Operating cash flow was -$12.4M in 2026Q2 against a -$9.4M net loss, and free cash flow of -$27.5M with a -43.9% margin shows that reported operating gains are not yet converting into cash, warranting further investigation of working capital and capex timing.
Aemetis, Inc. (AMTX) cash flow statement — 22-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Jan'07 | Jan'06 | Jan'05 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 15.29M | 3.26M | -32.93M | 13.82M | -22.87M | -20.65M | 2.48M | -2.03M | -5.51M | -8.69M | 371K | -786K | 20.59M | -1.68M | -16.93M | -1.25M | -3.68M | -2.36M | -8.68M | -7.09M | -13.79K | -9.14K | -10.07K |
| Operating CF Margin % | - | 1.57% | -12.3% | 7.4% | -8.91% | -9.74% | 1.5% | -1.01% | -3.21% | -5.79% | 0.26% | -0.54% | 9.92% | -0.95% | -8.96% | -0.88% | -45.28% | -25.68% | -1064.21% | - | -1.85% | - | - |
| Operating CF Growth % | -5709.4% | 109.91% | -338.18% | 160.46% | -10.75% | -932.54% | 221.93% | 63.06% | 36.63% | -2441.78% | 147.2% | -103.82% | 1323.44% | 90.06% | -1257.91% | 66.14% | -56.27% | 72.86% | -22.48% | -51279.32% | -50.97% | 9.26% | - |
| Net Income | -31.2M | -77M | -87.54M | -46.42M | -107.76M | -47.15M | -36.66M | -39.48M | -36.29M | -31.77M | -15.64M | -27.14M | 7.13M | -24.44M | -4.28M | -18.3M | -8.56M | -11.34M | -15.84M | -5.04M | -103.78K | -9.69K | -10.72K |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 10.36M | 9.58M | 8.39M | 7M | 5.58M | 5.49M | 4.94M | 4.48M | 4.72M | 5.01M | 4.8M | 4.86M | 4.81M | 4.89M | 3.04M | 1.14M | 760.05K | 800.59K | 425.03K | 69.78K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock-Based Compensation | 4.86M | 5.77M | 8.31M | 7.66M | 6.41M | 3.93M | 995K | 694K | 836K | 1.1M | 747K | 938K | 624K | 1.76M | 686.06K | 177.28K | 377.67K | 717.72K | 1.98M | 1.27T | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | -750K | 832K | 0 | -984K | 1.12M | 874K | 5.4M | 3.7M | 8.04M | 7.55M | 0 | -1.09M | -98.48K | 1.38M | 2.66M | 3.17M | -1.27T | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 26.75M | 14.6M | 22.7M | 32.25M | 66.02M | 11.69M | 9.33M | 6.92M | 7.59M | 118K | -25K | 204K | 645K | 15.65M | -25.87M | 5.26M | 283.18K | 903.07K | 1.49M | 1.27M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Working Capital Changes | 4.52M | 50.32M | 15.21M | 14.08M | 6.05M | 5.39M | 24.85M | 24.22M | 16.77M | 11.45M | 6.79M | 12.32M | -168K | 453.21K | 10.58M | 10.57M | 2.08M | 3.9M | 92.08K | 597.41K | 89.99K | 552 | 648 |
| Change in Receivables | 8.72M | 13.6M | -5.55M | -7.42M | 294K | 94K | -1.09M | -963K | 1.08M | -1.01M | -403K | 72K | 1.5M | -1.49M | 3.11M | -1.32M | -78.71K | -31.38K | 8.62M | -8.93T | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Inventory | -9.16M | 13.12M | -7.77M | -13.84M | 360K | -2.21M | 2.39M | -491K | -721K | -2.37M | 1.5M | -450K | -457K | 210.84K | -740.24K | -3.72M | -331.52K | -371.64K | -2.54M | 87.14B | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Change in Payables | -2.85M | -7.53M | -1.29M | 13.73M | 2.18M | -5.2M | 1.4M | 1M | 2.21M | 2.58M | -2.1M | 2.02M | -879K | -5.41M | 799.62K | 9.6M | 1.06M | 265.46K | -6.48M | 8.85T | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Investing | -50.43M | -25.59M | -14.15M | -23.69M | -31.31M | -22.89M | -17.31M | -8.58M | -4.07M | -1.12M | -629K | -71K | -1.97M | 224K | -16.46M | -967.96K | -672.97K | -49.52K | -2.52M | -2.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Capital Expenditures | -51.87M | -26M | -20.25M | -33.12M | -39.16M | -26.65M | -19.34M | -8.58M | -4.07M | -1.12M | -629K | -71K | -1.97M | -1.28M | -1.37M | -2.57M | -672.97K | -49.52K | -5.19M | -12.12M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| CapEx % of Revenue | 20.02% | 12.5% | 7.57% | 17.74% | 15.27% | 12.57% | 11.68% | 4.25% | 2.38% | 0.74% | 0.44% | 0.05% | 0.95% | 0.72% | 0.72% | 1.81% | 8.28% | 0.54% | 636.56% | - | - | - | - |
| Acquisitions | 411K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -16.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Investments | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - | - |
| Other Investing | 1.03M | 411K | 6.11M | 9.43M | 7.85M | 3.76M | 2.03M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.5M | 1.4M | 1.6M | 0 | 0 | 2.67M | 12.48M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash from Financing | 31.4M | 26.41M | 44.62M | 9.09M | 53.63M | 50.7M | 14.78M | 10.09M | 10.39M | 8.38M | 1.63M | 816K | -23.23M | 6.25M | 33.34M | 1.87M | 4.86M | 2.22M | 10.91M | 8.68M | 3K | 0 | 30K |
| Debt Issued (Net) | 30.42M | 7.65M | 14.27M | 18.92M | 42.61M | -56.03M | -4.29M | 4.44M | 3.43M | 8.38M | 1.63M | 1.04M | -23.06M | 5.17M | 33.34M | 1.87M | 4.86M | 1.91M | 12.87M | -1.49M | 1.49M | 0 | 0 |
| Equity Issued (Net) | 22.92M | 28.33M | 31.75M | -8.28M | 11.99M | 107.42M | 18.87M | 4.82M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.08M | 1.43K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 10.06M | 21.85M | 0 | 30K |
| Dividends Paid | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -300K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 451K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Financing | -21.94M | -9.58M | -1.41M | -1.55M | -963K | -693K | 193K | 834K | 6.96M | 0 | 0 | -222K | -167K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 315.4K | -1.97M | 110K | -23.34M | 0 | 0 |
| Net Change in Cash | -3.8M | 4.05M | -2.45M | -719K | -752K | 7.16M | -64K | -532K | 760K | -1.06M | 1.2M | -49K | -4.59M | 4.64M | 41.14K | -433.55K | 630.84K | -325.73K | -342.5K | -492.73K | -10.79K | -9.14K | 19.93K |
| Free Cash Flow | -36.58M | -22.74M | -53.18M | -19.29M | -62.02M | -47.3M | -16.86M | -10.61M | -9.58M | -9.8M | -258K | -857K | 18.63M | -2.96M | -18.3M | -3.81M | -4.36M | -2.41M | -13.87M | -19.2M | -13.79K | -9.14K | -10.07K |
| FCF Margin % | -14.12% | -10.93% | -19.87% | -10.33% | -24.18% | -22.32% | -10.18% | -5.25% | -5.59% | -6.53% | -0.18% | -0.58% | 8.97% | -1.67% | -9.68% | -2.69% | -53.55% | -26.22% | -1700.77% | - | -1.85% | - | - |
| FCF Growth % | -16.83% | 57.24% | -175.65% | 68.89% | -31.13% | -180.54% | -58.88% | -10.77% | 2.28% | -3700% | 69.89% | -104.6% | 729.51% | 83.83% | -379.7% | 12.4% | -81.03% | 82.66% | 27.77% | - | -50.97% | 9.26% | - |
| FCF per Share | -0.50 | -0.35 | -1.16 | -0.51 | -1.79 | -1.54 | -0.80 | -0.52 | -0.47 | -0.49 | -0.01 | -0.04 | 0.89 | -0.15 | -1.21 | -0.37 | -0.50 | -0.28 | -1.64 | -2.55 | -0.04 | -0.02 | -0.03 |
| FCF Conversion (FCF/Net Income) | 1.17x | -0.04x | 0.38x | -0.30x | 0.21x | 0.44x | -0.07x | 0.06x | 0.17x | 0.29x | -0.02x | 0.03x | 2.89x | 0.07x | 3.95x | 0.07x | 0.44x | 0.21x | 0.55x | 1.41x | 0.00x | 0.94x | 0.94x |
| Interest Paid | 7.1M | 13.85M | 9.22M | 9.81M | 19.52M | 5.68M | 1.32M | 2.48M | 5.59M | 3.09M | 4.89M | 478K | 6.82M | 4.52M | 2.08M | 1.02M | 0 | 0 | 534.73K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Taxes Paid | 0 | 0 | 1.81M | 20K | 10K | 7K | 8K | 8K | 6K | 6K | 6K | 6K | 6K | 6K | 4K | 3.2K | 0 | 0 | 51.83K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying AMTX stock.
Aemetis, Inc. (AMTX) generated $3.3M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Aemetis, Inc. (AMTX) reported negative free cash flow of $22.7M in 2025, indicating capital requirements exceeded cash from operations.
Aemetis, Inc. (AMTX) spent $26.0M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Persistent negative free cash flow
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Operating Cash Diverges From Reported Losses
Based on reported figures, Aemetis generated operating cash flow of $5.8M in 2025Q4 against a net loss of $5.3M, while 2026Q2 showed a $12.4M operating outflow alongside a $9.4M net loss, leaving earnings quality difficult to assess from a single period.
The operating cash flow to net income ratio swung from 1.33 in 2026Q2 to -1.08 in 2025Q4, which suggests working capital timing and non-cash items are driving most of the quarter-to-quarter variance rather than a stable underlying cash generation trend. Because net losses appear in every quarter shown, the periods where operating cash flow approximates or exceeds losses may reflect payables and receivables timing that warrants further investigation before being treated as durable. Investors should monitor whether operating cash flow turns consistently positive relative to net loss over a longer window.
Free Cash Flow Remains Persistently Negative
Based on Aemetis's reported figures, free cash flow was negative in every one of the last ten quarters, reaching -$27.5M in 2026Q2 with a free cash flow margin of -43.9%, compared with a -3.9% margin in 2025Q1.
The free cash flow margin has ranged widely, from -1.7% in 2025Q3 to -43.9% in 2026Q2, and the most recent quarter reflects both an operating outflow and elevated capital spending. This pattern suggests the business is not self-funding at current revenue levels, and the trajectory does not show a clear inflection toward sustained positive free cash flow. Investors should monitor whether capital expenditure normalizes relative to revenue.
Capital Spending Spikes Strain Cash Position
As reported in financial statements, capital expenditures rose to $16.6M in 2025Q4 and $15.1M in 2026Q2, equal to 30.9% and 24.1% of revenue respectively, compared with 4.3% of revenue in 2025Q1.
Capex intensity has been highly uneven, moving from low single digits to near one-third of revenue within several quarters, which suggests discretionary or project-driven spending rather than steady maintenance replacement. Given that depreciation and amortization ran between $2.2M and $5.1M per quarter, recent capex materially exceeds depreciation, which may indicate growth or plant-expansion investment whose returns remain unproven in the reported figures. The distinction between maintenance and growth capex is not disclosed in the supplied data and warrants further investigation.
Working Capital Swings Dominate Cash Timing
According to recent SEC filings, working capital changes ranged from a $20.0M build in 2025Q3 to a $4.3M release in 2024Q4, creating large swings that may materially distort reported operating cash flow across quarters.
The magnitude of working capital movements relative to net income suggests that a significant portion of reported operating cash flow depends on balance sheet timing rather than core operating profitability. The $20.0M build in 2025Q3 coincided with near-breakeven operating cash flow of $3.1M, implying the underlying business may have consumed cash that was masked by payables or receivables changes. Collection efficiency, inventory levels, and payables management are not separately disclosed in the supplied data, so their drivers cannot be confirmed.
Working Capital Build May Mask Burn
Based on reported figures, the cash flow statement's operating line may overstate underlying cash generation, since favorable quarters coincide with working capital timing rather than consistent profitability.
Quarters with positive operating cash flow, such as 2025Q4, were accompanied by swings in working capital that the supplied data does not decompose, so the headline figure may not reflect repeatable earnings power. Stock-based compensation of $1.3M to $3.0M per quarter is a non-cash add-back that flatters operating cash flow relative to cash costs, though its magnitude is modest against the free cash flow deficits. Off-balance-sheet obligations and financing arrangements are not disclosed in the supplied data and cannot be assessed, which warrants further investigation before the cash position is treated as complete.
Cumulative Losses Outweigh Cash Generation
Across the ten quarters shown, Aemetis reported cumulative net losses of roughly $190M while cumulative free cash flow was also substantially negative, indicating the gap between accounting results and cash reality is not closing over time.
Summing the quarterly figures shows that net losses and free cash flow deficits have both persisted, so the business has not demonstrated a period in which accounting losses were offset by cash generation on a cumulative basis. Stock-based compensation of $1.3M to $3.0M per quarter adds a non-cash layer that partly explains the gap but does not account for the scale of cash burn. Investors should monitor whether the cumulative shortfall narrows as operating margins improve, though the reported data does not yet show that convergence.