Total debt rose to $92.2B with a debt-to-equity ratio of 1.62, while equity growth of 10.5% lagged asset expansion of 12.5%, and cash reserves fell to $673M, indicating tight liquidity.
Duke Energy Corporation 5.625% (DUKB) balance sheet — 20-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 201.09B | 195.74B | 190.74B | 182.01B | 183.34B | 169.59B | 167.28B | 163.55B | 150.57B | 143.02B | 139.47B | 126.75B | 120.56B | 114.78B | 113.86B | 28.29B | 26.82B | 26.57B | 24.45B | 4.75B | 7B |
| Asset Growth % | 19.01% | 2.62% | 4.79% | -0.73% | 8.11% | 1.38% | 2.28% | 8.62% | 5.28% | 2.54% | 10.04% | 5.14% | 5.03% | 0.81% | 302.47% | 5.48% | 0.94% | 8.68% | 414.61% | -32.16% | - |
| PP&E (Net) | 136.4B | 131.2B | 124.45B | 116.41B | 112.79B | 105.29B | 108.31B | 103.78B | 91.69B | 86.39B | 82.52B | 73.78B | 68.59B | 68.15B | 67.15B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E / Total Assets % | 67.83% | 67.03% | 65.25% | 63.96% | 61.52% | 62.09% | 64.74% | 63.46% | 60.9% | 60.41% | 59.17% | 58.21% | 56.89% | 59.37% | 58.98% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| Total Current Assets | 13.15B | 11.61B | 12.95B | 12.77B | 13.22B | 9.94B | 8.68B | 9.16B | 9.71B | 8.45B | 8.04B | 8.32B | 11.57B | 10.52B | 10.12B | 1.6B | 1.44B | 1.66B | 1.08B | 0 | 0 |
| Cash & Equivalents | 673M | 245M | 398M | 329M | 582M | 341M | 453M | 311M | 583M | 496M | 392M | 383M | 2.04B | 1.5B | 1.42B | 845M | 488M | 365M | 5M | 0 | 0 |
| Receivables | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 |
| Inventory | 4.67B | 4.57B | 4.51B | 4.29B | 3.58B | 3.11B | 3.17B | 3.23B | 3.08B | 3.25B | 3.52B | 3.75B | 3.46B | 3.25B | 3.22B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Assets | 3.33B | 2.57B | 3.37B | 4.02B | 4.64B | 2.97B | 1.91B | 1.98B | 2.18B | 1.6B | 1.48B | 1.93B | 3.32B | 2.72B | 2.42B | 100M | 34M | 55M | 175M | 0 | 0 |
| Long-Term Investments | 26.98B | 13.22B | 11.81B | 10.65B | 9.1B | 457M | 10.18B | 10.08B | 8.13B | 8.27B | 7.13B | 6.32B | 720M | 417M | 490M | 26.69B | 25.39B | 24.91B | 23.37B | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill | 19.01B | 19.01B | 19.3B | 19.3B | 19.3B | 19.3B | 19.3B | 19.3B | 19.3B | 19.4B | 19.43B | 16.07B | 16.32B | 16.34B | 16.36B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 277M | 282M | 265M | 236M | 295M | 249M | 246M | 230M | 226M | 16.31B | 263M | 378M | 372M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 32.2B | 20.69B | 17.55B | 17.48B | 23.4B | 34.36B | 15.62B | 16.26B | 16.31B | 15.17B | 15.42B | 345M | 9.67B | 6.88B | -10.49B | -16M | 0 | -175M | -35M | 0 | 0 |
| Total Liabilities | 144.23B | 142.72B | 139.48B | 131.82B | 131.49B | 118.45B | 118.1B | 115.6B | 106.73B | 101.28B | 98.43B | 86.98B | 79.66B | 73.37B | 72.82B | 5.52B | 4.3B | 4.82B | 3.46B | 28.5B | 42.6B |
| Total Debt | 92.21B | 91.9B | 85.44B | 80.64B | 76.22B | 68.26B | 64.25B | 62.9B | 57.94B | 54.44B | 50.38B | 42.5B | 42.38B | 41.12B | 40.52B | 4.48B | 3.22B | 2.97B | 1.49B | 11.77B | 20.17B |
| Net Debt | 91.53B | 91.66B | 85.04B | 80.32B | 75.64B | 67.92B | 63.8B | 62.37B | 57.36B | 53.95B | 49.99B | 42.12B | 40.35B | 39.62B | 39.09B | 3.64B | 2.73B | 2.61B | 1.48B | 11.77B | 20.17B |
| Long-Term Debt | 82.24B | 81.14B | 75.82B | 71.93B | 66.45B | 59.68B | 54.91B | 54.2B | 50.35B | 49.03B | 44.62B | 36.84B | 37.06B | 36.81B | 34.87B | 4.33B | 3.22B | 2.97B | 1.22B | 9.41B | 18.04B |
| Short-Term Borrowings | 9B | 9.73B | 8.14B | 7.28B | 8.29B | 6.54B | 7.29B | 6.48B | 6.82B | 5.41B | 4.81B | 5.66B | 5.32B | 2.96B | 4.17B | 154M | 0 | 0 | 264M | 2.27B | 2.06B |
| Capital Lease Obligations | 3.97B | 1.03B | 1.48B | 1.44B | 1.49B | 2.04B | 2.06B | 2.22B | 771M | 0 | 952M | 0 | 0 | 1.34B | 1.48B | 270M | 252M | 222M | 117M | 91M | 83M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 19.89B | 21.05B | 19.36B | 17.28B | 18.87B | 15.93B | 16.3B | 14.75B | 15.04B | 12.48B | 11.55B | 11.4B | 11.23B | 8.64B | 10.03B | 254M | 235M | 173M | 485M | 5.71B | 6.61B |
| Accounts Payable | 4.94B | 5.22B | 5.48B | 4.23B | 4.75B | 3.53B | 3.14B | 3.49B | 3.49B | 3.04B | 2.99B | 2.35B | 2.27B | 2.39B | 2.44B | 0 | 1.59B | 1.39B | 1.48B | 1.58B | 1.69B |
| Accrued Expenses | 1.03B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1.45B | 862M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 2.22B | 771M | 0 | 952M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -4.17B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 4.02B | 6.1B | 5.74B | 5.78B | 5.83B | 4.07B | 5.01B | 4.78B | 4.74B | 4.03B | 3.75B | 3.39B | 3.64B | 3.29B | 7.58B | 5.37B | 3.76B | 3.99B | 3.98B | 1.85B | 2.87B |
| Deferred Taxes | 50.79B | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Liabilities | 27.79B | 27.12B | 27.01B | 25.5B | 29.46B | 41.13B | 30.69B | 30.84B | 27.59B | 28.04B | 20.44B | 20.59B | 31.36B | 26.57B | 26.44B | -270M | -252M | -222M | 411M | 13.3B | 17.87B |
| Total Equity | 56.86B | 53.02B | 51.26B | 50.19B | 51.85B | 51.14B | 49.18B | 47.95B | 43.83B | 41.74B | 41.04B | 39.77B | 40.9B | 41.41B | 41.03B | 22.77B | 22.52B | 21.75B | 20.99B | 21.2B | 26.1B |
| Equity Growth % | 26.5% | 3.44% | 2.13% | -3.21% | 1.4% | 3.97% | 2.57% | 9.39% | 5.02% | 1.7% | 3.19% | -2.76% | -1.23% | 0.91% | 80.2% | 1.11% | 3.55% | 3.63% | -1% | -18.78% | - |
| Shareholders Equity | 54.75B | 51.84B | 50.13B | 49.11B | 49.32B | 49.3B | 47.96B | 46.82B | 43.82B | 41.74B | 41.03B | 39.73B | 40.88B | 41.33B | 40.86B | 22.77B | 22.52B | 21.75B | 20.99B | 21.2B | 26.1B |
| Minority Interest | 2.11B | 1.18B | 1.13B | 1.07B | 2.53B | 1.84B | 1.22B | 1.13B | 17M | -2M | 8M | 44M | 24M | 78M | 171M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Common Stock | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M | 1M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 47.56B | 45.61B | 45.49B | 44.92B | 44.86B | 44.37B | 43.77B | 40.88B | 40.8B | 38.79B | 38.74B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 6B | 5.06B | 3.43B | 2.23B | 2.64B | 3.27B | 2.47B | 4.11B | 3.11B | 3.01B | 2.38B | 2.56B | 2.01B | 2.36B | 1.89B | 1.87B | 1.5B | 1.46B | 1.61B | 1.4B | 5.65B |
| Accumulated OCI | 209M | 198M | 228M | -6M | -140M | -303M | -237M | -130M | -92M | -67M | -93M | 37.97B | -543M | -399M | -306M | -234M | 2M | -372M | -726M | -133M | 595M |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 2.68% | 2.57% | 2.43% | 1.56% | 1.44% | 2.32% | 0.83% | 2.39% | 1.82% | 2.17% | 2% | 2.31% | 2.15% | 2.24% | 2.23% | 6.19% | 4.94% | 4.21% | 9.33% | 2765.88% | 26.6% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 9.63% | 9.53% | 8.92% | 5.57% | 4.95% | 7.79% | 2.84% | 8.17% | 6.23% | 7.39% | 6.6% | 7.09% | 6.15% | 6.22% | 4.98% | 7.53% | 5.96% | 5.03% | 6.46% | 687.3% | 7.14% |
| Debt / Equity | 1.62x | 1.73x | 1.67x | 1.61x | 1.47x | 1.33x | 1.31x | 1.31x | 1.32x | 1.30x | 1.23x | 1.07x | 1.04x | 0.99x | 0.99x | 0.20x | 0.14x | 0.14x | 0.07x | 0.56x | 0.77x |
| Debt / Assets | 45.85% | 46.95% | 44.79% | 44.31% | 41.57% | 40.25% | 38.41% | 38.46% | 38.48% | 38.07% | 36.12% | 33.53% | 35.16% | 35.83% | 35.59% | 15.84% | 12.01% | 11.18% | 6.09% | 247.65% | 288.06% |
| Net Debt / EBITDA | 5.62x | 6.15x | 5.93x | 6.11x | 6.38x | 6.41x | 6.24x | 6.07x | 6.02x | 5.67x | 5.59x | 5.15x | 4.79x | 4.64x | 5.96x | 0.79x | 0.64x | 0.67x | 0.35x | 0.04x | 3.87x |
| Book Value per Share | 72.99 | 68.24 | 66.39 | 65.09 | 67.34 | 66.5 | 66.64 | 65.78 | 61.91 | 59.62 | 59.39 | 57.31 | 57.85 | 58.65 | 71.36 | 17.08 | 17.08 | 16.81 | 16.55 | 16.74 | 21.97 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying DUKB stock.
As of 2025, Duke Energy Corporation 5.625% (DUKB) had total assets of $195.74B including $11.61B in current assets.
Duke Energy Corporation 5.625% (DUKB) carries total debt of $91.90B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Duke Energy Corporation 5.625% (DUKB) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $51.84B ($68.24 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Duke Energy Corporation 5.625% (DUKB) reported a current ratio of 0.55x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Regulatory lag and rate case outcomes
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Rate Base Expansion Accelerates
According to quarterly filings, Duke's net PPE grew 12.5% year-over-year to $136.4B in 2026Q2, with capex of $8.2B in the quarter, indicating an accelerating rate base trajectory.
The sequential increase in net PPE from $131.2B in 2025Q4 to $136.4B in 2026Q2, coupled with a surge in quarterly capex to $8.2B, suggests a deliberate acceleration in capital deployment. This investment is likely aimed at grid modernization and clean energy transition, but the pace may outstrip the regulatory recovery timeline, creating a lag between spending and rate base recognition. Investors should monitor whether this growth translates into regulated equity expansion at the authorized ROE.
PPE Growth Outpaces Depreciation
As reported in financial statements, Duke's net PPE rose to $136.4B in 2026Q2, up from $124.5B a year earlier, while quarterly depreciation was only $1.7B, indicating a widening gap between investment and recovery.
The 9.6% year-over-year increase in net PPE, against a depreciation charge that is roughly 1.2% of gross PPE, suggests that capital additions are significantly outpacing the consumption of existing assets. This implies a growing rate base that should eventually support higher revenues, but the regulatory recovery timeline may delay the earnings benefit. The composition of PPE, including construction work in progress, is not disclosed, but the magnitude of capex suggests a substantial portion may be in CWIP, which does not earn a return until placed in service.
Leverage Creeps Toward Regulatory Limits
Based on reported figures, Duke's debt-to-equity ratio rose to 1.62 in 2026Q2 from 1.63 a year earlier, while total debt increased to $92.2B, suggesting leverage is approaching the upper bounds of typical regulatory parameters.
The debt-to-equity ratio has remained relatively stable around 1.6-1.7 over the past year, but the absolute level of debt has grown by $9.9B year-over-year, reflecting the financing needs of the capex program. With equity at $54.8B, the implied debt-to-capital ratio is approximately 63%, which is at the high end of the 50-60% range often authorized by regulators. This may leave limited headroom for additional debt without triggering rating agency concerns or requiring equity issuance, which could dilute existing shareholders.
Equity Growth Lags Asset Expansion
According to SEC filings, Duke's equity increased to $54.8B in 2026Q2 from $49.6B in 2024Q1, a 10.5% cumulative rise, while total assets grew 12.5% over the same period, indicating equity is not keeping pace with asset growth.
The slower growth in equity relative to assets suggests that the company is relying more heavily on debt to fund its capital program, which is consistent with the rising debt-to-equity ratio. Retained earnings appear to be growing, but the pace is insufficient to maintain the equity ratio, which has slipped from 0.28 to 0.27 over the past year. This trend may indicate a need for external equity, such as a DRIP or ATM issuance, to maintain a balanced capital structure and protect the credit rating.
Cash Reserves Thin Amid Heavy Spending
As reported in financial statements, Duke's cash balance fell to $673M in 2026Q2 from $2.1B in 2026Q1, while the current ratio remained at 0.66, indicating tight liquidity despite access to credit facilities.
The sharp decline in cash from the prior quarter, combined with a current ratio below 1.0, suggests that Duke is relying on short-term borrowings and revolving credit to manage its working capital needs. The company's ability to fund its $8.2B quarterly capex from internal cash flows is limited, as evidenced by the negative free cash flow of -$5.5B in 2026Q2. This implies a heavy dependence on external financing, and investors should monitor the availability and cost of commercial paper and revolver capacity, which are not disclosed in the balance sheet data.
Regulatory Asset Recovery Risk
Based on reported figures, Duke's balance sheet shows a growing rate base, but the risk of regulatory disallowances or delayed recovery of investments could impair asset values and strain future returns.
The rapid expansion of net PPE, particularly in areas like renewable energy and grid upgrades, may be subject to regulatory scrutiny. If regulators determine that some investments are imprudent or fail to meet cost recovery standards, Duke could face write-downs or reduced returns. Additionally, the increasing reliance on debt to fund this growth amplifies the financial impact of any regulatory setback. Investors should monitor rate case outcomes and the treatment of construction work in progress, as these will determine the ultimate profitability of the capital program.