Operating cash flow consistently exceeded net income (OCF/NI of 1.61 in 2026Q2), supporting stable dividends of $12.6M, while net securities purchases of $95.4M indicate active balance sheet deployment.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) cash flow statement — 30-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Jun'02 | Jun'00 | Jun'99 | Jun'98 | Jun'97 | Jun'96 | Jun'96 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | 202.11M | 186.57M | 99.06M | 90.87M | 295.17M | 146.33M | 59.93M | 68.49M | 64.31M | 43.26M | 20.06M | 50.15M | 47.26M | 61.15M | 72.7M | 62.59M | 68.18M | 27.85M | 28.92M | 17.77M | 31.05M | 61.39M | 37.76M | 65.59M | 47.06M | 34.64M | 10.13M | 39.1M | 16M | -14.9M | 50.1M |
| Operating CF Growth % | 324.4% | 88.34% | 9% | -69.21% | 101.72% | 144.16% | -12.5% | 6.51% | 48.64% | 115.67% | -60% | 6.11% | -22.71% | -15.89% | 16.17% | -8.2% | 144.81% | -3.7% | 62.73% | -42.76% | -49.42% | 62.57% | -42.42% | 39.38% | 35.83% | 241.93% | -74.09% | 144.38% | - | - | - |
| Net Income | 128.92M | 110.68M | 29.08M | 96.09M | 152.56M | 104M | 42.32M | 36.19M | 51.29M | 51.88M | 72.51M | 44.77M | 44.25M | 43.55M | 40.31M | 47.31M | 41.39M | 26.19M | 28.03M | 22.44M | 30.59M | 36.21M | 46.22M | 51.28M | 38.68M | 25.24M | 22.37M | 19.9M | 13.1M | 12.3M | 7.3M |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 5.06M | 5.62M | 6.86M | 7.45M | 10.19M | 10.43M | 5.07M | 5.08M | 4.96M | 3.67M | 2.3M | 2.74M | 2.64M | 2.83M | 2.88M | 2.94M | 2.44M | 2.45M | 1.76M | 1.25M | 1.26M | 2.33M | 4.41M | 5.41M | 1.56M | 5.64M | 5.33M | 5M | 3.2M | 1.4M | 100K |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 8.6M | -1.97M | -2.38M | -807K | 10.52M | 1.1M | 6.88M | 771K | -940K | -2.07M | -1.22M | -737K | -8.66M | -3.05M | -834K | 103K | -649K | -533K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Non-Cash Items | 218.88M | 54.29M | 78.98M | 26.86M | 26.08M | 17.47M | 38.77M | 30.75M | 2.94M | -14.17M | -66.93M | -3.13M | -4.67M | 158K | 20.36M | 10.06M | 16.32M | 21.91M | 7.06M | -603K | -3.27M | 4.1M | 4.25M | 7.29M | 2.91M | 2.82M | 7.03M | 22.7M | -14.3M | 6.8M | 4M |
| Working Capital Changes | -158.69M | 8.68M | -24.17M | -44.73M | 102.06M | 432K | -31.48M | -2.98M | 4.39M | -10.33M | -3.21M | -4.3M | 957K | 12.13M | 7.98M | 361K | 5.55M | -16.14M | -6.57M | -4.49M | 2.36M | 19.39M | -16.59M | 1.62M | 3.91M | 939K | -24.6M | -8.5M | 14M | -35.4M | 38.7M |
| Cash from Investing | -144.85M | -69.45M | 64.13M | -214.05M | -1.33B | 1.1B | -324.38M | -10.37M | 48.33M | -332.34M | -853.65M | -553.67M | -433.94M | -168.4M | 149.57M | -39.9M | -60.3M | -62.53M | -449.67M | -242.09M | -63.07M | 253.22M | -395.49M | -44.17M | -89.13M | -201.42M | -237.59M | -312.3M | -291.1M | 58M | -299.1M |
| Purchase of Investments | -505.27M | -274.37M | -402.73M | -114.41M | -102.44M | -1.14B | -219.88M | -317.92M | -389.42M | -364.05M | -339K | -5.22M | -12.72M | -2.27M | -83.31M | -293.61M | -147.45M | -46M | -189.31M | -109.15M | -24.11M | -53.47M | -434.91M | -531.32M | -169.16M | -93.75M | -233.85M | -410.4M | -432.6M | -362.9M | -626.8M |
| Sale/Maturity of Investments | 259.36M | 209.77M | 580.11M | 177.65M | 196.83M | 556.57M | 247.92M | 279.11M | 236.03M | 30.13M | 3.65M | 3.75M | 25.98M | 16.2M | 223.89M | 205.52M | 104.58M | 102.74M | 50.89M | 43.66M | 59.75M | 422.92M | 346.65M | 514.93M | 243.61M | 159.79M | 335.74M | 373.8M | 272.3M | 1000K | 1000K |
| Net Investment Activity | -245.91M | -64.59M | 177.38M | 63.24M | 94.39M | -578.71M | 28.04M | -38.81M | -153.39M | -333.92M | 3.31M | -1.47M | 13.26M | 13.92M | 140.58M | -88.09M | -42.87M | 56.74M | -138.42M | -65.49M | 35.63M | 369.44M | -88.27M | -16.39M | 74.46M | 66.03M | 101.88M | -36.6M | -160.3M | -361.9M | -625.8M |
| Acquisitions | 0 | 2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 715.99M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Investing | 105.54M | 94.59M | -107M | -271.56M | -1.42B | 965.54M | -351.47M | 30.17M | 206.01M | 10.8M | -851.19M | -550.71M | -445.58M | -180.36M | 13.41M | 52.07M | -13.53M | -117.82M | -302.9M | -174.03M | -91.79M | -114.98M | -305.48M | -25.83M | -161.99M | -266.4M | -338.39M | -241.3M | -130.8M | -168.7M | -109.2M |
| Cash from Financing | 720.58M | 953.28M | 662.84M | 411.42M | 812.59M | -1.1B | 352.57M | -49.89M | -134.84M | 345.03M | 882.94M | 489.24M | 419.33M | 73.95M | -187.46M | -69.16M | 39.73M | -137.01M | 530.06M | 299.76M | 18.08M | -300.99M | 360.23M | -18.84M | 42.53M | 176.72M | 225.03M | 274.7M | 272.2M | -40.9M | 259.3M |
| Dividends Paid | -50.34M | -50.21M | -45.32M | -44.59M | -44.08M | -46.64M | -23.49M | -20.08M | -20.83M | -21M | -20.58M | -20.29M | -20.11M | -19.73M | -19.22M | -18.9M | -18.64M | -18.5M | -18.27M | -18.05M | -19.75M | -19.87M | -19.77M | -15.81M | -9.9M | -8.74M | -7.7M | -5.9M | -2.6M | -500K | 0 |
| Share Repurchases | 0 | 0 | 0 | -947K | -46.76M | -59.4M | -35.36M | -24.19M | -25.88M | -350K | -344K | -300K | -173K | -291K | -175K | -128K | -32K | -36K | -720K | 0 | -4.04M | -2.13M | -611K | -1.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock Issued | 441K | 924K | 135.76M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 951K | 48.5M | 0 | 638K | 46.24M | 10.51M | 28.09M | 1.42M | 302K | 0 | 149K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Net Stock Activity | 441K | 924K | 135.76M | -947K | -46.76M | -59.4M | -35.36M | -24.19M | -25.88M | 601K | 48.16M | -300K | 465K | 45.95M | 10.33M | 27.96M | 1.39M | 266K | -720K | 149K | -4.04M | -2.13M | -611K | -1.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | -2M | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -100K |
| Other Financing | 933.48M | 1.15B | 1.16B | 276.32M | -204.62M | 519.16M | 173.09M | -82.52M | -43.48M | -15.69M | 1.19B | 516.83M | 175.25M | -19.77M | -81.29M | -27.47M | 136.13M | -107.53M | 160.96M | 177.48M | 93.24M | -296.04M | 176.71M | 117.77M | 357.35M | 214.08M | -29.33M | -2.1M | 75.3M | -113.7M | 129.7M |
| Net Change in Cash | 777.84M | 1.07B | 826.02M | 288.25M | -224.43M | 150.12M | 88.11M | 8.23M | -22.2M | 55.95M | 49.35M | -14.28M | 32.66M | -33.3M | 34.82M | -46.47M | 47.61M | -171.68M | 109.31M | 75.44M | -13.94M | 13.62M | 2.51M | 2.59M | 461K | 9.95M | -2.43M | 1.5M | -2.9M | 2.1M | -6.8M |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Cash at Beginning | 2.06B | 1.28B | 457.55M | 169.3M | 393.72M | 243.6M | 155.49M | 147.26M | 169.46M | 113.5M | 64.15M | 78.44M | 45.78M | 79.08M | 44.26M | 90.73M | 43.12M | 211.02M | 101.71M | 26.26M | 40.2M | 26.58M | 24.07M | 21.49M | 25.32M | 15.37M | 17.8M | 16.3M | 19.2M | 17.1M | 6.8M |
| Cash at End | 1.93B | 2.35B | 1.28B | 457.55M | 169.3M | 393.72M | 243.6M | 155.49M | 147.26M | 169.46M | 113.5M | 64.15M | 78.44M | 45.78M | 79.08M | 44.26M | 90.73M | 39.34M | 211.02M | 101.71M | 26.26M | 40.2M | 26.58M | 24.07M | 25.78M | 25.32M | 15.37M | 17.8M | 16.3M | 19.2M | 0 |
| Interest Paid | 263.26M | 278.28M | 343.25M | 280.81M | 54.91M | 28.46M | 59.14M | 92.71M | 74.3M | 59.82M | 52.32M | 46.7M | 48.33M | 47.16M | 87.28M | 70.04M | 80.45M | 98.65M | 109.79M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Income Taxes Paid | 40.2M | 0 | 0 | 37.91M | 43.52M | 34.77M | 15.76M | 11.94M | 8.43M | 36.52M | 58.38M | 25.66M | 29.04M | 29.86M | 26.91M | 36.62M | 26.95M | 21.61M | 20.2M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Free Cash Flow | 197.63M | 182.44M | 92.8M | 85.15M | 291.43M | 146.33M | 58.98M | 66.77M | 60.02M | 34.03M | 14.29M | 48.66M | 45.65M | 59.19M | 68.28M | 58.7M | 64.27M | 26.4M | 20.57M | 15.21M | 24.14M | 60.15M | 36.02M | 63.64M | 45.47M | 33.59M | 9.05M | 4.7M | 16M | -15.6M | 49.3M |
| FCF Growth % | 42.51% | 96.59% | 8.98% | -70.78% | 99.16% | 148.1% | -11.67% | 11.26% | 76.35% | 138.23% | -70.65% | 6.62% | -22.88% | -13.32% | 16.32% | -8.66% | 143.41% | 28.39% | 35.24% | -37% | -59.87% | 66.97% | -43.4% | 39.97% | 35.36% | 271.06% | 92.6% | -70.63% | - | - | - |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying DCOM stock.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) generated $186.6M in net cash from operating activities in 2025. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) generated $182.4M in free cash flow in 2025. Free cash flow is the cash left over after capital expenditures, which can be used to pay dividends, repurchase shares, or pay down debt.
Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) spent $101.4M on capital expenditures in 2025. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2025, Dime Community Bancshares, Inc. (DCOM) returned $50.2M to shareholders via cash dividends. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
NYC CRE concentration risk
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Earnings Retention Supports Capital
DCOM's operating cash flow consistently exceeded net income, with OCF/NI averaging 1.61 in 2026Q2, indicating strong earnings retention and internal capital generation, according to recent financial statements.
The bank's ability to generate operating cash flow above net income suggests that non-cash charges, such as provision for loan losses, are being added back, bolstering capital. This trend supports organic growth funding without reliance on external debt, as evidenced by minimal long-term debt issuance. However, the elevated provision expenses, rising to $13.9M in 2026Q2, may signal future credit stress that could erode capital if losses materialize.
Securities Portfolio Churns Actively
Investment securities purchases outpaced sales in 2026Q2, with $190.5M purchased versus $95.1M sold, reflecting a net deployment of $95.4M, as reported in DCOM's cash flow statement.
The bank appears to be actively reinvesting in securities, likely to deploy excess liquidity and manage duration. The net purchase activity suggests a strategy to extend duration or reposition the portfolio, which could increase interest rate risk. This churn may also indicate a search for yield in a flat yield curve environment, but it warrants monitoring for potential AOCI volatility.
Loan Growth Drives Cash Deployment
DCOM's loan portfolio continues to expand, with business loan growth cited as a key driver of record revenue, while cash flows from loan originations are not separately disclosed, per the cash flow statement.
The absence of explicit loan origination cash flows in the provided data limits direct analysis, but the strong revenue growth and management's commentary suggest robust lending activity. This loan growth likely consumes cash, as loans are less liquid than securities, and may increase risk-weighted assets, pressuring capital ratios. The bank's ability to fund this growth through deposits and operating cash flow appears adequate, but the mix shift toward commercial loans could elevate credit risk.
Dividends Stable, Buybacks Absent
DCOM paid $12.6M in dividends in 2026Q2, consistent with prior quarters, while no buybacks were executed, indicating a conservative capital return policy, based on the cash flow data.
The stable dividend payout, despite an EPS miss, suggests management's commitment to returning capital to shareholders. However, the lack of buybacks may indicate a preference for retaining capital to support growth and absorb potential credit losses. The dividend appears sustainable given operating cash flow of $56.1M in 2026Q2, but investors should monitor whether the payout ratio rises if earnings decline.
Deposit Flows Not Explicitly Disclosed
The cash flow statement does not separately report deposit inflows or outflows, but the bank's municipal deposit franchise likely provides stable, low-cost funding, as indicated in the company intelligence.
Without explicit deposit flow data, we infer from the balance sheet and management commentary that deposit growth is supporting loan expansion. The low debt-to-equity ratio of 0.25% suggests reliance on core deposits rather than wholesale funding, which is a positive. However, in a competitive NYC deposit market, the bank may face pressure to raise rates, which could increase funding costs and compress margins.
Provisions Rise, Losses Unclear
Provision for loan losses increased to $13.9M in 2026Q2 from $9.2M a year earlier, while net charge-offs are not disclosed, per the cash flow data.
The rising provisions suggest the bank is building reserves, possibly in anticipation of credit deterioration in its NYC CRE portfolio. The absence of charge-off data limits assessment of actual losses, but the provision trend indicates management's cautious stance. If charge-offs remain below provisions, the reserve build may be prudent; however, if losses accelerate, the reserve could prove insufficient, requiring further provisioning and pressuring earnings.
What the Cash Flow Statement Hides
DCOM's cash flow statement obscures the impact of purchase accounting accretion from the 2021 BNB merger, which may inflate operating cash flows and mask underlying organic performance, as noted in the company intelligence.
The accretable yield on acquired loans can artificially boost interest income and operating cash flow, potentially overstating the bank's true cash-generating ability. Additionally, the seasonality of municipal deposits, which peak during tax collection cycles, may distort liquidity and loan-to-deposit ratios. Investors should adjust for these factors to assess the sustainability of cash flows and the bank's real capital generation capacity.