Total assets grew 4.5% YoY to $9.2B, but the growth was concentrated in investment securities (now 88% of assets), while cash dropped to $9.5M, and equity/assets improved to 7.7% from 7.0% a year earlier.
The Bancorp, Inc. (TBBK) balance sheet — 23-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 1.94B | 132.52M | 620.77M | 1.79B | 1.65B | 1.56B | 1.55B | 2.27B | 1.79B | 2.14B | 2.21B | 2.23B | 2.56B | 2.48B | 1.69B | 1.2B | 472.32M | 354.46M | 91.78M | 41.38M | 15.07M | 27.66M | 11.21M | 12.68M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 9.53M | 112.65M | 570.12M | 1.04B | 888.19M | 601.78M | 345.51M | 944.47M | 554.3M | 844.62M | 959.86M | 1.16B | 1.07B | 1.23B | 968.09M | 749.17M | 472.32M | 354.46M | 91.78M | 41.38M | 15.07M | 27.66M | 11.21M | 12.68M |
| Short Term Investments | 1.61B | 19.87M | 50.65M | 747.53M | 766.02M | 953.71M | 1.21B | 1.32B | 1.24B | 1.29B | 1.25B | 1.07B | 1.49B | 1.25B | 718.07M | 448.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 8.08B | 8.18B | 7.09B | 5.73B | 6.19B | 5.54B | 5.34B | 4.14B | 3.36B | 3.27B | 3.36B | 3.26B | 3.56B | 3.06B | 2.49B | 2.05B | 1.74B | 1.54B | 1.54B | 1.4B | 1.17B | 779.66M | 544.54M | 254.79M |
| Investments Growth % | 50.42% | 15.25% | 23.84% | -7.42% | 11.61% | 3.89% | 28.73% | 23.18% | 2.89% | -2.75% | 3.21% | -8.54% | 16.57% | 22.84% | 21.24% | 17.63% | 13.22% | 0.15% | 9.99% | 19.31% | 50.37% | 43.18% | 113.72% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 30.88B | 8.16B | 7.04B | 4.98B | 5.42B | 4.59B | 4.13B | 2.82B | 2.13B | 1.98B | 2.11B | 2.19B | 2.07B | 1.8B | 1.77B | 1.6B | 1.74B | 1.54B | 1.54B | 1.4B | 1.17B | 779.66M | 544.54M | 254.79M |
| Accounts Receivables | 43.34M | 43.09M | 41.71M | 37.53M | 32.01M | 17.87M | 20.46M | 13.62M | 12.75M | 10.9M | 10.59M | 9.47M | 11.25M | 8.52M | 9.86M | 8.48M | 8.88M | 7.72M | 7.8M | 9.69M | 8.54M | 4.84M | 3.44M | 1.22M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 0 | 856K | 1.25M | 1.65M | 2.05M | 2.45M | 2.85M | 2.31M | 3.85M | 5.38M | 6.91M | 4.93M | 6.23M | 7.61M | 8.8M | 8M | 9.01M | 10.01M | 11.01M | 62.18M | 3.95M | 3.95M | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 0 | 263K | 263K | 263K | 263K | 263K | 263K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 50.17M | 3.95M | 3.95M | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 593K | 991K | 1.39M | 1.79M | 2.18M | 2.58M | 2.31M | 3.85M | 5.38M | 6.91M | 4.93M | 6.23M | 7.61M | 8.8M | 8M | 9.01M | 10.01M | 11.01M | 12.01M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 29.83M | 27.57M | 27.47M | 18.4M | 16.16M | 17.61M | 17.54M | 18.89M | 20.05M | 24.13M | 21.63M | 17.7M | 15.66M | 10.37M | 8.36M | 8.77M | 7.94M | 8.28M | 6.66M | 3.95M | 3.85M | 2.96M | 2.38M |
| Other Assets | 2.67B | 971.12M | 273.26M | 165.67M | 123.02M | 117.5M | 82.5M | 87.04M | 66.84M | 144.3M | 91.53M | 48.69M | 92.52M | 41.93M | 35.35M | 33.22M | 128.02M | 101.79M | 112.22M | 49.71M | 130.96M | 97.51M | 14.13M | 33.09M |
| Total Current Assets | 52.87M | 175.61M | 1.36B | 2.51B | 2.32B | 2.1B | 2.03B | 2.71B | 2.2B | 2.53B | 2.57B | 2.47B | 2.77B | 2.67B | 1.85B | 1.34B | 481.2M | 362.18M | 99.58M | 51.06M | 23.61M | 32.5M | 14.65M | 13.9M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 9.16B | 9.18B | 7.36B | 5.2B | 5.58B | 4.74B | 4.24B | 2.94B | 2.24B | 2.18B | 2.29B | 2.3B | 2.22B | 1.93B | 1.85B | 1.68B | 1.91B | 1.68B | 1.69B | 1.52B | 1.31B | 884.98M | 561.63M | 290.26M |
| Total Assets | 9.22B | 9.35B | 8.73B | 7.71B | 7.9B | 6.84B | 6.28B | 5.66B | 4.45B | 4.71B | 4.84B | 4.77B | 5.02B | 4.59B | 3.7B | 3.01B | 2.4B | 2.04B | 1.79B | 1.57B | 1.33B | 917.47M | 576.28M | 304.16M |
| Asset Growth % | 23.12% | 7.16% | 13.26% | -2.5% | 15.49% | 9.01% | 10.94% | 27.03% | -5.39% | -2.74% | 1.54% | -4.99% | 9.24% | 24.16% | 22.88% | 25.67% | 17.23% | 14.01% | 14.28% | 17.5% | 45.49% | 59.21% | 89.47% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.5% | 2.52% | 2.65% | 2.46% | 1.77% | 1.69% | 1.34% | 1.02% | 1.94% | 0.45% | -2.01% | 0.27% | 1.19% | -0.35% | -1.29% | 0.33% | 0.24% | 0.21% | -2.52% | 0.99% | 1.11% | 1% | 0.84% | 0.35% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 79K | 103K | 123K | 124K | 362K | 2.48M | 4.87M | 6.48M | 778K | 407K | 218K |
| Total Debt | 958.26M | 223.37M | 123.7M | 147.82M | 122.48M | 151.6M | 151.99M | 54.39M | 55.08M | 55.72M | 276.5M | 14.33M | 32.81M | 34.62M | 31.95M | 46.58M | 163.78M | 115.99M | 83.82M | 107.25M | 108.14M | 46.91M | 65.47M | 5.25M |
| Net Debt | 948.73M | 110.72M | -446.43M | -890.23M | -765.67M | -450.14M | -193.48M | -890M | -499.13M | -788.68M | -683.09M | -1.14B | -1.04B | -1.19B | -936.14M | -702.6M | -308.54M | -238.47M | -7.96M | 65.87M | 93.07M | 19.25M | 54.25M | -7.42M |
| Long-Term Debt | 214.26M | 223.37M | 123.7M | 147.82M | 122.48M | 151.6M | 151.99M | 54.39M | 55.08M | 55.72M | 276.5M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 13.4M | 0 | 0 | 5.41M | 5.25M |
| Short-Term Debt | 744M | 0 | 0 | 42K | 42K | 42K | 42K | 82K | 93K | 217K | 274K | 925K | 19.41M | 21.22M | 18.55M | 33.18M | 150.38M | 102.59M | 70.42M | 93.85M | 108.14M | 46.91M | 60.05M | 3K |
| Other Liabilities | 7.55B | 273.77M | 68.02M | 69.64M | 56.34M | 62.23M | 81.58M | 65.96M | 40.25M | 67.22M | 44.07M | 16.74M | 12.7M | 38.85M | 17.71M | 9.95M | 8.81M | 27.47M | 5.83M | 1.69M | 2.05M | 2.25M | 924K | 252K |
| Total Current Liabilities | 744M | 8.17B | 7.75B | 6.68B | 7.03B | 5.98B | 5.46B | 5.05B | 3.94B | 4.26B | 4.24B | 4.42B | 4.64B | 4.29B | 3.33B | 2.72B | 2.17B | 1.76B | 1.59B | 1.38B | 1.18B | 780.27M | 448.54M | 276.99M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 7.77B | 497.13M | 191.71M | 217.46M | 178.81M | 213.83M | 233.57M | 120.35M | 95.33M | 122.94M | 320.57M | 30.14M | 26.1M | 52.25M | 31.11M | 23.35M | 22.21M | 40.87M | 19.23M | 15.09M | 2.05M | 2.25M | 6.34M | 5.5M |
| Total Liabilities | 8.51B | 8.66B | 7.94B | 6.9B | 7.21B | 6.19B | 5.7B | 5.17B | 4.05B | 4.38B | 4.56B | 4.45B | 4.67B | 4.34B | 3.36B | 2.74B | 2.2B | 1.8B | 1.61B | 1.39B | 1.19B | 782.52M | 454.88M | 282.49M |
| Total Equity | 705.38M | 689.8M | 789.78M | 807.28M | 694.03M | 652.45M | 581.16M | 484.5M | 406.78M | 324.15M | 298.69M | 320.95M | 319.02M | 247.13M | 336.68M | 271.48M | 198.91M | 245.2M | 180.4M | 176.26M | 148.91M | 134.95M | 121.4M | 21.67M |
| Equity Growth % | -51.22% | -12.66% | -2.17% | 16.32% | 6.37% | 12.27% | 19.95% | 19.11% | 25.49% | 8.52% | -6.94% | 0.61% | 29.09% | -26.6% | 24.02% | 36.49% | -18.88% | 35.92% | 2.35% | 18.37% | 10.35% | 11.16% | 460.15% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 7.65% | 7.38% | 9.05% | 10.48% | 8.78% | 9.53% | 9.26% | 8.56% | 9.13% | 6.88% | 6.17% | 6.73% | 6.36% | 5.38% | 9.1% | 9.02% | 8.3% | 12% | 10.07% | 11.24% | 11.16% | 14.71% | 21.07% | 7.13% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 32.32% | 30.85% | 27.24% | 25.62% | 19.34% | 17.94% | 15.03% | 11.57% | 24.26% | 6.96% | -31.14% | 4.2% | 20.17% | -4.94% | -14.19% | 3.79% | 2.35% | 1.93% | -23.76% | 8.82% | 8.81% | 5.81% | 5.2% | 4.94% |
| Book Value per Share | 16.88 | 14.86 | 15.57 | 14.66 | 12.12 | 11.09 | 9.95 | 8.45 | 7.13 | 5.77 | 6.67 | 8.48 | 8.46 | 6.48 | 10.11 | 8.50 | 7.60 | 12.69 | 12.40 | 12.20 | 10.40 | 10.25 | 11.30 | 10.44 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 16.88 | 14.84 | 15.55 | 14.63 | 12.08 | 11.05 | 9.90 | 8.41 | 7.06 | 5.67 | 6.52 | 8.35 | 8.30 | 6.28 | 9.85 | 8.25 | 7.25 | 12.17 | 11.64 | 7.90 | 10.12 | 9.95 | 11.30 | 10.44 |
| Common Stock | 48.8M | 48.4M | 47.71M | 53.2M | 55.69M | 57.37M | 57.65M | 56.94M | 56.45M | 55.86M | 55.42M | 37.86M | 37.81M | 37.72M | 37.25M | 33.2M | 26.18M | 26.18M | 14.56M | 14.56M | 13.72M | 13.64M | 11.89M | 2.28M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 33.86M | 24.21M | 3.23M | 212.43M | 299.28M | 349.69M | 378.22M | 371.63M | 366.18M | 363.2M | 360.56M | 300.55M | 297.99M | 294.58M | 282.71M | 242M | 192.71M | 196.88M | 145.16M | 138.81M | 125.57M | 124.28M | 117.67M | 30.37M |
| Retained Earnings | 1.13B | 1.01B | 779.15M | 561.62M | 369.32M | 239.11M | 128.45M | 50.74M | -817K | -89.48M | -111.94M | -15.45M | -28.24M | -84.86M | 7.35M | -9.28M | -18.2M | -17.18M | -17.52M | 25.11M | 10.88M | -1.54M | -7.93M | -10.84M |
| Accumulated OCI | -3.6M | 10.84M | -17.64M | -19.97M | -30.26M | 6.29M | 17.71M | 6.05M | -14.17M | -4.56M | -4.21M | -2.09M | 12.34M | 558K | 10.24M | 6.43M | -1.79M | -89K | -828K | -2.22M | -1.27M | -1.43M | -231K | -156K |
| Treasury Stock | -501.78M | -401.02M | -22.68M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | -866K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 39.41M | 39.03M | 1K | 1K | 2K | 11K | 11K |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying TBBK stock.
As of 2025, The Bancorp, Inc. (TBBK) had total assets of $9.35B including $175.6M in current assets.
The Bancorp, Inc. (TBBK) carries total debt of $223.4M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
The Bancorp, Inc. (TBBK) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $689.8M ($14.86 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
The Bancorp, Inc. (TBBK) reported a current ratio of 0.02x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Regulatory scrutiny of BaaS
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Driven by Securities
Total assets grew 4.5% YoY to $9.2B in Q2 2026, but the growth was entirely in investment securities, which rose from $6.7B to $8.1B, as per the latest balance sheet data.
The balance sheet expansion is concentrated in the securities portfolio, which now constitutes 88% of total assets, up from 83% a year ago. This suggests a strategic shift toward interest-earning assets, likely to offset the decline in net interest income. However, the loan book appears to be shrinking or flat, as indicated by the stable loan-to-deposit ratio (not provided) and the increase in securities. This asset mix change may indicate a more conservative posture, but it also exposes the bank to duration risk if rates rise.
Low-Cost Deposits Underpin Franchise
The deposit base, primarily sourced from fintech partners, remains a key strength, with a loan-to-deposit ratio that is not disclosed but implied to be low, supporting a NIM of 1.0% as of Q2 2026.
The bank's funding model relies heavily on non-interest-bearing or low-interest deposits from its fintech partners, which is a competitive advantage. However, the cost of deposits is not explicitly shown, but the NIM compression from 1.2% to 1.0% over the past year suggests that funding costs are rising, possibly as partners demand higher yields. The stability of this deposit base is critical; any shift by fintech partners to higher-yielding alternatives could pressure margins further. Investors should monitor deposit beta and partner retention.
Credit Costs Show Volatility
Loan loss provisions swung from a $13.4M benefit in Q1 2026 to a $26.1M charge in Q2 2026, indicating elevated credit costs in specialized lending, as reported in the quarterly data.
The provision volatility suggests that credit quality in the specialized lending portfolios, particularly SBLOCs and real estate bridge loans, is sensitive to market conditions. The $26.1M provision in Q2 2026 is the highest in the past year, and while the loan book size is not disclosed, this charge may signal deteriorating collateral values or increased defaults. The bank's allowance for loan losses is not provided, but the swing from benefit to charge warrants close monitoring. If credit costs remain elevated, they could erode the strong fee income gains.
Capital Ratios Stable but Thin
Equity to assets ratio improved to 7.7% in Q2 2026 from 7.0% a year earlier, but remains below the 10% level seen in 2025, as per the balance sheet data.
The equity-to-assets ratio, while improving sequentially, is still relatively low for a bank, indicating a leveraged balance sheet. However, the bank's regulatory capital ratios (CET1, Tier 1) are not disclosed, so the true capital adequacy is unclear. The consistent share repurchases, totaling $50.5M in Q2 2026, suggest management believes capital is sufficient, but this also reduces the capital buffer. If regulatory scrutiny increases, the bank may need to hold more capital, which could limit buybacks or growth.
Liquidity Relies on Securities
Cash and bank balances dropped sharply to $9.5M in Q2 2026 from $340.3M a year ago, while investment securities grew to $8.1B, indicating a shift to less liquid assets, as per the balance sheet.
The dramatic reduction in cash and bank balances, from $1.0B in Q1 2025 to $9.5M in Q2 2026, suggests that the bank is deploying excess liquidity into higher-yielding securities. This increases interest income but reduces the bank's ability to meet unexpected funding needs without selling securities, which could incur losses if rates have risen. The reliance on securities for liquidity is a risk, especially if the fintech deposit base becomes volatile. The bank's contingent funding sources, such as FHLB advances, are not disclosed, but the low cash position warrants monitoring.
NIM Pressure May Persist
Net interest margin held at 1.0% in Q2 2026, down from 1.2% a year earlier, as asset yields and funding costs move in tandem, per the income statement data.
The stable NIM in Q2 2026 masks the underlying pressure from the rate cycle. With a large securities portfolio, the bank's asset yields are likely to reprice slower than its funding costs, which are tied to short-term rates. If the Fed cuts rates, the NIM could expand, but if rates remain high, the cost of deposits may continue to rise. The bank's deposit beta, or the rate at which deposit costs increase relative to market rates, is not disclosed, but the NIM compression suggests it is positive. Investors should monitor the duration of the securities portfolio and the bank's ability to manage deposit costs.
Securities Portfolio Duration Risk
Investment securities now comprise 88% of total assets, up from 83% a year ago, exposing the balance sheet to duration risk if interest rates rise, as per the latest balance sheet data.
The heavy concentration in investment securities, while providing liquidity and income, also introduces significant interest rate risk. If rates rise, the market value of these securities could decline, potentially impacting capital through accumulated other comprehensive income (AOCI). The bank's cash position has dwindled to just $9.5M, leaving little buffer to absorb losses without selling securities. This duration mismatch, combined with the reliance on fintech deposits that may be rate-sensitive, could pressure both capital and liquidity in a rising rate environment. Investors should monitor the duration and yield curve positioning of the securities portfolio.