Leverage remains conservative with a D/E of 0.25 and total debt of $14.4B, but cash declined to $4.9B from $6.4B in 2024Q4, and the current ratio of 1.43 suggests a thinning liquidity buffer against operational shocks.
ArcelorMittal S.A. (MT) balance sheet — 29-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 31.99B | 30.61B | 29.38B | 33.24B | 37.12B | 34.94B | 27.97B | 28.62B | 32.48B | 26.75B | 22.25B | 22.33B | 28.06B | 34.02B | 31.79B | 35.6B | 42.67B | 32.81B | 44.41B | 45.33B | 39.36B | 11.71B | 9.63B | 1.55B | 1.61B | 1.44B | 2B | 2.16B | 2.3B | 1.81B |
| Cash & Short-Term Investments | 4.9B | 5.48B | 6.4B | 7.69B | 9.3B | 4.21B | 5.96B | 5B | 2.35B | 2.79B | 2.62B | 4.1B | 4.02B | 6.23B | 4.54B | 3.9B | 6.29B | 5.92B | 7.58B | 7.86B | 6.03B | 2.05B | 2.5B | 80M | 77M | 85M | 292M | 317M | 525M | 790M |
| Cash Only | 4.9B | 5.48B | 6.4B | 7.69B | 9.3B | 4.21B | 5.57B | 4.75B | 2.35B | 2.79B | 2.62B | 4.1B | 4.02B | 6.23B | 4.54B | 3.9B | 6.29B | 5.92B | 7.58B | 7.86B | 6.02B | 2.04B | 2.5B | 80M | 77M | 85M | 214M | 170M | 188M | 790M |
| Short-Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 393M | 246M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 6M | 14M | 1M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 78M | 147M | 337M | 0 |
| Accounts Receivable | 4.51B | 3.48B | 5.66B | 5.2B | 6.21B | 7.08B | 4.19B | 5.25B | 5.43B | 4.67B | 3.56B | 3.08B | 3.7B | 4.89B | 5.67B | 6.45B | 5.72B | 5.75B | 6.74B | 9.53B | 8.77B | 2.29B | 2.01B | 507M | 529M | 451M | 601M | 679M | 618M | 415M |
| Days Sales Outstanding | 24.13 | 20.68 | 33.06 | 27.78 | 28.41 | 33.77 | 28.71 | 27.15 | 26.05 | 24.81 | 22.89 | 17.71 | 17.02 | 22.45 | 24.56 | 25.06 | 26.78 | 32.23 | 19.68 | 33.07 | 54.37 | 29.67 | 32.99 | 34.01 | 39.49 | 36.7 | 43.04 | 52.96 | 64.6 | 69.17 |
| Inventory | 19.28B | 18.59B | 16.5B | 18.76B | 20.09B | 19.86B | 12.33B | 17.3B | 20.74B | 17.99B | 14.73B | 13.42B | 17.3B | 19.24B | 19.02B | 21.69B | 19.58B | 16.84B | 24.74B | 21.75B | 19.24B | 6.04B | 4.01B | 828M | 873M | 805M | 1.01B | 1.04B | 1.07B | 548M |
| Days Inventory Outstanding | 158.12 | 122.37 | 106.31 | 109.55 | 111.28 | 126 | 92.54 | 94.28 | 112.97 | 107.84 | 106.65 | 75.15 | 86.18 | 93.33 | 82.55 | 92.57 | 100.55 | 97.67 | 85.1 | 93.45 | 145.05 | 102.5 | 99.68 | 61.14 | 73.15 | 68.76 | 83.74 | 94.13 | 137.53 | 117.18 |
| Other Current Assets | 140M | 37M | 215M | 941M | 785M | 3.22B | 5.49B | 1.07B | 4.71B | 2B | 1.67B | 1.81B | 2.62B | 3.29B | 335M | 84M | 6.92B | 91M | 921M | 3.66B | 3.69B | 427M | 444M | 30M | 38M | 37M | 28M | 31M | 83M | 62M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 67.16B | 67.1B | 60B | 60.68B | 57.43B | 55.57B | 54.08B | 59.29B | 58.77B | 58.55B | 52.9B | 54.52B | 71.12B | 78.28B | 82.78B | 86.28B | 88.23B | 94.89B | 88.67B | 88.3B | 72.8B | 19.33B | 9.53B | 4.08B | 3.9B | 3.87B | 3.97B | 3.81B | 3.63B | 3.43B |
| Property, Plant & Equipment | 41.4B | 41.04B | 33.31B | 33.66B | 30.17B | 30.07B | 30.62B | 36.23B | 35.64B | 36.97B | 34.83B | 35.78B | 46.59B | 51.36B | 53.83B | 54.25B | 54.34B | 60.38B | 60.76B | 61.99B | 54.7B | 15.54B | 7.56B | 3.09B | 3.04B | 3.11B | 3.3B | 3.33B | 3.21B | 3.2B |
| Fixed Asset Turnover | 1.53x | 1.49x | 1.87x | 2.03x | 2.65x | 2.55x | 1.74x | 1.95x | 2.13x | 1.86x | 1.63x | 1.78x | 1.70x | 1.55x | 1.56x | 1.73x | 1.44x | 1.08x | 2.06x | 1.70x | 1.08x | 1.81x | 2.94x | 1.76x | 1.61x | 1.44x | 1.55x | 1.40x | 1.09x | 0.68x |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 3.6B | 3.91B | 3.77B | 3.93B | 3.99B | 5.1B | 4.99B | 5.29B | 5.25B | 5.14B | 7.32B | 7.74B | 8.16B | 12.47B | 5.72B | 5.75B | 13.63B | 12.66B | 8.02B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 5.46B | 5.25B | 848M | 1.19B | 1.14B | 494M | 320M | 328M | 742M | 443M | 403M | 449M | 782M | 999M | 1.42B | 1.58B | 0 | 0 | 2.49B | 2.37B | 2.76B | 1.44B | 106M | 117M | 83M | 0 | 102M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 41.16B | 10.39B | 11.72B | 10.59B | 11.88B | 11.46B | 10.87B | 8.27B | 4.91B | 5.08B | 4.3B | 4.91B | 5.83B | 7.2B | 7.29B | 17.97B | 19.51B | 17.47B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Assets | 1.8B | 10.41B | 1.58B | 1.86B | 1.92B | 1.46B | 412M | 677M | 4.21B | 3.71B | 2.28B | 1.61B | 2.63B | 2.05B | 3.95B | -6.08B | -6.6B | -4.84B | 11.05B | 9.64B | 5.66B | 1.57B | 1B | 342M | 344M | 488M | 479M | 477M | 424M | 228M |
| Total Assets | 99.15B | 97.7B | 89.39B | 93.92B | 94.55B | 90.51B | 82.05B | 87.91B | 91.25B | 85.3B | 75.14B | 76.85B | 99.18B | 112.31B | 114.57B | 121.88B | 130.9B | 127.7B | 133.09B | 133.63B | 112.17B | 31.04B | 19.15B | 5.63B | 5.51B | 5.31B | 5.98B | 5.97B | 5.93B | 5.24B |
| Asset Turnover | 0.64x | 0.63x | 0.70x | 0.73x | 0.84x | 0.85x | 0.65x | 0.80x | 0.83x | 0.81x | 0.76x | 0.83x | 0.80x | 0.71x | 0.74x | 0.77x | 0.60x | 0.51x | 0.94x | 0.79x | 0.52x | 0.91x | 1.16x | 0.97x | 0.89x | 0.84x | 0.85x | 0.78x | 0.59x | 0.42x |
| Asset Growth % | 23.05% | 9.31% | -4.83% | -0.67% | 4.46% | 10.31% | -6.66% | -3.66% | 6.98% | 13.51% | -2.22% | -22.52% | -11.69% | -1.98% | -6% | -6.89% | 2.51% | -4.05% | -0.4% | 19.13% | 261.34% | 62.07% | 239.89% | 2.23% | 3.75% | -11.12% | 0.2% | 0.66% | 13.07% | - |
| Total Current Liabilities | 22.39B | 22.52B | 21.82B | 21.77B | 22.4B | 24.17B | 22.67B | 21.29B | 23.45B | 21.41B | 18.11B | 18.04B | 21.12B | 25.23B | 23.82B | 23.82B | 30.72B | 23.53B | 30.76B | 32.21B | 24.56B | 5.62B | 6.23B | 1.46B | 1.27B | 1.21B | 1.43B | 1.44B | 1.33B | 908M |
| Accounts Payable | 12.93B | 13.01B | 12.63B | 13.61B | 13.17B | 14.66B | 11.53B | 12.61B | 13.98B | 13.43B | 11.63B | 7.57B | 11.45B | 12.6B | 11.41B | 12.85B | 13.26B | 10.68B | 10.5B | 13.99B | 11.34B | 2.5B | 1.9B | 577M | 607M | 540M | 640M | 606M | 408M | 283M |
| Days Payables Outstanding | 105.43 | 85.63 | 81.37 | 79.45 | 72.94 | 93.03 | 86.51 | 68.76 | 76.14 | 80.51 | 84.2 | 42.36 | 57.02 | 61.14 | 49.5 | 54.82 | 68.07 | 61.94 | 36.12 | 60.11 | 85.51 | 42.52 | 47.17 | 42.61 | 50.86 | 46.13 | 52.8 | 54.59 | 52.34 | 60.51 |
| Short-Term Debt | 2.69B | 2.74B | 2.57B | 2.1B | 2.35B | 1.72B | 2.51B | 2.87B | 3.17B | 2.79B | 1.89B | 2.31B | 2.45B | 4.05B | 4.25B | 2.78B | 6.72B | 4.13B | 8.41B | 8.54B | 5.49B | 334M | 341M | 363M | 262M | 338M | 391M | 457M | 549M | 431M |
| Deferred Revenue (Current) | 0 | 0 | 88M | 109M | 67M | 63M | 0 | 0 | 58M | 69M | 39M | 56M | 59M | 52M | 161M | 218M | 8.71B | 8.71B | 1.95B | 2.01B | 2.24B | 0 | 2.34B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 6.31B | 19M | 1.26B | 257M | 1.66B | 1.63B | 6.93B | 3.87B | 4.63B | 3.34B | 2.97B | 4.99B | 3.77B | 4.42B | 2.83B | 5.95B | 3.38B | 1.48B | 3.84B | 6.68B | 5.49B | 2.31B | 2.91B | 28M | 28M | 28M | 56M | 377M | 377M | 194M |
| Current Ratio | 1.43x | 1.36x | 1.35x | 1.53x | 1.66x | 1.45x | 1.23x | 1.34x | 1.38x | 1.25x | 1.23x | 1.24x | 1.33x | 1.35x | 1.33x | 1.49x | 1.39x | 1.39x | 1.44x | 1.41x | 1.60x | 2.09x | 1.54x | 1.06x | 1.27x | 1.19x | 1.40x | 1.50x | 1.72x | 2.00x |
| Quick Ratio | 0.57x | 0.53x | 0.59x | 0.67x | 0.76x | 0.62x | 0.69x | 0.53x | 0.50x | 0.41x | 0.41x | 0.49x | 0.51x | 0.59x | 0.54x | 0.58x | 0.75x | 0.68x | 0.64x | 0.73x | 0.82x | 1.01x | 0.90x | 0.49x | 0.58x | 0.53x | 0.69x | 0.77x | 0.92x | 1.40x |
| Cash Conversion Cycle | 76.83 | 57.42 | 58 | 57.88 | 66.75 | 66.74 | 34.74 | 52.67 | 62.88 | 52.14 | 45.34 | 50.51 | 46.17 | 54.64 | 57.62 | 62.81 | 59.27 | 67.97 | 68.67 | 66.41 | 113.9 | 89.65 | 85.5 | 52.55 | 61.78 | 59.33 | 73.98 | 92.5 | 149.78 | 125.83 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 19.93B | 18.65B | 16.27B | 16.08B | 16.56B | 15B | 19.99B | 26.14B | 23.69B | 23.03B | 24.7B | 31.23B | 32.9B | 33.9B | 35.56B | 37.58B | 34.08B | 38.77B | 43.1B | 39.88B | 37.41B | 13.44B | 5.33B | 4.03B | 4.11B | 3.77B | 3.66B | 3.67B | 3.79B | 1.36B |
| Long-Term Debt | 11.73B | 10.67B | 7.96B | 7.43B | 8.24B | 5.8B | 10.02B | 10.61B | 8.96B | 9.73B | 11.32B | 16.94B | 16.64B | 17.52B | 21.51B | 25.14B | 19.29B | 20.68B | 27.25B | 23.25B | 21.64B | 7.97B | 1.64B | 1.91B | 2.02B | 2.04B | 2.12B | 2.18B | 2.4B | 1.1B |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 0 | 0 | 852M | 939M | 828M | 691M | 632M | 866M | 355M | 414M | 464M | 536M | 632M | 699M | 452M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Tax Liabilities | 6.95B | 2.29B | 2.34B | 2.43B | 2.67B | 2.37B | 1.83B | 2.33B | 2.37B | 2.68B | 2.53B | 2.5B | 3B | 3.12B | 3.23B | 3.68B | 4.01B | 5.14B | 6.39B | 7.93B | 7.27B | 1.6B | 955M | 74M | 69M | 134M | 137M | 130M | 87M | 0 |
| Other Non-Current Liabilities | 5.88B | 5.68B | 4.96B | 5.05B | 4.83B | 6.14B | 7.37B | 12.13B | 12B | 10.21B | 10.38B | 11.26B | 12.62B | 12.57B | 10.37B | 8.76B | 10.78B | 12.95B | 9.45B | 8.7B | 8.5B | 3.87B | 2.74B | 2.04B | 2.02B | 1.59B | 1.4B | 1.36B | 1.3B | 260M |
| Total Liabilities | 42.33B | 41.17B | 38.1B | 37.85B | 38.96B | 39.17B | 42.66B | 47.42B | 47.14B | 44.44B | 42.82B | 49.28B | 54.02B | 59.13B | 59.38B | 61.4B | 64.8B | 62.3B | 73.86B | 72.09B | 61.98B | 19.06B | 11.56B | 5.49B | 5.38B | 4.97B | 5.09B | 5.11B | 5.13B | 2.27B |
| Total Debt | 14.42B | 13.41B | 11.56B | 10.68B | 11.65B | 8.4B | 13.16B | 14.34B | 12.48B | 12.93B | 13.67B | 19.79B | 19.8B | 22.31B | 26.3B | 26.42B | 26.01B | 20.68B | 34.08B | 31.77B | 27.14B | 8.31B | 1.98B | 2.28B | 2.28B | 2.38B | 2.52B | 2.64B | 2.95B | 1.53B |
| Net Debt | 9.52B | 7.93B | 5.16B | 3B | 2.35B | 4.19B | 7.59B | 9.59B | 10.13B | 10.14B | 11.06B | 15.68B | 15.78B | 16.08B | 21.77B | 22.51B | 19.72B | 14.76B | 26.5B | 23.91B | 21.12B | 6.27B | -515M | 2.2B | 2.21B | 2.29B | 2.3B | 2.47B | 2.76B | 745M |
| Debt / Equity | 0.25x | 0.24x | 0.23x | 0.19x | 0.21x | 0.16x | 0.33x | 0.35x | 0.28x | 0.32x | 0.42x | 0.72x | 0.44x | 0.42x | 0.48x | 0.44x | 0.39x | 0.32x | 0.58x | 0.52x | 0.54x | 0.69x | 0.26x | 15.28x | 17.84x | 7.04x | 2.85x | 3.09x | 3.68x | 0.52x |
| Debt / EBITDA | 2.49x | 2.04x | 1.95x | 2.23x | 0.91x | 0.43x | 2.60x | 5.88x | 1.34x | 1.58x | 1.99x | 5.21x | 2.74x | 3.52x | 4.05x | 2.67x | 3.05x | 5.47x | 1.86x | 1.64x | 2.77x | 1.49x | 0.30x | 6.82x | 7.16x | 108.14x | 5.11x | 5.60x | 5.93x | 3.97x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 1.64x | 1.21x | 0.87x | 0.63x | 0.18x | 0.21x | 1.50x | 3.93x | 1.08x | 1.24x | 1.61x | 4.13x | 2.18x | 2.54x | 3.35x | 2.27x | 2.31x | 3.91x | 1.45x | 1.23x | 2.16x | 1.13x | -0.08x | 6.58x | 6.92x | 104.27x | 4.68x | 5.24x | 5.56x | 1.93x |
| Interest Coverage | 5.14x | 9.97x | 6.72x | 4.39x | 29.06x | 46.57x | 4.82x | 1.29x | 8.25x | 6.70x | 3.32x | -4.44x | 0.68x | 0.86x | -1.66x | 2.62x | 2.18x | -1.72x | 6.69x | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Total Equity | 56.82B | 56.54B | 51.29B | 56.07B | 55.59B | 51.34B | 39.4B | 40.48B | 44.11B | 40.85B | 32.33B | 27.57B | 45.16B | 53.17B | 55.2B | 60.48B | 66.1B | 65.4B | 59.23B | 61.53B | 50.19B | 11.98B | 7.59B | 149M | 128M | 338M | 884M | 854M | 801M | 2.97B |
| Equity Growth % | 20.57% | 10.24% | -8.53% | 0.86% | 8.27% | 30.32% | -2.68% | -8.22% | 7.96% | 26.39% | 17.25% | -38.95% | -15.07% | -3.67% | -8.73% | -8.51% | 1.07% | 10.41% | -3.75% | 22.6% | 318.82% | 57.91% | 4993.29% | 16.41% | -62.13% | -61.76% | 3.51% | 6.62% | -73.03% | - |
| Book Value per Share | 74.38 | 73.81 | 64.84 | 66.35 | 60.82 | 46.34 | 34.56 | 39.96 | 43.20 | 39.90 | 33.85 | 35.71 | 58.60 | 71.20 | 84.93 | 89.48 | 98.47 | 107.80 | 101.86 | 104.69 | 120.96 | 41.46 | 153.29 | 2.92 | 2.48 | 6.66 | 17.56 | 16.96 | 15.40 | 60.59 |
| Total Shareholders' Equity | 54.82B | 54.47B | 49.22B | 53.96B | 53.15B | 49.11B | 37.44B | 38.52B | 42.09B | 38.79B | 30.14B | 25.27B | 42.09B | 49.79B | 51.72B | 56.69B | 62.43B | 61.05B | 55.2B | 56.69B | 42.13B | 10.15B | 5.85B | 149M | 128M | 338M | 884M | 854M | 801M | 2.97B |
| Common Stock | 275M | 54.47B | 303M | 303M | 312M | 350M | 393M | 364M | 364M | 401M | 401M | 10.01B | 10.01B | 10.01B | 9.4B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.27B | 0 | 17M | 60M | 59M | 7M | 7M | 7M | 4M | 4M | 4M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 50.74B | 0 | 47.25B | 46.26B | 45.44B | 36.7B | 22.1B | 22.88B | 25.61B | 20.64B | 16.05B | 13.9B | 22.18B | 24.04B | 25.63B | 30.53B | 31.65B | 29.74B | 30.4B | 23.55B | 14.97B | 7.89B | 4.74B | 207M | 141M | 92M | 401M | 320M | 253M | 2.14B |
| Treasury Stock | -841M | 0 | -2.12B | -849M | -1.9B | -2.19B | -538M | -602M | -569M | -362M | -371M | -377M | -399M | -414M | -414M | -419M | -427M | -2.82B | -5.8B | -1.55B | -84M | -111M | -123M | -110M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | -20.61B | 0 | -23.41B | -18.94B | -19.87B | -18.07B | -19.76B | -18.95B | -18.21B | -16.73B | -20.77B | -20.36B | -11.8B | -6.58B | -2.63B | -26.24B | -24.53B | -23.52B | 751M | 5.11B | 1.65B | -146M | 619M | -541M | -504M | -241M | 0 | 50M | 64M | 0 |
| Minority Interest | 2B | 2.07B | 2.06B | 2.11B | 2.44B | 2.24B | 1.96B | 1.96B | 2.02B | 2.07B | 2.19B | 2.3B | 3.07B | 3.38B | 3.47B | 3.79B | 3.67B | 4.35B | 4.03B | 4.85B | 8.06B | 1.83B | 1.74B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying MT stock.
As of 2025, ArcelorMittal S.A. (MT) had total assets of $97.70B including $30.61B in current assets.
ArcelorMittal S.A. (MT) carries total debt of $13.41B, offset by $5.48B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
ArcelorMittal S.A. (MT) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $54.47B ($73.81 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
ArcelorMittal S.A. (MT) reported a current ratio of 1.36x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
European energy and carbon costs
Balance Sheet Expansion Amid Cyclical Pressure
Total assets grew from $91.9B in 2024Q1 to $99.2B in 2026Q2, per reported figures, while equity rose to $54.8B, indicating continued balance sheet strengthening despite cyclical headwinds.
The increase in total assets is driven primarily by a $7.9B rise in net PPE, reflecting sustained investment in the green steel transition and maintenance of integrated assets. Equity growth of $1.2B over the same period, despite negative free cash flow in recent quarters, suggests that retained earnings and favorable currency or valuation adjustments are offsetting distribution outflows. This trajectory implies that management is prioritizing long-term asset modernization over short-term liquidity preservation, a stance that may strain cash flows if the steel cycle remains weak.
Leverage Creeps Higher but Remains Manageable
Debt-to-equity rose from 0.18 in 2024Q1 to 0.25 in 2026Q2, per financial statements, with total debt increasing by $4.2B, yet leverage remains conservative relative to peers like Cleveland-Cliffs.
The increase in total debt to $14.4B, while cash remains at $4.9B, suggests that the company is funding part of its capex program through debt rather than solely from operating cash flow. However, the D/E ratio of 0.25 is still low, indicating ample headroom for additional borrowing if needed. The composition of debt is not disclosed in the provided data, but the modest leverage suggests that refinancing risk is limited, especially given the company's investment-grade profile. Investors should monitor whether this debt increase is a temporary cyclical response or a structural shift toward higher leverage.
Asset Base Shifts Toward Heavy Industrial Footprint
Net PPE expanded from $33.5B in 2024Q1 to $41.4B in 2026Q2, per reported data, while goodwill rose from $5.0B to $5.5B, indicating continued investment in fixed assets and selective acquisitions.
The significant increase in PPE, up 23.6% over the period, underscores the capital-intensive nature of integrated steelmaking and the company's commitment to modernizing its blast furnaces and transitioning to greener production methods. Goodwill growth of $0.5B suggests minor M&A activity, but the overall asset mix remains heavily weighted toward tangible assets, which may provide collateral value but also exposes the company to impairment risk if steel prices remain depressed. The rising PPE also implies higher depreciation charges ahead, which could pressure future margins if utilization rates do not improve.
Equity Quality Supported by Retained Earnings
Retained earnings reached $50.7B in 2026Q2, up from $47.4B in 2024Q2, per reported figures, while total equity grew to $54.8B, indicating that internal capital generation remains the primary driver of equity growth.
The steady accumulation of retained earnings, despite negative free cash flow in recent quarters, suggests that the company is generating sufficient net income to support its dividend and buyback programs without eroding its equity base. However, the lack of disclosed retained earnings in several quarters (shown as $0) may indicate data gaps, but the overall trend points to a healthy equity cushion. The company's commitment to shareholder returns, as evidenced by $186M in dividends and $483M in buybacks in 2026Q2, appears sustainable given the equity base, but investors should watch for potential dilution from stock-based compensation, which is not disclosed in the provided data.
Liquidity Buffer Thins as Cash Declines
Current ratio improved to 1.43 in 2026Q2 from 1.35 in 2024Q4, per financial statements, but cash fell from $6.4B to $4.9B, suggesting a tighter liquidity cushion against operational shocks.
While the current ratio remains above 1, indicating that current assets cover current liabilities, the decline in cash by $1.5B over the period, combined with negative free cash flow in 2026Q1 and Q2, suggests that the company is drawing down its cash reserves to fund capex and shareholder returns. The liquidity position appears adequate for near-term obligations, but the lack of a significant cash buffer may limit flexibility if the steel downturn deepens or if working capital needs spike. The company's ability to access capital markets, given its low leverage, provides an additional layer of liquidity, but this is not guaranteed in a stressed environment.
Hidden Liabilities May Distort Balance Sheet Strength
The reported D/E of 0.25 may understate true leverage, as per financial statements, because it likely excludes environmental remediation and pension obligations, which could be substantial for legacy European operations.
The balance sheet appears clean on the surface, but the company's integrated steelmaking heritage in Europe and North America suggests potential off-balance-sheet liabilities, such as environmental cleanup costs and defined benefit pension plans, which are not disclosed in the provided data. These obligations could represent significant future cash outflows and may not be fully captured in the reported debt figures. Additionally, the capitalization of stripping costs in the mining segment could defer expenses, inflating reported earnings and equity. Investors should scrutinize the footnotes for these items to assess the true economic leverage and solvency of the company.