Total assets contracted from $5.0B in 2024Q1 to $2.0B in 2026Q2 while equity recovered to $142.2M from deeply negative levels, leaving a thin 0.10 equity-to-assets ratio and no disclosed deposit base or regulatory capital ratios.
BRC Group Holdings, Inc. (RILY) balance sheet — 19-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 700.61M | 226.6M | 154.88M | 222.69M | 268.62M | 278.93M | 103.6M | 104.27M | 179.44M | 132.82M | 112.11M | 30.01M | 21.6M | 18.87M | 18.72M | 15.03M | 20.08M | 37.99M | 16.96M | 1.15M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 144.07M | 226.6M | 154.88M | 222.69M | 268.62M | 278.93M | 103.6M | 104.27M | 179.44M | 132.82M | 112.11M | 30.01M | 21.6M | 18.87M | 18.72M | 15.03M | 20.08M | 37.99M | 16.96M | 1.15M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 273.58M | 145.36M | 16.58M | 25.54M | 17.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 0 | 652.21M | 410.83M | 3.68B | 3.51B | 3.66B | 1.6B | 1.22B | 1.48B | 1.1B | 33.16M | 51.09M | 35.91M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments Growth % | 24.27% | 58.75% | -88.84% | 4.79% | -4.05% | 129.22% | 30.69% | -17.31% | 34.68% | 3210.84% | -35.09% | 42.26% | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 1.64B | 652.21M | 410.83M | 3.68B | 3.51B | 3.66B | 1.6B | 1.22B | 1.2B | 952.45M | 16.58M | 25.54M | 17.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 55.47M | 88.38M | 101.04M | 149.11M | 49.67M | 37.69M | 42.91M | 38.48M | 18.99M | 16.93M | 9.04M | 8.68M | 8.13M | 15.98M | 7.41M | 3.09M | 2.63M | 4.7M | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 487.29M | 510.98M | 570.02M | 664.88M | 886.69M | 458.22M | 417.79M | 444.22M | 314.73M | 155.72M | 90.07M | 39.3M | 30.36M | 5.83M | 5.83M | 5.83M | 5.91M | 6.07M | 6.23M | 0 |
| Goodwill | 392.69M | 392.69M | 423.14M | 466.64M | 512.6M | 250.57M | 227.05M | 223.7M | 223.37M | 98.77M | 48.9M | 34.53M | 27.56M | 5.69M | 5.69M | 5.69M | 5.69M | 5.69M | 5.69M | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 94.6M | 118.29M | 146.88M | 198.25M | 374.1M | 207.65M | 190.75M | 220.53M | 91.36M | 56.95M | 41.17M | 4.77M | 2.8M | 140K | 140K | 140K | 221K | 382K | 544K | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 98.29M | 90.62M | 72.72M | 112.37M | 115.73M | 69.84M | 60.48M | 60.54M | 15.52M | 11.98M | 5.79M | 592K | 776K | 1.09M | 970K | 916K | 1.37M | 1.41M | 1.09M | 0 |
| Other Assets | 0 | -652.21M | 16.4M | 47.49M | 45.12M | 7.54M | 8.91M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 588K | 732K | 1.33M | 343K | 664K | 1.14M | 1.25M | 488K | 402.95M |
| Total Current Assets | 203.13M | 282.07M | 699.9M | 1.54B | 1.55B | 1.65B | 573.72M | 559.35M | 380.14M | 237.53M | 143.57M | 47.41M | 63.57M | 56.69M | 63.96M | 58.45M | 52.48M | 66.7M | 48.02M | 5.24M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 586.37M | 602.36M | 1.08B | 4.54B | 4.57B | 4.2B | 2.09B | 1.76B | 1.58B | 1.15B | 121.05M | 85.01M | 75.42M | 16.98M | 16.63M | 17.91M | 19.79M | 11.97M | 7.81M | 402.95M |
| Total Assets | 1.57B | 1.71B | 1.78B | 6.08B | 6.11B | 5.85B | 2.66B | 2.32B | 1.96B | 1.39B | 264.62M | 132.42M | 138.99M | 73.68M | 80.58M | 76.36M | 72.27M | 78.67M | 55.83M | 408.19M |
| Asset Growth % | 39.83% | -4.3% | -70.67% | -0.5% | 4.43% | 119.77% | 14.86% | 18.41% | 41.16% | 424.12% | 99.83% | -4.73% | 88.65% | -8.57% | 5.53% | 5.65% | -8.13% | 40.91% | -86.32% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 4.49% | 17.62% | -19.44% | -1.64% | -2.67% | 10.45% | 8.24% | 3.82% | 0.93% | 1.4% | 10.84% | 8.7% | -5.46% | 1.37% | 4.49% | 0.81% | -14.63% | 25.21% | 0.11% | 0.91% |
| Accounts Payable | 34.93M | 41.46M | 52.56M | 43.99M | 81.38M | 6.33M | 2.72M | 4.48M | 5.65M | 2.65M | 2.7M | 1.12M | 1.09M | 11.58M | 16.89M | 13.72M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 0 | 1.47B | 1.84B | 2.45B | 2.55B | 2.1B | 1.06B | 866.93M | 540.47M | 205.86M | 27.7M | 544K | 25.13M | 63.38M | 64.15M | 67.47M | 65.98M | 67.42M | 15.66M | 0 |
| Net Debt | -144.07M | 1.24B | 1.69B | 2.23B | 2.28B | 1.82B | 957.46M | 762.67M | 361.03M | 73.04M | -84.41M | -29.47M | 3.53M | 44.52M | 45.43M | 52.44M | 45.9M | 29.43M | -1.31M | -1.15M |
| Long-Term Debt | 0 | 1.42B | 1.76B | 2.31B | 2.32B | 1.95B | 1B | 805.42M | 540.47M | 205.86M | 27.7M | 272K | 0 | 48.76M | 50.48M | 52.21M | 52.17M | 44.49M | 3.98M | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 6.64M | 16.33M | 43.8M | 127.68M | 80M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 272K | 18.56M | 14.62M | 13.66M | 15.22M | 13.74M | 22.83M | 11.28M | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 1.54B | 142.59M | 104.72M | 2.96B | 2.44B | 2.17B | 798.34M | 856.93M | 1.16B | 915.19M | 7.73M | 22.83M | 0 | 2.82M | 2.86M | 3.41M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 120.88M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 79.96M | 222.27M | 309.5M | 350.5M | 543.11M | 517.75M | 230.13M | 204.06M | 185.8M | 79.05M | 80.42M | 18.24M | 31.67M | 26.25M | 31.42M | 28.99M | 28.97M | 35.11M | 37.11M | 2.27M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 1.54B | 1.6B | 1.93B | 5.37B | 4.88B | 4.28B | 1.89B | 1.72B | 1.51B | 1.04B | 35.43M | 4.86M | 3.67M | 51.58M | 53.34M | 55.63M | 52.21M | 44.56M | 4.22M | 120.88M |
| Total Liabilities | 1.62B | 1.83B | 2.24B | 5.72B | 5.43B | 4.8B | 2.12B | 1.93B | 1.7B | 1.12B | 114.23M | 23.1M | 41.91M | 77.83M | 84.76M | 84.61M | 81.18M | 79.67M | 41.33M | 123.15M |
| Total Equity | -44.57M | -120.26M | -456.02M | 359.57M | 684.51M | 1.05B | 538.96M | 390.25M | 258.66M | 265.85M | 150.39M | 109.32M | 97.08M | -4.15M | -4.17M | -8.26M | -8.9M | -1M | 14.5M | 285.04M |
| Equity Growth % | 447.8% | 73.63% | -226.82% | -47.47% | -34.82% | 94.86% | 38.11% | 50.87% | -2.7% | 76.77% | 37.57% | 12.61% | 2438.69% | 0.57% | 49.43% | 7.27% | -790.3% | -106.9% | -94.91% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | -2.84% | -7.05% | -25.57% | 5.91% | 11.2% | 17.95% | 20.24% | 16.83% | 13.21% | 19.17% | 56.83% | 82.56% | 69.85% | -5.63% | -5.18% | -10.81% | -12.32% | -1.27% | 25.97% | 69.83% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 184.46% | - | - | -19.14% | -18.43% | 56.01% | 44.16% | 25.15% | 5.91% | 5.55% | 16.58% | 11.44% | -12.48% | - | - | - | - | 251.18% | 0.18% | 1.3% |
| Book Value per Share | - | -3.94 | -15.03 | 12.29 | 24.28 | 36.21 | 20.33 | 14.18 | 9.66 | 10.94 | 8.18 | 6.72 | 10.10 | -2.78 | -2.82 | -5.62 | -6.34 | -0.72 | 9.23 | 244.25 |
| Tangible BV per Share | - | -20.66 | -33.82 | -10.43 | -7.17 | 20.41 | 4.57 | -1.96 | -2.09 | 4.53 | 3.28 | 4.30 | 6.94 | -6.67 | -6.75 | -9.58 | -10.55 | -5.07 | 5.27 | 244.25 |
| Common Stock | 0 | 3K | 3K | 3K | 3K | 3K | 3K | 3K | 2K | 2K | 2K | 2K | 2K | 0 | 4K | 4K | 4K | 3K | 1K | 3.93K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 0 | 598.02M | 589.39M | 572.17M | 494.2M | 413.49M | 310.33M | 323.11M | 258.64M | 259.98M | 141.17M | 116.8M | 110.6M | 3.09M | 3.08M | 3.18M | 2.88M | -249K | 0 | 281.32M |
| Retained Earnings | 0 | -763.29M | -1.07B | -281.29M | -45.22M | 248.86M | 203.08M | 39.54M | 1.58M | 6.58M | 9.89M | -6.3M | -12.89M | -6.61M | -7.67M | -11.19M | -11.79M | -754K | 16.14M | 3.71M |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | -6.27M | -6.57M | 229K | -2.47M | -1.08M | -823K | -1.99M | -2.16M | -534K | -1.71M | -1.06M | -648K | -638K | -520K | -247K | 7K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 161K | 0 | 0 | 58K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying RILY stock.
As of 2025, BRC Group Holdings, Inc. (RILY) had total assets of $1.71B including $282.1M in current assets.
BRC Group Holdings, Inc. (RILY) carries total debt of $1.47B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
BRC Group Holdings, Inc. (RILY) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $-171.5M ($-3.94 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
BRC Group Holdings, Inc. (RILY) reported a current ratio of 1.27x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Negative equity and balance sheet shrinkage
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Shrinking Assets Mask Equity Rebuild
According to reported quarterly figures, RILY's total assets contracted from $5.0B in 2024Q1 to $2.0B in 2026Q2 while stockholders' equity moved from negative territory to $142.2M, a shift driven largely by balance sheet reduction rather than organic earnings growth.
The reduction in total assets from roughly $5.0B to $2.0B, alongside a large drop in investment securities from $3.0B to $123.6M, suggests a deliberate or forced deleveraging rather than a franchise-driven contraction. Equity turning positive in 2026 appears to coincide with a single quarter of very large reported net income, which warrants further investigation before treating the rebuild as durable. Investors should monitor whether the smaller asset base can sustain earnings without the securities book that previously drove the balance sheet.
Funding Base Lacks Deposit Anchor
Based on RILY's reported figures, the balance sheet does not disclose a deposit-based funding profile, and the loan-to-deposit ratio is unavailable, limiting any assessment of funding stability relative to a traditional bank.
The absence of reported deposit data means the funding structure cannot be characterized as a core deposit franchise, which is the defining feature analysts would expect for a depository institution. Net interest income remaining negative across all ten quarters, with NIM between -0.7% and -1.7%, suggests the company is not earning a spread on funding in the way a bank normally would. This points to a business model where balance sheet liabilities function as financing for a broader non-bank platform, and investors should monitor how that funding is sourced and priced.
Provisions Persist Without Visible Loan Book
As reported in financial statements, RILY recorded loan loss provisions of $58.7M in 2026Q2 and $60.2M in 2026Q1, levels that remain material relative to the reported asset base even though a conventional loan book is not disclosed.
Provisions in the $58M to $98M range across the period are substantial and persistent, but without disclosed loan balances, delinquency rates, or charge-off data, their source cannot be confirmed from the supplied figures. The persistence of these charges may indicate ongoing credit or receivable-related stress, though this remains an inference rather than an established conclusion. Investors should monitor whether provision levels decline as the asset base stabilizes.
Equity Cushion Thin After Deficit Years
Based on reported figures, RILY's equity-to-assets ratio stood at 0.10 in 2026Q2 after running negative from 2024Q4 through 2025Q4, leaving a thin capital cushion relative to the asset base and no disclosed regulatory capital ratios.
The move from deeply negative equity of roughly -$497M in 2024Q3 to $142.2M in 2026Q2 reflects a reversal that depends heavily on the reported 2026Q1 earnings spike, which may not recur. With no CET1, Tier 1, or leverage ratios disclosed, the capacity to absorb further losses or deploy capital cannot be verified from the data. Capital return has been curtailed, which may indicate management is prioritizing balance sheet repair.
Earnings Spike Could Reverse Equity Gains
Based on reported figures, RILY's 2026Q1 net income of $213.3M accounts for most of the recent equity rebuild, and the reversion to $20.5M in 2026Q2 suggests the restored equity position may not be structurally supported.
The equity turn to positive territory rests heavily on one reported quarter, and the EPS swing from -$14.35 in 2024Q2 to $6.98 in 2026Q1 and $0.67 in 2026Q2 challenges any argument that current earnings are durable. If the 2026Q1 gain reflects non-recurring or timing-driven items, the equity base could weaken again. Investors should monitor whether subsequent quarters sustain positive earnings without relying on similar one-time inflows.