The balance sheet is conservatively leveraged with an equity/assets ratio of 0.10 and debt-to-equity of 0.35%, but investment securities totaling $7.4 billion represent over 90% of assets, providing a substantial liquidity buffer while limiting return on equity to 2.9%.
Hanmi Financial Corporation (HAFC) balance sheet — 27-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 |
|---|
| Cash & Short Term Investments | 3.95B | 1.09B | 1.21B | 1.17B | 1.21B | 1.52B | 1.15B | 756.15M | 730.28M | 732.63M | 664.2M | 862.66M | 1.22B | 710.28M | 719.11M | 563.54M | 219.72M | 154.11M | 85.19M | 105.9M | 97.5M | 103.48M | 55.16M | 62.59M | 67.77M | 81.21M | 176.11M | 63.58M |
| Cash & Due from Banks | 348.58M | 212.84M | 304.8M | 302.32M | 352.42M | 608.97M | 391.85M | 121.68M | 155.38M | 153.83M | 147.24M | 164.36M | 158.32M | 179.36M | 268.05M | 181.68M | 219.72M | 154.11M | 85.19M | 105.9M | 97.5M | 103.48M | 55.16M | 62.59M | 67.77M | 81.21M | 176.11M | 63.58M |
| Short Term Investments | 869.5M | 880.62M | 905.8M | 865.74M | 853.84M | 910.79M | 753.78M | 634.48M | 574.91M | 578.8M | 516.96M | 698.3M | 1.06B | 530.93M | 451.06M | 381.86M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Investments | 7.38B | 7.38B | 7.1B | 6.99B | 6.17B | 5.53B | 5.15B | 4.71B | 5.15B | 4.86B | 4.34B | 3.84B | 3.8B | 2.71B | 2.45B | 2.31B | 2.54B | 2.81B | 3.49B | 3.59B | 3.23B | 2.91B | 2.65B | 1.66B | 1.28B | 1.03B | 826.52M | 645.89M |
| Investments Growth % | 17.03% | 4.03% | 1.5% | 13.21% | 11.72% | 7.41% | 9.16% | -8.51% | 6.06% | 11.99% | 12.94% | 1.04% | 40.38% | 10.76% | 5.72% | -8.75% | -9.7% | -19.54% | -2.86% | 11.23% | 10.85% | 9.77% | 59.58% | 29.55% | 24.14% | 25.11% | 27.97% | - |
| Long-Term Investments | 26.66B | 6.5B | 6.19B | 6.12B | 5.32B | 4.62B | 4.39B | 4.08B | 4.58B | 4.28B | 3.82B | 3.14B | 2.74B | 2.18B | 1.99B | 1.93B | 2.54B | 2.81B | 3.49B | 3.59B | 3.23B | 2.91B | 2.65B | 1.66B | 1.28B | 1.03B | 826.52M | 645.89M |
| Accounts Receivables | 25.4M | 24.47M | 22.94M | 23.37M | 18.54M | 11.98M | 16.36M | 11.74M | 13.33M | 12.77M | 10.99M | 9.5M | 9.75M | 7.05M | 7.58M | 7.83M | 8.05M | 9.49M | 12.35M | 17.41M | 16.92M | 14.12M | 10.03M | 6.69M | 5.53M | 5.41M | 6.85M | 4.96M |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.1M | 11.22M | 11.39M | 11.61M | 11.87M | 12.18M | 12.54M | 12.89M | 1.7M | 2.08M | 1.17M | 1.33M | 1.53M | 2.23M | 3.38M | 12.35M | 17.41M | 16.92M | 14.12M | 10.03M | 6.69M | 5.53M | 5.41M | 6.85M | 4.96M |
| Goodwill | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 11.03M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 0 | 0 | 68K | 194K | 364K | 581K | 842K | 1.15M | 1.51M | 1.86M | 1.7M | 2.08M | 1.17M | 1.33M | 1.53M | 2.23M | 3.38M | 12.35M | 17.41M | 16.92M | 14.12M | 10.03M | 6.69M | 5.53M | 5.41M | 6.85M | 4.96M |
| PP&E (Net) | 20.38M | 20.38M | 21.4M | 21.96M | 22.85M | 24.79M | 26.43M | 26.07M | 27.75M | 26.66M | 28.7M | 29.83M | 30.91M | 14.22M | 15.15M | 16.6M | 17.6M | 18.66M | 21.1M | 20.8M | 20.07M | 20.78M | 19.69M | 8.44M | 8.24M | 7.81M | 6.69M | 8.94M |
| Other Assets | 223.38M | 218.98M | 177.25M | 185.64M | 79.43M | 78.37M | 77.81M | 39.4M | 76.74M | 77.96M | 84.85M | 102.66M | 110.13M | 78.89M | 82.88M | 213.29M | 115.33M | 109.55M | 263.23M | 129.65M | 147.82M | 145.13M | 144.37M | 44.37M | 88.9M | 28.11M | 16.01M | 14.22M |
| Total Current Assets | 1.27B | 1.12B | 1.28B | 1.23B | 1.94B | 2.13B | 1.69B | 1.34B | 780.15M | 781.06M | 706.92M | 904.97M | 1.28B | 730.71M | 737.8M | 582.04M | 236.96M | 220.16M | 97.53M | 123.31M | 114.42M | 117.6M | 65.19M | 69.28M | 73.31M | 86.61M | 182.96M | 68.54M |
| Total Non-Current Assets | 6.77B | 6.75B | 6.4B | 6.34B | 5.43B | 4.73B | 4.51B | 4.19B | 4.72B | 4.43B | 3.99B | 3.33B | 2.95B | 2.32B | 2.14B | 2.16B | 2.67B | 2.94B | 3.78B | 3.86B | 3.61B | 3.3B | 3.04B | 1.72B | 1.38B | 1.07B | 851.65M | 671.72M |
| Total Assets | 8.04B | 7.87B | 7.68B | 7.57B | 7.38B | 6.86B | 6.2B | 5.54B | 5.5B | 5.21B | 4.7B | 4.23B | 4.23B | 3.05B | 2.88B | 2.74B | 2.91B | 3.16B | 3.88B | 3.98B | 3.73B | 3.41B | 3.1B | 1.79B | 1.46B | 1.16B | 1.03B | 740.26M |
| Asset Growth % | 8.07% | 2.49% | 1.42% | 2.6% | 7.58% | 10.59% | 11.98% | 0.65% | 5.6% | 10.83% | 11.02% | 0.05% | 38.57% | 5.96% | 5.02% | -5.58% | -8.08% | -18.4% | -2.71% | 6.94% | 9.11% | 9.99% | 73.7% | 22.72% | 25.68% | 12% | 39.76% | - |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | 1.15% | 0.98% | 0.82% | 1.07% | 1.42% | 1.51% | 0.72% | 0.59% | 1.08% | 1.1% | 1.26% | 1.27% | 1.37% | 1.34% | 3.21% | 1% | -2.9% | -3.47% | -2.6% | -1.58% | 1.83% | 1.79% | 1.5% | 1.18% | 1.3% | 1.53% | 1.75% | 1.62% |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 34.78M | 34.82M | 39.31M | 7.79M | 1.16M | 4.56M | 11.21M | 11.38M | 5.31M | 2.57M | 3.18M | 3.45M | 3.37M | 11.78M | 16.03M | 15.97M | 12.61M | 18.54M | 21.83M | 22.58M | 11.91M | 7.1M | 4.4M | 3.38M | 4.73M | 6.38M | 3.16M |
| Total Debt | 76.15M | 280.46M | 393.14M | 455.01M | 479.41M | 352.51M | 268.97M | 208.38M | 172.81M | 267.27M | 333.98M | 188.7M | 168.54M | 127.55M | 85.34M | 85.71M | 237.63M | 238.13M | 505.39M | 619.57M | 251.44M | 128.74M | 151.7M | 183M | 34.45M | 0 | 0 | 5.89M |
| Net Debt | -272.43M | 67.62M | 88.34M | 152.69M | 126.99M | -256.46M | -122.88M | 86.7M | 17.43M | 113.44M | 186.74M | 24.34M | 10.22M | -51.81M | -182.71M | -95.97M | 17.91M | 84.02M | 420.2M | 513.67M | 153.94M | 25.26M | 96.53M | 120.4M | -33.32M | -81.21M | -176.11M | -57.68M |
| Long-Term Debt | 76.15M | 130.46M | 168.14M | 205.01M | 179.41M | 302.51M | 268.97M | 193.38M | 117.81M | 117.27M | 18.98M | 188.7M | 168.54M | 127.55M | 85.34M | 85.71M | 237.63M | 155.72M | 422.98M | 487.16M | 82.41M | 128.74M | 151.7M | 183M | 34.45M | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 150M | 225M | 250M | 300M | 50M | 0 | 15M | 55M | 150M | 315M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 82.41M | 82.41M | 132.41M | 169.04M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 5.89M |
| Other Liabilities | 74.96M | 79.9M | 82.01M | 93.56M | 328K | 0 | 1.32M | 66K | 173K | 803K | 978K | 8.37M | 10.82M | 2.12M | 1.34M | 1.72M | 13.58M | 12.9M | 17.89M | -30M | 19.39M | 20.71M | 16.67M | 14.44M | 10.02M | 6.81M | 7.25M | 7.65M |
| Total Current Liabilities | 7.08B | 6.86B | 6.7B | 6.57B | 6.56B | 5.91B | 5.35B | 4.78B | 4.83B | 4.53B | 4.15B | 3.54B | 3.6B | 2.52B | 2.42B | 2.37B | 2.48B | 2.84B | 3.17B | 3.16B | 3.14B | 2.84B | 2.54B | 1.45B | 1.29B | 1.05B | 940.96M | 664.78M |
| Total Non-Current Liabilities | 151.11M | 210.37M | 250.15M | 298.57M | 179.74M | 302.51M | 270.29M | 193.44M | 117.98M | 118.07M | 19.96M | 197.07M | 179.37M | 129.67M | 86.68M | 87.42M | 251.21M | 168.62M | 440.88M | 457.17M | 101.79M | 149.45M | 168.37M | 197.43M | 44.47M | 6.81M | 7.25M | 7.65M |
| Total Liabilities | 7.24B | 7.07B | 6.95B | 6.87B | 6.74B | 6.22B | 5.62B | 4.97B | 4.95B | 4.65B | 4.17B | 3.74B | 3.78B | 2.65B | 2.5B | 2.46B | 2.73B | 3.01B | 3.61B | 3.61B | 3.24B | 2.99B | 2.7B | 1.65B | 1.33B | 1.05B | 948.21M | 672.43M |
| Total Equity | 808.31M | 796.39M | 732.17M | 701.89M | 637.51M | 643.42M | 577.04M | 563.27M | 552.57M | 562.48M | 531.02M | 493.92M | 453.39M | 400.08M | 378.36M | 285.61M | 173.26M | 149.74M | 263.92M | 370.56M | 487.12M | 426.78M | 399.91M | 139.47M | 124.47M | 104.87M | 86.4M | 67.83M |
| Equity Growth % | 25.82% | 8.77% | 4.31% | 10.1% | -0.92% | 11.5% | 2.45% | 1.94% | -1.76% | 5.92% | 7.51% | 8.94% | 13.32% | 5.74% | 32.48% | 64.85% | 15.7% | -43.26% | -28.78% | -23.93% | 14.14% | 6.72% | 186.74% | 12.05% | 18.68% | 21.39% | 27.37% | - |
| Equity / Assets (Capital Ratio) | 10.05% | 10.12% | 9.54% | 9.27% | 8.64% | 9.38% | 9.3% | 10.17% | 10.04% | 10.8% | 11.3% | 11.66% | 10.71% | 13.1% | 13.13% | 10.41% | 5.96% | 4.73% | 6.81% | 9.3% | 13.08% | 12.5% | 12.88% | 7.8% | 8.55% | 9.05% | 8.35% | 9.16% |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | 11.3% | 9.96% | 8.67% | 11.95% | 15.83% | 16.17% | 7.4% | 5.88% | 10.38% | 10% | 11.02% | 11.36% | 11.66% | 10.24% | 27.21% | 12.27% | -54.49% | -59.12% | -32.18% | -14.17% | 14.3% | 14.09% | 13.61% | 14.56% | 14.85% | 17.58% | 20.13% | 17.7% |
| Book Value per Share | 27.34 | 26.51 | 24.32 | 23.14 | 20.98 | 21.12 | 19.06 | 18.31 | 17.24 | 17.44 | 16.57 | 15.49 | 14.18 | 12.62 | 12.01 | 13.98 | 14.70 | 25.18 | 46.03 | 62.04 | 78.83 | 68.36 | 80.71 | 38.87 | 35.08 | 27.70 | 25.31 | 18.01 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 26.96 | 26.14 | 23.96 | 22.78 | 20.61 | 20.74 | 18.67 | 17.93 | 16.86 | 17.05 | 16.17 | 15.44 | 14.11 | 12.58 | 11.96 | 13.91 | 14.51 | 24.62 | 43.87 | 59.12 | 76.10 | 66.10 | 78.69 | 37.00 | 33.52 | 26.27 | 23.30 | 16.69 |
| Common Stock | 34K | 34K | 34K | 34K | 33K | 33K | 33K | 33K | 33K | 33K | 33K | 257K | 257K | 257K | 257K | 257K | 156K | 56K | 51K | 50K | 50K | 50K | 49K | 14K | 14K | 13K | 7.43K | 56.21M |
| Additional Paid-in Capital | 597.24M | 594.67M | 591.07M | 586.91M | 583.41M | 580.8M | 578.36M | 575.82M | 569.71M | 565.63M | 562.45M | 557.76M | 554.9M | 552.27M | 550.07M | 549.74M | 472.33M | 357.17M | 349.3M | 348.07M | 344.81M | 339.99M | 334.93M | 103.08M | 99.94M | 81.09M | 65.42M | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 438.89M | 394.33M | 350.87M | 319.05M | 269.54M | 196.78M | 114.62M | 100.55M | 97.54M | 70.58M | 41.73M | 6.42M | -32.38M | -73.21M | -107.52M | -197.89M | -226.04M | -138.03M | -15.75M | 92.42M | 165.5M | 112.31M | 63.89M | 35.98M | 22.41M | 22.77M | 21.27M | 14.68M |
| Accumulated OCI | -62.37M | -43.17M | -70.72M | -71.93M | -88.98M | -8.44M | 3.08M | 3.38M | -6.08M | -1.87M | -2.39M | -315K | 463K | -9.38M | 5.42M | 3.52M | -2.96M | 859K | 326K | 30K | -3.2M | -5.53M | 1.03M | 386K | 2.1M | 1M | -298.63K | -3.07M |
| Treasury Stock | -165.48M | -149.47M | -139.07M | -132.18M | -126.48M | -125.75M | -119.05M | -116.52M | -108.64M | -71.89M | -70.79M | -70.21M | -69.86M | -69.86M | -69.86M | -69.86M | -70.01M | -70.01M | -70.01M | -70.01M | -20.04M | -20.04M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Preferred Stock | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying HAFC stock.
As of 2025, Hanmi Financial Corporation (HAFC) had total assets of $7.87B including $1.12B in current assets.
Hanmi Financial Corporation (HAFC) carries total debt of $280.5M. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Hanmi Financial Corporation (HAFC) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $796.4M ($26.51 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Hanmi Financial Corporation (HAFC) reported a current ratio of 0.16x. A current ratio above 1.0x indicates that the company has more current assets than current liabilities, suggesting sufficient short-term liquidity.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Deposit migration compressing NIM
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Asset Growth Driven by Securities
Total assets expanded to $8.0B in 2026Q2, up from $7.5B a year earlier, according to reported figures, with growth concentrated in investment securities rather than loans.
The balance sheet grew 6.7% year-over-year, but the composition reveals a shift: investment securities rose from $6.4B to $7.4B, while cash and bank balances increased modestly. This suggests the bank is deploying excess liquidity into higher-yielding securities, possibly due to tepid loan demand or a strategic pivot toward more liquid assets. The equity base also strengthened, with equity/assets improving from 0.09 to 0.10, indicating organic capital accumulation rather than M&A-driven expansion.
Deposit Mix Shift Pressures Funding
Non-interest-bearing deposits are migrating to higher-cost CDs, according to recent context flags, threatening to compress net interest margins from the current thin 0.8% level.
The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the deposit mix shift is a critical concern. As customers move funds from non-interest-bearing accounts to certificates of deposit, the cost of funds rises, directly pressuring NIM. This trend appears to be accelerating, as evidenced by the NIM remaining stagnant at 0.8% despite rising loan yields. The bank's reliance on relationship-based, culturally loyal depositors may provide some cushion, but the migration suggests price sensitivity is increasing, warranting close monitoring of deposit beta.
Credit Costs Remain Contained
Provision for loan losses averaged $2.1 million per quarter over the last four quarters, as reported, with a spike to $7.6 million in 2025Q2 signaling potential credit normalization.
The loan loss provision in 2026Q2 was only $516,000, a sharp decline from the 2025Q2 spike, suggesting that credit quality may be stabilizing. However, the 2025Q2 spike could indicate early stress in the CRE or C&I portfolios, which are heavily concentrated in retail and hospitality. The low provision levels may understate future needs if economic conditions deteriorate, especially given the bank's CRE concentration. Investors should monitor criticized and classified loan trends, as these are leading indicators of provisioning.
Conservative Leverage, Modest ROE
Equity/assets ratio held at 0.10 in 2026Q2, with debt-to-equity of 0.35%, according to reported data, reflecting a conservative capital structure but limiting return on equity to 2.9%.
The bank's capital position appears solid, with equity growing to $812.7M from $703.1M a year earlier, driven by retained earnings. The low leverage provides a buffer for potential credit losses or regulatory scrutiny, particularly regarding CRE concentration. However, the ROE of 2.9% in 2026Q2 is weak, partly due to the negative NII anomaly, but even the trailing average of ~2.5% is below peers like Preferred Bank (26.8% net margin). This suggests the bank is not efficiently deploying its capital, possibly due to excess liquidity in low-yielding securities.
Securities Portfolio Provides Buffer
Investment securities totaled $7.4B in 2026Q2, according to financial statements, representing over 90% of total assets and providing a substantial liquidity buffer against deposit outflows.
The bank's liquidity profile is heavily reliant on its securities portfolio, which dwarfs cash and bank balances. This suggests that HAFC can quickly monetize securities to meet funding needs, but it also implies a potential duration mismatch if rates rise. The loan-to-deposit ratio is not disclosed, but the deposit migration to CDs may increase reliance on wholesale funding, though the securities portfolio mitigates immediate liquidity risk. The negative NII in 2026Q2 raises questions about the portfolio's yield, warranting scrutiny of unrealized losses in AOCI.
NIM Outlook Clouded by Deposit Costs
Net interest margin remained at 0.8% in 2026Q1, according to reported data, but deposit migration to higher-cost CDs may compress margins further, limiting forward visibility.
The bank's asset-sensitive balance sheet could benefit from rising loan yields, but the rapid repricing of deposits is likely to offset these gains. The efficiency ratio improved to 40.4% in 2026Q1, indicating strong cost control, but this may not be sustainable if funding costs rise. Management's decision to skip formal guidance reduces visibility, and the 2026Q2 anomaly of negative NII suggests potential data issues or one-time items. Investors should monitor deposit beta and the pace of CD migration, as these will determine NIM trajectory.
Anomalous 2026Q2 Data Raises Red Flags
The 2026Q2 reported negative net interest income of -$141.6M and negative provision of -$516K, according to financial statements, appear inconsistent with historical trends and warrant investigation.
This anomaly could indicate a data error, a one-time accounting adjustment, or a significant deterioration in the loan portfolio. If the negative NII is real, it would imply a severe margin collapse, which contradicts the prior quarter's 0.8% NIM. The negative provision suggests a release of reserves, which could be a positive signal or a sign of aggressive accounting. Investors should scrutinize the 10-Q for explanations, as this could materially alter the balance sheet risk profile.