VinFast carries a structurally vulnerable balance sheet with equity of -116.7 trillion, a current ratio that has never exceeded 0.53, and debt of 49.0 trillion in 2026Q2 that swung sharply from 146.4 trillion in 2024Q4 without a clear deleveraging trend.
VinFast Auto Ltd. (VFS) balance sheet — 6-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 |
|---|
| Total Current Assets | 49.71T | 85.44T | 64.78T | 50.58T | 44.84T | 26.69T | 20.45T |
| Cash & Short-Term Investments | 13.08T | 10.4T | 4.13T | 4.1T | 4.28T | 3.03T | 828.75B |
| Cash Only | 8.42T | 7.35T | 3.31T | 4.1T | 4.27T | 3.02T | 827.74B |
| Short-Term Investments | 4.66T | 3.05T | 818.98B | 4.11B | 3.9B | 169M | 1.01B |
| Accounts Receivable | 7.42T | 25.19T | 19.41T | 566.72B | 671.07B | 599.99B | 405.99B |
| Days Sales Outstanding | 68.75 | 101.69 | 160.92 | 7.42 | 17.59 | 13.66 | 10.82 |
| Inventory | 18.7T | 34.88T | 27.91T | 30.14T | 21.61T | 6.68T | 5.35T |
| Days Inventory Outstanding | 67.75 | 98.78 | 146.99 | 264.5 | 292.37 | 96.49 | 95.83 |
| Other Current Assets | 10.51T | 1.94T | 3.8T | 10.68T | 8.98T | 9.32T | 13.52T |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 25.14T | 97.18T | 91.18T | 96.27T | 68.77T | 58.63T | 72.46T |
| Property, Plant & Equipment | 21.89T | 85.57T | 83.83T | 74.75T | 61.75T | 54.12T | 52.82T |
| Fixed Asset Turnover | 1.56x | 1.06x | 0.53x | 0.37x | 0.23x | 0.30x | 0.26x |
| Goodwill | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 272.2B | 272.2B | 235.1B |
| Intangible Assets | 637.82B | 1.21T | 1.16T | 1.29T | 1.46T | 3.16T | 4.3T |
| Long-Term Investments | 17.2T | 6.88T | 2.08T | 2.2T | 696.33B | 182.3B | 11.65T |
| Other Non-Current Assets | 458.79B | 3.53T | 4.11T | 18.12T | 3.81T | 840.54B | 3.4T |
| Total Assets | 74.85T | 182.62T | 155.97T | 146.86T | 113.61T | 85.32T | 92.91T |
| Asset Turnover | 0.71x | 0.50x | 0.28x | 0.19x | 0.12x | 0.19x | 0.15x |
| Asset Growth % | -3.97% | 17.09% | 6.2% | 29.27% | 33.15% | -8.16% | - |
| Total Current Liabilities | 93.76T | 164.76T | 171.51T | 152.04T | 66.23T | 87.31T | 20.04T |
| Accounts Payable | 17.27T | 32.63T | 20.79T | 12.15T | 16.64T | 3.19T | 2.73T |
| Days Payables Outstanding | 60.9 | 92.41 | 109.51 | 106.59 | 225.12 | 46.03 | 48.95 |
| Short-Term Debt | 31.9T | 63.49T | 94.01T | 87.24T | 15.3T | 16.12T | 7.36T |
| Deferred Revenue (Current) | 6.82T | 2.09T | 3.69T | 1.34T | 1.68T | 1.33T | 564.27B |
| Other Current Liabilities | 44.48T | 34.33T | 28.06T | 21.2T | 8.26T | 61.29T | 2.41T |
| Current Ratio | 0.53x | 0.52x | 0.38x | 0.33x | 0.68x | 0.31x | 1.02x |
| Quick Ratio | 0.33x | 0.31x | 0.22x | 0.13x | 0.35x | 0.23x | 0.75x |
| Cash Conversion Cycle | 75.6 | 108.07 | 198.4 | 165.33 | 84.84 | 64.12 | 57.71 |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 67.91T | 110.26T | 79.36T | 60.23T | 84.05T | 74.96T | 66.69T |
| Long-Term Debt | 15.87T | 59.6T | 46.82T | 32.56T | 49.17T | 57.95T | 46.35T |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 18.55T | 5.59T | 4.08T | 5.33T | 3.26T | 1.3T | 363.41B |
| Deferred Tax Liabilities | 3.91T | 1.3T | 938.64B | 1.03T | 947.98B | 51.46B | 2.16T |
| Other Non-Current Liabilities | 49.91T | 39.65T | 24.81T | 19.75T | 30.17T | 15.63T | 17.8T |
| Total Liabilities | 161.67T | 275.02T | 250.87T | 212.27T | 150.28T | 162.26T | 86.73T |
| Total Debt | 48.96T | 129.97T | 146.4T | 126.65T | 68.5T | 75.75T | 54.29T |
| Net Debt | 40.55T | 122.61T | 143.09T | 122.55T | 64.23T | 72.73T | 53.46T |
| Debt / Equity | -0.56x | - | - | - | - | - | 8.78x |
| Debt / EBITDA | -0.57x | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | -0.47x | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Interest Coverage | -5.37x | -3.34x | -3.45x | -3.43x | -6.70x | -6.70x | -4.10x |
| Total Equity | -86.82T | -92.4T | -94.9T | -65.41T | -36.67T | -76.94T | 6.18T |
| Equity Growth % | 9.37% | 2.64% | -45.09% | -78.38% | 52.34% | -1344.98% | - |
| Book Value per Share | -37110.82 | -39499.79 | -40585.37 | -28306.67 | -15791.17 | -33132.70 | 2661.29 |
| Total Shareholders' Equity | -116.73T | -173.94T | -164.71T | -142.78T | -114.11T | -76.93T | 6.15T |
| Common Stock | 9.86T | 9.87T | 9.87T | 9.85T | 871.02B | 553.89B | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | -396.36T | -367.18T | -267.79T | -184.55T | -127.19T | -77.42T | -44.36T |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accumulated OCI | 88.84B | -572.56B | -460.64B | -385.87B | -104.06B | -63.49B | 11.8T |
| Minority Interest | 29.91T | 81.54T | 69.81T | 77.37T | 77.44T | -14.68B | 29.97B |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying VFS stock.
As of 2025, VinFast Auto Ltd. (VFS) had total assets of $182.62T including $85.44T in current assets.
VinFast Auto Ltd. (VFS) carries total debt of $129.97T, offset by $10.40T in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
VinFast Auto Ltd. (VFS) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $-173936583.0M ($-39499.79 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
VinFast Auto Ltd. (VFS) reported a current ratio of 0.52x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Structural negative equity, sub-1x current ratio
Negative Equity Persists Despite Q2 Reduction
VinFast's equity deficit narrowed from -$191.3T in 2026Q1 to -$116.7T in 2026Q2, but this appears to reflect a large balance sheet reduction rather than operational recovery, as cumulative retained losses deepened to -$396.4T per reported financial statements.
The equity deficit had been steadily worsening from -$157.4T in 2024Q1 through -$191.3T in 2026Q1 before the abrupt Q2 2026 improvement, a pattern more consistent with a write-down of asset carrying values than with capital restoration. Given that revenue nearly quintupled over the same window without arresting book value erosion, the trajectory implies that scale alone has not yet shifted the fundamental capital position. Investors should treat the equity trajectory as a lagging confirmation of the structurally negative gross margins already identified in the income statement analysis.
Debt Balances Swing Sharply Without Deleveraging Trend
Total debt swung from $146.4T in 2024Q4 to $109.9T in 2025Q4, back to $68.3T in 2026Q1 and $49.0T in 2026Q2, a volatile path that coincided with the Q2 2026 asset contraction rather than with operating cash generation per disclosed balance sheet items.
The absence of a D/E ratio throughout the series is itself an artifact of the negative equity base, which means traditional leverage screens are uninformative; debt-to-assets, computable from the table, actually fell from roughly 1.0x in 2024Q4 to about 0.66x in 2026Q2, but this improvement appears driven by shrinking assets rather than debt repayment funded by operations. Because operating cash outflows cumulatively consumed 106.3T over ten quarters, the reduction in debt balances likely reflects restructuring, forgiveness, or reclassification rather than deleveraging from cash flow, and investors should treat the apparent improvement in debt ratios cautiously. Refinancing risk remains difficult to assess from the supplied data since maturity schedules and interest terms are not disclosed.
PPE Collapse Signals Potential Asset Impairment
Net property, plant, and equipment fell 75.5% from $89.2T in 2026Q1 to $21.9T in 2026Q2, while total assets contracted approximately 60% in a single quarter, suggesting a material impairment or divestiture warranting further investigation per disclosed balance sheet figures.
Such a dramatic one-quarter contraction in PPE is atypical for a manufacturer still ramping production, and the concurrent reduction in goodwill from $1.2T to $637.8B may indicate impairment of acquired intangible assets alongside the tangible write-down. If this pattern reflects deteriorating asset quality rather than a one-time reclassification, it could signal that prior capital expenditures did not generate the productive capacity originally underwritten. The timing also coincides with capex running at 19.3% of revenue in 2026Q2, raising questions about the forward efficiency of the remaining asset base.
Cash Cover Tightens Against Structural Operating Burn
The current ratio has remained below 1.0 in every quarter reported — ranging from 0.29 to 0.53 — while cash holdings of $8.4T in 2026Q2 must service an operating cash outflow that cumulatively consumed 106.3T over ten quarters per cash flow disclosures.
A sub-1.0 current ratio persisting across the entire observation window indicates short-term liabilities structurally exceed current assets, a configuration that leaves minimal buffer against demand shocks or supplier tightening. The $8.4T cash balance represents only a fraction of even one quarter's historical operating outflow, implying the company remains heavily dependent on continued external financing to meet near-term obligations. Because financing cash flows are not disclosed in the supplied dataset, the durability of that funding channel cannot be independently verified from this balance sheet alone.
Retained Losses Compound Rapidly Against Book Value
Retained losses deepened from -$205.2T in 2024Q1 to -$396.4T in 2026Q2 — an average quarterly deterioration of roughly $19T — meaning nearly $200T of book value has been eroded over the period per reported quarterly disclosures.
The relentless expansion of the retained deficit is the mechanical consequence of the persistent negative gross margins and operating losses already identified, and it means each incremental unit of revenue growth has yet to arrest the capital drain. Unlike peers such as Li Auto that maintain positive equity buffers, VinFast's structurally negative book value leaves no absorptive capacity for additional impairments or demand deterioration. This configuration elevates the significance of any future equity or debt issuance, as dilution or leverage pressure would compound an already fragile capital position.
Q2 2026 Contraction May Mask Underlying Deterioration
The apparent improvement in equity deficit, debt, and asset ratios in 2026Q2 coincides with a ~60% collapse in total assets and a 75.5% PPE reduction, meaning the quarter's better-looking ratios may reflect write-downs rather than any operational repair per reported balance sheet figures.
A short-seller-style reading would note that headline metrics — lower debt ($49.0T vs $68.3T), reduced liabilities, and a narrower equity gap — could be read as improvement, but all moved in tandem with a shrinking asset base and continued retained-loss expansion to -$396.4T, implying the ratios improved because the denominator contracted, not because the business strengthened. Combined with persistent sub-1.0 current ratios and free cash flow burn in every quarter observed, this suggests the balance sheet may be deteriorating in economic substance even as selected ratios nominally improve. Investors should monitor whether subsequent quarters confirm a genuine restatement or restructuring, or whether the pattern signals continued erosion of productive capacity.