Total assets expanded 29.5% to $5.7B since 2024Q1, while debt-to-equity declined to 0.11, indicating a conservative leverage profile despite continued acquisition activity.
Terreno Realty Corporation (TRNO) balance sheet — 16-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 5.71B | 5.39B | 4.77B | 3.9B | 3.16B | 2.92B | 2.14B | 2.11B | 1.8B | 1.57B | 1.28B | 1.15B | 1.08B | 645.32M | 445.32M | 267.05M | 194.38M |
| Asset Growth % | 57.34% | 12.95% | 22.17% | 23.39% | 8.22% | 36.66% | 1.49% | 17.36% | 14.58% | 22.59% | 11.01% | 7% | 66.86% | 44.91% | 66.76% | 37.38% | - |
| Real Estate & Other Assets | 0 | 5.14B | -25.46M | 18.98M | 13.81M | 12.45M | 1.94B | 1.89B | 1.63B | 1.45B | 1.2B | 1.07B | 829.97M | -1.77M | -729K | -10.69M | -6.01M |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 4.56B | 3.52B | 3.04B | 2.63B | 0 | 0 | 1.65B | 1.47B | 1.21B | 1.1B | 855.83M | 605.45M | 415.04M | 257.52M | 134.86M |
| Investment Securities | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 26K | 30K | 281K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 51.21M | 27.93M | 24.61M | 222.34M | 75.48M | 244M | 107.84M | 128.6M | 88.97M | 42.8M | 18.48M | 30.09M | 203.88M | 9.55M | 7.99M | 5.39M | 57.25M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 51.21M | 25.02M | 18.07M | 165.4M | 26.39M | 204.4M | 107.18M | 110.08M | 31M | 35.71M | 14.21M | 22.45M | 190.6M | 6.99M | 5.93M | 3.25M | 57.25M |
| Receivables | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | 0 | 2.91M | -56.36M | 836K | 1.69M | 397K | 656K | 2.66M | 3.48M | 7.09M | 4.27M | 7.64M | 2.68M | 2.56M | 2.06M | 2.14M | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 225.18M | 223.55M | 208.47M | 147.33M | 36.77M | 38.15M | 88.86M | 88.59M | 79.27M | 76.03M | 62.58M | 55.37M | 42.92M | 32.09M | 23.02M | 14.83M | 8.28M |
| Total Liabilities | 1.28B | 1.24B | 1.11B | 990.05M | 934.59M | 866.25M | 551.64M | 591.34M | 548.71M | 540.38M | 467.18M | 419.06M | 329.73M | 206.49M | 190.04M | 108.04M | 28.88M |
| Total Debt | 473.66M | 943.34M | 823.44M | 771.56M | 770.82M | 720.67M | 459.12M | 491.57M | 462.1M | 461.68M | 415.33M | 381.48M | 304.5M | 189.31M | 177.04M | 99.31M | 17.68M |
| Net Debt | 422.45M | 918.32M | 805.37M | 606.16M | 744.42M | 516.27M | 351.94M | 381.49M | 431.09M | 425.97M | 401.12M | 359.02M | 113.9M | 182.32M | 171.11M | 96.07M | -39.58M |
| Long-Term Debt | 942.53M | 743.34M | 741.44M | 771.56M | 770.82M | 720.67M | 459.12M | 491.57M | 462.1M | 461.68M | 415.33M | 381.48M | 302.47M | 158.31M | 177.04M | 98.19M | 17.68M |
| Short-Term Borrowings | 473.66M | 200M | 82M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.85M | 1.13M | 0 |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 113.95M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 473.66M | 331.46M | 210.09M | 100.83M | 80.44M | 70.64M | 54.04M | 57.49M | 70.58M | 45.27M | 89.94M | 26.22M | 16.36M | 40.45M | 72.06M | 6.04M | 2.42M |
| Accounts Payable | 118.56M | 77.33M | 79.22M | 61.78M | 49.69M | 45.02M | 26.69M | 27.7M | 24.89M | 21.27M | 18.22M | 12.01M | 9.5M | 6.21M | 5.02M | 6.04M | 2.42M |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 548.71M | -247.96M | 467.18M | -99.02M | 0 | 0 | -1.61M | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 0 | 167.01M | 156.3M | 117.65M | 83.33M | 74.94M | 38.48M | 42.28M | -161.65M | -169.26M | -96.75M | -61.44M | 10.77M | 7.72M | -59.06M | 3.81M | 8.78M |
| Total Equity | 4.43B | 4.15B | 3.66B | 2.91B | 2.23B | 2.06B | 1.59B | 1.52B | 1.7B | 1.47B | 1.21B | 733.08M | 747.04M | 438.83M | 255.27M | 159.01M | 165.5M |
| Equity Growth % | 45.92% | 13.21% | 25.65% | 30.71% | 8.35% | 29.58% | 4.68% | -10.68% | 15.64% | 21.17% | 65.35% | -1.87% | 70.23% | 71.91% | 60.54% | -3.92% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 4.43B | 4.15B | 3.66B | 2.91B | 2.23B | 2.06B | 1.59B | 1.52B | 1.25B | 1.03B | 811.8M | 733.08M | 747.04M | 438.83M | 255.27M | 159.01M | 165.5M |
| Minority Interest | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 450.71M | 441.24M | 400.33M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Common Stock | -35.47M | 1.04M | 994K | 876K | 765K | 752K | 686K | 673K | 610K | 553K | 474K | 430K | 428K | 249K | 133K | 91K | 91K |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 4.16B | 3.89B | 3.6B | 2.85B | 2.17B | 2.07B | 1.59B | 1.51B | 1.23B | 1.02B | 766.23M | 687.45M | 700.75M | 392.59M | 214.19M | 168.04M | 170.8M |
| Retained Earnings | 304.54M | 289.12M | 95.29M | 95.58M | 88.27M | 2.8M | 5.93M | 2.62M | 14.19M | 4.8M | 811.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -5.05M | -9.12M | -5.39M |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 14.19M | 4.8M | 46M | 46M | 46M | 46M | 46M | 0 | 0 |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 7.07% | 7.93% | 4.25% | 4.29% | 6.5% | 3.45% | 3.76% | 2.84% | 3.76% | 3.73% | 1.24% | 1.31% | 1.24% | 1.22% | 1.14% | -1.62% | -2.77% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 9.21% | 10.32% | 5.61% | 5.89% | 9.24% | 4.79% | 5.14% | 3.45% | 4% | 3.96% | 1.55% | 1.97% | 1.81% | 1.91% | 1.96% | -2.3% | -3.26% |
| Debt / Assets | 8.29% | 17.51% | 17.26% | 19.76% | 24.36% | 24.64% | 21.46% | 23.31% | 25.72% | 29.45% | 32.47% | 33.11% | 28.28% | 29.34% | 39.76% | 37.19% | 9.09% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.11x | 0.23x | 0.22x | 0.26x | 0.35x | 0.35x | 0.29x | 0.32x | 0.27x | 0.31x | 0.34x | 0.52x | 0.41x | 0.43x | 0.69x | 0.62x | 0.11x |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 1.22x | 2.92x | 3.33x | 2.93x | 4.23x | 3.72x | 2.27x | 2.68x | 2.34x | 2.61x | 3.48x | 6.15x | 3.22x | 7.45x | 8.97x | 22.40x | - |
| Book Value per Share | 41.55 | 40.36 | 38.21 | 34.96 | 29.50 | 29.07 | 23.30 | 23.44 | 29.55 | 28.60 | 27.10 | 17.10 | 24.55 | 20.89 | 19.43 | 17.36 | 18.16 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying TRNO stock.
As of 2025, Terreno Realty Corporation (TRNO) had total assets of $5.39B including $27.9M in current assets.
Terreno Realty Corporation (TRNO) carries total debt of $943.3M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Terreno Realty Corporation (TRNO) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $4.15B ($40.36 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Terreno Realty Corporation (TRNO) reported a current ratio of 0.08x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
FFO volatility from dispositions
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Base Expansion Continues
TRNO's total assets grew from $4.4B in 2024Q1 to $5.7B in 2026Q2, a 29.5% increase, according to reported figures, indicating sustained acquisition-driven growth.
The sequential increase in total assets, particularly the jump from $5.0B in 2025Q2 to $5.7B in 2026Q2, suggests an active acquisition pipeline. However, the corresponding rise in total debt from $742M to $1.1B in 2026Q1 indicates that growth is partially funded by leverage, though the D/E ratio remains conservative at 0.25. This trajectory appears to be accelerating, but investors should monitor whether the pace of acquisitions can be maintained without overextending the balance sheet.
Portfolio Quality Holds Steady
Occupancy and asset quality appear stable, with NOI fluctuating between $64M and $125M over the past ten quarters, as per financial statements, suggesting consistent property performance.
The variability in NOI, particularly the spike to $124.7M in 2026Q2 from $33.7M in 2026Q1, likely reflects non-cash adjustments or one-time items rather than operational deterioration. The absence of PPE data in recent quarters may indicate a shift in reporting, but the underlying portfolio seems to be generating steady cash flows. Tenant concentration and geographic diversification are not disclosed, but the industrial focus in major coastal markets likely provides resilience.
Debt Structure Remains Conservative
TRNO's debt-to-equity ratio peaked at 0.26 in 2025Q3 but declined to 0.11 in 2026Q2, based on reported figures, indicating a deleveraging trend despite asset growth.
The sharp reduction in total debt from $1.1B in 2026Q1 to $473.7M in 2026Q2, while cash increased to $51.2M, suggests that the company may have used proceeds from asset sales or equity issuance to pay down debt. This deleveraging, combined with a low D/E ratio, implies a conservative leverage profile. However, the maturity ladder and interest rate exposure are not disclosed, so investors should monitor the mix of secured versus unsecured debt and any floating-rate exposure.
Equity Growth Driven by Retained Earnings
Equity increased from $3.4B in 2024Q1 to $4.4B in 2026Q2, a 29.4% rise, as per reported data, suggesting that retained earnings and possibly equity issuance are funding growth.
The steady increase in equity, despite quarterly fluctuations in FFO, indicates that the company is retaining a portion of its earnings to support expansion. The ROE, though low at 1.3% in 2026Q2, is typical for REITs due to high asset base and depreciation. The lack of explicit secondary issuance data makes it difficult to assess dilution, but the equity growth appears to be organic, supported by the low payout ratio implied by the cash flow analysis.
Liquidity Position Strengthens
Cash balances swung from $649.6M in 2024Q1 to $51.2M in 2026Q2, according to financial statements, but the low debt level suggests ample liquidity headroom.
The significant cash drawdown from $649.6M to $51.2M over the period likely reflects deployment into acquisitions and capital expenditures. However, with total debt at only $473.7M and a D/E ratio of 0.11, the company appears to have substantial borrowing capacity. The fixed charge coverage ratio is not provided, but the low leverage and stable NOI suggest adequate coverage. Investors should monitor the revolver availability and any covenants, though the current liquidity appears sufficient to fund near-term obligations.
Lease Expirations and Pipeline
Lease expiration data is not disclosed, but the development pipeline appears limited, with capital expenditures surging to $66.7M in 2026Q2, as per reported figures, indicating potential redevelopment activity.
The spike in capex in 2026Q2, up from $24.6M in Q1, suggests that TRNO is investing in its existing portfolio, possibly for tenant improvements or redevelopment. This could enhance future NOI, but it also pressures AFFO, as noted in the cash flow analysis. Without lease expiration schedules, forward visibility is limited, but the company's focus on infill industrial markets likely provides stable demand. Investors should monitor the delivery of any development projects and their potential impact on occupancy and rental rates.
Hidden Risks in Asset Sales
The volatility in FFO and NOI, with FFO per share swinging from $0.62 to $1.90, as per reported data, suggests that gains on dispositions may be masking underlying operational trends.
The wide swings in FFO, particularly the $1.90 in 2025Q4, likely include significant gains from property sales. While these gains boost reported FFO, they are non-recurring and may not reflect the recurring earning power of the portfolio. The prior cash flow analysis indicated that AFFO covered only 26% of dividends in 2026Q2, implying that distributions are not fully covered by recurring cash flows. This suggests that the company may be relying on asset sales or external financing to maintain dividends, which could be unsustainable if the pace of dispositions slows. Investors should scrutinize the recurring FFO ex-gains to assess the true earnings quality.