Latest Ratios: P/E Ratio 12.2x · EV/EBITDA 12.4x · ROE 40.1%. (2004–2025 historical series)
Price-based multiples — how expensive the stock is relative to earnings, sales, book value, and cash flow
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Market Cap | $1.6B | $1.1B | $911M | $764M | $693M | $5.2B | — | — | — | — | — |
| Enterprise Value | $3.8B | $3.3B | $3.1B | $2.7B | $2.8B | $7.4B | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/E Ratio → | 12.23 | 8.53 | 15.73 | 143.65 | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/S Ratio | 2.84 | 1.97 | 1.77 | 1.43 | 1.23 | 9.04 | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/B Ratio | 4.49 | 3.13 | 2.91 | 2.31 | 1.89 | 13.00 | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/FCF | 6.58 | 4.57 | 4.50 | 4.17 | 3.33 | 134.47 | — | — | — | — | — |
| P/OCF | 6.58 | 4.57 | 4.50 | 4.17 | 3.33 | 134.47 | — | — | — | — | — |
P/E links to full P/E history page with 30-year chart
Enterprise-value multiples — capital-structure-neutral measures of total business value
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| EV / Revenue | — | 5.65 | 5.98 | 5.04 | 4.90 | 12.84 | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / EBITDA | 12.37 | 10.72 | 11.29 | 9.51 | 9.10 | 22.08 | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / EBIT | 26.98 | 10.50 | 14.45 | 15.22 | 22.82 | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| EV / FCF | — | 13.10 | 15.24 | 14.71 | 13.25 | 190.97 | — | — | — | — | — |
Margins and return-on-capital ratios measuring operating efficiency
Full margin charts and quarterly trend are on the Earnings History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gross Margin | 7.6% | 7.6% | 11.5% | -6.1% | -25.1% | -4.8% | -7.3% | 2.9% | 4.1% | 7.4% | 15.7% |
| Operating Margin | 24.2% | 24.2% | 25.7% | 17.4% | 8.3% | 22.1% | 16.6% | 28.1% | 30.1% | 33.3% | 36.0% |
| Net Profit Margin | 23.5% | 23.5% | 11.4% | 1.2% | -16.6% | -107.9% | -70.2% | -14.1% | -9.2% | 13.6% | 16.8% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ROE | 40.1% | 40.1% | 18.3% | 1.9% | -24.3% | -133.1% | -57.8% | -2.1% | -0.8% | 1.2% | 2.9% |
| ROA | 5.0% | 5.0% | 2.3% | 0.3% | -3.3% | -16.8% | -8.9% | -4.1% | -11.8% | 17.7% | 4.8% |
| ROIC | 4.2% | 4.2% | 4.2% | 3.0% | 1.4% | 2.8% | 1.7% | 2.4% | 2.0% | 2.3% | 3.3% |
| ROCE | 5.5% | 5.5% | 5.6% | 4.0% | 1.8% | 3.6% | 2.2% | 9.0% | 61.4% | 67.5% | 11.2% |
Solvency and debt-coverage ratios — lower is generally safer
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Debt / Equity | 5.95 | 5.95 | 7.07 | 5.96 | 5.75 | 5.89 | 7.00 | 4.09 | 0.01 | 0.01 | 0.01 |
| Debt / EBITDA | 7.12 | 7.12 | 8.11 | 6.94 | 6.96 | 7.04 | 12.04 | 7.45 | 0.15 | 0.09 | 0.10 |
| Net Debt / Equity | — | 5.84 | 6.94 | 5.85 | 5.63 | 5.46 | 6.89 | 4.05 | 0.01 | 0.00 | 0.00 |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 6.98 | 6.98 | 7.96 | 6.82 | 6.81 | 6.53 | 11.84 | 7.38 | 0.10 | 0.03 | 0.07 |
| Debt / FCF | — | 8.52 | 10.74 | 10.54 | 9.92 | 56.50 | — | 12.53 | 0.25 | 0.06 | 0.10 |
| Interest Coverage | 1.77 | 1.77 | 1.38 | 1.03 | 0.56 | -1.40 | -0.74 | 0.36 | — | — | — |
Short-term solvency ratios and asset-utilisation metrics
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Current Ratio | 2.55 | 2.55 | 2.26 | 2.31 | 3.25 | 3.17 | 1.37 | 0.65 | 0.56 | 0.71 | 0.63 |
| Quick Ratio | 2.55 | 2.55 | 2.26 | 2.31 | 3.25 | 3.17 | 1.37 | 0.65 | 0.56 | 0.71 | 22.25 |
| Cash Ratio | 1.73 | 1.73 | 1.28 | 1.59 | 1.68 | 1.73 | 0.36 | 0.14 | 0.10 | 0.14 | 0.07 |
| Asset Turnover | — | 0.21 | 0.19 | 0.22 | 0.21 | 0.20 | 0.13 | 0.17 | 1.29 | 1.39 | 1.36 |
| Inventory Turnover | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Days Sales Outstanding | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
Earnings, FCF, buyback, and dividend yields — total returns to shareholders
Full dividend history and growth charts are on the Dividend History page
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Dividend Yield | 4.7% | 6.8% | 5.5% | 15.4% | 3.4% | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Payout Ratio | 56.7% | 56.7% | 85.4% | 1804.0% | — | — | — | — | — | 179.3% | 131.0% |
| Metric | TTM | FY 2025 | FY 2024 | FY 2023 | FY 2022 | FY 2021 | FY 2020 | FY 2019 | FY 2018 | FY 2017 | FY 2016 |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Earnings Yield | 8.2% | 11.7% | 6.4% | 0.7% | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| FCF Yield | 15.2% | 21.9% | 22.2% | 24.0% | 30.0% | 0.7% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Buyback Yield | 1.1% | 1.6% | 4.0% | 0.1% | 0.0% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Total Shareholder Yield | 5.8% | 8.3% | 9.5% | 15.6% | 3.4% | 0.0% | — | — | — | — | — |
| Shares Outstanding | — | $31M | $31M | $31M | $30M | $167M | $190M | $173M | $172M | $171M | $171M |
Includes 30+ ratios · 22 years · Updated daily
Live VCP patterns, Cup & Handle overlays, support/resistance, and AI trade plans.
High-probability breakout stocks crossing their pivot across 5 pattern engines.
DCF models, multiple analysis, and analyst estimates.
10-year return with dividends reinvested.
Compare growth, multiples, and margins vs sector.
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CBL stock.
CBL & Associates Properties, Inc.'s current P/E ratio is 12.2x. The historical average is 56.0x. This places it at the 33th percentile of its historical range.
CBL & Associates Properties, Inc.'s current EV/EBITDA is 12.4x. This enterprise value multiple compares the company's total value (equity + debt - cash) to its EBITDA. The historical average is 12.5x.
CBL & Associates Properties, Inc.'s return on equity (ROE) is 40.1%. This is above the typical threshold of 15-20% considered good for most companies. The historical average is -2.6%.
Based on historical data, CBL & Associates Properties, Inc. is trading at a P/E of 12.2x. This is at the 33th percentile of its historical P/E range. Compare with industry peers and growth rates for a complete picture.
CBL & Associates Properties, Inc.'s current dividend yield is 4.71% with a payout ratio of 56.7%.
CBL & Associates Properties, Inc. has 7.6% gross margin and 24.2% operating margin. Operating margin above 20% indicates strong pricing power and cost efficiency.
CBL & Associates Properties, Inc.'s Debt/EBITDA ratio is 7.1x, indicating high leverage. A ratio above 4x may signal elevated financial risk.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
FFO volatility and NOI instability
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Valuation Distorted by Earnings Volatility
CBL's P/FFO is unavailable, but P/E of 13.17 and EV/EBITDA of 12.78 suggest a discount to peers, yet extreme FFO swings undermine comparability.
With P/FFO and P/AFFO not reported, the P/E of 13.17 and EV/EBITDA of 12.78 appear modest relative to MAC's negative earnings and SKT's 38.62 P/E. However, the 78.6% FFO decline in 2026Q2 and the 137.7% surge in 2025Q3 indicate that trailing multiples are unreliable. The implied cap rate, derived from NOI and enterprise value, is not directly calculable from the data, but the volatility in NOI margins suggests that any valuation based on current earnings may misstate the underlying asset value.
NOI Margin Instability Masks Core Trends
NOI margin swung from -3.1% in 2025Q1 to 65.4% in 2026Q2, per quarterly filings, indicating one-time items or asset sales distorting property profitability.
The extreme volatility in NOI margin—ranging from negative to over 65%—suggests that reported figures are heavily influenced by non-recurring gains or dispositions, rather than stable operational performance. The 4.0% revenue growth in 2026Q2, as noted in the income statement analysis, does not translate into consistent profitability, as FFO per share collapsed to $0.29 in the same quarter. This pattern implies that organic growth is not the primary driver of earnings; instead, investors should monitor same-store NOI trends, which are not disclosed, to assess the true health of the portfolio.
Dividend Coverage Thin Amid FFO Collapse
FFO payout ratio spiked to 153.4% in 2026Q2, per reported figures, indicating dividends exceeded FFO and may require external funding or cash reserves.
The FFO payout ratio of 153.4% in 2026Q2 is a red flag, as it shows that dividends of $13.9M exceeded FFO of $9.1M, per the cash flow analysis. While the payout ratio was a manageable 16.5% in 2026Q1, the dramatic deterioration suggests that the dividend is not fully covered by operating cash flow in the most recent quarter. With AFFO data unavailable, the true distributable cash is unclear, but the reliance on cash reserves or external financing to cover distributions is a concern. Investors should monitor whether this is a one-time event or a trend.
Leverage Elevated and Equity Eroded
Debt-to-equity reached 5.37 in 2026Q1, per balance sheet data, while equity turned negative at -$3.1M in 2026Q2, indicating a thin cushion for creditors.
The debt-to-equity ratio of 5.37 in 2026Q1 is high, and the subsequent swing to negative equity in 2026Q2 suggests a significant impairment or distribution that wiped out the equity base. Interest coverage of 1.90 in 2026Q2 is below the 2.0x threshold often considered safe, and it has been volatile, dipping to 0.99 in 2024Q1. The asset base contraction from $2.7B to $759.2M, as noted in the balance sheet analysis, indicates deleveraging, but the negative equity position leaves little room for error. Fixed-rate exposure and debt maturity details are not provided, but the current leverage profile appears strained.
Portfolio Quality Clouded by Data Gaps
Occupancy and same-store NOI are not disclosed, but NOI swung from $95.8M to $15.1M in consecutive quarters, per reported figures, suggesting tenant or asset volatility.
The lack of occupancy and same-store NOI data makes it difficult to assess the underlying portfolio quality. The dramatic swings in NOI—from $95.8M in 2026Q2 to $15.1M in 2026Q1—indicate that property-level performance is highly unstable, possibly due to asset sales or tenant bankruptcies. G&A efficiency cannot be evaluated without SG&A data, but the volatility in NOI suggests that CBL's retail portfolio may be under pressure. Investors should seek additional disclosures on occupancy and leasing spreads to gauge the sustainability of cash flows.
P/E Misleads for REITs with Depreciation
Standard P/E of 13.17 is distorted by depreciation and non-cash items, as net income of $45.4M exceeded FFO of $9.1M in 2026Q2, per financial statements.
For REITs, P/E is often misleading because depreciation and gains on asset sales can inflate or deflate net income relative to cash earnings. In 2026Q2, net income of $45.4M was far above FFO of $9.1M, per the income statement analysis, indicating significant non-cash gains or adjustments. Investors should rely on P/FFO or P/AFFO, which are not reported here, to better capture the recurring cash-generating ability of the portfolio. The absence of AFFO data also obscures maintenance capex requirements, which are critical for retail properties. Thus, the current P/E may understate the true valuation risk.