Equity fell 24% from $2.9B in 2025Q1 to $2.2B in 2026Q2, with debt-to-equity rising to 0.38 as capital erodes.
Kemper Corporation 5.875% Fixed (KMPB) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 11.93K | 12.47B | 12.63B | 12.74B | 13.36B | 14.92B | 14.34B | 12.99B | 11.54B | 8.38B | 8.21B | 8.04B | 7.83B | 7.66B | 8.01B | 8.09B | 8.36B | 8.57B | 8.82B | 9.4B | 9.32B | 9.2B | 8.79B | 8.54B | 7.71B | 7.13B | 6.16B | 5.93B | 5.91B | 4.92B | 4.87B |
| Asset Growth % | -105.04% | -1.25% | -0.88% | -4.65% | -10.41% | 4.01% | 10.41% | 12.51% | 37.83% | 2.02% | 2.17% | 2.59% | 2.31% | -4.4% | -0.95% | -3.26% | -2.51% | -2.78% | -6.23% | 0.9% | 1.34% | 4.64% | 2.97% | 10.79% | 8.02% | 15.72% | 3.88% | 0.42% | 20.1% | 1.02% | 1.09% |
| Total Investment Assets | 3.01M | 8.73B | 8.92B | 8.91B | 8.79B | 10.39B | 10.42B | 9.26B | 8.07B | 6.8B | 6.61B | 6.43B | 6.44B | 6.15B | 6.46B | 5.97B | 6.16B | 5.55B | 5.45B | 6.16B | 6.83B | 6.82B | 6.55B | 6.32B | 5.8B | 4.82B | 3.1B | 3.16B | 3.34B | 2.56B | 2.47B |
| Long-Term Investments | 25.02B | 8.4B | 7.85B | 8.38B | 8.79B | 10.1B | 9.62B | 8.6B | 7.65B | 6.31B | 6.06B | 5.82B | 5.94B | 5.7B | 5.96B | 5.72B | 5.76B | 5.15B | 4.91B | 4.94B | 5.6B | 5.71B | 5.58B | 5.42B | 4.97B | 4.82B | 3.1B | 3.16B | 3.34B | 2.56B | 2.47B |
| Short-Term Investments | 271 | 327.9M | 1.07B | 522.9M | 7.17B | 284.1M | 875.4M | 470.9M | 6.71B | 5.62B | 5.4B | 5.11B | 5.12B | 4.86B | 5.19B | 247.4M | 402.9M | 397M | 548.6M | 658.7M | 465.2M | 524.5M | 356.7M | 495.5M | 556.8M | 504.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 1.63K | 1.09B | 0 | 1.81B | 692M | 2.23B | 0 | 0 | 8.08B | 6.23B | 6.06B | 5.8B | 5.68B | 5.45B | 5.86B | 1.1B | 1.13B | 1.18B | 1.42B | 1.4B | 1.35B | 1.4B | 1.26B | 1.46B | 1.24B | 1.71B | 1.12B | 995.7M | 299.4M | 349.9M | 393.1M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 80 | 126M | 65.4M | 64.1M | 212.4M | 148.2M | 206.1M | 136.8M | 75.1M | 45.7M | 115.7M | 161.7M | 76.1M | 66.5M | 96.3M | 251.2M | 117.2M | 143.7M | 184.2M | 103.1M | 157.9M | 44.5M | 82.1M | 65.7M | 16.9M | 27.9M | 23.3M | 24.1M | 8.6M | 14.5M | 17M |
| Receivables | 3.71B | 965.2M | 1.24B | 1.23B | 1.72B | 1.8B | 1.43B | 1.38B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 193.2M | 187M | 193.1M | 575.4M | 597.9M | 606.7M | 642M | 686.5M | 634.8M | 730.4M | 828M | 819M | 899.4M | 669.6M | 457.9M | 1.1B | 971.6M | 290.8M | 335.4M | 376.1M |
| Other Current Assets | 132 | -327.9M | -2.37B | 0 | -8.41B | 0 | -2.51B | -1.99B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 6.02B | 1.91B | 1.57B | 2.16B | 2.25B | 2.28B | 1.43B | 1.44B | 1.42B | 504M | 655M | 639.4M | 615.1M | 614.7M | 615.2M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 331.8M | 334.6M | 314.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 353.2M | 369.7M | 298.1M | 237.3M | 228.2M |
| Goodwill | 784 | 1.25B | 1.25B | 1.25B | 1.3B | 1.31B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 323M | 323M | 323M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 331.8M | 334.6M | 314.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 353.2M | 369.7M | 298.1M | 237.3M | 228.2M |
| Intangible Assets | 0 | 656.7M | 315.5M | 910M | 316.4M | 971.4M | 320.1M | 328.4M | 308.8M | 181M | 332M | 316.4M | 303.3M | 302.9M | 303.4M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.36B | 6.43B | 6.35B | 6.1B | 0 | 5.98B | 6.27B | 6.03B | 6.01B | 5.43B | 5.04B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 382 | 1.08B | -9.42B | 174.4M | -9.68B | 298.4M | -11.06B | -10.04B | -9.08B | -6.63B | -6.38B | -6.14B | -6.25B | -6.02B | -6.27B | -6.04B | -6.07B | -5.49B | -5.24B | -5.26B | -5.95B | -6.05B | -5.92B | -5.76B | -5.32B | -5.16B | -3.45B | -3.53B | -3.64B | -2.8B | -2.7B |
| Total Liabilities | 9.75B | 9.8B | 9.85B | 10.24B | 10.92B | 10.91B | 9.78B | 9.02B | 8.49B | 607.1M | 6.24B | 750.6M | 5.74B | 5.6B | 626.5M | 610.6M | 609.8M | 561.4M | 560.8M | 822.6M | 789.6M | 776.4M | 753.5M | 877.7M | 727.6M | 639M | 428.1M | 367.9M | 495M | 268.9M | 226.3M |
| Total Debt | 945 | 1B | 1.42B | 1.39B | 1.39B | 1.12B | 1.17B | 778.4M | 909M | 592.3M | 751.6M | 750.6M | 752.1M | 606.9M | 611.4M | 610.6M | 609.8M | 561.4M | 560.8M | 560.1M | 504.5M | 503.6M | 502.8M | 495.7M | 377.1M | 254.8M | 180M | 116.8M | 116.2M | 81.1M | 59.9M |
| Net Debt | 864 | 878.9M | 1.36B | 1.33B | 1.17B | 973.7M | 966.7M | 641.6M | 833.9M | 546.6M | 635.9M | 588.9M | 676M | 540.4M | 515.1M | 359.4M | 492.6M | 417.7M | 376.6M | 457M | 346.6M | 459.1M | 420.7M | 430M | 360.2M | 226.9M | 156.7M | 92.7M | 107.6M | 66.6M | 42.9M |
| Long-Term Debt | 945 | 943.5M | 941.7M | 1.39B | 1.39B | 672.9M | 724M | 329.8M | 909M | 592.3M | 751.6M | 750.6M | 752.1M | 606.9M | 611.4M | 610.6M | 0 | 561.4M | 560.8M | 560.1M | 504.5M | 503.6M | 502.8M | 495.7M | 377.1M | 254.8M | 180M | 116.8M | 116.2M | 81.1M | 59.9M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 17.1M | 449.6M | 0 | 449.3M | 449M | 448.8M | 448.6M | 0 | 0 | 359.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 1.88K | 0 | 0 | 4.69B | 167.6M | 6.7B | 0 | 0 | 448.4M | 5B | 359.8M | 466.8M | 249.5M | 606.9M | 429.9M | 57.9M | 84.3M | 108.3M | 68.2M | 262.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -449.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 1.23K | 1.25B | 0 | 1.3B | 1.7B | 1.9B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | 0 | -2.03B | -449.6M | 3.39B | -2.26B | 3.5B | -1.18B | -1.18B | -674.9M | 4.55B | -812.9M | -466.8M | -380.9M | -331.3M | -431.4M | -461.2M | -452.9M | -447.9M | -523.8M | -639.6M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 32.6M | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Liabilities | 0 | 8.8B | 8.86B | 4.11B | 9.26B | 3.31B | -1.01B | -508M | 7.59B | 5.66B | 5.47B | 5.29B | 4.95B | 4.99B | -611.4M | -610.6M | 0 | -561.4M | -560.8M | -822.6M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -877.7M | -727.6M | -639M | -428.1M | -367.9M | -495M | -268.9M | -226.3M |
| Total Equity | 2.18B | 2.67B | 2.78B | 2.5B | 2.44B | 4.01B | 4.56B | 3.97B | 3.05B | 2.12B | 1.98B | 1.99B | 2.09B | 2.05B | 2.16B | 2.22B | 2.11B | 1.92B | 1.65B | 2.3B | 2.28B | 2.16B | 2.04B | 1.82B | 1.8B | 1.92B | 1.7B | 1.72B | 1.82B | 1.53B | 1.48B |
| Equity Growth % | -41.46% | -4.13% | 11.15% | 2.53% | -39.04% | -12.18% | 14.88% | 30.24% | 44.17% | 7.11% | -0.86% | -4.7% | 1.91% | -5.1% | -2.45% | 4.86% | 10.21% | 16.32% | -28.25% | 0.6% | 5.85% | 5.84% | 12.08% | 0.92% | -5.97% | 12.67% | -0.92% | -5.78% | 18.88% | 3.56% | -2.9% |
| Shareholders Equity | 2.19B | 2.68B | 2.79B | 2.51B | 2.44B | 4.01B | 4.56B | 3.97B | 3.05B | 2.12B | 1.98B | 1.99B | 2.09B | 2.05B | 2.16B | 2.22B | 2.11B | 1.92B | 1.65B | 2.3B | 2.28B | 2.16B | 2.04B | 1.82B | 1.8B | 1.92B | 1.7B | 1.72B | 1.82B | 1.53B | 1.48B |
| Minority Interest | -15.5M | -12M | -4.1M | -200K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 653.7M | 1.16B | 1.23B | 1.01B | 1.38B | 1.76B | 2.07B | 1.81B | 1.36B | 1.24B | 1.17B | 1.21B | 1.2B | 1.22B | 1.12B | 1.21B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 985.8M | 1.19B | 1.23B | 1.19B | 1.16B | 1.08B | 1.09B | 1.23B | 1.15B | 1.28B | 1.38B | 1.21B | 1.27B |
| Common Stock | 5.9M | 5.9M | 6.4M | 6.4M | 6.4M | 6.4M | 6.5M | 6.7M | 6.5M | 5.1M | 5.1M | 5.1M | 5.2M | 5.6M | 5.8M | 6M | 6.1M | 6.2M | 6.2M | 6.4M | 6.7M | 6.9M | 6.9M | 6.8M | 6.8M | 6.7M | 6.8M | 7.1M | 3.8M | 3.8M | 3.7M |
| Accumulated OCI | -205.3M | -206.2M | -304.5M | -360.8M | -756M | 448.1M | 680.5M | 336.1M | 21.8M | 194.4M | 137M | 124.3M | 222.7M | 135.3M | 312.7M | 258M | 157.4M | 58.8M | -108.1M | 324.8M | 287M | 251.2M | 249.6M | 194.5M | 196.3M | 190.3M | 101.6M | -9.8M | 13.2M | 101.7M | 77.8M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | -19.42% | 5.26% | 12.02% | -11% | -8.89% | -2.89% | 9.6% | 15.13% | 7.36% | 5.91% | 0.85% | 4.2% | 5.53% | 10.33% | 4.72% | 3.44% | 9.16% | 9.24% | -1.5% | 8.97% | 12.75% | 12.18% | 12.45% | 6.83% | -0.44% | 21.06% | 5.32% | 11.36% | 30.45% | 7.83% | 8.82% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | -5.31% | 1.14% | 2.5% | -2.08% | -2.03% | -0.85% | 3% | 4.33% | 1.91% | 1.46% | 0.21% | 1.08% | 1.48% | 2.78% | 1.28% | 0.91% | 2.18% | 1.89% | -0.32% | 2.19% | 3.06% | 2.84% | 2.77% | 1.52% | -0.11% | 5.73% | 1.5% | 3.39% | 9.43% | 2.41% | 2.73% |
| Equity / Assets | 18256749.96% | 21.4% | 22.04% | 19.66% | 18.28% | 26.87% | 31.82% | 30.58% | 26.42% | 25.26% | 24.06% | 24.79% | 26.69% | 26.79% | 26.99% | 27.41% | 25.28% | 22.37% | 18.69% | 24.43% | 24.5% | 23.46% | 23.19% | 21.31% | 23.39% | 26.87% | 27.6% | 28.93% | 30.84% | 31.15% | 30.39% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.00x | 0.38x | 0.51x | 0.55x | 0.57x | 0.28x | 0.26x | 0.20x | 0.30x | 0.28x | 0.38x | 0.38x | 0.36x | 0.30x | 0.28x | 0.28x | 0.29x | 0.29x | 0.34x | 0.24x | 0.22x | 0.23x | 0.25x | 0.27x | 0.21x | 0.13x | 0.11x | 0.07x | 0.06x | 0.05x | 0.04x |
| Book Value per Share | 36.99 | 42.64 | 42.98 | 39.12 | 38.28 | 62.36 | 68.39 | 59.69 | 51.91 | 41.02 | 38.57 | 38.55 | 38.81 | 36.00 | 36.38 | 36.77 | 34.22 | 30.85 | 26.30 | 34.90 | 33.48 | 30.99 | 29.54 | 26.78 | 26.38 | 28.18 | 24.68 | 23.41 | 23.23 | 20.28 | 19.44 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 36.99 | 12.17 | 18.80 | 5.38 | 12.95 | 26.83 | 46.90 | 38.02 | 27.73 | 31.25 | 25.78 | 26.18 | 27.39 | 25.21 | 26.02 | 31.60 | 29.17 | 25.51 | 20.96 | 30.12 | 28.43 | 26.04 | 24.54 | 21.71 | 21.33 | 23.11 | 19.55 | 18.37 | 19.43 | 17.14 | 16.44 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying KMPB stock.
As of 2025, Kemper Corporation 5.875% Fixed (KMPB) had total assets of $12.47B including $1.09B in current assets.
Kemper Corporation 5.875% Fixed (KMPB) carries total debt of $1.00B, offset by $453.9M in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Kemper Corporation 5.875% Fixed (KMPB) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $2.68B ($42.64 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Underwriting losses and reserve adequacy
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Capital Erosion Amidst Shrinking Premiums
Kemper's equity fell from $2.9B in 2025Q1 to $2.2B by 2026Q2, a 24% decline, while total assets contracted 5%, per reported balance sheet data, signaling a weakening capital base.
The sequential decline in equity, from $2.7B in 2025Q4 to $2.2B in 2026Q2, aligns with the net loss of $464.8M reported in the income statement for 2026Q2, suggesting that underwriting losses are directly eroding capital. Total assets have also drifted downward from $12.6B in mid-2025 to $11.9B in 2026Q2, indicating a shrinking balance sheet that may reflect portfolio pruning or asset sales. This trajectory implies reduced capacity for future premium growth and a need for capital conservation.
Investment Portfolio Under Pressure
Investment assets remained flat at $1.0B across all quarters, per balance sheet data, while investment income was not disclosed, suggesting a static allocation that may be yielding insufficient returns to offset underwriting losses.
The invested asset base has been constant at $1.0B for ten consecutive quarters, which is unusual for an insurer and may indicate that the portfolio is being held to maturity or that data is incomplete. Given the company's total assets of $11.9B, this $1.0B investment figure appears disproportionately low, possibly reflecting a data limitation rather than actual portfolio size. Investors should monitor the quality and duration of the investment portfolio, as unrealized losses could further pressure equity, especially if interest rates remain elevated.
Reserve Adequacy Questioned by Loss Ratios
Loss ratios spiked to 100.0% in 2025Q3 and 114.8% in 2024Q4, per reported figures, while combined ratios exceeded 100% in recent quarters, indicating that current accident year losses may be outpacing premiums.
The elevated loss ratios, particularly the 114.8% in 2024Q4, suggest that claims costs are running ahead of premium income, which could signal inadequate reserve levels for future liabilities. The gap between loss ratio and combined ratio in 2024 (e.g., 114.8% loss vs. 89.9% combined) implies that favorable prior-year reserve development was masking underlying deterioration, a trend that appears to have reversed in 2025. This raises concerns about reserve adequacy, especially in long-tail lines where inflation could further erode margins.
Capital Buffer Thinning Rapidly
Kemper's equity-to-assets ratio fell from 23.2% in 2025Q1 to 18.5% in 2026Q2, per balance sheet data, while debt-to-equity of 0.38 remains moderate but rising as equity shrinks.
The decline in equity from $2.9B to $2.2B over five quarters, combined with stable liabilities around $9.7B, has reduced the capital cushion available to absorb shocks. Although the debt-to-equity ratio of 0.38 is not alarming, the trend of shrinking equity without corresponding liability reduction suggests that leverage is increasing. This may limit the company's ability to support premium growth or return capital to shareholders, and could attract regulatory scrutiny if statutory capital ratios decline.
Liquidity Relies on Investment Sales
Cash balances were not disclosed in the balance sheet data, but prior cash flow analysis indicates net investment sales in most quarters, suggesting that Kemper is liquidating assets to fund operations.
The absence of cash figures in the balance sheet data is notable, but the cash flow statement's pattern of net investment sales implies that the company is generating liquidity from its portfolio rather than from underwriting cash flow. With claims payments averaging over $1.0B per quarter in 2025 and operating cash flow averaging only $146M, the reliance on asset sales may be unsustainable. This liquidity strategy could weaken the investment portfolio over time, reducing future investment income and further pressuring earnings.
Hidden Reserve Shortfalls Possible
The persistent gap between loss ratios and combined ratios in 2024, per reported data, suggests that prior-year reserve releases may have masked underlying underwriting losses, raising questions about reserve adequacy.
In 2024, loss ratios exceeded combined ratios by as much as 25 percentage points (e.g., 114.8% vs. 89.9% in Q4), which is atypical and may indicate that favorable reserve development was inflating reported profitability. If those reserve releases were one-time in nature, the true underwriting performance could be worse than reported, implying that current reserves may be insufficient. This warrants further investigation into the composition of reserves and the potential for adverse development, especially in casualty lines exposed to social inflation.