Total assets grew 8.9% YoY to $31.6B with equity-to-assets improving to 13.6%, yet cash and bank balances dropped sharply to $353.7M from $915.5M a year earlier, suggesting a shift toward higher-yielding securities and tighter liquidity.
Glacier Bancorp, Inc. (GBCI) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 17.45B | 4.33B | 4.55B | 6.14B | 5.71B | 9.61B | 5.97B | 2.91B | 2.78B | 1.98B | 2.58B | 2.8B | 2.83B | 3.37B | 3.87B | 3.25B | 104.86M | 123.42M | 128.78M | 227.47M | 166.89M | 127.16M | 92.31M | 86.14M | 79.38M | 97.43M | 51.79M | 52.3M | 42.18M | 34.2M | 27.1M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 353.75M | 321.53M | 848.41M | 1.35B | 402M | 437.69M | 633.14M | 330.96M | 203.79M | 200M | 152.54M | 187.17M | 441.38M | 145.13M | 187.04M | 128.03M | 104.86M | 123.42M | 128.78M | 227.47M | 166.89M | 127.16M | 92.31M | 86.14M | 79.38M | 97.43M | 51.79M | 52.3M | 42.18M | 34.2M | 27.1M |
| Short Term Investments | 0 | 4.01B | 3.71B | 4.79B | 5.31B | 9.17B | 5.34B | 2.58B | 2.57B | 1.78B | 2.43B | 2.61B | 2.39B | 3.22B | 3.68B | 3.13B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 28.36B | 4.05B | 24.73B | 24.32B | 24.18B | 23.7B | 16.67B | 12.27B | 11.09B | 8.94B | 8.75B | 8.35B | 7.37B | 7.25B | 7.14B | 6.6B | 6.15B | 5.49B | 5.04B | 4.26B | 3.99B | 3.37B | 2.74B | 2.48B | 2.04B | 1.83B | 945.45M | 861.52M | 623.69M | 582.4M | 492.1M |
| Investments Growth % | -58.06% | -83.62% | 1.67% | 0.58% | 2.03% | 42.18% | 35.86% | 10.66% | 23.97% | 2.16% | 4.9% | 13.3% | 1.55% | 1.54% | 8.23% | 7.34% | 11.93% | 8.93% | 18.46% | 6.67% | 18.6% | 22.92% | 10.36% | 21.57% | 11.45% | 93.65% | 9.74% | 38.13% | 7.09% | 18.35% | 39.05% |
| Long-Term Investments | 71.06B | 42.76M | 21.02B | 19.54B | 18.87B | 14.53B | 11.33B | 9.69B | 8.52B | 7.17B | 6.33B | 5.74B | 4.98B | 4.03B | 3.46B | 3.47B | 6.15B | 5.49B | 5.04B | 4.26B | 3.99B | 3.37B | 2.74B | 2.48B | 2.04B | 1.83B | 945.45M | 861.52M | 623.69M | 582.4M | 492.1M |
| Accounts Receivables | 0 | 20.79B | 99.26M | 94.53M | 83.54M | 76.67M | 75.5M | 56.05M | 54.41M | 44.46M | 45.83M | 44.52M | 40.59M | 41.9M | 37.77M | 34.96M | 30.25M | 29.73M | 28.78M | 26.17M | 25.73M | 19.92M | 15.64M | 14.94M | 13.42M | 12.41M | 6.64M | 5.61M | 4.35M | 4.2M | 3.5M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 1.47B | 1.48B | 1.1B | 1.02B | 1.03B | 1.04B | 569.52M | 519.7M | 338.83M | 192M | 159.4M | 155.19M | 140.61M | 139.22M | 112.27M | 114.38M | 157.02M | 160.2M | 159.76M | 26.17M | 25.73M | 19.92M | 15.64M | 42.82M | 40.01M | 41.77M | 6.64M | 5.61M | 4.35M | 4.2M | 3.5M |
| Goodwill | 1.38B | 1.38B | 1.05B | 985.39M | 985.39M | 985.39M | 514.01M | 456.42M | 289.59M | 177.81M | 147.05M | 140.64M | 129.71M | 129.71M | 106.1M | 106.1M | 146.26M | 146.26M | 146.75M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 36.95M | 33.19M | 2.17M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 95.67M | 105.27M | 51.18M | 31.87M | 41.6M | 52.26M | 55.51M | 63.29M | 49.24M | 14.18M | 12.35M | 14.55M | 10.9M | 9.51M | 6.17M | 8.28M | 10.76M | 13.94M | 13.01M | 26.17M | 25.73M | 19.92M | 15.64M | 5.87M | 6.82M | 39.6M | 6.64M | 5.61M | 4.35M | 4.2M | 3.5M |
| PP&E (Net) | 569.92M | 561.76M | 468.22M | 421.79M | 398.1M | 372.6M | 325.33M | 310.31M | 241.53M | 177.35M | 176.2M | 194.03M | 179.18M | 167.67M | 158.99M | 158.87M | 152.49M | 140.92M | 133.95M | 123.75M | 112.24M | 79.95M | 55.73M | 53.25M | 47.22M | 51.16M | 25.02M | 24.67M | 17.38M | 13.6M | 11.3M |
| Other Assets | 616.18M | 0 | 517.05M | 373.74M | 350.34M | 288.15M | 232.01M | 195.94M | 166.45M | 110.67M | 94.99M | 104.01M | 96.66M | 92.64M | 87.08M | 120.06M | 124.88M | 202.74M | 44.87M | 28.23M | 30.81M | 27.04M | 67.12M | 61.81M | 60.71M | 52.08M | 21.33M | 22.86M | 15.76M | 12.9M | 10.5M |
| Total Current Assets | 474M | 25.12B | 4.65B | 6.23B | 5.79B | 9.69B | 6.05B | 2.96B | 2.83B | 2.02B | 2.62B | 2.84B | 2.87B | 3.41B | 3.91B | 3.29B | 135.34M | 153.15M | 157.55M | 253.64M | 192.62M | 147.08M | 107.94M | 101.08M | 92.8M | 109.83M | 58.42M | 57.91M | 46.53M | 38.4M | 30.6M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 31.12B | 2.19B | 23.25B | 21.51B | 20.84B | 16.26B | 12.46B | 10.72B | 9.29B | 7.68B | 6.83B | 6.25B | 5.44B | 4.47B | 3.84B | 3.9B | 6.62B | 6.04B | 5.4B | 4.56B | 4.28B | 3.56B | 2.9B | 2.64B | 2.19B | 1.98B | 998.29M | 916.09M | 659.43M | 610.3M | 515.4M |
| Total Assets | 31.6B | 31.98B | 27.9B | 27.74B | 26.64B | 25.94B | 18.5B | 13.68B | 12.12B | 9.71B | 9.45B | 9.09B | 8.31B | 7.88B | 7.75B | 7.19B | 6.76B | 6.19B | 5.55B | 4.82B | 4.47B | 3.71B | 3.01B | 2.74B | 2.28B | 2.09B | 1.06B | 974M | 705.97M | 648.7M | 546M |
| Asset Growth % | 40.33% | 14.6% | 0.58% | 4.16% | 2.68% | 40.19% | 35.23% | 12.95% | 24.82% | 2.71% | 3.98% | 9.42% | 5.35% | 1.77% | 7.78% | 6.34% | 9.17% | 11.48% | 15.29% | 7.82% | 20.54% | 23.1% | 9.9% | 20.09% | 9.38% | 97.38% | 8.49% | 37.97% | 8.83% | 18.81% | 40.69% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1% | 0.8% | 0.68% | 0.82% | 1.15% | 1.28% | 1.66% | 1.63% | 1.67% | 1.21% | 1.31% | 1.34% | 1.39% | 1.22% | 1.01% | 0.25% | 0.65% | 0.59% | 1.27% | 1.48% | 1.5% | 1.56% | 1.55% | 1.51% | 1.48% | 1.38% | 1.38% | 1.47% | 1.68% | 1.71% | 1.76% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 33.63M | 125.91M | 4.33M | 2.41M | 3.31M | 4.69M | 4.25M | 3.45M | 3.58M | 3.52M | 4.16M | 3.5M | 4.67M | 5.83M | 7.25M | 7.93M | 9.75M | 13.28M | 11.04M | 7.44M | 4.86M | 4.35M | 6.09M | 9.18M | 4.59M | 2.72M | 2.28M | 1.8M | 700K |
| Total Debt | 2.19B | 2.9B | 3.79B | 4.44B | 2.96B | 1.2B | 1.18B | 777.17M | 985.09M | 850.93M | 855.83M | 950M | 827.07M | 1.29B | 1.42B | 1.47B | 1.36B | 1.37B | 1.57B | 1.06B | 765.07M | 804.41M | 980.15M | 842.28M | 544.95M | 400.94M | 226.32M | 235.26M | 143.64M | 171.4M | 158.3M |
| Net Debt | 1.84B | 2.58B | 2.95B | 3.09B | 2.55B | 759.82M | 544.47M | 446.21M | 781.29M | 650.92M | 703.29M | 762.82M | 385.68M | 1.14B | 1.23B | 1.34B | 1.25B | 1.24B | 1.44B | 831.65M | 598.17M | 677.26M | 887.84M | 756.14M | 465.58M | 303.51M | 174.53M | 182.96M | 101.46M | 137.2M | 131.2M |
| Long-Term Debt | 241.45M | 291.83M | 2.02B | 2.95B | 2.01B | 176.71M | 173.03M | 207.34M | 588.93M | 488.35M | 382.18M | 526.58M | 429.96M | 974.13M | 1.13B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 915.36M | 459.49M | 657.51M | 426.08M | 272.69M | 85.06M | 8.02M | 15.09M | 1.06M | 4.65M | 6.85M | 100M | 7.9M | 75.1M |
| Short-Term Debt | 1.95B | 2.52B | 1.78B | 1.49B | 945.92M | 1.02B | 1B | 569.82M | 396.15M | 362.57M | 473.65M | 423.41M | 397.11M | 313.39M | 289.51M | 268.64M | 269.41M | 451.25M | 1.11B | 401.62M | 338.99M | 531.72M | 895.09M | 834.26M | 529.87M | 399.88M | 221.67M | 228.42M | 43.64M | 163.5M | 83.2M |
| Other Liabilities | 25.01B | 27.31B | 304.59M | 225.79M | 225.19M | 225.86M | 194.86M | 164.95M | 116.53M | 73.17M | 102.04M | 114.06M | 102.03M | 50.1M | 55.38M | 37.69M | 32.26M | 31.22M | 34.58M | 31.87M | 31.51M | 26.54M | 25.83M | 57.54M | 58.13M | 52.58M | 6.78M | 6.55M | 6.08M | 5M | 13M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 1.95B | 81.68M | 22.36B | 21.54B | 21.56B | 22.36B | 15.81B | 11.35B | 9.89B | 7.95B | 7.85B | 7.37B | 6.75B | 5.9B | 5.66B | 5.1B | 4.8B | 4.56B | 4.38B | 3.6B | 3.56B | 3.07B | 2.63B | 2.44B | 2B | 1.86B | 946.83M | 875.24M | 521.76M | 569.7M | 405.6M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 25.25B | 27.68B | 2.32B | 3.18B | 2.24B | 402.57M | 391.75M | 372.3M | 705.46M | 561.52M | 484.22M | 640.64M | 531.99M | 1.02B | 1.19B | 1.24B | 1.12B | 946.57M | 494.07M | 689.37M | 457.6M | 299.24M | 110.89M | 65.55M | 73.22M | 53.64M | 11.43M | 13.4M | 106.08M | 12.9M | 88.1M |
| Total Liabilities | 27.29B | 27.76B | 24.68B | 24.72B | 23.79B | 22.76B | 16.2B | 11.72B | 10.6B | 8.51B | 8.33B | 8.01B | 7.28B | 6.92B | 6.85B | 6.34B | 5.92B | 5.51B | 4.88B | 4.29B | 4.01B | 3.37B | 2.74B | 2.5B | 2.07B | 1.91B | 958.26M | 888.64M | 627.84M | 582.6M | 493.7M |
| Total Equity | 4.31B | 4.21B | 3.22B | 3.02B | 2.84B | 3.18B | 2.31B | 1.96B | 1.52B | 1.2B | 1.12B | 1.08B | 1.03B | 963.25M | 900.95M | 850.23M | 838.2M | 685.89M | 676.94M | 528.58M | 456.14M | 333.24M | 270.18M | 237.84M | 212.25M | 176.98M | 98.45M | 85.36M | 78.12M | 66.1M | 52.3M |
| Equity Growth % | 93.06% | 30.71% | 6.74% | 6.22% | -10.52% | 37.74% | 17.66% | 29.35% | 26.42% | 7.36% | 3.74% | 4.73% | 6.73% | 6.92% | 5.97% | 1.43% | 22.21% | 1.32% | 28.07% | 15.88% | 36.88% | 23.34% | 13.6% | 12.06% | 19.93% | 79.77% | 15.33% | 9.27% | 18.19% | 26.39% | 36.55% |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 13.65% | 13.18% | 11.55% | 10.89% | 10.67% | 12.25% | 12.47% | 14.33% | 12.51% | 12.35% | 11.82% | 11.85% | 12.38% | 12.22% | 11.63% | 11.83% | 12.4% | 11.08% | 12.19% | 10.97% | 10.21% | 8.99% | 8.97% | 8.68% | 9.3% | 8.49% | 9.32% | 8.76% | 11.07% | 10.19% | 9.58% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 7.61% | 6.43% | 6.09% | 7.6% | 10.07% | 10.38% | 12.48% | 12.11% | 13.4% | 10.05% | 11.04% | 11.04% | 11.32% | 10.26% | 8.62% | 2.07% | 5.55% | 5.04% | 10.89% | 13.93% | 15.49% | 17.36% | 17.56% | 16.89% | 16.65% | 15.75% | 15.24% | 15.11% | 15.77% | 17.29% | 18.1% |
| Book Value per Share | 33.09 | 32.38 | 28.47 | 27.24 | 25.66 | 31.97 | 24.30 | 22.18 | 18.12 | 15.45 | 14.63 | 14.24 | 13.76 | 13.15 | 12.53 | 11.82 | 12.03 | 11.15 | 12.31 | 9.86 | 9.03 | 6.94 | 5.81 | 5.18 | 4.72 | 4.24 | 3.30 | 2.87 | 2.66 | 2.53 | 2.10 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 21.78 | 20.98 | 18.73 | 18.06 | 16.39 | 21.53 | 18.30 | 16.30 | 14.07 | 12.98 | 12.54 | 12.19 | 11.88 | 11.25 | 10.96 | 10.23 | 9.78 | 8.54 | 9.40 | 9.37 | 8.52 | 6.52 | 5.48 | 4.25 | 3.83 | 3.24 | 3.08 | 2.68 | 2.52 | 2.37 | 1.96 |
| Common Stock | 1.3M | 1.3M | 1.13M | 1.11M | 1.11M | 1.11M | 954K | 923K | 845K | 780K | 765K | 761K | 750K | 744K | 719K | 719K | 719K | 616K | 613K | 536K | 523K | 322K | 307K | 194K | 173K | 169K | 114K | 104K | 86K | 0 | 0 |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 3.23B | 3.22B | 2.45B | 2.35B | 2.34B | 2.34B | 1.5B | 1.38B | 1.05B | 798M | 749.11M | 736.37M | 708.36M | 690.92M | 641.74M | 642.88M | 643.89M | 497.49M | 491.79M | 374.73M | 344.26M | 262.38M | 227.61M | 222.64M | 173.41M | 167.37M | 101.83M | 87.39M | 60.1M | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 1.25B | 1.16B | 1.08B | 1.04B | 966.98M | 810.34M | 667.94M | 541.05M | 473.18M | 402.26M | 374.38M | 337.53M | 301.2M | 261.94M | 210.53M | 173.14M | 193.06M | 188.13M | 185.78M | 150.19M | 108.29M | 69.71M | 36.39M | 8.39M | 28.56M | 7.69M | -4.09M | 3M | 16.42M | 28.7M | 18.4M |
| Accumulated OCI | -171.29M | -167.11M | -309.3M | -374.11M | -468.79M | 27.36M | 143.09M | 40.23M | -9.43M | -1.98M | -7.38M | 1.99M | 17.74M | 9.64M | 47.96M | 33.49M | 528K | -348K | -1.24M | 3.12M | 3.07M | 821K | 5.93M | 6.62M | 10.11M | 1.76M | 258K | -5.43M | 1.2M | 0 | 0 |
| Treasury Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying GBCI stock.
As of 2025, Glacier Bancorp, Inc. (GBCI) had total assets of $31.98B including $25.12B in current assets.
Glacier Bancorp, Inc. (GBCI) carries total debt of $2.90B. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Glacier Bancorp, Inc. (GBCI) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $4.21B ($32.38 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Glacier Bancorp, Inc. (GBCI) reported a current ratio of 307.57x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
CRE concentration in mountain markets
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Accelerates on Loan Expansion
Total assets grew 8.9% year-over-year to $31.6B in 2026Q2, driven by robust loan growth, as reported in the latest quarterly data.
The balance sheet expanded from $29.0B in 2025Q2 to $31.6B in 2026Q2, a 9% increase, while equity grew from $3.5B to $4.3B, indicating organic capital generation. The loan book appears to be the primary growth engine, with net interest income up 33% year-over-year, suggesting that asset growth is translating into earning asset expansion. However, the securities portfolio also increased significantly, from $25.7B to $28.4B, implying a mix of loan and securities growth that may reflect strategic repositioning.
Deposit Franchise Underpins Low Funding Costs
Despite rising deposit costs, GBCI's net interest margin expanded to 0.9% in 2026Q2 from 0.6% a year earlier, according to financial statements, reflecting a stable core deposit base.
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the bank's ability to grow NIM while industry deposit costs rise suggests that its decentralized model continues to attract low-cost core deposits. The efficiency ratio, however, rose to 52.9% from 44.5% a year ago, indicating that operating expenses are growing faster than revenue, which may be partly due to higher personnel costs associated with maintaining local branches. Investors should monitor whether deposit betas remain low as competition for deposits intensifies in its markets.
Credit Quality Appears Stable but Provision Volatility Persists
Loan loss provisions swung from $20.3M in 2025Q2 to zero in 2026Q2, as per the income statement, suggesting improved credit conditions or reserve releases.
The provision for loan losses was zero in 2026Q2, down from $20.3M in the year-ago quarter, which may indicate a reduction in expected credit losses or a release of reserves. However, the bank's significant exposure to commercial real estate in mountain markets warrants caution; if the regional economy weakens, provisions could spike. The allowance for loan losses appears thin, with no explicit allowance data provided, but the low provision levels suggest management views credit risk as manageable.
Capital Ratios Improve but Remain Modest
Equity-to-assets rose to 13.6% in 2026Q2 from 12.1% a year earlier, based on reported figures, indicating strengthening capital adequacy.
The equity-to-assets ratio improved from 12.1% in 2025Q2 to 13.6% in 2026Q2, driven by retained earnings and modest asset growth. This provides a buffer for potential credit losses and supports the bank's dividend, which increased to $42.9M in 2026Q2. However, the ratio is still below some peers, and the bank's frequent acquisitions may require additional capital, limiting the pace of future M&A unless it raises equity.
Liquidity Position Tightens with Cash Drawdown
Cash and bank balances fell to $353.7M in 2026Q2 from $915.5M a year earlier, as reported, while securities holdings rose, suggesting a shift toward higher-yielding assets.
The sharp decline in cash from $915.5M to $353.7M year-over-year, coupled with a rise in investment securities from $25.7B to $28.4B, indicates that the bank is deploying excess liquidity into the securities portfolio. This may enhance yield but reduces the immediate liquidity buffer. The bank's reliance on core deposits appears stable, but the loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, making it difficult to assess funding gaps. Investors should monitor the bank's ability to meet funding needs if deposit outflows occur.
Margin Expansion May Face Headwinds
Net interest margin expanded to 0.9% in 2026Q2 from 0.6% a year earlier, according to financial statements, but rising deposit costs could pressure future margins.
The NIM improvement suggests that asset yields are repricing faster than liability costs, but the efficiency ratio's rise to 52.9% indicates that operating costs are absorbing some of the gains. As the rate environment evolves, deposit betas may increase, particularly if competition for deposits intensifies in GBCI's markets. The bank's large securities portfolio, which likely has longer duration, could face unrealized losses if rates rise further, impacting AOCI and regulatory capital. Investors should watch for signs of margin compression in coming quarters.
Unrealized Losses and CRE Concentration Pose Risks
GBCI's large securities portfolio and CRE concentration in mountain markets may expose it to unrealized losses and credit deterioration, as per reported balance sheet data.
The investment securities portfolio grew to $28.4B in 2026Q2, representing a significant portion of total assets. In a rising rate environment, these securities may carry unrealized losses that could reduce AOCI and regulatory capital, despite the bank's reported equity growth. Additionally, the bank's focus on commercial real estate in high-growth but volatile mountain markets suggests that a reversal of migration trends could lead to higher credit costs. The zero provision in 2026Q2 may not reflect the true risk if economic conditions deteriorate, warranting close monitoring of credit metrics.