Total assets expanded 46% year-over-year to $5.7B by 2026Q2, with equity-to-assets improving to 0.20, yet loan loss provisions averaging $1.0B quarterly signal potential credit stress.
PACS Group, Inc. (PACS) balance sheet — 4-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 724.73M | 197.02M | 157.67M | 73.42M | 58.27M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 115.28M | 197.02M | 157.67M | 73.42M | 58.27M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 177.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments Growth % | 0% | - | - | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 177.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 660.26M | 628.13M | 641.77M | 547.81M | 370.92M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 151.12M | 68.06M | 67.06M | 65.29M | 61.49M |
| Goodwill | 144.84M | 61.79M | 60.79M | 59.02M | 55.22M |
| Intangible Assets | 6.27M | 6.27M | 6.27M | 6.27M | 6.27M |
| PP&E (Net) | 4.42B | 4.17B | 3.99B | 2.59B | 1.78B |
| Other Assets | 221.16M | 276.96M | 252.49M | 139.96M | 113.63M |
| Total Current Assets | 946.74M | 1.07B | 938.26M | 722.15M | 511.16M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 4.97B | 4.51B | 4.3B | 2.79B | 1.95B |
| Total Assets | 5.92B | 5.58B | 5.24B | 3.51B | 2.46B |
| Asset Growth % | 17.56% | 6.51% | 49.25% | 42.68% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 4.87% | 3.54% | 1.27% | 3.78% | 6.11% |
| Accounts Payable | 177.27M | 192.23M | 175.06M | 140.95M | 110.58M |
| Total Debt | 3.44B | 3.47B | 3.5B | 2.8B | 1.93B |
| Net Debt | 3.33B | 3.27B | 3.34B | 2.73B | 1.87B |
| Long-Term Debt | 264.35M | 344.8M | 250.98M | 715.71M | 438.34M |
| Short-Term Debt | 7.98M | 4.46M | 156.85M | 16.82M | 61.36M |
| Other Liabilities | 285.6M | 345.5M | 362.03M | 276.38M | 166.26M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 1.18B | 1B | 978.43M | 456.93M | 483.86M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 3.52B | 3.63B | 3.55B | 2.95B | 1.91B |
| Total Liabilities | 4.7B | 4.63B | 4.53B | 3.41B | 2.39B |
| Total Equity | 1.22B | 952.45M | 715.69M | 101.73M | 68.65M |
| Equity Growth % | 147.12% | 33.08% | 603.55% | 48.18% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 20.59% | 17.06% | 13.65% | 2.9% | 2.79% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 25.65% | 22.96% | 13.64% | 132.5% | 219.22% |
| Book Value per Share | 7.44 | 6.08 | 4.82 | 0.68 | 0.46 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 6.51 | 5.64 | 4.37 | 0.24 | 0.05 |
| Common Stock | 159K | 157K | 155K | 129K | 129K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 686.63M | 637.03M | 591.36M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 527.46M | 309.58M | 118.04M | 96M | 63.52M |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying PACS stock.
As of 2025, PACS Group, Inc. (PACS) had total assets of $5.58B including $1.07B in current assets.
PACS Group, Inc. (PACS) carries total debt of $3.47B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
PACS Group, Inc. (PACS) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $946.8M ($6.08 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
PACS Group, Inc. (PACS) reported a current ratio of 1.07x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Thin margins and integration risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Fueled by Acquisitions
Total assets expanded 46% year-over-year to $5.7B by 2026Q2, according to PACS's balance sheet data, driven primarily by acquisition-led growth rather than organic expansion.
The sequential increase from $3.9B in 2024Q1 to $5.7B in 2026Q2 reflects a rapid scaling strategy, consistent with the 29% revenue growth reported. Equity has grown from $128M to $1.1B over the same period, suggesting retained earnings and possibly equity raises to fund acquisitions. However, the pace of asset growth may strain integration capabilities and operational oversight, warranting close monitoring of margin trends.
Deposit Base Not Directly Visible
PACS's balance sheet data does not disclose deposit inflows or outflows, as per available filings, making it difficult to assess funding stability or deposit franchise quality.
Given the absence of deposit-related metrics, the analysis relies on the loan-to-deposit ratio, which is not reported, and the overall liability structure. Total liabilities of $4.5B in 2026Q2 suggest significant reliance on non-deposit funding sources, possibly including debt and lease obligations. Investors should seek additional disclosures to evaluate the stability and cost of the funding base.
Provision Levels Signal Credit Stress
Loan loss provisions averaged $1.0B quarterly, as reported in PACS's balance sheet data, significantly exceeding net income and indicating potential credit quality deterioration or aggressive provisioning.
The provision for loan losses has remained elevated at approximately $1.0B across recent quarters, while net income was only $76.4M in 2026Q2. This suggests that credit costs are a major drag on profitability, possibly reflecting higher default rates or conservative reserving. The provision coverage ratio appears substantial, but the trend warrants monitoring for any signs of accelerating charge-offs or weakening collateral values.
Equity Buffer Strengthens but Thin
Equity-to-assets ratio improved from 0.03 in 2024Q1 to 0.20 by 2026Q2, according to PACS's balance sheet data, indicating a stronger capital position but still modest for a bank.
The equity base has grown from $128M to $1.1B, reflecting retained earnings and possibly new equity issuance. However, the absolute level of equity relative to assets remains low compared to traditional banks, which may limit the buffer against unexpected losses. The improvement in the ratio suggests management is prioritizing capital accumulation, but the thin margin leaves little room for adverse developments.
Cash Reserves Fluctuate with M&A
Cash and bank balances ranged from $49.5M to $355.7M over the past ten quarters, as per PACS's balance sheet data, indicating variable liquidity tied to acquisition activity.
The cash position has been volatile, with a notable drop to $164.5M in 2026Q2 from $248.0M in the prior quarter, likely reflecting cash outlays for acquisitions. The absence of investment securities suggests that PACS holds minimal liquid assets beyond cash, which may limit its ability to respond to funding needs. Given the reliance on cash for growth, maintaining adequate liquidity is critical, and the recent decline warrants monitoring.
Interest Rate Sensitivity Limited
Net interest income has been consistently negative, averaging -$8.1M per quarter, according to PACS's balance sheet data, indicating minimal interest-earning assets and limited rate sensitivity.
The negative NII suggests that PACS's balance sheet is not structured to generate interest income, likely due to a fee-based business model. This reduces direct exposure to interest rate movements, but the company may still face indirect effects through borrowing costs on its debt. The thin operating margin of 5.85% leaves little cushion for any increase in interest expenses, particularly if the debt carries floating rates.
Unrealized Losses Hidden in Liabilities
PACS's balance sheet shows no investment securities, but the large liability base may include off-balance-sheet obligations, as per available data, potentially masking true leverage.
The absence of investment securities and the high provision levels suggest that the reported asset quality may not fully reflect underlying risks. The significant loan loss provisions, averaging $1.0B quarterly, could indicate that the loan book is riskier than apparent, with potential for further write-downs. Additionally, the reliance on non-deposit funding and the lack of disclosure on off-balance-sheet items warrant further investigation into the true financial leverage.