Total debt rose to $2.0B in 2026Q2, lifting the debt-to-equity ratio to 0.52, the highest in the reported period, while cash declined to $199.8M from $599.2M in 2024Q4.
KB Home (KBH) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Nov'25 | Nov'24 | Nov'23 | Nov'22 | Nov'21 | Nov'20 | Nov'19 | Nov'18 | Nov'17 | Nov'16 | Nov'15 | Nov'14 | Nov'13 | Nov'12 | Nov'11 | Nov'10 | Nov'09 | Nov'08 | Nov'07 | Nov'06 | Nov'05 | Nov'04 | Nov'03 | Nov'02 | Nov'01 | Nov'00 | Nov'99 | Nov'98 | Nov'97 | Nov'96 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 6.32B | 6.27B | 6.53B | 6.25B | 6.22B | 5.41B | 4.87B | 4.42B | 4.46B | 4.24B | 4.23B | 4.14B | 3.74B | 2.95B | 2.35B | 2.31B | 2.83B | 3.13B | 3.72B | 4.95B | 6.68B | 6.85B | 5.04B | 3.67B | 3.53B | 3.29B | 2.44B | 2.25B | 1.7B | 1.31B | 1.13B |
| Cash & Short-Term Investments | 199.82M | 230.44M | 599.19M | 727.34M | 330.2M | 292.14M | 682.53M | 454.86M | 575.12M | 720.86M | 593M | 560.34M | 358.77M | 532.52M | 525.69M | 418.07M | 908.43M | 1.17B | 1.14B | 1.34B | 700.04M | 144.78M | 234.2M | 138.12M | 329.99M | 281.33M | 33.08M | 28.4M | 63.4M | 68.2M | 9.8M |
| Cash Only | 199.82M | 230.44M | 599.19M | 727.34M | 330.2M | 292.14M | 682.53M | 454.86M | 575.12M | 720.86M | 593M | 560.34M | 358.77M | 532.52M | 525.69M | 418.07M | 908.43M | 1.17B | 1.14B | 1.34B | 700.04M | 144.78M | 234.2M | 138.12M | 329.99M | 281.33M | 33.08M | 28.4M | 63.4M | 68.2M | 9.8M |
| Short-Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivable | 389.73M | 356.2M | 382.94M | 369.64M | 326.24M | 306.36M | 274.65M | 251.29M | 295.71M | 245.94M | 233.43M | 250.24M | 127.23M | 77.83M | 66.68M | 91.67M | 109.66M | 337.93M | 357.72M | 298.39M | 224.08M | 580.93M | 664.7M | 649.8M | 1B | 1.12B | 752.88M | 697.7M | 502.8M | 450.3M | 342M |
| Days Sales Outstanding | 24.81 | 20.85 | 20.17 | 21.05 | 17.25 | 19.53 | 23.96 | 20.15 | 23.74 | 20.55 | 23.7 | 30.12 | 19.34 | 13.55 | 15.6 | 25.43 | 25.3 | 67.59 | 43.04 | 16.97 | 8.72 | 26 | 34.4 | 40.54 | 74.16 | 91.09 | 71 | 66.71 | 76.38 | 89.15 | 71.16 |
| Inventory | 5.73B | 5.67B | 5.53B | 5.13B | 5.54B | 4.8B | 3.9B | 3.7B | 3.58B | 3.26B | 3.4B | 3.31B | 3.22B | 2.3B | 1.71B | 1.73B | 1.7B | 1.5B | 2.11B | 3.31B | 5.75B | 6.13B | 4.14B | 2.88B | 2.17B | 1.88B | 1.66B | 1.52B | 1.13B | 790.2M | 780.3M |
| Days Inventory Outstanding | 457.95 | 408.67 | 369.71 | 372.08 | 387.66 | 391.79 | 420.83 | 364.15 | 348.94 | 326.35 | 407.95 | 475.61 | 590.58 | 482.14 | 466.58 | 544.49 | 472.24 | 313.16 | 231.97 | 176.99 | 273.64 | 374.36 | 283.95 | 234.98 | 203.93 | 190.41 | 196.31 | 184.36 | 214.36 | 192.46 | 200.18 |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.34M | 27.23M | 41.91M | 42.36M | 64.48M | 115.48M | 114.29M | 115.4M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 21.02M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 192.5M | 448.63M | 408.22M | 401.85M | 436.67M | 428.25M | 487.87M | 598.79M | 612.25M | 805.97M | 897.07M | 946.75M | 1.02B | 240.08M | 212.59M | 206.68M | 279.47M | 307.66M | 329.06M | 751.4M | 2.59B | 887.32M | 793.81M | 564.46M | 497.51M | 403.33M | 385.56M | 416.83M | 159.6M | 110.3M | 111.4M |
| Property, Plant & Equipment | 103.84M | 118.98M | 109.06M | 113.03M | 114.7M | 103.82M | 101.51M | 65.04M | 24.28M | 19.52M | 14.24M | 13.1M | 11.83M | 8.46M | 7.92M | 7.8M | 81.53M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Fixed Asset Turnover | 49.68x | 52.42x | 63.54x | 56.71x | 60.19x | 55.14x | 41.21x | 70.00x | 187.25x | 223.79x | 252.43x | 231.45x | 202.94x | 247.89x | 196.98x | 168.68x | 19.40x | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 67.97M | 177.33M | 234.77M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 242.59M | 249.31M | 229M | 194.61M | 190.78M | 202.18M | 205.6M | 45.5M | 31.3M | 39.4M |
| Long-Term Investments | 378.03M | 139.97M | 89.02M | 78.48M | 73.46M | 52.41M | 57.76M | 71.41M | 70.55M | 75.13M | 71.79M | 82M | 85.59M | 135.68M | 125.3M | 131.56M | 129.36M | 119.67M | 177.65M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Assets | -78.77M | 60.21M | 107.72M | 90.86M | 87.64M | 94.65M | 97.52M | 97.84M | 75.59M | 77.68M | 72.06M | 69.46M | 97.85M | 95.94M | 79.36M | 66.17M | 68.57M | 187.99M | 150.26M | 460.97M | 1.98B | 429.46M | 326.88M | 169.56M | 124.87M | 93.96M | 109.54M | 211.24M | 114.1M | 79M | 72M |
| Total Assets | 6.78B | 6.72B | 6.94B | 6.65B | 6.65B | 5.84B | 5.36B | 5.02B | 5.07B | 5.04B | 5.13B | 5.09B | 4.76B | 3.19B | 2.56B | 2.51B | 3.11B | 3.44B | 4.04B | 5.71B | 9.26B | 7.74B | 5.84B | 4.24B | 4.03B | 3.69B | 2.83B | 2.66B | 1.86B | 1.42B | 1.24B |
| Asset Turnover | 0.81x | 0.93x | 1.00x | 0.96x | 1.04x | 0.98x | 0.78x | 0.91x | 0.90x | 0.87x | 0.70x | 0.60x | 0.50x | 0.66x | 0.61x | 0.52x | 0.51x | 0.53x | 0.75x | 1.12x | 1.01x | 1.05x | 1.21x | 1.38x | 1.23x | 1.22x | 1.37x | 1.43x | 1.29x | 1.30x | 1.41x |
| Asset Growth % | -8.38% | -3.1% | 4.33% | -0.05% | 13.98% | 8.95% | 6.8% | -1.14% | 0.64% | -1.76% | 0.88% | 6.92% | 48.97% | 24.67% | 1.96% | -19.2% | -9.49% | -15.04% | -29.12% | -38.41% | 19.67% | 32.65% | 37.77% | 5.22% | 9.01% | 30.54% | 6.18% | 43.22% | 31.09% | 14.11% | -21.01% |
| Total Current Liabilities | 1.01B | 1.37B | 936.15M | 908.86M | 1.07B | 777.29M | 617.75M | 604.86M | 653.88M | 546.46M | 498.61M | 481.89M | 374.04M | 329.5M | 305.39M | 486.31M | 702.34M | 901.35M | 1.26B | 3.86B | 2.23B | 2.3B | 1.6B | 1.29B | 988.22M | 830.71M | 524.34M | 561.1M | 368.8M | 276.3M | 256.3M |
| Accounts Payable | 303.85M | 354.44M | 387.61M | 390.1M | 415.65M | 374.51M | 276M | 264.83M | 259.54M | 214.43M | 217.33M | 185.59M | 175.23M | 150.88M | 121.73M | 104.41M | 233.22M | 340.98M | 541.29M | 717.65M | 626.24M | 892.73M | 794.08M | 586.25M | 521.34M | 479.57M | 322.67M | 338.2M | 220.3M | 170.9M | 159.3M |
| Days Payables Outstanding | 26.21 | 25.54 | 25.92 | 28.27 | 29.07 | 30.55 | 29.8 | 26.03 | 25.28 | 21.44 | 26.05 | 26.64 | 32.16 | 31.65 | 33.28 | 32.83 | 64.91 | 71.12 | 59.6 | 38.34 | 29.79 | 54.53 | 54.42 | 47.77 | 48.91 | 48.45 | 38.22 | 40.99 | 41.63 | 41.62 | 40.87 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 350M | 0 | 0 | 507.49M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.16B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 132.22M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue (Current) | 38.07M | 0 | 44.03M | 58.91M | 76.74M | 71.03M | 26.24M | 22.38M | 19.49M | 16.86M | 18.18M | 14.56M | 15.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 704.4M | 510.46M | 142.79M | 143.71M | -313.56M | 42.21M | 37.06M | 40.79M | 43.38M | 35.97M | 10.34M | 13.03M | 17.04M | 25.32M | 20.7M | 177.98M | 76.48M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 201.67M | 222.9M | 148.5M | 105.4M | 97M |
| Current Ratio | 6.27x | 4.57x | 6.97x | 6.87x | 5.79x | 6.96x | 7.88x | 7.30x | 6.82x | 7.75x | 8.49x | 8.59x | 9.99x | 8.96x | 7.69x | 4.74x | 4.03x | 3.47x | 2.94x | 1.29x | 3.00x | 2.98x | 3.14x | 2.84x | 3.57x | 3.96x | 4.66x | 4.01x | 4.61x | 4.74x | 4.42x |
| Quick Ratio | 0.58x | 0.44x | 1.07x | 1.22x | 0.63x | 0.78x | 1.57x | 1.18x | 1.34x | 1.78x | 1.67x | 1.71x | 1.39x | 1.99x | 2.10x | 1.18x | 1.61x | 1.81x | 1.27x | 0.43x | 0.41x | 0.32x | 0.56x | 0.61x | 1.37x | 1.69x | 1.50x | 1.29x | 1.54x | 1.88x | 1.37x |
| Cash Conversion Cycle | 456.55 | 403.98 | 363.95 | 364.85 | 375.84 | 380.78 | 414.99 | 358.26 | 347.4 | 325.45 | 405.6 | 479.1 | 577.76 | 464.04 | 448.9 | 537.09 | 432.64 | 309.63 | 215.41 | 155.62 | 252.57 | 345.83 | 263.93 | 227.74 | 229.18 | 233.05 | 229.09 | 210.09 | 249.11 | 239.99 | 230.47 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 1.97B | 1.45B | 1.94B | 1.93B | 1.92B | 2.04B | 2.07B | 2.03B | 2.33B | 2.57B | 2.91B | 2.91B | 2.79B | 2.33B | 1.88B | 1.58B | 1.78B | 1.83B | 1.95B | 2.18B | 4.11B | 2.52B | 2.05B | 1.26B | 1.69B | 1.71B | 1.4B | 1.23B | 818.5M | 757.7M | 645.9M |
| Long-Term Debt | 1.97B | 1.36B | 1.69B | 1.69B | 1.84B | 1.69B | 1.75B | 1.75B | 2.06B | 2.32B | 2.64B | 2.6B | 2.58B | 2.15B | 1.72B | 1.58B | 1.78B | 1.82B | 1.94B | 2.16B | 2.92B | 2.46B | 2.05B | 1.26B | 1.69B | 1.71B | 1.4B | 1.23B | 769.2M | 697.7M | 577.6M |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 69.02M | 19.8M | 20.86M | 26.53M | 27.49M | 29.28M | 37.67M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Tax Liabilities | 40.8M | 40.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Liabilities | 1.69M | 24.74M | 226.87M | 212.93M | 51.58M | 324.85M | 261.84M | 256.37M | 252.44M | 227.03M | 251.54M | 297.87M | 195.88M | 177.55M | 156.69M | 0 | 0 | 7.05M | 9.47M | 17.8M | 1.19B | 55.13M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 52K | 49.3M | 60M | 68.3M |
| Total Liabilities | 2.98B | 2.82B | 2.88B | 2.84B | 2.99B | 2.82B | 2.69B | 2.63B | 2.99B | 3.12B | 3.41B | 3.4B | 3.16B | 2.66B | 2.18B | 2.07B | 2.48B | 2.73B | 3.21B | 3.86B | 6.34B | 4.82B | 3.65B | 2.55B | 2.68B | 2.54B | 1.93B | 1.79B | 1.19B | 1.03B | 902.2M |
| Total Debt | 1.97B | 1.73B | 1.71B | 1.72B | 2.37B | 1.71B | 1.78B | 1.75B | 2.06B | 2.32B | 2.64B | 2.6B | 2.58B | 2.15B | 1.72B | 1.58B | 1.78B | 1.82B | 1.94B | 4.32B | 2.92B | 2.46B | 2.05B | 1.39B | 1.69B | 1.71B | 1.4B | 1.23B | 769.2M | 697.7M | 577.6M |
| Net Debt | 1.77B | 1.5B | 1.11B | 989.09M | 2.04B | 1.42B | 1.1B | 1.29B | 1.49B | 1.6B | 2.05B | 2.04B | 2.22B | 1.62B | 1.2B | 1.17B | 867.1M | 645.65M | 806.14M | 2.98B | 2.22B | 2.32B | 1.81B | 1.25B | 1.36B | 1.42B | 1.37B | 1.2B | 705.8M | 629.5M | 567.8M |
| Debt / Equity | 0.52x | 0.44x | 0.42x | 0.45x | 0.65x | 0.57x | 0.67x | 0.73x | 0.99x | 1.21x | 1.53x | 1.54x | 1.61x | 4.01x | 4.57x | 3.58x | 2.81x | 2.57x | 2.34x | 2.34x | 1.00x | 0.84x | 0.94x | 0.83x | 1.25x | 1.48x | 1.56x | 1.40x | 1.14x | 1.81x | 1.69x |
| Debt / EBITDA | 5.33x | 3.08x | 2.08x | 2.20x | 2.18x | 2.48x | 5.18x | 4.88x | 5.92x | 8.12x | 16.92x | 18.32x | 21.76x | 22.89x | - | - | - | - | - | - | 4.68x | 2.02x | 2.57x | 2.38x | 3.58x | 4.29x | 4.47x | 3.69x | 4.91x | 6.31x | 5.54x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 4.79x | 2.67x | 1.35x | 1.27x | 1.88x | 2.06x | 3.20x | 3.61x | 4.26x | 5.60x | 13.12x | 14.37x | 18.73x | 17.22x | - | - | - | - | - | - | 3.56x | 1.90x | 2.28x | 2.14x | 2.88x | 3.58x | 4.37x | 3.61x | 4.50x | 5.70x | 5.45x |
| Interest Coverage | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | 467.23x | 26.31x | 6.81x | 4.09x | 1.93x | -0.16x | -2.50x | -0.12x | -5.11x | -73.65x | -101.96x | 36.10x | 49.93x | 34.08x | - | - | - | - | 3.50x | - | - | 0.28x |
| Total Equity | 3.8B | 3.9B | 4.06B | 3.81B | 3.66B | 3.02B | 2.67B | 2.38B | 2.09B | 1.93B | 1.72B | 1.69B | 1.6B | 536.09M | 376.81M | 442.66M | 631.88M | 707.22M | 830.61M | 1.85B | 2.92B | 2.92B | 2.18B | 1.68B | 1.35B | 1.16B | 901.38M | 875.78M | 672.9M | 385M | 341.3M |
| Equity Growth % | -16.72% | -3.93% | 6.57% | 4.08% | 21.24% | 13.27% | 11.86% | 14.16% | 8.37% | 11.79% | 1.91% | 5.95% | 197.7% | 42.27% | -14.88% | -29.95% | -10.65% | -14.85% | -55.12% | -36.68% | 0.14% | 33.72% | 29.76% | 24.73% | 16.65% | 28.26% | 2.92% | 30.15% | 74.78% | 12.8% | -18.43% |
| Book Value per Share | 60.06 | 56.33 | 52.77 | 45.70 | 40.97 | 32.26 | 28.33 | 25.40 | 20.66 | 19.59 | 17.90 | 16.44 | 16.07 | 5.86 | 4.89 | 5.75 | 8.22 | 9.23 | 10.71 | 23.97 | 35.27 | 33.02 | 25.89 | 19.96 | 15.34 | 14.84 | 11.25 | 9.14 | 8.19 | 4.94 | 4.29 |
| Total Shareholders' Equity | 3.8B | 3.9B | 4.06B | 3.81B | 3.66B | 3.02B | 2.67B | 2.38B | 2.09B | 1.93B | 1.72B | 1.69B | 1.6B | 536.09M | 376.81M | 442.66M | 631.88M | 707.22M | 830.61M | 1.85B | 2.92B | 2.77B | 2.06B | 1.59B | 1.27B | 1.09B | 654.76M | 676.58M | 474.5M | 383.1M | 340.4M |
| Common Stock | 3.8B | 74.48M | 74.41M | 101.28M | 100.71M | 100.71M | 99.87M | 121.59M | 119.2M | 117.95M | 116.22M | 115.55M | 115.39M | 115.3M | 115.18M | 115.17M | 115.15M | 115.12M | 115.12M | 114.98M | 114.65M | 113.91M | 110.27M | 54.08M | 53.42M | 51.83M | 44.4M | 48.09M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 0 | 3.63B | 3.27B | 3.68B | 3.14B | 2.38B | 1.87B | 2.16B | 1.9B | 1.74B | 1.56B | 1.47B | 1.39B | 481.89M | 450.29M | 519.84M | 717.85M | 806.44M | 927.32M | 1.97B | 2.98B | 2.57B | 1.85B | 1.46B | 1.1B | 801.41M | 598.37M | 376.63M | 243.4M | 160M | 113.4M |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | -663.44M | -141.56M | -737.36M | -341.46M | -217.38M | -27.76M | -591.34M | -584.4M | -541.38M | -535.4M | -447.04M | -446.48M | -718.57M | -934.14M | -932.34M | -931.54M | -930.85M | -930.23M | -929.27M | -922.37M | -528.29M | -393.58M | -327.45M | -219.12M | -28.34M | -28.34M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | -3.54M | -3.7M | -3.67M | -5.58M | -19.12M | -22.28M | -15.51M | -9.56M | -16.92M | -16.06M | -17.32M | -21.01M | -17.52M | -27.96M | -26.15M | -22.66M | -22.24M | -17.4M | -155.53M | -70.95M | -126.17M | -106.41M | -134.36M | -171.78M | -190.5M | -200.44M | -83.46M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 188.36M | 144.95M | 127.04M | 89.23M | 74.27M | 63.66M | 246.62M | 199.2M | 198.4M | 1.9M | 900K |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying KBH stock.
As of 2025, KB Home (KBH) had total assets of $6.72B including $6.27B in current assets.
KB Home (KBH) carries total debt of $1.73B, offset by $230.4M in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
KB Home (KBH) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.90B ($56.33 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
KB Home (KBH) reported a current ratio of 4.57x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Persistent revenue and margin compression
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Balance Sheet Stability Amid Revenue Slide
Total assets have remained flat near $6.8B over the past year, while equity dipped slightly to $3.8B, indicating a stable but not expanding balance sheet, per recent quarterly filings.
Despite a 27% year-over-year revenue decline in 2026Q2, total assets have held steady, suggesting that asset reductions have been offset by continued investment in inventory and land. Equity has contracted modestly from $4.1B in 2025Q1 to $3.8B, reflecting retained earnings pressure as net income falls. The balance sheet appears to be absorbing the downturn without significant deterioration, but the lack of asset growth signals a defensive posture.
Leverage Creeps Higher as Debt Rises
Total debt increased to $2.0B in 2026Q2 from $1.7B a year earlier, lifting the debt-to-equity ratio to 0.52, the highest in the reported period, according to balance sheet data.
The D/E ratio has climbed from 0.42 in 2024Q4 to 0.52, indicating that KB Home is taking on more leverage relative to equity, likely to fund land acquisition and construction during a downturn. While the absolute debt level remains manageable, the trend suggests that the company is relying on debt to sustain operations as cash flow from operations turns negative. Investors should monitor whether this leverage increase is strategic or a response to cash flow strain.
Asset Mix Reflects Land-Heavy Model
With no goodwill and minimal net PPE of $103.8M, KB Home's asset base is dominated by inventory and land, consistent with a land-light but capital-intensive homebuilding model, as per reported figures.
The absence of goodwill and the small PPE footprint indicate that KB Home's value lies in its land and work-in-progress inventory, which are not separately disclosed but are the primary drivers of total assets. The slight decline in PPE from $119.0M in 2025Q4 to $103.8M suggests limited new investment in fixed assets, aligning with the low capex observed in cash flow. This asset mix implies that balance sheet risk is concentrated in inventory valuation, which could be impaired if home prices fall further.
Equity Quality Supported by Retained Earnings
Retained earnings stood at $3.6B in 2026Q1, up from $3.3B in 2024Q4, indicating that equity is primarily built from accumulated profits, though recent quarters show slower accumulation, per financial statements.
The equity base of $3.8B is almost entirely composed of retained earnings, which is a positive sign of historical profitability. However, the growth in retained earnings has slowed from $3.8B in 2024Q1 to $3.6B in 2026Q1, reflecting the earnings downturn. Share repurchases have continued, but they are not eroding equity significantly, as the buyback pace appears to be offset by net income, albeit at a reduced level.
Liquidity Buffer Thins as Cash Declines
Cash dropped to $199.8M in 2026Q2 from $599.2M in 2024Q4, while the current ratio remains high at 6.27, indicating ample short-term coverage but a shrinking cash cushion, based on reported data.
The current ratio of 6.27 is robust, suggesting that current assets comfortably cover current liabilities, but the sharp decline in cash from $599.2M to $199.8M over six quarters is notable. This cash drawdown likely funded land purchases and debt repayment, and with operating cash flow negative in recent quarters, the liquidity buffer is thinning. The high current ratio is partly due to inventory, which may not be as liquid as cash, so investors should focus on the cash position relative to operating needs.
Inventory Valuation Risk Lurks
With no goodwill and minimal PPE, the balance sheet's largest risk is the carrying value of inventory and land, which could be overstated if home prices continue to decline, as per balance sheet data.
The balance sheet shows no goodwill and negligible PPE, meaning that the bulk of $6.8B in assets is tied up in inventory and land held for development. In a housing downturn, these assets are subject to impairment if market values fall below cost. The recent revenue decline and margin compression suggest that home prices are under pressure, which could lead to write-downs that would erode equity. While the company has not reported impairments yet, the risk is elevated given the cyclical nature of the business.