Free cash flow surged to $378.4M in Q2 2026 (28.5% FCF margin), with cumulative operating cash flow of $2.08B exceeding net income of $1.87B over the last ten quarters, indicating high earnings quality.
Teradyne, Inc. (TER) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 1.06B | 674.41M | 672.18M | 585.23M | 577.92M | 1.1B | 868.93M | 578.75M | 476.88M | 626.5M | 445.8M | 410.59M | 492.06M | 267.27M | 404.53M | 273.76M | 566.8M | 121.32M | 163.13M | 128.19M | 450.09M | 14.32M | 254.83M | 34.17M | -4.25M | -78.97M | 470.86M | 367.48M | 238.62M | 13.45M | 250.82M |
| Operating CF Margin % | - | 21.14% | 23.84% | 21.87% | 18.32% | 29.66% | 27.84% | 25.22% | 22.7% | 29.32% | 25.43% | 25.04% | 29.86% | 18.72% | 24.42% | 19.16% | 36.19% | 14.81% | 14.74% | 11.63% | 33.19% | 1.37% | 18.07% | 2.53% | -0.35% | -5.48% | 15.47% | 20.52% | 16.02% | 1.06% | 21.41% |
| Operating CF Growth % | 150.84% | 0.33% | 14.86% | 1.26% | -47.38% | 26.4% | 50.14% | 21.36% | -23.88% | 40.53% | 8.58% | -16.56% | 84.1% | -33.93% | 47.77% | -51.7% | 367.21% | -25.63% | 27.26% | -71.52% | 3042.62% | -94.38% | 645.85% | 904.28% | 94.62% | -116.77% | 28.13% | 54% | 1673.87% | -94.64% | 117.09% |
| Net Income | 1.15B | 554.05M | 542.37M | 448.75M | 715.5M | 1.01B | 784.15M | 467.47M | 451.78M | 257.69M | -43.42M | 206.48M | 81.27M | 164.95M | 217.05M | 347.89M | 379.73M | -133.84M | -398.6M | 71.88M | 202.64M | -60.46M | 132.62M | -193.99M | -718.47M | -202.22M | 453.62M | 191.69M | 102.12M | 127.61M | 93.57M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 131.66M | 126.72M | 119.74M | 111.12M | 110.1M | 112.53M | 110.92M | 120.66M | 113.22M | 108.08M | 120.01M | 140.77M | 152.54M | 150.69M | 142.8M | 113.32M | 99.89M | 106.08M | 94.76M | 67.5M | 73.54M | 91.17M | 100.13M | 152.49M | 159.69M | 138.67M | 101.86M | 86.39M | 76.3M | 59.15M | 50.9M |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | -55.3M | -52.07M | -46.36M | -37.64M | -38.69M | -17.3M | -15.69M | -9.46M | 28.34M | 37.1M | -62.94M | -7.12M | -4.41M | -4.28M | 5.56M | -146.67M | -3.88M | 0 | 0 | -750K | -4.18M | -30.95M | -365K | -2.01M | 145.33M | -47.09M | -44.24M | -4.1M | -14.61M | 1.34M | -14.61M |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 114.63M | 118.23M | 32.55M | 72.64M | 63.6M | 87.32M | 58.93M | 51.79M | 47.07M | 40.53M | 391.39M | 61.16M | 210.3M | 5.65M | 79.52M | 53.22M | 39.44M | 70.6M | 428.32M | 33.78M | 5.95M | 68.31M | 46.11M | 3.69M | 171.53M | 14.87M | -11M | 4.35M | -804K | 1.38M | -260K |
| Working Capital Changes | -276.26M | -72.51M | 23.88M | -9.64M | -272.58M | -98.77M | -69.38M | -51.71M | -163.53M | 183.09M | 40.76M | 9.3M | 52.36M | -49.72M | -40.4M | -94.01M | 51.63M | 78.47M | 38.65M | -44.22M | 172.14M | -53.74M | -23.66M | 18.88M | 237.67M | -1.88M | -29.38M | 89.14M | 52.61M | -176.03M | 76.3M |
| Change in Receivables | -657.27M | -292.25M | -52.66M | 70.98M | 50.63M | -57.78M | -129.45M | -70.44M | -17.94M | -80.58M | 18.32M | -57.27M | 8.06M | -3.66M | -24.09M | 66.37M | -51.25M | -15.56M | 118.2M | -33.72M | 73.32M | -63.03M | 12.13M | -58.35M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Inventory | -12.57M | -28.42M | 8.71M | 5.33M | -80.81M | 6.5M | -8.44M | -27.41M | -29.5M | 44.96M | 34.26M | 15.56M | 51.17M | 21.17M | 17.65M | -615K | 4.62M | 63.38M | -3.07M | 45.18M | 78.47M | 70.48M | -5.48M | 56.3M | 128.28M | 158.67M | -235.32M | -2.35M | -16.99M | -131.01M | 20.58M |
| Change in Payables | 313.52M | 208.85M | -54.39M | 46.78M | -60.51M | 129.5M | 73.17M | 49.28M | 13.69M | 43.57M | -1.71M | 48.21M | -45.43M | 15.1M | -32.81M | -48.22M | 62.41M | 46.68M | -34.4M | 2.75M | 11.21M | -54.37M | -37.49M | 24.02M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Investing | -467.01M | -368.62M | -622.34M | -179.65M | 43.75M | 120.36M | -569.79M | -156.66M | 923.01M | -262.8M | -640.46M | -113.72M | -334.21M | -281.67M | -603.94M | -81.46M | -627.66M | -93.93M | -449.1M | 116.65M | 196.18M | 181.18M | -292.91M | -114.36M | -102.19M | -247.34M | -312.29M | -244.82M | -101.58M | -77.36M | -211.61M |
| Capital Expenditures | -265.02M | -224.01M | -198.09M | -159.64M | -163.25M | -132.47M | -184.98M | -134.64M | -114.38M | -105.38M | -85.27M | -89.88M | -168.98M | -106.73M | -119.08M | -86.1M | -76.04M | -41.93M | -87.2M | -103.69M | -110.42M | -113.47M | -154.56M | -30.83M | -46.43M | -198.18M | -235.19M | -119.78M | -119.46M | -106.44M | -59.49M |
| CapEx % of Revenue | 5.94% | 7.02% | 7.02% | 5.96% | 5.17% | 3.58% | 5.93% | 5.87% | 5.44% | 4.93% | 4.86% | 5.48% | 10.25% | 7.47% | 7.19% | 6.02% | 4.86% | 5.12% | 7.88% | 9.41% | 8.14% | 10.86% | 10.96% | 2.28% | 3.8% | 13.76% | 7.73% | 6.69% | 8.02% | 8.41% | 5.08% |
| Acquisitions | -165.61M | -144.38M | 90.35M | 0 | 3.41M | -12M | 149K | -79.74M | -161.55M | 0 | 0 | -282.74M | -19.42M | -15M | 0 | -537.49M | 0 | -3.74M | -530.27M | 8.79M | 84.62M | 34.01M | 0 | 2.11M | -8.39M | 26.25M | 1.89M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Other Investing | 0 | 0 | 873K | -4.54M | 0 | 0 | 546K | 2.91M | 1.13M | 5.06M | 5.05M | 1.1M | 4.18M | -307K | 0 | 39.06M | 1.09M | 1.08M | 17.64M | 10.77M | 406K | 370.49M | -8.56M | -15.83M | -29.93M | -31.68M | -63.05M | -31.38M | -44.98M | -25.7M | -15.73M |
| Cash from Financing | -589.59M | -562.25M | -251.77M | -501.91M | -892.99M | -1.01B | -158.29M | -574.35M | -903.42M | -245.19M | 237.84M | -326.42M | -206.57M | 17.27M | -35.41M | -16.31M | 42.37M | 66.1M | 46.3M | -250.49M | -418.94M | -63.95M | 18.78M | 57.12M | 40.37M | 401.48M | -97.49M | -126.83M | -26.19M | -62.88M | -19.93M |
| Debt Issued (Net) | 0 | 200M | 0 | -50.26M | -66.76M | -342.99M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 450.8M | 0 | -190.97M | -2.53M | -2.53M | -2.52M | -2.31M | 49.34M | 119.67M | 0 | -304.65M | -98.67M | -11.47M | -43.39M | -871K | 342.94M | -5.28M | -1.3M | -1.6M | -2.4M | -3.55M |
| Equity Issued (Net) | -470.04M | -670.24M | -175.34M | -383.77M | -756.52M | -599.62M | -82.95M | -485.43M | -822.53M | -188.69M | -58.01M | -280.42M | 21.29M | 17.6M | 18.48M | -13.79M | 44.68M | 15.7M | -73.38M | -250.49M | -114.29M | 34.73M | 30.25M | 100.51M | 41.24M | 58.54M | -92.21M | -125.5M | -24.6M | -60.4M | -16.38M |
| Dividends Paid | -78.44M | -76.31M | -76.42M | -67.88M | -69.71M | -65.98M | -66.48M | -61.3M | -67.32M | -55.45M | -48.62M | -50.71M | -37.42M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | -501.46M | -702.1M | -198.57M | -397.24M | -752.08M | -600M | -88.47M | -500M | -823.48M | -200.3M | -146.33M | -299.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -31.18M | 0 | 0 | -91.19M | -273.67M | -137.56M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -147.47M | -207.8M | -51.2M | -104.5M | -29.83M |
| Other Financing | -41.11M | -15.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -8.85M | -27.61M | -13.57M | -1.05M | -5.5M | 4.71M | 535K | 2.21M | -51.35M | 0 | 0 | 1.05M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -29K | 0 | -100K | 0 |
| Net Change in Cash | 10.29M | -259.6M | -204.22M | -97.2M | -267.43M | 208.08M | 140.2M | -152.83M | 496.91M | 121.96M | 43.18M | -29.55M | -47.38M | 2.72M | -234.82M | 176M | -19M | 100.03M | -242.97M | -8.27M | 567.94M | 340.7M | 0 | -23.08M | -66.07M | 75.17M | 61.08M | -4.17M | 110.85M | -126.78M | 19.29M |
| Free Cash Flow | 799.93M | 450.41M | 474.08M | 425.59M | 414.67M | 965.89M | 683.96M | 444.11M | 362.5M | 521.12M | 360.53M | 320.71M | 323.08M | 160.54M | 285.45M | 187.67M | 490.76M | 79.39M | 75.93M | 42.1M | 339.67M | -99.15M | 100.27M | 3.34M | -50.68M | -277.15M | 235.67M | 247.7M | 119.16M | -92.98M | 191.33M |
| FCF Margin % | 17.92% | 14.12% | 16.81% | 15.9% | 13.14% | 26.08% | 21.91% | 19.35% | 17.26% | 24.39% | 20.56% | 19.56% | 19.61% | 11.24% | 17.23% | 13.13% | 31.33% | 9.69% | 6.86% | 3.82% | 25.04% | -9.49% | 7.11% | 0.25% | -4.15% | -19.24% | 7.74% | 13.83% | 8% | -7.34% | 16.33% |
| FCF Growth % | 40.61% | -4.99% | 11.39% | 2.63% | -57.07% | 41.22% | 54.01% | 22.51% | -30.44% | 44.54% | 12.42% | -0.73% | 101.24% | -43.76% | 52.11% | -61.76% | 518.2% | 4.55% | 80.36% | -87.61% | 442.57% | -198.88% | 2905.7% | 106.58% | 81.71% | -217.6% | -4.86% | 107.86% | 228.16% | -148.6% | 426.46% |
| FCF per Share | 5.07 | 2.86 | 2.90 | 2.59 | 2.44 | 5.26 | 3.74 | 2.47 | 1.88 | 2.58 | 1.78 | 1.50 | 1.45 | 0.68 | 1.24 | 0.83 | 2.16 | 0.46 | 0.45 | 0.23 | 1.66 | -0.51 | 0.51 | 0.02 | -0.28 | -1.58 | 1.30 | 1.39 | 0.35 | -0.27 | 0.56 |
| FCF Conversion (FCF/Net Income) | 0.70x | 1.22x | 1.24x | 1.30x | 0.81x | 1.08x | 1.11x | 1.24x | 1.06x | 2.43x | -10.27x | 1.99x | 6.05x | 1.62x | 1.86x | 0.78x | 1.49x | -0.91x | -0.41x | 1.79x | 2.26x | -0.31x | 1.54x | -0.18x | 0.01x | 0.39x | 1.04x | 1.92x | 2.34x | 0.11x | 2.68x |
| Interest Paid | 0 | 0 | 767K | 296K | 1.5M | 4.24M | 6.43M | 6M | 6.21M | 6.45M | 446K | 301K | 4.29M | 8.59M | 8.6M | 8.64M | 8.7M | 7.11M | 1.06M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Taxes Paid | 0 | 0 | 121.43M | 140.24M | 193.25M | 172.13M | 106.58M | 81.41M | 72.81M | 53.77M | 40.42M | 35.22M | -25.89M | 38.16M | 8.08M | 36.04M | 2.09M | 5.84M | 17.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying TER stock.
Teradyne, Inc. (TER) generated $674.4M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Teradyne, Inc. (TER) generated $450.4M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Teradyne, Inc. (TER) spent $224.0M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Teradyne, Inc. (TER) returned $76.3M to shareholders via cash dividends and spent $702.1M on share repurchases. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
China export controls
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Cash Conversion Volatility Amid AI Surge
Operating cash flow exceeded net income in 2026Q2 with an OCF/NI ratio of 1.25, but dipped to 0.66 in 2026Q1, as per quarterly filings, indicating lumpy conversion tied to working capital swings.
The 2026Q2 OCF/NI ratio of 1.25 reflects strong cash generation relative to reported earnings, but the 0.66 ratio in the prior quarter highlights significant timing differences. Working capital changes swung from -$195.5M in 2026Q1 to +$53.4M in 2026Q2, suggesting that cash conversion is heavily influenced by customer acceptance timing and inventory build-ups. Investors should monitor whether the AI-driven revenue surge translates into sustained cash conversion or remains volatile.
FCF Inflection on AI Test Demand
Free cash flow surged to $378.4M in 2026Q2, a 28.5% FCF margin, up from $2.4M in 2025Q3, as reported in financial statements, reflecting a dramatic recovery driven by AI-related test demand.
The FCF trajectory shows a sharp inflection from near-zero in 2025Q3 to record levels in 2026Q2, with FCF margins expanding from 0.3% to 28.5%. This aligns with the revenue acceleration and suggests that the company is converting its AI-driven top-line growth into cash. However, the sustainability of this trajectory depends on whether the demand surge is front-loaded or structural, as management's conservative guidance implies a potential digestion period.
Capital Intensity Rising with AI Complexity
Capital expenditures rose to $90.7M in 2026Q2, representing 6.8% of revenue, up from 5.8% in 2025Q4, as per SEC filings, indicating increased investment to support AI test capacity.
CapEx as a percentage of revenue has trended upward, from 5.0% in 2026Q1 to 6.8% in 2026Q2, reflecting investments in production capacity and R&D for next-generation testers. This suggests that Teradyne is positioning for sustained AI-driven demand, but the higher capital intensity may pressure near-term FCF if revenue growth moderates. The maintenance vs. growth split is not disclosed, but the increase appears aligned with the company's strategic focus on AI and HBM testing.
Working Capital Swings Reflect Order Timing
Working capital changes swung from -$195.5M in 2026Q1 to +$53.4M in 2026Q2, as reported in quarterly results, indicating significant timing effects from customer acceptance and inventory management.
The large negative working capital change in 2026Q1 suggests a build-up of receivables or inventory ahead of the record Q2 shipments, while the positive change in Q2 indicates conversion to cash. This pattern is typical for a company with customer-acceptance-based revenue recognition, but the magnitude of the swings warrants attention. If the AI demand surge normalizes, working capital dynamics could become a source of cash drag.
Aggressive Buybacks and M&A Activity
Share repurchases totaled $68.7M in 2026Q2, down from $243.8M in 2025Q3, while acquisitions consumed $165.6M, as per cash flow statements, indicating a shift toward strategic investments.
Capital deployment has been active, with buybacks fluctuating significantly quarter-to-quarter, from $243.8M in 2025Q3 to $5.5M in 2026Q1, and acquisitions appearing in 2026Q2 ($165.6M) and 2025Q2 ($127.4M). This suggests management is balancing returning cash to shareholders with pursuing growth opportunities, likely in the robotics or test segments. The fortress balance sheet (minimal debt) provides ample flexibility for continued deployment.
Cumulative Cash Outpaces Earnings
Over the last ten quarters, cumulative operating cash flow of $2.08B exceeded cumulative net income of $1.87B, as per financial statements, indicating high earnings quality with cash conversion above 100%.
The cumulative OCF/NI ratio of approximately 1.11 suggests that Teradyne's reported earnings are well-backed by cash generation, with no significant accrual distortions. This is consistent with the company's low SBC (reported as zero) and conservative accounting. However, the quarterly volatility in conversion highlights the cyclicality of the business, and investors should monitor whether the AI-driven earnings surge maintains this cash-backed quality.
Cash Flow Statement Obscures Timing Risks
The cash flow statement shows zero stock-based compensation, as per company filings, which may understate true economic costs, while customer acceptance timing can distort quarterly cash flows.
The reported SBC of zero is unusual for a technology company and may indicate that SBC is either immaterial or not separately disclosed, but investors should verify this in the footnotes. Additionally, the revenue recognition tied to customer acceptance can cause significant timing mismatches between orders and cash collections, as seen in the working capital swings. The cash flow statement may not fully capture the potential for inventory obsolescence or the impact of export controls on future cash flows.