Equity expanded 48% to $3.7B from Q1 2024 to Q2 2026, with a conservative debt-to-equity ratio of 0.23, indicating strong capitalization and ample solvency capacity.
The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (THG) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 16.86B | 16.95B | 15.27B | 14.61B | 14B | 14.25B | 13.44B | 12.49B | 12.4B | 15.47B | 14.22B | 13.78B | 13.76B | 13.38B | 13.48B | 12.6B | 8.57B | 8.04B | 9.23B | 9.82B | 9.86B | 10.63B | 23.72B | 25.51B | 26.63B | 30.34B | 31.59B | 30.77B | 27.65B | 22.55B | 18.97B |
| Asset Growth % | 34.13% | 10.94% | 4.53% | 4.41% | -1.82% | 6.03% | 7.63% | 0.73% | -19.84% | 8.78% | 3.19% | 0.16% | 2.85% | -0.79% | 7.03% | 47.01% | 6.55% | -12.87% | -5.96% | -0.42% | -7.31% | -55.17% | -7.02% | -4.19% | -12.23% | -3.96% | 2.66% | 11.27% | 22.64% | 18.86% | 6.83% |
| Total Investment Assets | 4M | 10.38B | 9.41B | 8.91B | 8.51B | 9.15B | 8.85B | 8B | 7.29B | 6.89B | 8.45B | 7.95B | 8.25B | 7.59B | 7.48B | 6.72B | 4.97B | 4.72B | 4.27B | 4.7B | 5.77B | 5.87B | 8.21B | 8.1B | 8.68B | 10.16B | 998.9M | 691.7M | 716.6M | 709.4M | 132.4M |
| Long-Term Investments | 32.91B | 8.51B | 7.82B | 927.8M | 1.03B | 1.43B | 8.05B | 7.26B | 6.63B | 6.33B | 7.92B | 7.56B | 7.96B | 7.4B | 7.27B | 6.53B | 4.93B | 4.68B | 4.22B | 4.63B | 5.65B | 5.73B | 7.84B | 7.66B | 8.06B | 9.46B | 7.81B | 7.02B | 8.18B | 7.79B | 7.96B |
| Short-Term Investments | 1.76B | 1.87B | 1.59B | 7.99B | 7.48B | 7.72B | 7.45B | 6.69B | 6.16B | 5.75B | 7.33B | 6.98B | 7.38B | 6.97B | 6.95B | 6.28B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 6.14B | 6.95B | 5.89B | 12.12B | 11.41B | 11.38B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash & Equivalents | 266.1M | 1.12B | 435.5M | 316.1M | 305M | 230.9M | 120.6M | 215.7M | 1.02B | 376.4M | 282.6M | 338.8M | 373.3M | 486.2M | 564.8M | 820.4M | 290.4M | 316.5M | 397.7M | 275.4M | 372.7M | 701.5M | 486.5M | 380.5M | 389.8M | 350.2M | 279.2M | 442.2M | 550.3M | 215.1M | 178.5M |
| Receivables | 11.74B | 3.95B | 3.87B | 3.82B | 3.62B | 3.43B | 3.21B | 3.07B | 2.83B | 2.72B | 4.05B | 4.03B | 3.63B | 3.66B | 3.79B | 3.43B | 772M | 590.8M | 578.5M | 626.7M | 1.94B | 2.11B | 2.51B | 2.59B | 2.64B | 2.06B | 618.1M | 583.5M | 529.4M | 554.4M | 533M |
| Other Current Assets | 2.17B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -10.79B | -9.98B | -10.01B | -8.77B | -11.66B | -11.35B | -11.38B | -11.12B | -11.31B | -10.54B | -1.06B | -907.3M | -976.2M | -837.3M | -2.31B | -2.81B | -3B | -2.97B | -3.03B | -2.41B | -897.3M | -1.03B | -1.08B | -769.5M | -711.5M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 2.84B | 881.8M | 841.6M | 799.6M | 783.6M | 730.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 184.8M | 186M | 184.6M | 184.9M | 184.9M | 185.5M | 179.2M | 171.4M | 169.9M | 126M | 121.4M | 128.2M | 128.2M | 128.2M | 131.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 178.8M | 192.6M | 184.8M | 186M | 184.6M | 184.9M | 184.9M | 185.5M | 179.2M | 171.4M | 169.9M | 126M | 121.4M | 128.2M | 128.2M | 128.2M | 131.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 716.2M | 703M | 662.8M | 620.8M | 604.8M | 552M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 169.9M | 126M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 1.56B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | -983.1M | 522.9M | 548.3M | 590.6M | 577.1M | 713.4M | -8.23B | -7.44B | -6.8B | -6.5B | -8.1B | -7.75B | -8.14B | -7.59B | -7.45B | -6.72B | -5.11B | -4.86B | -4.39B | -4.76B | -5.77B | -5.85B | -7.97B | -7.79B | -8.19B | -9.46B | -7.81B | -7.02B | -8.18B | -7.79B | -7.96B |
| Total Liabilities | 13.19B | 13.37B | 12.43B | 12.15B | 11.66B | 11.11B | 10.24B | 9.57B | 9.45B | 12.47B | 11.36B | 10.94B | 10.92B | 10.78B | 10.89B | 10.11B | 6.11B | 5.68B | 7.34B | 7.52B | 7.86B | 8.68B | 21.38B | 23.29B | 24.25B | 27.64B | 28.88B | 28.25B | 24.89B | 19.71B | 16.46B |
| Total Debt | 844M | 1.22B | 784.1M | 783.2M | 782.4M | 781.6M | 780.8M | 653.4M | 777.9M | 786.9M | 786.4M | 803.1M | 903.5M | 903.9M | 849.4M | 911.1M | 605.9M | 433.9M | 531.4M | 511.9M | 508.8M | 508.8M | 508.8M | 499.5M | 199.5M | 282.8M | 256.1M | 244.5M | 420.8M | 235.1M | 240.6M |
| Net Debt | 577.9M | 95.6M | 348.6M | 467.1M | 477.4M | 550.7M | 660.2M | 437.7M | -242.8M | 410.5M | 503.8M | 464.3M | 530.2M | 417.7M | 284.6M | 90.7M | 315.5M | 117.4M | 114.5M | 236.5M | 136.1M | -192.7M | 22.3M | 119M | -190.3M | -67.4M | -23.1M | -197.7M | -129.5M | 20M | 62.1M |
| Long-Term Debt | 793.9M | 1.22B | 722.3M | 783.2M | 782.4M | 781.6M | 780.8M | 653.4M | 777.9M | 786.9M | 786.4M | 803.1M | 903.5M | 903.9M | 849.4M | 911.1M | 605.9M | 433.9M | 531.4M | 511.9M | 508.8M | 508.8M | 508.8M | 499.5M | 199.5M | 199.5M | 199.5M | 199.5M | 199.5M | 202.1M | 202.2M |
| Short-Term Debt | 50.1M | 0 | 61.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 83.3M | 56.6M | 45M | 221.3M | 33M | 38.4M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 50.1M | 11.24B | 819.6M | 6.09B | 731.7M | 55.1M | 0 | 0 | 37.3M | 344.8M | 728M | 930.1M | 695.4M | 1.01B | 466.2M | 4.52B | 34.4M | 603.2M | 3.94B | 4.02B | 928M | 1.06B | 1.15B | 959.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 45.1M | 45.2M | 37.7M | 64.3M | 70.3M | 55.1M | 48.4M | 53.4M | 37.3M | 51.5M | 251.9M | 205.2M | 226.8M | 374.7M | 466.2M | 378.9M | 34.4M | 58.5M | 61.3M | 44.9M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 3.48B | 3.44B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | -4.24B | 7.76B | -37.7M | 5.25B | -70.3M | -907.7M | -735.9M | -681.1M | 0 | 0 | -251.9M | -724.9M | -226.8M | -637.2M | -775.8M | 3.5B | -541.7M | -58.5M | 3.25B | 3.34B | -52.7M | -92M | -86.5M | 0 | -1.67B | -1.14B | -946.7M | -913.5M | -987.6M | -741.4M | -692.1M |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 12.35B | 915.3M | 10.89B | 11.36B | 10.16B | 10.33B | -878.1M | -705.2M | 8.67B | 11.69B | 9.85B | 10.13B | 9.32B | 9.88B | 0 | 8.56B | 5.57B | 4.65B | 2.88B | 6.31B | 6.42B | 7.11B | 19.72B | 21.57B | -199.5M | -199.5M | -142.9M | -199.5M | -199.5M | -215M | -202.2M |
| Total Equity | 3.67B | 3.57B | 2.84B | 2.47B | 2.33B | 3.14B | 3.2B | 2.92B | 2.95B | 3B | 2.86B | 2.84B | 2.84B | 2.59B | 2.6B | 2.48B | 2.46B | 2.36B | 1.89B | 2.3B | 2B | 1.95B | 2.34B | 2.22B | 2.37B | 2.69B | 2.71B | 2.54B | 2.76B | 2.83B | 2.51B |
| Equity Growth % | 76.2% | 25.68% | 15.26% | 5.65% | -25.79% | -1.79% | 9.81% | -1.3% | -1.43% | 4.91% | 0.46% | 0.01% | 9.62% | -0.03% | 4.48% | 0.96% | 4.32% | 24.98% | -17.91% | 15% | 2.45% | -16.59% | 5.37% | -6.41% | -11.85% | -0.66% | 6.65% | -7.92% | -2.67% | 12.97% | 7.54% |
| Shareholders Equity | 3.67B | 3.57B | 2.84B | 2.47B | 2.33B | 3.14B | 3.2B | 2.92B | 2.95B | 3B | 2.86B | 2.84B | 2.84B | 2.59B | 2.6B | 2.48B | 2.46B | 2.36B | 1.89B | 2.3B | 2B | 1.95B | 2.34B | 2.22B | 2.07B | 2.39B | 2.41B | 2.24B | 2.46B | 2.38B | 1.72B |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 300M | 300M | 300M | 300M | 300M | 452.9M | 784M |
| Retained Earnings | 4.05B | 3.74B | 3.21B | 2.91B | 2.99B | 2.98B | 2.67B | 2.41B | 2.18B | 1.98B | 1.88B | 1.8B | 1.56B | 1.35B | 1.21B | 1.24B | 1.25B | 1.14B | 949.8M | 946.9M | 712M | 589.8M | 943.4M | 833.1M | 746.2M | 1.05B | 1.07B | 882.2M | 599.9M | 407.8M | 210.1M |
| Common Stock | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 600K | 500K |
| Accumulated OCI | -255.7M | -171.4M | -456.3M | -517.2M | -701.5M | 122.2M | 372.5M | 152.6M | -116.5M | 107.6M | 62.8M | 53.9M | 206.4M | 177.6M | 325.8M | 210.4M | 136.7M | 28.8M | -384.8M | -20.4M | -39.9M | -59.5M | 3M | 16.1M | -37.4M | -13.7M | -5.2M | -75.3M | 180.5M | 217.9M | 131.6M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 21.22% | 20.66% | 16.05% | 1.47% | 4.23% | 13.32% | 11.73% | 14.48% | 13.14% | 6.36% | 5.44% | 11.66% | 10.37% | 9.67% | 2.2% | 1.48% | 6.42% | 9.29% | 0.98% | 11.78% | 8.62% | -15.16% | 5.5% | 3.78% | -12.09% | -0.11% | 7.62% | 11.16% | 7.2% | 7.83% | 7.51% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 4.5% | 4.11% | 2.85% | 0.25% | 0.82% | 3.05% | 2.77% | 3.42% | 2.81% | 1.25% | 1.11% | 2.41% | 2.08% | 1.87% | 0.43% | 0.35% | 1.86% | 2.28% | 0.22% | 2.57% | 1.66% | -1.89% | 0.51% | 0.33% | -1.07% | -0.01% | 0.64% | 1.01% | 0.8% | 1.01% | 0.99% |
| Equity / Assets | 21.78% | 21.08% | 18.6% | 16.87% | 16.68% | 22.06% | 23.82% | 23.35% | 23.83% | 19.38% | 20.09% | 20.64% | 20.67% | 19.39% | 19.25% | 19.72% | 28.71% | 29.33% | 20.45% | 23.42% | 20.28% | 18.35% | 9.86% | 8.7% | 8.91% | 8.87% | 8.58% | 8.26% | 9.98% | 12.57% | 13.22% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.23x | 0.34x | 0.28x | 0.32x | 0.34x | 0.25x | 0.24x | 0.22x | 0.26x | 0.26x | 0.28x | 0.28x | 0.32x | 0.35x | 0.33x | 0.37x | 0.25x | 0.18x | 0.28x | 0.22x | 0.25x | 0.26x | 0.22x | 0.22x | 0.08x | 0.11x | 0.09x | 0.10x | 0.15x | 0.08x | 0.10x |
| Book Value per Share | 101.17 | 100.04 | 78.07 | 68.30 | 64.65 | 86.40 | 84.05 | 71.83 | 68.71 | 69.71 | 66.15 | 63.49 | 63.34 | 57.78 | 57.29 | 54.24 | 53.14 | 46.16 | 36.50 | 43.87 | 38.30 | 36.14 | 43.57 | 41.81 | 44.84 | 51.16 | 50.14 | 45.77 | 45.60 | 51.75 | 50.06 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 76.52 | 75.34 | 54.95 | 46.15 | 42.94 | 66.32 | 79.35 | 67.42 | 64.56 | 65.23 | 61.87 | 59.34 | 59.23 | 53.67 | 53.21 | 50.19 | 49.27 | 42.80 | 29.93 | 39.06 | 35.97 | 33.76 | 41.18 | 39.40 | 42.36 | 51.16 | 50.14 | 45.77 | 45.60 | 51.75 | 50.06 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying THG stock.
As of 2025, The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (THG) had total assets of $16.95B including $6.95B in current assets.
The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (THG) carries total debt of $1.22B, offset by $3.00B in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (THG) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $3.57B ($100.04 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
The Hanover Insurance Group, Inc. (THG) reported a current ratio of 0.62x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Secondary peril catastrophe volatility
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Capital Base Expands on Strong Earnings
Total equity grew 48% from $2.5B in Q1 2024 to $3.7B in Q2 2026, driven by robust underwriting profitability, as reported in THG's balance sheet data.
The balance sheet is clearly strengthening, with equity expanding from $2.5B to $3.7B over the ten-quarter period, a 48% increase. This growth is supported by a sharp improvement in the combined ratio, which fell from 90.6% in Q1 2024 to 85.8% in Q2 2026, indicating sustained earnings generation. The trajectory suggests that the company is building capital at an accelerating pace, which may support future capital returns or strategic initiatives.
Investment Portfolio Stability Amid Rate Shifts
Total investments remained flat at $1.0B across the period, while cash holdings were not disclosed, suggesting a conservative allocation, as per THG's balance sheet data.
The invested asset base has remained static at $1.0B, which appears unusually low relative to total assets of $16.9B, implying that the majority of the portfolio may be held in other asset classes or that the data is incomplete. The lack of disclosed investment income and yield data limits a full assessment of portfolio quality, but the stable investment level suggests a cautious approach. Investors should monitor the composition of the investment portfolio, as the reported figures may not fully capture the company's fixed-income holdings and their sensitivity to interest rate movements.
Reserve Releases Bolster Underwriting Results
Claims and loss reserves rose to $962.5M in Q2 2026 from $1.2B in Q1 2024, while the loss ratio fell to 55.8%, indicating favorable reserve development, as per THG's balance sheet data.
The decline in claims and loss reserves from $1.2B to $962.5M, coupled with a loss ratio improvement from 80.0% to 55.8%, suggests that prior-year reserve releases are contributing to current earnings. This trend may indicate that the company has been conservative in its reserving, but it also raises questions about the sustainability of such releases. The low loss ratio in 2026 appears flattered by these developments, and investors should be cautious about extrapolating this level of profitability without adjusting for reserve releases.
Conservative Leverage Supports Solvency
With a debt-to-equity ratio of 0.34%, The Hanover maintains a highly conservative capital structure, as reported in its balance sheet data, providing ample capacity for capital deployment.
The exceptionally low leverage, with debt-to-equity at 0.34%, indicates a fortress-like balance sheet that prioritizes solvency and rating agency requirements. This conservative approach may suppress return on equity relative to peers, but it provides significant financial flexibility for potential buybacks or strategic acquisitions. The strong equity growth, combined with low leverage, suggests that the company is well-positioned to weather underwriting volatility while maintaining its 'A' ratings.
Liquidity Position Appears Adequate
Cash holdings were not disclosed, but total investments of $1.0B and strong operating cash flows suggest sufficient liquidity to meet claims, as per THG's balance sheet data.
The absence of cash data limits a precise liquidity assessment, but the reported investment portfolio of $1.0B, combined with robust operating cash flows (OCF/NI of 1.11), indicates that the company can meet its claims-paying obligations. The low debt levels further enhance liquidity, as there are minimal near-term debt maturities. However, the lack of explicit cash disclosure warrants monitoring, as a sudden spike in catastrophe claims could strain liquidity if cash buffers are thinner than implied.
Reserve Adequacy Under Inflation Pressure
The sharp drop in loss ratio to 55.8% may be flattered by reserve releases, while social inflation and secondary perils pose risks to reserve adequacy, as per THG's balance sheet data.
The most non-obvious risk is that the reported reserve levels may be inadequate for long-tail lines if inflation persists. The favorable reserve development observed in 2026 could reverse if loss costs escalate faster than anticipated, particularly in commercial auto and general liability. Additionally, the increasing frequency of secondary perils in the Midwest could lead to higher-than-expected claims, potentially requiring additional reserve strengthening. Investors should monitor reserve adequacy closely, as a deterioration could quickly erode the current capital buffer.