26% | 4.22% | 2.97% | -11.1% | 4.8% | 9.38% | 84.09% | 101.93% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.16% | - | 0.69% | 0.65% | 0.61% | 0.7% | 0.61% | 0.66% | 0.67% | 0.82% | 0.61% | 0.54% | 0.47% | 0.44% | 0.62% | 0.9% | 0.06% | 0.28% | 0.56% | 1.87% | 1.63% | 1.54% | 0.55% | -0.53% | 0.71% | 0.76% | 0.87% | 1.19% |
| Accounts Payable | - | 0 | 36.13B | 36.01B | 35.26B | 33.97B | 31.18B | 27.55B | 25.83B | 21.77B | 19.08B | 18.23B | 19.58B | 18.53B | 18.16B | 0 | 3.7T | 3.82T | 4.96T | 4.2T | 3.53T | 3.27T | 3.38T | 4.13T | 4.46T | 4.62T | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | - | 0 | 140.77T | 137.04T | 152.78T | 139.3T | 106.68T | 86.65T | 85.71T | 75.12T | 64.19T | 50.98T | 47.99T | 43.8T | 43.93T | 43.99T | 41.51T | 53.78T | 54.47T | 43.42T | 37.93T | 30.66T | 32.4T | 39.54T | 43.88T | 32.95T | 21.11T | 6.04T |
| Net Debt | - | 0 | 109.98T | 106.25T | 120.31T | 107.62T | 79.97T | 64.66T | 64.25T | 54.08T | 45.07T | 33.46T | 31.22T | 27.6T | 33.33T | 34.81T | 35.25T | 49.21T | 51.16T | 40.58T | 33.93T | 27.1T | 29.1T | 35.63T | 39.99T | 29.32T | 14.68T | 4.44T |
| Long-Term Debt | - | 0 | 127T | 120.8T | 140.42T | 124.34T | 89.79T | 73.09T | 72.67T | 63.14T | 52.42T | 47.04T | 44.03T | 40.46T | 40.24T | 43.99T | 41.51T | 52.42T | 51.03T | 42.62T | 27.79T | 24.61T | 17.29T | 17.42T | 20.16T | 16.63T | 11.69T | 6.04T |
| Short-Term Debt | - | 0 | 12.8T | 15.65T | 11.77T | 14.37T | 16.33T | 13.02T | 13.04T | 11.97T | 11.77T | 3.94T | 3.96T | 3.33T | 3.69T | 0 | 0 | 1.36T | 3.44T | 794.14B | 10.14T | 6.05T | 15.11T | 22.13T | 23.72T | 16.32T | 9.42T | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | - | -61.37T | 114.73T | 105.34T | 68.79T | 71.56T | 113.18T | 78.39T | 60.57T | 54.71T | 24.31T | 17.99T | 15.42T | 15.72T | 13.04T | 18.82T | 2.61T | 1.43T | 11.44T | 8.64T | -27.79T | -24.61T | -17.29T | -17.42T | -20.16T | -16.63T | -11.69T | -6.04T |
| Total Current Liabilities | - | 0 | 453.01T | 427.62T | 422.79T | 407.12T | 361.68T | 325.94T | 309.58T | 283.91T | 267.21T | 234.68T | 221.03T | 209.7T | 207.33T | 194.65T | 190.6T | 182.43T | 180.26T | 149.44T | 13.66T | 9.32T | 18.48T | 26.26T | 28.18T | 20.94T | 9.42T | 0 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | - | -61.37T | 245.02T | 229.46T | 212.06T | 199.23T | 205.64T | 153.47T | 134.3T | 118.83T | 77.2T | 65.49T | 59.82T | 56.48T | 53.66T | 63.06T | 44.11T | 53.85T | 62.47T | 51.26T | 27.79T | 24.61T | 17.29T | 17.42T | 20.16T | 16.63T | 11.69T | 6.04T |
| Total Liabilities | - | -61.37T | 698.03T | 657.09T | 634.85T | 606.35T | 567.32T | 479.42T | 443.88T | 402.74T | 344.41T | 300.16T | 280.84T | 266.19T | 260.99T | 257.71T | 234.72T | 236.28T | 242.73T | 200.7T | 169.96T | 165.33T | 164.08T | 186.03T | 175.18T | 160.36T | 87.16T | 43.52T |
| Total Equity | - | 61.37T | 59.82T | 58.64T | 53.8T | 49.37T | 43.4T | 39.12T | 35.71T | 34.04T | 31.26T | 28.9T | 27.51T | 25.98T | 25.08T | 23.16T | 17.04T | 17.58T | 15.59T | 16.99T | 14.11T | 11.29T | 7.43T | 6.9T | 8.91T | 7.95T | 4.27T | 1.76T |
| Equity Growth % | -0.8% | 2.6% | 2.01% | 8.98% | 8.99% | 13.74% | 10.95% | 9.54% | 4.9% | 8.9% | 8.16% | 5.05% | 5.89% | 3.59% | 8.27% | 35.98% | -3.08% | 12.71% | -8.19% | 20.41% | 25% | 51.8% | 7.68% | -22.48% | 12.07% | 86.23% | 143.04% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | - | - | 7.89% | 8.19% | 7.81% | 7.53% | 7.11% | 7.54% | 7.45% | 7.79% | 8.32% | 8.78% | 8.92% | 8.89% | 8.77% | 8.25% | 6.77% | 6.92% | 6.04% | 7.8% | 7.66% | 6.39% | 4.33% | 3.58% | 4.84% | 4.72% | 4.67% | 3.88% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 10.86% | 9.66% | 8.57% | 8.17% | 7.97% | 9.51% | 8.41% | 8.85% | 8.78% | 10.14% | 7.13% | 6.12% | 5.24% | 4.98% | 7.34% | 11.97% | 0.85% | 4.35% | 8.14% | 24.15% | 23.22% | 28.71% | 13.9% | -12.56% | 14.85% | 16.25% | 19.74% | 30.8% |
| Book Value per Share | - | 160565.68 | 156025.49 | 149076.32 | 134865.20 | 123854.78 | 109946.47 | 99282.08 | 89549.42 | 84890.51 | 81065.17 | 74473.70 | 70919.73 | 66966.18 | 64719.17 | 62917.59 | 49601.96 | 54014.86 | 47185.73 | 50501.54 | 41941.23 | 34946.34 | 24244.16 | 21178.04 | 27261.90 | 33012.75 | 24151.97 | 9546.26 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 0.00 | 160565.68 | 150895.48 | 144116.47 | 130206.69 | 119371.84 | 101457.41 | 92333.71 | 82639.38 | 77552.01 | 79373.62 | 73270.82 | 69659.43 | 65823.87 | 63446.72 | 61662.81 | 47094.36 | 51648.02 | 44804.66 | 48783.29 | 40297.15 | 33072.21 | 21944.73 | 18548.28 | 25331.46 | 33012.75 | 24151.97 | 9546.26 |
| Common Stock | - | 0 | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 2.09T | 1.93T | 1.93T | 1.93T | 1.93T | 1.93T | 1.93T | 1.93T | 1.78T | 1.68T | 1.6T | 1.66T | 1.62T | 1.76T | 1.64T | 1.59T | 1.5T | 545.31B |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | - | 0 | 16.65T | 16.65T | 16.94T | 16.94T | 16.72T | 17.12T | 17.12T | 17.12T | 16.99T | 15.85T | 15.85T | 15.85T | 15.84T | 15.84T | 7.21T | 7.2T | 6.25T | 5.4T | 5.15T | 5.36T | 5.22T | 5.66T | 5.15T | 4.96T | 1.65T | 838.88B |
| Retained Earnings | - | 0 | 34.81T | 31.93T | 28.89T | 26.42T | 22.54T | 19.71T | 17.28T | 15.04T | 12.23T | 10.46T | 9.07T | 7.86T | 6.82T | 5.05T | 10.1T | 10.78T | 10.03T | 10.01T | 6.93T | 4.31T | 1.75T | 796.7B | 2.03T | 277.19B | 710.7B | 349.45B |
| Accumulated OCI | - | 59.58T | 496.92B | 2.15T | 1T | 1.38T | 630.01B | 348.02B | 177.81B | 537.67B | 405.33B | 430.24B | 461.68B | 336.31B | 295.14B | 161.04B | 373.16B | 244.65B | 389.91B | -132.99B | 404.89B | -55.95B | 106.19B | 64.16B | 165.64B | 810.58B | -17.16B | 22.71B |
| Treasury Stock | - | 0 | -1.24T | -1.17T | -836.19B | -1.14T | -1.14T | -1.14T | -968.55B | -755.97B | -721.97B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -2.62T | -2.62T | -2.86T | -1.96B | -3.68B | -9.56B | -1.28T | -1.39T | -148.97B | -1.36B | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | - | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 200.72B | 296.5B |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying KB stock.
As of 2025, KB Financial Group Inc. (KB) had total assets of $0.0M including $0.0M in current assets.
KB Financial Group Inc. (KB) carries total debt of $0.0M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
KB Financial Group Inc. (KB) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $61.37T ($160565.68 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Real estate PF credit risk
Asset Growth Accelerates, Quality Questioned
Total assets expanded 11.1% YoY to $866.9T in 2026Q2, but the surge appears driven by securities holdings rather than organic loan growth, as per reported balance sheet data.
The balance sheet grew from $780.6T in 2025Q2 to $866.9T in 2026Q2, a notable acceleration. However, the composition reveals that investment securities dominate, increasing from $704.9T to $741.3T, while cash and bank balances dropped to zero in 2026Q2, suggesting a reallocation into higher-yielding assets. This growth pattern may indicate a strategic shift toward securities, but it also raises questions about the sustainability of returns if the securities portfolio underperforms. The equity/assets ratio remained stable at 0.07, indicating that asset growth was funded primarily by liabilities, which could signal increased leverage.
Deposit Base Stability Unclear
Loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the stability of the deposit franchise appears uncertain given the volatile cash and securities positions, as per the latest balance sheet data.
The absence of a loan-to-deposit ratio in the data limits direct assessment of deposit funding. However, the significant swings in cash and bank balances—from $34.1T in 2025Q2 to zero in 2026Q2—suggest that the bank may be relying more on wholesale funding or securities repurchase agreements to finance asset growth. This could indicate a less stable funding base, which is a key risk for a bank. Investors should monitor deposit trends in future disclosures to gauge the cost and stability of funding.
Provision Volatility Masks Credit Trends
Loan loss provisions swung from a $24.5T release in 2026Q2 to a $11.1T charge in 2025Q4, indicating highly volatile credit conditions, as reported in the balance sheet data.
The provision for loan losses has been erratic, with a massive release in 2026Q2 and a significant charge in 2025Q4. This volatility may reflect regulatory-driven provisioning or one-off adjustments, but it also suggests that the underlying credit quality is uncertain. The prior income statement analysis noted a similar pattern, reinforcing the view that credit costs are unpredictable. Given the recent risk flag on real estate project financing (PF) delinquencies, investors should be alert to potential increases in provisions in coming quarters, which could pressure earnings.
Capital Ratios Stable but Thin
Equity/assets ratio held at 0.07 in 2026Q2, unchanged from prior quarters, suggesting a stable but modest capital buffer, based on the reported balance sheet figures.
The equity-to-assets ratio has remained constant at 0.07 over the past year, indicating that capital is growing in line with assets. However, this level is relatively low compared to global peers, and the CET1 ratio is not disclosed in the data. The prior analysis highlighted a 13% CET1 target, which suggests management is focused on maintaining adequate capital. The stable ratio may provide room for continued shareholder returns, but any deterioration in asset quality could quickly erode this buffer.
Liquidity Profile Shifts to Securities
Cash and bank balances fell to zero in 2026Q2 from $20.4T in 2026Q1, while investment securities rose to $741.3T, indicating a liquidity shift, as per the latest balance sheet.
The dramatic reduction in cash and bank balances to zero is a red flag for liquidity, as it suggests the bank may be fully invested in securities or facing funding pressures. Investment securities now constitute the vast majority of assets, which could provide liquidity if they are highly marketable, but it also exposes the bank to market risk. The prior cash flow analysis noted negative operating cash flows in 2026Q2, which may indicate funding outflows. This warrants close monitoring of the bank's ability to meet short-term obligations without relying on asset sales.
Unrealized Losses Loom in Securities
The massive securities portfolio, totaling $741.3T in 2026Q2, may harbor unrealized losses given interest rate volatility, a risk not visible in the balance sheet data.
With investment securities making up over 85% of total assets, any mark-to-market losses could significantly impact equity. The data does not provide details on the composition or duration of the securities, but the prior income statement analysis noted negative non-interest income in 2026Q2, which could be related to trading losses or impairments. If interest rates have risen, the securities portfolio may be underwater, posing a threat to capital adequacy. Investors should scrutinize the AOCI component of equity in future filings to assess this risk.