Total assets surged to $61.0B in 2026Q2, with equity-to-assets at 0.39 and a $15.5B securities portfolio, though the negative NIM suggests potential unrealized losses in that portfolio.
Rocket Companies, Inc. (RKT) balance sheet — 8-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 14.32B | 2.7B | 1.27B | 1.11B | 722.29M | 4.05B | 7.67B | 2.15B | 1.59B |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 3.1B | 2.7B | 1.27B | 1.11B | 722.29M | 2.13B | 1.97B | 1.39B | 1.05B |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.92B | 5.7B | 752.44M | 534.11M |
| Total Investments | 15.55B | 0 | 9.52B | 6.9B | 7.5B | 21.84B | 30.48B | 14.75B | 6.57B |
| Investments Growth % | -151.19% | -100% | 37.82% | -7.91% | -65.67% | -28.35% | 106.71% | 124.59% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 28.27B | 0 | 9.52B | 6.9B | 7.5B | 19.92B | 24.78B | 13.99B | 6.03B |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10.8M | 0 | 406.05M | 0 | 245.66M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 12.61B | 12.84B | 8.86B | 7.68B | 8.21B | 6.68B | 2.91B | 2.92B | 3.23B |
| Goodwill | 10.61B | 10.61B | 1.23B | 1.24B | 1.26B | 1.3B | 47.23M | 40.26M | 46.98M |
| Intangible Assets | 2B | 2.22B | 7.63B | 6.44B | 6.95B | 5.39B | 2.86B | 2.87B | 3.18B |
| PP&E (Net) | 277M | 260M | 495.62M | 598.55M | 640.38M | 682.27M | 449.71M | 455.37M | 202.56M |
| Other Assets | 29.44B | 0 | 3.06B | 1.72B | 1.85B | 180.36M | 619.01M | 208.83M | 180.81M |
| Total Current Assets | 3.1B | 4.74B | 2.06B | 1.78B | 1.35B | 4.74B | 8.25B | 2.55B | 1.91B |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 57.87B | 13.1B | 22.45B | 17.45B | 18.73B | 28.04B | 29.28B | 17.57B | 9.64B |
| Total Assets | 60.98B | 60.69B | 24.51B | 19.23B | 20.08B | 32.77B | 37.53B | 20.08B | 11.55B |
| Asset Growth % | 417.5% | 147.59% | 27.45% | -4.23% | -38.73% | -12.68% | 86.95% | 73.78% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.88% | -0.16% | 0.13% | -0.08% | 0.18% | 0.88% | 0.69% | - | - |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 285M | 181.71M | 171.35M | 116.33M | 271.54M | 251.96M | 157.4M | 92.68M |
| Total Debt | 27.41B | 0 | 13.98B | 9.56B | 10.35B | 21.18B | 27.65B | 15.96B | 8.11B |
| Net Debt | 24.31B | -2.7B | 12.7B | 8.45B | 9.63B | 19.05B | 25.68B | 14.56B | 7.06B |
| Long-Term Debt | 27.41B | 0 | 4.76B | 4.53B | 4.85B | 9.22B | 7.05B | 5.2B | 3.87B |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 0 | 8.89B | 4.63B | 5.07B | 11.48B | 20.33B | 10.44B | 4.24B |
| Other Liabilities | 10.02B | 37.5B | 1.31B | 1.2B | 1.14B | 1.56B | 1.75B | 493.97M | 567.58M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 285M | 9.08B | 4.81B | 5.19B | 11.75B | 20.58B | 10.6B | 4.33B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 37.43B | 37.5B | 6.39B | 6.12B | 6.42B | 11.26B | 9.07B | 6.01B | 4.44B |
| Total Liabilities | 37.43B | 37.79B | 15.47B | 10.93B | 11.61B | 23.02B | 29.65B | 16.57B | 8.77B |
| Total Equity | 23.55B | 22.9B | 9.04B | 8.3B | 8.48B | 9.76B | 7.88B | 3.5B | 2.78B |
| Equity Growth % | 545.91% | 153.2% | 8.93% | -2.05% | -13.16% | 23.82% | 125.02% | 25.96% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 38.61% | 37.73% | 36.9% | 43.17% | 42.2% | 29.78% | 21% | 17.45% | 24.07% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 2.4% | -0.43% | 0.34% | -0.18% | 0.51% | 3.49% | 3.48% | - | - |
| Book Value per Share | 8.28 | 9.25 | 4.40 | 4.19 | 4.30 | 4.91 | 67.81 | 34.61 | 27.48 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 3.85 | 4.07 | 0.09 | 0.32 | 0.14 | 1.55 | 42.78 | 5.81 | -4.41 |
| Common Stock | 0 | 0 | 20K | 20K | 20K | 20K | 20K | 3.51B | 2.78B |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 22.89B | 22.77B | 389.69M | 340.53M | 276.22M | 287.56M | 282.74M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 651M | 124M | 312.83M | 284.3M | 300.39M | 378M | 207.42M | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 0 | 0 | -48K | 52K | 69K | 81K | 317K | -151K | -868K |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying RKT stock.
As of 2025, Rocket Companies, Inc. (RKT) had total assets of $60.69B including $4.74B in current assets.
Rocket Companies, Inc. (RKT) carries total debt of $0.0M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Rocket Companies, Inc. (RKT) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $22.90B ($9.25 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Rocket Companies, Inc. (RKT) reported a current ratio of 16.62x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Negative net interest income
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Base Doubles in Two Quarters
Rocket's total assets surged from $33.6B in 2025Q3 to $61.0B in 2026Q2, a near-doubling driven by a $15.5B securities portfolio and $3.1B cash, per reported balance sheet data.
The balance sheet expansion appears inorganic, likely reflecting the acquisition of Mr. Cooper Group, which closed in late 2025. This is evidenced by the jump in equity from $8.9B to $23.5B and the sharp increase in investment securities. The quality of asset growth warrants scrutiny: while securities provide liquidity, they also introduce interest rate risk, especially given the negative NIM reported in prior quarters.
Deposit Base Remains Opaque
Rocket's loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, and deposit data are unavailable, but total liabilities rose to $37.4B in 2026Q2, suggesting a significant funding base, as per financial statements.
The absence of deposit composition data limits assessment of funding stability. However, the negative NIM in prior quarters implies a cost of funds exceeding asset yields, which may indicate reliance on higher-cost wholesale funding or a lag in repricing deposits. Investors should monitor deposit beta and the mix of interest-bearing versus non-interest-bearing deposits as the balance sheet scales.
Provision Releases Mask Credit Trends
Loan loss provisions were negative in 2026Q2 (-$82M) and 2025Q3 (-$149.6M), indicating reserve releases that boosted earnings, while charge-offs were not reported, per income statement data.
The negative provisions suggest either improving credit quality or a reduction in loan balances, but without charge-off or NPL data, the true credit trajectory is unclear. The releases may also reflect a shrinking loan portfolio as Rocket pivots to a fee-based model. Given the mortgage focus, credit risk is tied to housing market conditions; the absence of detailed loan quality metrics warrants caution.
Equity Bolstered by Acquisition
Equity jumped from $8.9B in 2025Q3 to $23.5B in 2026Q2, lifting the equity-to-assets ratio to 0.39, a level suggesting a strong capital buffer, as reported in quarterly filings.
The equity increase is likely due to the Mr. Cooper acquisition, which brought in additional capital. The equity-to-assets ratio of 39% is exceptionally high for a mortgage company, indicating a fortress-like balance sheet. However, regulatory capital ratios (CET1, Tier 1) are not disclosed, so the true capital adequacy relative to risk-weighted assets remains unknown. The high equity base provides ample room for future buybacks or M&A, but investors should monitor how management deploys this capital.
Liquidity Strengthened by Securities
Cash and investment securities totaled $18.6B in 2026Q2, up from $17.8B in 2025Q3, representing 30% of total assets, indicating a robust liquidity position, per balance sheet data.
The large securities portfolio provides a ready source of liquidity, but it also exposes Rocket to mark-to-market losses if rates rise, as seen in the negative NIM. The cash position of $3.1B is modest relative to the balance sheet, but the securities can be pledged or sold. The reliance on wholesale funding, if any, is not disclosed, but the absence of deposit data suggests a potential concentration in capital markets funding, which could be a vulnerability in stress scenarios.
NIM Recovery Hinges on Rate Path
Net interest margin turned positive in 2026Q1 at 0.3% after six quarters of negative NIM, but 2026Q2 data are missing, leaving the sustainability of the recovery uncertain, as per reported figures.
The positive NIM in 2026Q1 suggests that the repricing of assets and liabilities is finally aligning, possibly due to lower funding costs or higher yields on the securities portfolio. However, the negative NIM in prior quarters indicates a structural mismatch that may persist if rates decline. The efficiency ratio improvement to 30.9% in 2026Q2 suggests operating leverage is improving, but the core banking spread remains thin. Investors should monitor deposit betas and the duration of the securities portfolio to gauge NIM stability.
Unrealized Losses Lurk in Securities
The $15.5B securities portfolio in 2026Q2 may carry unrealized losses given the negative NIM and prior rate environment, potentially pressuring future earnings, as per balance sheet data.
The sharp increase in investment securities, likely from the Mr. Cooper acquisition, raises the risk of duration mismatches. If rates have risen since purchase, the securities may be underwater, and while not realized, these losses could flow through AOCI and reduce regulatory capital. The negative NIM in prior quarters suggests the yield on assets is below funding costs, which may indicate the portfolio is not generating sufficient income to cover its cost. Investors should scrutinize the composition and duration of the securities book, as well as any hedging strategies, to assess the true economic value of the balance sheet.