Revenue and NOI margins are highly volatile, with 2026Q2 revenue of $1.1B and NOI margin of 32.4% contrasting sharply with 2025Q4's -29.6% margin, indicating significant sensitivity to segment mix and transactional activity.
Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. (HHH) annual income statement — 17-year revenue, gross profit & net income history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 |
|---|
| Revenue | 2.37B | 1.47B | 1.75B | 1.02B | 1.49B | 1.43B | 699.49M | 1.3B | 1.06B | 1.1B | 1.04B | 797.09M | 634.57M | 474.61M | 376.89M | 275.69M | 142.72M | 136.35M |
| Revenue Growth % | 33.99% | -15.75% | 70.95% | -31.24% | 4.31% | 104.13% | -46.22% | 22.17% | -3.23% | 6.29% | 29.85% | 25.61% | 33.7% | 25.93% | 36.71% | 93.17% | 4.67% | - |
| Property Operating Expenses | 1.96B | 1.2B | 1.02B | 590.13M | 847.43M | 917.23M | 489.34M | 866.88M | 719.52M | 711.39M | 636.39M | 495.78M | 366.38M | 306.12M | 244.34M | 196.26M | 111.35M | 103.27M |
| Net Operating Income (NOI) | 413.96M | 276.1M | 731.95M | 433.97M | 642.06M | 510.68M | 210.15M | 433.66M | 345.01M | 388.73M | 398.61M | 301.31M | 268.18M | 168.49M | 132.54M | 79.43M | 31.37M | 33.08M |
| NOI Margin % | 17.44% | 18.72% | 41.81% | 42.38% | 43.11% | 35.76% | 30.04% | 33.34% | 32.41% | 35.34% | 38.51% | 37.8% | 42.26% | 35.5% | 35.17% | 28.81% | 21.98% | 24.26% |
| Operating Expenses | -14.02M | 22.61M | 172.03M | 962.18M | 217.82M | 268.8M | 329.71M | 283.35M | 238.2M | 221.6M | 176.66M | 182.54M | 101.46M | 57.28M | 60.08M | 51.96M | 543.24M | 725.75M |
| G&A Expenses | 127.15M | 122.24M | 91.75M | 91.19M | 81.77M | 81.99M | 109.4M | 162.51M | 104.63M | 89.88M | 86.59M | 81.34M | 73.57M | 48.47M | 34.42M | 35.18M | 21.54M | 23.02M |
| EBITDA | 626.99M | 436.73M | 739.72M | -312.47M | 579.06M | 447.02M | 97.88M | 305.48M | 1.06B | 1.19B | 1.16B | 217.76M | 223.35M | 145.27M | 96.99M | 44.54M | -495.3M | -672.83M |
| EBITDA Margin % | 26.42% | 29.61% | 42.25% | -30.51% | 38.88% | 31.31% | 13.99% | 23.49% | 100% | 108.62% | 112.49% | 27.32% | 35.2% | 30.61% | 25.73% | 16.16% | -347.05% | -493.47% |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 199.02M | 183.23M | 179.8M | 215.74M | 154.82M | 205.15M | 217.44M | 155.17M | 957.73M | 976.43M | 837.47M | 99M | 56.63M | 34.06M | 24.52M | 17.08M | 16.56M | 19.84M |
| D&A / Revenue % | 8.39% | 12.42% | 10.27% | 21.07% | 10.39% | 14.37% | 31.08% | 11.93% | 89.97% | 88.76% | 80.91% | 12.42% | 8.92% | 7.18% | 6.51% | 6.19% | 11.61% | 14.55% |
| Operating Income | 427.97M | 253.49M | 559.92M | -528.21M | 424.24M | 241.87M | -119.56M | 150.31M | 106.81M | 218.5M | 326.76M | 118.76M | 166.72M | 111.21M | 72.47M | 27.46M | -511.87M | -692.67M |
| Operating Margin % | 18.04% | 17.19% | 31.98% | -51.58% | 28.48% | 16.94% | -17.09% | 11.56% | 10.03% | 19.86% | 31.57% | 14.9% | 26.27% | 23.43% | 19.23% | 9.96% | -358.65% | -508.02% |
| Interest Expense | 4M | 172.85M | 164.93M | 156.95M | 110.89M | 130.04M | 132.26M | 105.37M | 82.03M | 64.57M | 65.72M | 59.74M | 38.62M | 9.76M | 964K | 0 | 2.42M | 977K |
| Interest Coverage | - | 1.93x | 3.22x | -3.56x | 4.03x | 1.49x | 1.06x | 1.98x | 1.30x | 2.87x | 5.88x | 3.52x | 2.02x | -5.57x | -124.16x | - | -265.48x | -707.25x |
| Non-Operating Income | -128.73M | -80.82M | 29.6M | 30.1M | -23.16M | 47.76M | -260.3M | -58.6M | 0 | -61.7M | -188.96M | -93.42M | 88.66M | 165.58M | 192.16M | 0 | 634.84M | -1.69M |
| Pretax Income | 380.68M | 161.46M | 365.4M | -80.33M | 334.9M | 64.08M | 8.48M | 103.54M | 73.22M | 120.82M | 320.78M | 150.72M | 39.44M | -64.13M | -120.66M | 130.15M | -654.82M | -691.96M |
| Pretax Margin % | 16.04% | 10.95% | 20.87% | -7.84% | 22.48% | 4.49% | 1.21% | 7.96% | 6.88% | 10.98% | 30.99% | 18.91% | 6.22% | -13.51% | -32.01% | 47.21% | -458.82% | -507.5% |
| Income Tax | 90.58M | 37.62M | 80.18M | -163.74M | 82.2M | 15.15M | 11.65M | 29.25M | 15.49M | -45.8M | 118.45M | 24M | 62.96M | 9.57M | 6.89M | -18.32M | -633.46M | -23.97M |
| Effective Tax Rate % | 23.79% | 23.3% | 21.94% | 203.84% | 24.54% | 23.65% | 137.42% | 28.25% | 21.16% | -37.91% | 36.93% | 15.92% | 159.63% | -14.92% | -5.71% | -14.08% | 96.74% | 3.46% |
| Net Income | 292.1M | 123.9M | 197.7M | -551.77M | 184.53M | 56.1M | -26.15M | 73.96M | 57.01M | 168.4M | 202.3M | 126.72M | -23.53M | -73.79M | -128.29M | 147.18M | -69.43M | -703.61M |
| Net Margin % | 12.31% | 8.4% | 11.29% | -53.88% | 12.39% | 3.93% | -3.74% | 5.69% | 5.36% | 15.31% | 19.55% | 15.9% | -3.71% | -15.55% | -34.04% | 53.39% | -48.65% | -516.04% |
| Net Income Growth % | 28.41% | -37.33% | 135.83% | -399.01% | 228.94% | 314.5% | -135.36% | 29.72% | -66.15% | -16.76% | 59.65% | 638.52% | 68.11% | 42.48% | -187.16% | 311.98% | 90.13% | - |
| Funds From Operations (FFO) | 491.12M | 307.13M | 377.5M | -336.03M | 339.36M | 261.25M | 191.28M | 229.13M | 1.01B | 1.14B | 1.04B | 225.72M | 33.09M | -39.73M | -103.76M | 164.26M | -52.87M | -683.77M |
| FFO Margin % | 20.7% | 20.82% | 21.56% | -32.81% | 22.78% | 18.3% | 27.35% | 17.62% | 95.32% | 104.06% | 100.46% | 28.32% | 5.22% | -8.37% | -27.53% | 59.58% | -37.04% | -501.49% |
| FFO Growth % | 537.19% | -18.64% | 212.34% | -199.02% | 29.9% | 36.58% | -16.52% | -77.42% | -11.36% | 10.1% | 360.65% | 582.02% | 183.3% | 61.71% | -163.17% | 410.7% | 92.27% | - |
| FFO per Share | 8.30 | 5.19 | 7.53 | -6.78 | 6.71 | 4.78 | 3.66 | 5.29 | 23.47 | 26.57 | 24.33 | 5.72 | 0.84 | -1.01 | -2.72 | 4.21 | -1.40 | -18.13 |
| FFO Payout Ratio % | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0.04% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% | 0% |
| EPS (Diluted) | 4.94 | 2.10 | 3.96 | -11.13 | 3.65 | 1.03 | -0.50 | 1.71 | 1.32 | 3.91 | 4.73 | 1.60 | -0.60 | -1.87 | -3.36 | 1.17 | -1.84 | -18.66 |
| EPS Growth % | 7.63% | -46.97% | 135.58% | -404.93% | 254.37% | 306% | -129.24% | 29.55% | -66.24% | -17.34% | 195.63% | 366.67% | 67.91% | 44.35% | -387.18% | 163.59% | 90.14% | - |
| EPS (Basic) | - | 2.11 | 3.98 | -11.13 | 3.65 | 1.03 | -0.50 | 1.71 | 1.32 | 4.07 | 5.12 | 3.21 | -0.60 | -1.87 | -3.36 | 3.88 | -1.84 | -18.66 |
| Diluted Shares Outstanding | 59.15M | 59.12M | 50.12M | 49.58M | 50.56M | 54.65M | 52.31M | 43.31M | 43.24M | 43.09M | 42.73M | 39.48M | 39.46M | 39.45M | 38.13M | 38.98M | 37.73M | 37.72M |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying HHH stock.
For fiscal year 2025, Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. (HHH) reported total revenue of $1.47B. This represents a 981.7% increase compared to $136.3M in 2009.
Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. (HHH) is profitable, generating $123.9M in net income for the fiscal year ending 2025 with a net profit margin of 8.4%.
Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. (HHH) reported an operating income of $253.5M, resulting in an operating profit margin of 17.2%. This margin reflects the operational efficiency of the business before interest and taxes.
Howard Hughes Holdings Inc. (HHH) generated $276.1M in gross profit for the year, representing a gross profit margin of 18.7%. This demonstrates the company's core pricing power and production efficiency.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Lumpy revenue and rate sensitivity
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Lumpy Revenue Masks Underlying Momentum
Revenue swung from $983.6M in 2024Q4 to $1.1B in 2026Q2, but quarterly volatility is extreme; 2026Q2 revenue grew 3.3% YoY, while 2025Q4 fell 36.5% YoY, per reported figures.
The revenue trajectory is inherently lumpy due to large land closings and condominium completions. The 2026Q2 surge to $1.1B likely reflects a major closing, while the 2025Q4 decline of -36.5% suggests timing issues. Investors should focus on the multi-quarter trend rather than any single quarter. The underlying MPC sales velocity appears stable, but the timing of closings creates significant quarter-to-quarter noise.
NOI Margin Volatility Reflects Mix Shift
NOI margin swung from 57.1% in 2025Q2 to -29.6% in 2025Q4, then rebounded to 32.4% in 2026Q2, as reported in financial statements, indicating high sensitivity to segment mix.
The extreme NOI margin volatility is driven by the mix between high-margin MPC land sales and lower-margin or loss-making segments like Seaport. The negative margin in 2025Q4 suggests a quarter with significant low-margin or non-recurring revenue. The 2026Q2 margin of 32.4% is more normalized but still below the 50%+ levels seen in some quarters, implying a higher proportion of lower-margin revenue. This volatility complicates margin trend analysis and suggests that property-level profitability is not stable.
FFO Per Share Shows Inconsistent Growth
FFO per share ranged from -$0.17 in 2024Q1 to $3.63 in 2026Q2, with 2026Q2 FFO growth of 5.7% YoY, but 2025Q4 saw a -73.5% decline, based on reported data.
FFO per share is highly volatile, reflecting the lumpy revenue and the impact of one-time items. The 2026Q2 FFO of $215M is the highest in the series, but the negative FFO in 2024Q1 and the sharp decline in 2025Q4 indicate that earnings quality is inconsistent. The dividend yield is not reported, but the FFO volatility suggests that dividend coverage may be strained in some quarters. Investors should monitor the sustainability of FFO given the project-based nature of the business.
Depreciation Distorts GAAP Earnings
Net income is significantly lower than FFO in most quarters, e.g., 2026Q2 net income of $158.4M vs FFO of $215.0M, highlighting the impact of depreciation, as per SEC filings.
The gap between net income and FFO is substantial, reflecting large depreciation charges on the real estate portfolio. For instance, in 2026Q2, depreciation and other non-cash items reduced net income by over $56M. This distortion is typical for REITs, but for HHH, the development-heavy model may also include capitalized interest and other adjustments. Investors should rely on FFO and AFFO as the primary earnings metrics, but the volatility in FFO suggests that even these measures are not smooth.
Same-Store Metrics Not Disclosed
Same-store NOI trends are not explicitly provided in the data, but the extreme quarterly NOI swings suggest that organic growth is overshadowed by transactional activity, based on reported figures.
Without same-store disclosures, it is difficult to isolate organic performance. The NOI volatility is likely driven by the MPC segment's land sales, which are not same-store in nature. The Operating Assets segment may provide more stable NOI, but its contribution is not separately broken out. Investors should seek additional disclosure on same-store NOI to assess the recurring income growth.
2026Q2 Marks a Potential Turning Point
2026Q2 revenue of $1.1B and FFO of $215M are the highest in the series, suggesting a major closing or portfolio event, as reported in the latest quarterly report.
The 2026Q2 results stand out dramatically, with revenue and FFO more than double the previous quarter. This could indicate a large land sale or the completion of a major development project. The EPS of $2.68 also far exceeds the consensus estimate of $0.93, suggesting a significant one-time gain. Investors should determine whether this quarter represents a new baseline or a non-recurring spike, as the prior quarter's revenue was only $235.9M.
Earnings Quality Under Scrutiny
The 2026Q2 FFO of $215M may be flattered by one-time gains, as AFFO of $212.4M is only slightly lower, but the negative FFO in 2024Q1 raises questions about sustainability, per reported figures.
The sharp swings in FFO, including a negative quarter in 2024Q1, suggest that earnings quality may be compromised by the timing of land sales and development completions. The 2026Q2 FFO growth of 5.7% YoY appears strong, but the prior-year quarter was also elevated, and the -73.5% FFO decline in 2025Q4 indicates that the company cannot consistently generate recurring earnings. Investors should scrutinize the composition of FFO, particularly the extent to which it relies on non-recurring items such as land sales at gains. The high cash balance of $1.46B may provide a cushion, but it also suggests that the company is not deploying capital efficiently, which could be a drag on future returns.