Total assets grew 11.1% year-over-year to $15.0B with equity-to-assets stable at 10%, but the $12.2B securities portfolio may carry unrealized losses that could impact capital if realized.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Jun'02 | Jun'00 | Jun'99 | Jun'98 | Jun'97 | Jun'96 | Jun'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 11.6B | 3.15B | 1.29B | 1.34B | 1.12B | 1.96B | 782.46M | 706.48M | 650.14M | 524.85M | 120.96M | 68.34M | 108.4M | 95.97M | 161.05M | 312.05M | 86.19M | 39.34M | 211.02M | 101.71M | 26.26M | 40.2M | 26.58M | 24.07M | 25.78M | 25.32M | 15.37M | 17.8M | 16.3M | 19.2M | 17.1M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 1.93B | 2.35B | 1.28B | 457.55M | 169.3M | 393.72M | 243.6M | 155.49M | 147.26M | 169.46M | 113.5M | 64.15M | 78.19M | 45.78M | 79.08M | 43.31M | 86.19M | 39.34M | 211.02M | 101.71M | 26.26M | 40.2M | 26.58M | 24.07M | 25.78M | 25.32M | 15.37M | 17.8M | 16.3M | 19.2M | 17.1M |
| Short Term Investments | 1.6B | 797.93M | 6.6M | 886.24M | 950.59M | 1.56B | 538.86M | 551M | 502.88M | 355.39M | 7.45M | 4.19M | 30.21M | 50.19M | 81.97M | 268.75M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 12.2B | 10.5B | 12.34B | 12.39B | 12.26B | 11.04B | 6.15B | 5.87B | 5.88B | 5.94B | 5.63B | 4.7B | 4.14B | 3.74B | 3.57B | 3.72B | 3.69B | 3.65B | 3.6B | 3.06B | 2.87B | 2.84B | 3.06B | 2.68B | 2.57B | 2.48B | 2.29B | 2.07B | 1.51B | 1.21B | 1.17B |
| Investments Growth % | -18.32% | -14.92% | -0.39% | 1.06% | 11.04% | 79.49% | 4.77% | -0.2% | -0.92% | 5.44% | 19.88% | 13.54% | 10.64% | 4.61% | -3.9% | 0.75% | 1.14% | 1.29% | 17.8% | 6.48% | 1.32% | -7.4% | 14.32% | 4.2% | 3.7% | 8.33% | 10.41% | 37.01% | - | - | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 43.26B | 9.7B | 12.33B | 11.5B | 11.31B | 9.48B | 5.61B | 5.32B | 5.38B | 5.58B | 5.62B | 4.69B | 4.11B | 3.69B | 3.49B | 3.45B | 3.69B | 3.65B | 3.6B | 3.06B | 2.87B | 2.84B | 3.06B | 2.68B | 2.57B | 2.48B | 2.29B | 2.07B | 1.51B | 1.21B | 1.17B |
| Accounts Receivables | 56.28M | 55.57M | 55.97M | 55.67M | 48.56M | 40.15M | 34.81M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18M | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 158.33M | 158.74M | 159.69M | 160.86M | 162.28M | 164.16M | 59.02M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 55.64M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18M | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 155.8M | 155.8M | 155.8M | 155.8M | 155.8M | 155.8M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 55.64M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 55.64M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 2.53M | 2.94M | 3.9M | 5.06M | 6.48M | 8.36M | 3.38M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 18M | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 30.57M | 119.86M | 81.05M | 97.6M | 104.61M | 114.63M | 52.95M | 59.55M | 24.71M | 24.33M | 18.41M | 15.15M | 25.07M | 26.08M | 30.52M | 32.65M | 31.61M | 29.84M | 30.43M | 23.88M | 22.89M | 16.53M | 16.65M | 16.4M | 15.15M | 14.64M | 14.77M | 15M | 10.7M | 14M | 14.4M |
| Other Assets | 554.67M | 2.16B | 433.88M | 476.84M | 447.48M | 314.89M | 230.66M | 213.78M | 211.29M | 217.57M | 187.79M | 201.44M | 201.89M | 162.18M | 166.45M | 170.7M | 175.72M | 178.11M | 155.65M | 261.37M | 196.21M | 178.81M | 216.82M | 197.37M | 143.38M | 147.66M | 123.93M | 77.7M | 42.5M | 46.7M | 141.6M |
| Total Current Assets | 3.67B | 3.21B | 1.35B | 1.4B | 1.17B | 2B | 827.59M | 706.48M | 650.14M | 524.85M | 120.96M | 68.34M | 108.4M | 95.97M | 161.05M | 312.05M | 86.19M | 39.34M | 211.02M | 101.71M | 26.26M | 40.2M | 26.58M | 24.07M | 25.78M | 25.32M | 15.37M | 17.8M | 34.3M | 19.2M | 17.1M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 11.34B | 12.13B | 13.01B | 12.24B | 12.02B | 10.07B | 5.95B | 5.65B | 5.67B | 5.88B | 5.88B | 4.96B | 4.39B | 3.93B | 3.74B | 3.71B | 3.95B | 3.91B | 3.84B | 3.4B | 3.15B | 3.09B | 3.35B | 2.95B | 2.78B | 2.7B | 2.49B | 2.23B | 1.59B | 1.3B | 1.35B |
| Total Assets | 15.01B | 15.34B | 14.35B | 13.64B | 13.19B | 12.07B | 6.78B | 6.35B | 6.32B | 6.4B | 6.01B | 5.03B | 4.5B | 4.03B | 3.91B | 4.02B | 4.04B | 3.95B | 4.06B | 3.5B | 3.17B | 3.13B | 3.38B | 2.97B | 2.81B | 2.72B | 2.5B | 2.25B | 1.62B | 1.31B | 1.37B |
| Asset Growth % | 24.68% | 6.89% | 5.26% | 3.38% | 9.31% | 77.93% | 6.72% | 0.54% | -1.29% | 6.63% | 19.32% | 11.91% | 11.64% | 3.14% | -2.88% | -0.47% | 2.23% | -2.55% | 15.84% | 10.33% | 1.51% | -7.43% | 13.65% | 5.75% | 3.25% | 8.78% | 11.32% | 38.41% | - | - | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 0.86% | 0.75% | 0.21% | 0.72% | 1.21% | 1.1% | 0.64% | 0.57% | 0.81% | 0.84% | 1.31% | 0.94% | 1.04% | 1.1% | 1.02% | 1.17% | 1.04% | 0.65% | 0.74% | 0.67% | 0.97% | 1.11% | 1.46% | 1.77% | 1.4% | 0.97% | 0.94% | 1.03% | 0.81% | 0.94% | 0.46% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Debt | 655.81M | 370.63M | 979.32M | 1.57B | 1.39B | 290.06M | 1.48B | 1.36B | 1.24B | 1.28B | 831.13M | 1.17B | 1.17B | 910M | 842.5M | 1.13B | 1.19B | 1.26B | 1.35B | 886.58M | 788.9M | 834.12M | 737.08M | 571.67M | 697.72M | 995.29M | 1.01B | 731.6M | 360.1M | 139.5M | 27.7M |
| Net Debt | -1.28B | -1.98B | -304.25M | 1.11B | 1.22B | -103.66M | 1.24B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 1.11B | 717.62M | 1.1B | 1.1B | 864.22M | 763.42M | 1.09B | 1.1B | 1.23B | 1.14B | 784.87M | 762.64M | 793.92M | 710.5M | 547.6M | 671.94M | 969.97M | 998.66M | 713.8M | 343.8M | 120.3M | 10.6M |
| Long-Term Debt | 291.19M | 324.9M | 880.33M | 1.51B | 1.33B | 222.1M | 1.44B | 1.32B | 1.24B | 1.28B | 831.13M | 1.17B | 1.17B | 910M | 842.5M | 939.77M | 990.52M | 1.03B | 1.12B | 731.5M | 668.66M | 628.66M | 531.5M | 559M | 25M | 25M | 519.73M | 250M | 103.5M | 55.4M | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 332.58M | 0 | 50M | 0 | 1.36M | 1.86M | 1.22M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 133.37M | 56.89M | 195M | 195M | 230M | 230M | 155.08M | 120.23M | 205.46M | 205.58M | 12.68M | 672.72M | 970.29M | 494.29M | 481.6M | 256.6M | 84.1M | 27.7M |
| Other Liabilities | 12.87B | 653.98M | 291.28M | 310.48M | 372.95M | 124.71M | 76.23M | 114.82M | 122.63M | 117.83M | 213.01M | 187.89M | 203.87M | 175.54M | 191.9M | 181.67M | 106.91M | 110.09M | 41.62M | 113.54M | 38.94M | 38.1M | 100.13M | 34.45M | 36.93M | 30.95M | 61.8M | 20.6M | 23.8M | 6.2M | 39.2M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 332.58M | 12.84B | 11.74B | 10.53B | 10.26B | 10.46B | 4.53B | 4.28B | 4.36B | 4.4B | 4.4B | 3.18B | 2.66B | 2.51B | 2.48B | 2.54B | 2.61B | 2.51B | 2.62B | 2.39B | 2.18B | 2.17B | 2.46B | 2.09B | 2.5B | 2.44B | 1.71B | 1.77B | 1.31B | 1.06B | 1.12B |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 13.19B | 1.02B | 1.22B | 1.88B | 1.76B | 412.91M | 1.55B | 1.48B | 1.36B | 1.4B | 1.04B | 1.35B | 1.38B | 1.09B | 1.03B | 1.12B | 1.1B | 1.14B | 1.16B | 845.04M | 707.61M | 666.77M | 631.63M | 593.45M | 61.93M | 55.95M | 581.53M | 270.6M | 127.3M | 61.6M | 39.2M |
| Total Liabilities | 13.49B | 13.87B | 12.96B | 12.41B | 12.02B | 10.87B | 6.08B | 5.76B | 5.72B | 5.8B | 5.44B | 4.54B | 4.04B | 3.59B | 3.51B | 3.66B | 3.71B | 3.66B | 3.78B | 3.23B | 2.88B | 2.83B | 3.1B | 2.69B | 2.56B | 2.49B | 2.29B | 2.04B | 1.44B | 1.12B | 1.16B |
| Total Equity | 1.52B | 1.48B | 1.4B | 1.23B | 1.17B | 1.19B | 701.1M | 596.76M | 602.08M | 598.57M | 565.87M | 493.95M | 459.73M | 435.51M | 391.57M | 361.03M | 328.73M | 294.77M | 276.96M | 268.85M | 290.63M | 291.71M | 281.72M | 283.92M | 249.74M | 227.12M | 207.17M | 211.7M | 186.3M | 190.9M | 213.1M |
| Equity Growth % | 32.85% | 5.67% | 13.89% | 4.84% | -1.93% | 70.11% | 17.48% | -0.88% | 0.59% | 5.78% | 14.56% | 7.44% | 5.56% | 11.22% | 8.46% | 9.83% | 11.52% | 6.43% | 3.02% | -7.49% | -0.37% | 3.55% | -0.77% | 13.69% | 9.96% | 9.63% | -2.14% | 13.63% | - | - | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.13% | 9.62% | 9.73% | 8.99% | 8.87% | 9.88% | 10.34% | 9.39% | 9.53% | 9.35% | 9.42% | 9.81% | 10.22% | 10.81% | 10.03% | 8.98% | 8.14% | 7.46% | 6.83% | 7.68% | 9.16% | 9.33% | 8.34% | 9.55% | 8.89% | 8.34% | 8.28% | 9.42% | 11.47% | 14.52% | 15.53% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 8.67% | 7.71% | 2.22% | 8.02% | 12.92% | 10.98% | 6.52% | 6.04% | 8.54% | 8.91% | 13.68% | 9.39% | 9.88% | 10.53% | 10.71% | 13.72% | 13.28% | 9.16% | 10.27% | 8.02% | 10.51% | 12.63% | 16.34% | 19.22% | 16.22% | 11.62% | 10.68% | 10% | 7.03% | 6.44% | 2.96% |
| Book Value per Share | 34.56 | 34.28 | 35.87 | 32.11 | 30.35 | 30.66 | 21.38 | 16.63 | 16.23 | 15.92 | 15.37 | 13.60 | 12.78 | 12.30 | 11.39 | 10.68 | 9.85 | 8.92 | 8.44 | 8.00 | 8.27 | 8.22 | 7.80 | 7.60 | 6.63 | 5.71 | 5.18 | 5.22 | 4.22 | 3.89 | 4.35 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 30.96 | 30.59 | 31.77 | 27.90 | 26.14 | 26.44 | 19.58 | 15.08 | 14.73 | 14.44 | 13.86 | 12.07 | 11.23 | 10.73 | 9.78 | 9.04 | 8.18 | 7.24 | 6.74 | 8.00 | 8.27 | 8.22 | 7.80 | 6.11 | 6.63 | 5.71 | 5.18 | 5.22 | 3.81 | 3.89 | 4.35 |
| Common Stock | 462K | 462K | 461K | 416K | 416K | 416K | 348K | 537K | 537K | 536K | 536K | 533K | 529K | 528K | 520K | 516K | 512K | 511K | 511K | 509K | 509K | 506K | 501K | 327K | 315K | 146K | 145K | 100K | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 622.64M | 623.04M | 624.82M | 494.45M | 495.41M | 494.13M | 278.3M | 279.32M | 277.51M | 276.73M | 278.36M | 262.8M | 254.36M | 252.25M | 239.04M | 231.52M | 225.59M | 214.65M | 213.92M | 208.37M | 206.6M | 204.08M | 198.18M | 186.16M | 162.16M | 151.4M | 150.03M | 148.7M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 898.09M | 854.17M | 794.53M | 813.01M | 762.76M | 654.73M | 600.64M | 581.82M | 565.71M | 535.13M | 503.54M | 451.61M | 427.13M | 402.99M | 379.17M | 358.08M | 329.67M | 306.79M | 297.85M | 288.11M | 285.42M | 274.58M | 258.24M | 231.77M | 179.06M | 150.26M | 133.77M | 119.1M | 105.2M | 94.7M | 82.9M |
| Accumulated OCI | -31.57M | -31.47M | -45.02M | -91.58M | -94.38M | -6.18M | -5.92M | -5.94M | -6.5M | -3.64M | -5.94M | -8.8M | -8.55M | -4.76M | -9.64M | -9.71M | -6.35M | -5.08M | -11.11M | -17.02M | -22.89M | -18.88M | -17.94M | -14.25M | -10.31M | -7.89M | -19.28M | -18.1M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | -68.14M | -78.34M | -87.2M | -98.02M | -103.12M | -59.19M | -287.34M | -250.75M | -230.05M | -204.56M | -201.83M | -198.25M | -198.97M | -200.52M | -202.58M | -204.44M | -206.55M | -207.88M | -210.47M | -211.12M | -179.01M | -168.58M | -157.26M | -120.09M | -81.49M | -66.8M | -57.5M | -38.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 116.57M | 116.57M | 116.57M | 116.57M | 116.57M | 116.57M | 116.57M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying DCOM stock.
As of 2025, Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) had total assets of $15.34B including $3.21B in current assets.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) carries total debt of $370.6M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $1.48B ($34.28 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) reported a current ratio of 0.25x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
NYC CRE concentration risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Loan Expansion
Total assets grew 11.1% year-over-year to $15.0B in 2026Q2, driven by robust business loan growth, as reported in DCOM's quarterly balance sheet.
The balance sheet expanded from $13.5B in 2024Q2 to $15.0B in 2026Q2, with the growth accelerating in recent quarters. This expansion appears to be organic, fueled by commercial loan pipelines, rather than M&A, given the absence of acquisition activity. However, the growth in risk-weighted assets may pressure capital ratios, warranting monitoring of CET1 trajectory.
Municipal Deposit Base Underpins Funding
DCOM's loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the municipal deposit franchise likely provides stable, low-cost funding, as indicated in company intelligence.
The bank's entrenched Long Island and NYC outer-borough municipal relationships appear to offer a structural funding advantage, reducing reliance on wholesale funding. The low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.25% suggests conservative use of borrowed funds. However, in a competitive NYC deposit market, the cost of these deposits may rise, pressuring NIM, which remained flat at 0.8% in 2026Q2.
Provision Creeps Higher Amid CRE Scrutiny
Loan loss provisions rose to $13.9M in 2026Q2 from $9.2M a year earlier, reflecting elevated credit costs, per DCOM's balance sheet data.
The increase in provisions suggests deteriorating credit quality or forward-looking concerns, particularly in the NYC CRE and multi-family segments. While net charge-offs are not disclosed, the rising provisions may indicate a cautious stance amid regulatory scrutiny. Investors should monitor the allowance coverage ratio and any potential impact on future earnings.
Capital Ratios Stable but Thin Buffer
Equity-to-assets ratio held at 10% in 2026Q2, unchanged from prior quarters, indicating a stable but modest capital position, based on reported figures.
The equity-to-assets ratio of 10% is consistent across the period, suggesting management maintains a steady capital base. However, with asset growth accelerating, the risk-weighted capital ratios may be under pressure, especially if loan growth continues. The absence of buybacks and stable dividends indicates a conservative capital deployment strategy, preserving buffer for potential stress.
Liquidity Position Strengthens with Cash Build
Cash and bank balances increased to $1.9B in 2026Q2 from $1.2B a year earlier, enhancing liquidity, as reported in DCOM's balance sheet.
The rise in cash holdings from $1.2B in 2025Q2 to $1.9B in 2026Q2 suggests a deliberate build-up of liquidity, possibly to support loan growth or meet regulatory requirements. Investment securities also grew to $12.2B, providing a buffer. However, the loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, limiting full assessment of funding reliance.
Unrealized Losses in Securities Portfolio
Investment securities of $12.2B may carry unrealized losses due to rising rates, potentially impacting capital if realized, as per balance sheet data.
With a large securities portfolio and a flat NIM, the bank may be holding longer-duration assets that are sensitive to interest rate changes. Unrealized losses in AOCI could reduce tangible common equity, though not reflected in the equity-to-assets ratio. This warrants investigation into the duration and yield of the securities book, as rising rates could pressure capital adequacy.