Equity grew 24.7% to $352.8M (11% of assets) ahead of roughly 10% asset growth to $3.2B, but the $2.5B securities portfolio represents nearly four-fifths of the balance sheet with unquantified mark-to-market exposure.
Citizens Financial Services, Inc. (CZFS) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 1.24B | 74.17M | 93.14M | 474.49M | 471.77M | 596.26M | 377.65M | 273.48M | 273.31M | 283.58M | 338.73M | 391.82M | 323.53M | 327.38M | 336.58M | 349.25M | 43.99M | 31.45M | 19.86M | 10.39M | 10.02M | 8.61M | 9.34M | 9.95M | 11.59M | 11.48M | 27.62M | 8.52M | 7.3M | 6.34M | 6.46M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 27.36M | 38.11M | 46.02M | 56.89M | 32.27M | 183.86M | 82.47M | 32.78M | 32.3M | 28.8M | 24.71M | 32.08M | 17.38M | 12.56M | 26.33M | 30.43M | 43.99M | 31.45M | 19.86M | 10.39M | 10.02M | 8.61M | 9.34M | 9.95M | 11.59M | 11.48M | 27.62M | 8.52M | 7.3M | 6.34M | 6.46M |
| Short Term Investments | 477.57M | 36.05M | 47.12M | 417.6M | 439.51M | 412.4M | 295.19M | 240.71M | 241.01M | 254.78M | 314.02M | 359.74M | 306.15M | 317.3M | 310.25M | 318.82M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 3.12B | 2.79B | 2.74B | 2.67B | 2.17B | 1.85B | 1.7B | 1.34B | 1.31B | 1.25B | 1.11B | 1.05B | 853.93M | 851.09M | 807.39M | 799.85M | 718.9M | 650.08M | 602.58M | 539.98M | 520.64M | 481.74M | 451.52M | 420.62M | 395.56M | 382.07M | 360.1M | 320.86M | 296.67M | 278.47M | 266.48M |
| Investments Growth % | 27.29% | 1.88% | 2.58% | 23.31% | 17.21% | 8.6% | 26.58% | 2.46% | 5.31% | 12.56% | 5.56% | 22.76% | 0.33% | 5.41% | 0.94% | 11.26% | 10.59% | 7.88% | 11.59% | 3.72% | 8.07% | 6.69% | 7.35% | 6.34% | 3.53% | 6.1% | 12.23% | 8.15% | 6.53% | 4.5% | 14.12% |
| Long-Term Investments | 10.56B | 2.75B | 2.69B | 2.25B | 1.73B | 1.44B | 1.41B | 1.1B | 1.07B | 990.77M | 792.55M | 688.53M | 547.79M | 533.79M | 497.14M | 481.02M | 718.9M | 650.08M | 602.58M | 539.98M | 520.64M | 481.74M | 451.52M | 420.62M | 395.56M | 382.07M | 360.1M | 320.86M | 296.67M | 278.47M | 266.48M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 10.7M | 10.31M | 11.04M | 7.33M | 5.24M | 6M | 4.55M | 4.45M | 4.2M | 4.09M | 4.21M | 3.64M | 3.73M | 3.82M | 3.62M | 3.46M | 3.14M | 2.91M | 2.52M | 2.46M | 2.16M | 1.74M | 1.7M | 1.98M | 1.99M | 2.32M | 2.12M | 2.19M | 2.43M | 2.93M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 87.57M | 87.98M | 88.65M | 89.41M | 32.65M | 33M | 33.04M | 24.64M | 24.92M | 25.25M | 23.18M | 23.53M | 10.73M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 8.61M | 8.61M | 9.29M | 9.87M | 1.7M | 1.98M | 1.99M | 2.32M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 85.76M | 85.76M | 85.76M | 85.76M | 31.38M | 31.38M | 31.38M | 23.3M | 23.3M | 23.3M | 21.09M | 21.09M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 10.26M | 8.61M | 8.61M | 8.61M | 8.61M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 1.81M | 2.22M | 2.89M | 3.65M | 1.27M | 1.63M | 1.67M | 1.35M | 1.62M | 1.95M | 2.1M | 2.44M | 473K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 684K | 1.26M | 1.7M | 1.98M | 1.99M | 2.32M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 20.57M | 21M | 21.39M | 21.38M | 17.62M | 17.02M | 16.95M | 15.93M | 16.27M | 16.52M | 17.03M | 17.26M | 12.36M | 11.11M | 11.52M | 11.7M | 12.5M | 12.23M | 12.76M | 12.54M | 12.89M | 12.3M | 11.83M | 10.64M | 11.24M | 11.77M | 10.92M | 5.94M | 6.13M | 5.99M | 4.51M |
| Other Assets | -3.12B | 104.65M | 104.97M | 108.97M | 65.16M | 53.2M | 51.99M | 44.49M | 41.12M | 41.56M | 39.68M | 37.64M | 27M | 26.19M | 23.11M | 22.71M | 23.41M | 22.33M | 20.25M | 16.99M | 17.56M | 15.13M | 15.05M | 13.07M | 3.96M | 5.03M | 2.58M | 3.34M | 1.27M | 1.58M | 2.44M |
| Total Current Assets | 518.11M | 84.86M | 103.45M | 485.53M | 479.1M | 601.5M | 383.65M | 278.04M | 277.76M | 287.78M | 350.57M | 396.03M | 327.17M | 333.59M | 340.4M | 352.88M | 47.45M | 34.59M | 22.77M | 12.91M | 12.47M | 10.77M | 11.07M | 11.65M | 13.57M | 13.47M | 29.94M | 10.64M | 9.49M | 8.77M | 9.39M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 122.66M | 2.98B | 2.92B | 2.49B | 1.85B | 1.54B | 1.51B | 1.19B | 1.15B | 1.07B | 872.44M | 766.96M | 597.88M | 581.34M | 542.03M | 525.69M | 765.08M | 694.89M | 645.84M | 578.12M | 558.94M | 518.47M | 487.56M | 452.22M | 419.09M | 407.64M | 383.4M | 330.14M | 304.07M | 286.04M | 273.42M |
| Total Assets | 3.41B | 3.06B | 3.03B | 2.98B | 2.33B | 2.14B | 1.89B | 1.47B | 1.43B | 1.36B | 1.22B | 1.16B | 925.05M | 914.93M | 882.43M | 878.57M | 812.53M | 729.48M | 668.61M | 591.03M | 572.17M | 529.24M | 499.35M | 463.88M | 432.66M | 421.11M | 413.33M | 340.78M | 313.56M | 294.81M | 282.81M |
| Asset Growth % | 20.87% | 1.28% | 1.69% | 27.51% | 8.84% | 13.33% | 29.01% | 2.49% | 5.05% | 11.35% | 5.16% | 25.72% | 1.11% | 3.68% | 0.44% | 8.13% | 11.38% | 9.1% | 13.13% | 3.3% | 8.11% | 5.99% | 7.65% | 7.22% | 2.74% | 1.88% | 21.29% | 8.68% | 6.36% | 4.24% | 14.45% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.35% | 1.2% | 0.93% | 0.67% | 1.3% | 1.44% | 1.5% | 1.35% | 1.29% | 1.01% | 1.06% | 1.11% | 1.45% | 1.49% | 1.61% | 1.52% | 1.49% | 1.41% | 1.1% | 1.16% | 1.05% | 1.03% | 1.09% | 1.09% | 1.31% | 0.9% | 0.85% | 1.09% | 1.15% | 1.33% | 1.13% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 3.13M | 4.69M | 4.3M | 1.23M | 711K | 1.02M | 1.09M | 1.08M | 897K | 720K | 734K | 756K | 895K | 1.14M | 1.51M | 1.78M | 2.04M | 2.23M | 2.2M | 2.29M | 1.86M | 1.87M | 1.89M | 2.08M | 2.29M | 2.62M | 2.56M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 512.49M | 309.45M | 297.72M | 302.04M | 257.28M | 73.98M | 88.84M | 85.12M | 91.19M | 114.66M | 79.66M | 41.63M | 41.8M | 66.93M | 46.13M | 53.88M | 56M | 54.12M | 61.2M | 80.35M | 75.78M | 82.24M | 34.98M | 35.3M | 17.03M | 13.31M | 11.2M | 25.85M | 7.33M | 6.86M | 15.82M |
| Net Debt | 485.13M | 271.34M | 251.7M | 245.15M | 225.01M | -109.88M | 6.37M | 52.34M | 58.9M | 85.86M | 54.95M | 9.55M | 24.42M | 54.37M | 19.79M | 23.45M | 12M | 22.67M | 41.35M | 69.96M | 65.76M | 73.63M | 25.64M | 25.34M | 5.43M | 1.83M | -16.41M | 17.33M | 29K | 521K | 9.36M |
| Long-Term Debt | 512.49M | 293.95M | 272.81M | 271.42M | 257.28M | 73.98M | 88.84M | 85.12M | 91.19M | 114.66M | 79.66M | 41.63M | 41.8M | 66.93M | 46.13M | 53.88M | 56M | 54.12M | 61.2M | 80.35M | 75.78M | 52.67M | 17.03M | 19.85M | 17.03M | 13.31M | 11.2M | 25.85M | 7.33M | 6.86M | 15.82M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 15.5M | 24.91M | 30.61M | 0 | 0 | 62.28M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 29.57M | 17.95M | 15.45M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 2.55B | 36.96M | 41.55M | 67.84M | 30.53M | 20.53M | 18.7M | 14.24M | 14.06M | 12.37M | 13.87M | 12.83M | 8.03M | 6.74M | 8.59M | 7.71M | 5.35M | 6.24M | 5.72M | 3.93M | 4.09M | -26.22M | 2.64M | 2.47M | 2.1M | 1.65M | 1.17M | 969K | 1.08M | 2.91M | 1.62M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 2.4B | 2.41B | 2.36B | 1.85B | 1.84B | 1.59B | 1.21B | 1.19B | 1.11B | 1.01B | 988.76M | 774.69M | 749.21M | 738.24M | 735.5M | 682.49M | 607.6M | 548.91M | 458.23M | 448.8M | 461.23M | 438.89M | 403.02M | 375.13M | 372.76M | 370.4M | 286.88M | 276.56M | 259.11M | 242.47M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 3.06B | 330.91M | 314.36M | 339.26M | 287.81M | 94.51M | 107.54M | 99.36M | 105.25M | 127.03M | 93.53M | 54.46M | 49.83M | 73.67M | 54.71M | 61.59M | 61.35M | 60.35M | 66.93M | 84.27M | 79.87M | 26.45M | 19.66M | 22.32M | 19.12M | 14.96M | 12.38M | 26.82M | 8.41M | 9.77M | 17.44M |
| Total Liabilities | 3.06B | 2.73B | 2.73B | 2.7B | 2.13B | 1.93B | 1.7B | 1.31B | 1.29B | 1.23B | 1.1B | 1.04B | 824.52M | 822.88M | 792.95M | 797.1M | 743.84M | 667.95M | 615.84M | 542.5M | 528.67M | 487.68M | 458.56M | 425.35M | 394.25M | 387.72M | 382.78M | 313.7M | 284.97M | 268.89M | 259.91M |
| Total Equity | 351.29M | 338.05M | 299.73M | 279.67M | 200.15M | 212.49M | 194.26M | 154.77M | 139.23M | 129.01M | 123.27M | 119.76M | 100.53M | 92.06M | 89.47M | 81.47M | 68.69M | 61.53M | 52.77M | 48.53M | 43.5M | 41.56M | 40.79M | 38.53M | 38.41M | 33.39M | 30.55M | 27.08M | 28.6M | 25.92M | 22.9M |
| Equity Growth % | 43.92% | 12.78% | 7.18% | 39.73% | -5.81% | 9.39% | 25.51% | 11.17% | 7.92% | 4.66% | 2.93% | 19.13% | 9.2% | 2.88% | 9.83% | 18.6% | 11.64% | 16.59% | 8.74% | 11.56% | 4.67% | 1.89% | 5.87% | 0.32% | 15.03% | 9.3% | 12.8% | -5.3% | 10.32% | 13.18% | 7.55% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.29% | 11.03% | 9.91% | 9.4% | 8.58% | 9.91% | 10.27% | 10.56% | 9.73% | 9.47% | 10.08% | 10.3% | 10.87% | 10.06% | 10.14% | 9.27% | 8.45% | 8.43% | 7.89% | 8.21% | 7.6% | 7.85% | 8.17% | 8.31% | 8.88% | 7.93% | 7.39% | 7.95% | 9.12% | 8.79% | 8.1% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 12.4% | 11.47% | 9.6% | 7.42% | 14.09% | 14.32% | 14.38% | 13.26% | 13.45% | 10.33% | 10.4% | 10.56% | 13.9% | 14.74% | 16.63% | 17.09% | 17.67% | 17.26% | 13.63% | 14.64% | 13.64% | 12.81% | 13.28% | 12.68% | 15.59% | 11.75% | 11.13% | 12.76% | 12.8% | 15.7% | 13.59% |
| Book Value per Share | 73.15 | 70.43 | 63.04 | 63.19 | 49.43 | 52.27 | 49.03 | 41.80 | 37.40 | 34.56 | 32.78 | 34.73 | 29.09 | 26.49 | 25.47 | 22.98 | 19.29 | 17.24 | 14.75 | 13.48 | 11.84 | 11.16 | 10.68 | 10.30 | 10.20 | 8.79 | 8.13 | 7.05 | 7.39 | 6.74 | 5.94 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 54.91 | 52.10 | 44.39 | 42.99 | 41.37 | 44.15 | 40.69 | 35.14 | 30.70 | 27.80 | 26.61 | 27.91 | 25.98 | 23.54 | 22.55 | 20.09 | 16.41 | 14.36 | 11.89 | 11.09 | 9.49 | 8.66 | 8.09 | 9.84 | 9.68 | 8.26 | 7.51 | 7.05 | 7.39 | 6.74 | 5.94 |
| Common Stock | 5.26M | 5.26M | 5.21M | 5.16M | 4.43M | 4.39M | 4.35M | 3.94M | 3.9M | 3.87M | 3.7M | 3.67M | 3.33M | 3.31M | 3.16M | 3.13M | 3.1M | 3.08M | 3.05M | 3.02M | 2.99M | 2.96M | 2.94M | 2.91M | 2.88M | 2.85M | 2.83M | 2.8M | 2.77M | 2.75M | 1.36M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 148.51M | 147.97M | 144.98M | 143.23M | 80.91M | 78.39M | 75.91M | 55.09M | 53.1M | 51.11M | 42.25M | 40.72M | 25.15M | 23.56M | 16.47M | 15.31M | 14.23M | 13.46M | 12.98M | 12.51M | 11.93M | 11.36M | 10.8M | 10.21M | 9.47M | 9.02M | 8.67M | 8.37M | 7.91M | 7.18M | 6.83M |
| Retained Earnings | 238.8M | 213.62M | 189.44M | 172.97M | 164.92M | 146.01M | 126.63M | 110.8M | 99.73M | 89.98M | 91.28M | 85.79M | 79.51M | 74.33M | 71.81M | 63.34M | 54.93M | 47.35M | 41.03M | 37.59M | 34.01M | 31.25M | 28.89M | 26.45M | 24.45M | 21.25M | 19.66M | 18.43M | 16.93M | 15.65M | 14.54M |
| Accumulated OCI | -24.52M | -12.38M | -23.52M | -24.91M | -33.14M | -155K | 2.59M | -629K | -3.92M | -3.4M | -1.39M | -236K | 767K | -1.23M | 4.63M | 4.95M | 1.05M | 2.04M | 26K | -420K | -1.74M | -1.54M | 164K | 956K | 2.55M | 1.21M | 344K | -2.06M | 978K | 343K | 172K |
| Treasury Stock | -16.77M | -16.42M | -16.38M | -16.79M | -16.97M | -16.15M | -15.21M | -14.43M | -13.58M | -12.55M | -12.57M | -10.18M | -8.24M | -7.91M | -6.6M | -5.26M | -4.63M | -4.4M | -4.32M | -4.17M | -3.7M | -2.47M | -2.01M | -2M | -949K | -949K | -949K | -460K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying CZFS stock.
As of 2025, Citizens Financial Services, Inc. (CZFS) had total assets of $3.06B including $84.9M in current assets.
Citizens Financial Services, Inc. (CZFS) carries total debt of $309.4M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Citizens Financial Services, Inc. (CZFS) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $338.1M ($70.43 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Citizens Financial Services, Inc. (CZFS) reported a current ratio of 0.04x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Securities-heavy balance sheet, thin liquidity
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Capital Building Ahead of Asset Growth
Citizens Financial Services' equity grew 24.7% to $352.8M over ten reported quarters while total assets expanded roughly 10% to $3.2B, lifting the equity-to-assets ratio to 0.11 — a capital build driven by retention rather than balance sheet expansion, per its quarterly SEC filings.
The 110 bps increase in the equity-to-assets ratio from 0.10 to 0.11 appears to reflect cumulative retained earnings outpacing asset growth, rather than any deliberate de-risking or equity raise; investors should note that a 2.9-3.1% return on equity over the period suggests capital accretion is slow and that the bank is under-earning relative to the capital it is building. Importantly, the growth looks organic rather than acquisition-driven given the absence of any step-change in liabilities, though the composition of the added assets cannot be verified without loan-level data. The trajectory appears structurally sound on capital but the low return profile raises the question of whether this balance sheet is generating adequate earnings per unit of risk.
Securities Portfolio Dominates the Funding Profile
With investment securities of $2.5B representing roughly four-fifths of the $3.2B balance sheet and cash balances near $39.4M in 2026Q2, Citizens Financial Services appears heavily positioned in portfolio securities — an allocation that implies substantial liquid assets on hand, per its reported statements.
The 2026Q2 cash figure equates to approximately 1.2% of total assets, a thin operating buffer that stands in contrast to the sheer size of the securities book; the $147.2M securities purchase that quarter against only $8.5M of sales suggests the bank is actively redeploying into the portfolio rather than drawing down liquidity. This positioning may reflect deliberate duration or reinvestment strategy, but the reliance on securities-derived liquidity rather than core deposit inflows means the funding mix's stability cannot be confirmed without deposit composition data, which is unavailable in the figures reviewed. The loan-to-deposit ratio is also not disclosed, so the extent to which loan growth is being funded by wholesale or non-core sources warrants further investigation.
Provisions Settle at a Modest Run Rate
Citizens Financial Services' provision expense has held at $500,000 per quarter across the last four reported periods, down from $2.0M in 2024Q2 and a $200,000 release in 2024Q3, a pattern that appears consistent with a normalized credit backdrop — though charge-off and coverage data remain unavailable.
The flat, low-level provisioning cadence may indicate that management sees limited incremental credit stress in the loan book, and it does provide a meaningful earnings tailwind relative to the 2024 charge of $2.0M. However, a bank of this size recording roughly $500K per quarter in provisions on a $3.2B balance sheet implies an unusually light credit-cost load, which could equally reflect conservative booking practices or limited organic loan growth rather than genuine credit strength. Because non-performing loan balances, charge-off rates, and provision coverage ratios are not disclosed in the data provided, the underlying quality of the credit book and any vertical concentration in commercial real estate or industrial lending cannot be assessed here, and no inference should be drawn from the absence of that detail.
Margin Rebuild Suggests Reinvestment at Higher Yields
Net interest margin recovered to 0.9% in 2025Q4 from 0.7% through much of 2024 before easing to 0.8% in 2026Q2, while net interest income rose 10.6% year over year to $25.7M — a repricing trend reported in Citizens Financial Services' quarterly financials that may indicate reinvestment at higher yields.
The direction of travel in NIM, together with the sustained securities reinvestment activity flagged in 2026Q2, appears to support the view that asset yields are repositioning upward even as the margin remains thin in absolute terms; the 10.6% NII growth, however, is decelerating from 16.5% at end-2025, suggesting the repricing tailwind may be fading rather than building. The 2025Q3 NII print of $61.8M is an outlier that materially distorts any trend read and, together with the unexplained fee-income swing noted elsewhere in the bank's reporting, makes the forward earnings bridge harder to extrapolate with confidence. Deposit beta and funding cost data are unavailable, so whether the margin can expand further or will compress as deposit costs reprice is not determinable from the figures reviewed.
What Could Invalidate the Base Case
Citizens Financial Services holds roughly $2.5B in investment securities against $3.2B of total assets, yet its filings reviewed provide no disclosure of unrealized gains or losses, duration, or deposit composition — leaving the mark-to-market and repricing risk embedded in that portfolio effectively unquantifiable.
A securities book of this scale relative to the balance sheet means that even a modest duration mismatch or rate move could swing the economic value of assets materially, and the near-constant 11% equity-to-assets ratio leaves only a thin absorber of such shocks if unrealized losses are economically realized. The pattern of a very low, static credit provision against an undisclosed loan book is the other side of the coin — if provisions are masking portfolio concentration rather than reflecting genuine credit performance, the earnings profile would be more fragile than the reported figures suggest. Finally, the reconciliation gap between reported revenue components and total revenue, combined with a negative operating cash flow in 2026Q2 alongside $147.2M of securities purchases, suggests large balance-sheet movements that filings alone do not fully explain, and which warrant closer review before conclusions about liquidity strength are drawn.