Equity declined 27% from $3.0B in 2025Q2 to $2.2B in 2026Q2, and the equity-to-assets ratio dropped from 23.8% to 18.5%, indicating a thinning capital buffer.
Kemper Corporation (KMPR) balance sheet — 30-year assets, liabilities & shareholders' equity history
| Metric | TTM | Dec'25 | Dec'24 | Dec'23 | Dec'22 | Dec'21 | Dec'20 | Dec'19 | Dec'18 | Dec'17 | Dec'16 | Dec'15 | Dec'14 | Dec'13 | Dec'12 | Dec'11 | Dec'10 | Dec'09 | Dec'08 | Dec'07 | Dec'06 | Dec'05 | Dec'04 | Dec'03 | Dec'02 | Dec'01 | Dec'00 | Dec'99 | Dec'98 | Dec'97 | Dec'96 |
|---|
| Total Assets | 11.93B | 12.47B | 12.63B | 12.74B | 13.36B | 14.92B | 14.34B | 12.99B | 11.54B | 8.38B | 8.21B | 8.04B | 7.83B | 7.66B | 8.01B | 8.09B | 8.36B | 8.57B | 8.82B | 9.4B | 9.32B | 9.2B | 8.79B | 8.54B | 7.71B | 7.13B | 6.16B | 5.93B | 5.91B | 4.92B | 4.87B |
| Asset Growth % | -10.4% | -1.25% | -0.88% | -4.65% | -10.41% | 4.01% | 10.41% | 12.51% | 37.83% | 2.02% | 2.17% | 2.59% | 2.31% | -4.4% | -0.95% | -3.26% | -2.51% | -2.78% | -6.23% | 0.9% | 1.34% | 4.64% | 2.97% | 10.79% | 8.02% | 15.72% | 3.88% | 0.42% | 20.1% | 1.02% | 1.09% |
| Total Investment Assets | 3.01M | 8.73B | 8.92B | 8.91B | 8.79B | 10.39B | 10.42B | 9.26B | 8.07B | 6.8B | 6.61B | 6.43B | 6.44B | 6.15B | 6.46B | 5.97B | 6.16B | 5.55B | 5.45B | 6.16B | 6.83B | 6.82B | 6.55B | 6.32B | 5.8B | 4.82B | 3.1B | 3.16B | 3.34B | 2.56B | 2.47B |
| Long-Term Investments | 25.02B | 8.4B | 7.85B | 8.38B | 8.79B | 10.1B | 9.62B | 8.6B | 7.65B | 6.31B | 6.06B | 5.82B | 5.94B | 5.7B | 5.96B | 5.72B | 5.76B | 5.15B | 4.91B | 4.94B | 5.6B | 5.71B | 5.58B | 5.42B | 4.97B | 4.82B | 3.1B | 3.16B | 3.34B | 2.56B | 2.47B |
| Short-Term Investments | 271 | 327.9M | 1.07B | 522.9M | 7.17B | 284.1M | 875.4M | 470.9M | 6.71B | 5.62B | 5.4B | 5.11B | 5.12B | 4.86B | 5.19B | 247.4M | 402.9M | 397M | 548.6M | 658.7M | 465.2M | 524.5M | 356.7M | 495.5M | 556.8M | 504.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Assets | 1.05B | 1.09B | 0 | 1.81B | 692M | 2.23B | 0 | 0 | 8.08B | 6.23B | 6.06B | 5.8B | 5.68B | 5.45B | 5.86B | 1.1B | 1.13B | 1.18B | 1.42B | 1.4B | 1.35B | 1.4B | 1.26B | 1.46B | 1.24B | 1.71B | 1.12B | 995.7M | 299.4M | 349.9M | 393.1M |
| Cash & Equivalents | 80 | 126M | 65.4M | 64.1M | 212.4M | 148.2M | 206.1M | 136.8M | 75.1M | 45.7M | 115.7M | 161.7M | 76.1M | 66.5M | 96.3M | 251.2M | 117.2M | 143.7M | 184.2M | 103.1M | 157.9M | 44.5M | 82.1M | 65.7M | 16.9M | 27.9M | 23.3M | 24.1M | 8.6M | 14.5M | 17M |
| Receivables | 3.71B | 965.2M | 1.24B | 1.23B | 1.72B | 1.8B | 1.43B | 1.38B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 193.2M | 187M | 193.1M | 575.4M | 597.9M | 606.7M | 642M | 686.5M | 634.8M | 730.4M | 828M | 819M | 899.4M | 669.6M | 457.9M | 1.1B | 971.6M | 290.8M | 335.4M | 376.1M |
| Other Current Assets | 1.05B | -327.9M | -2.37B | 0 | -8.41B | 0 | -2.51B | -1.99B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Goodwill & Intangibles | 7.47B | 1.91B | 1.57B | 2.16B | 2.25B | 2.28B | 1.43B | 1.44B | 1.42B | 504M | 655M | 639.4M | 615.1M | 614.7M | 615.2M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 331.8M | 334.6M | 314.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 353.2M | 369.7M | 298.1M | 237.3M | 228.2M |
| Goodwill | 783.5M | 1.25B | 1.25B | 1.25B | 1.3B | 1.31B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 1.11B | 323M | 323M | 323M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 311.8M | 331.8M | 334.6M | 314.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 344.7M | 353.2M | 369.7M | 298.1M | 237.3M | 228.2M |
| Intangible Assets | 675.8M | 656.7M | 315.5M | 910M | 316.4M | 971.4M | 320.1M | 328.4M | 308.8M | 181M | 332M | 316.4M | 303.3M | 302.9M | 303.4M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| PP&E (Net) | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 9.36B | 6.43B | 6.35B | 6.1B | 0 | 5.98B | 6.27B | 6.03B | 6.01B | 5.43B | 5.04B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Assets | 9.42B | 1.08B | -9.42B | 174.4M | -9.68B | 298.4M | -11.06B | -10.04B | -9.08B | -6.63B | -6.38B | -6.14B | -6.25B | -6.02B | -6.27B | -6.04B | -6.07B | -5.49B | -5.24B | -5.26B | -5.95B | -6.05B | -5.92B | -5.76B | -5.32B | -5.16B | -3.45B | -3.53B | -3.64B | -2.8B | -2.7B |
| Total Liabilities | 9.75B | 9.8B | 9.85B | 10.24B | 10.92B | 10.91B | 9.78B | 9.02B | 8.49B | 607.1M | 6.24B | 750.6M | 5.74B | 5.6B | 626.5M | 610.6M | 609.8M | 561.4M | 560.8M | 822.6M | 789.6M | 776.4M | 753.5M | 877.7M | 727.6M | 639M | 428.1M | 367.9M | 495M | 268.9M | 226.3M |
| Total Debt | 944.5M | 1B | 1.42B | 1.39B | 1.39B | 1.12B | 1.17B | 778.4M | 909M | 592.3M | 751.6M | 750.6M | 752.1M | 606.9M | 611.4M | 610.6M | 609.8M | 561.4M | 560.8M | 560.1M | 504.5M | 503.6M | 502.8M | 495.7M | 377.1M | 254.8M | 180M | 116.8M | 116.2M | 81.1M | 59.9M |
| Net Debt | 944.5M | 878.9M | 1.36B | 1.33B | 1.17B | 973.7M | 966.7M | 641.6M | 833.9M | 546.6M | 635.9M | 588.9M | 676M | 540.4M | 515.1M | 359.4M | 492.6M | 417.7M | 376.6M | 457M | 346.6M | 459.1M | 420.7M | 430M | 360.2M | 226.9M | 156.7M | 92.7M | 107.6M | 66.6M | 42.9M |
| Long-Term Debt | 944.5M | 943.5M | 941.7M | 1.39B | 1.39B | 672.9M | 724M | 329.8M | 909M | 592.3M | 751.6M | 750.6M | 752.1M | 606.9M | 611.4M | 610.6M | 0 | 561.4M | 560.8M | 560.1M | 504.5M | 503.6M | 502.8M | 495.7M | 377.1M | 254.8M | 180M | 116.8M | 116.2M | 81.1M | 59.9M |
| Short-Term Debt | 0 | 17.1M | 449.6M | 0 | 449.3M | 449M | 448.8M | 448.6M | 0 | 0 | 359.8M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Total Current Liabilities | 0 | 0 | 0 | 4.69B | 167.6M | 6.7B | 0 | 0 | 448.4M | 5B | 359.8M | 466.8M | 249.5M | 606.9M | 429.9M | 57.9M | 84.3M | 108.3M | 68.2M | 262.5M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Accounts Payable | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | -449.3M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Revenue | 1.23K | 1.25B | 0 | 1.3B | 1.7B | 1.9B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Other Current Liabilities | -1.88K | -2.03B | -449.6M | 3.39B | -2.26B | 3.5B | -1.18B | -1.18B | -674.9M | 4.55B | -812.9M | -466.8M | -380.9M | -331.3M | -431.4M | -461.2M | -452.9M | -447.9M | -523.8M | -639.6M | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Deferred Taxes | 32.6M | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 1000K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K |
| Other Liabilities | 8.8B | 8.8B | 8.86B | 4.11B | 9.26B | 3.31B | -1.01B | -508M | 7.59B | 5.66B | 5.47B | 5.29B | 4.95B | 4.99B | -611.4M | -610.6M | 0 | -561.4M | -560.8M | -822.6M | 0 | 0 | 0 | -877.7M | -727.6M | -639M | -428.1M | -367.9M | -495M | -268.9M | -226.3M |
| Total Equity | 2.18B | 2.67B | 2.78B | 2.5B | 2.44B | 4.01B | 4.56B | 3.97B | 3.05B | 2.12B | 1.98B | 1.99B | 2.09B | 2.05B | 2.16B | 2.22B | 2.11B | 1.92B | 1.65B | 2.3B | 2.28B | 2.16B | 2.04B | 1.82B | 1.8B | 1.92B | 1.7B | 1.72B | 1.82B | 1.53B | 1.48B |
| Equity Growth % | -41.46% | -4.13% | 11.15% | 2.53% | -39.04% | -12.18% | 14.88% | 30.24% | 44.17% | 7.11% | -0.86% | -4.7% | 1.91% | -5.1% | -2.45% | 4.86% | 10.21% | 16.32% | -28.25% | 0.6% | 5.85% | 5.84% | 12.08% | 0.92% | -5.97% | 12.67% | -0.92% | -5.78% | 18.88% | 3.56% | -2.9% |
| Shareholders Equity | 2.19B | 2.68B | 2.79B | 2.51B | 2.44B | 4.01B | 4.56B | 3.97B | 3.05B | 2.12B | 1.98B | 1.99B | 2.09B | 2.05B | 2.16B | 2.22B | 2.11B | 1.92B | 1.65B | 2.3B | 2.28B | 2.16B | 2.04B | 1.82B | 1.8B | 1.92B | 1.7B | 1.72B | 1.82B | 1.53B | 1.48B |
| Minority Interest | -15.5M | -12M | -4.1M | -200K | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Retained Earnings | 653.7M | 1.16B | 1.23B | 1.01B | 1.38B | 1.76B | 2.07B | 1.81B | 1.36B | 1.24B | 1.17B | 1.21B | 1.2B | 1.22B | 1.12B | 1.21B | 1.2B | 1.09B | 985.8M | 1.19B | 1.23B | 1.19B | 1.16B | 1.08B | 1.09B | 1.23B | 1.15B | 1.28B | 1.38B | 1.21B | 1.27B |
| Common Stock | 5.9M | 5.9M | 6.4M | 6.4M | 6.4M | 6.4M | 6.5M | 6.7M | 6.5M | 5.1M | 5.1M | 5.1M | 5.2M | 5.6M | 5.8M | 6M | 6.1M | 6.2M | 6.2M | 6.4M | 6.7M | 6.9M | 6.9M | 6.8M | 6.8M | 6.7M | 6.8M | 7.1M | 3.8M | 3.8M | 3.7M |
| Accumulated OCI | -205.3M | -206.2M | -304.5M | -360.8M | -756M | 448.1M | 680.5M | 336.1M | 21.8M | 194.4M | 137M | 124.3M | 222.7M | 135.3M | 312.7M | 258M | 157.4M | 58.8M | -108.1M | 324.8M | 287M | 251.2M | 249.6M | 194.5M | 196.3M | 190.3M | 101.6M | -9.8M | 13.2M | 101.7M | 77.8M |
| Return on Equity (ROE) | -19.42% | 5.26% | 12.02% | -11% | -8.89% | -2.89% | 9.6% | 15.13% | 7.36% | 5.91% | 0.85% | 4.2% | 5.53% | 10.33% | 4.72% | 3.44% | 9.16% | 9.24% | -1.5% | 8.97% | 12.75% | 12.18% | 12.45% | 6.83% | -0.44% | 21.06% | 5.32% | 11.36% | 30.45% | 7.83% | 8.82% |
| Return on Assets (ROA) | -4.02% | 1.14% | 2.5% | -2.08% | -2.03% | -0.85% | 3% | 4.33% | 1.91% | 1.46% | 0.21% | 1.08% | 1.48% | 2.78% | 1.28% | 0.91% | 2.18% | 1.89% | -0.32% | 2.19% | 3.06% | 2.84% | 2.77% | 1.52% | -0.11% | 5.73% | 1.5% | 3.39% | 9.43% | 2.41% | 2.73% |
| Equity / Assets | 18.26% | 21.4% | 22.04% | 19.66% | 18.28% | 26.87% | 31.82% | 30.58% | 26.42% | 25.26% | 24.06% | 24.79% | 26.69% | 26.79% | 26.99% | 27.41% | 25.28% | 22.37% | 18.69% | 24.43% | 24.5% | 23.46% | 23.19% | 21.31% | 23.39% | 26.87% | 27.6% | 28.93% | 30.84% | 31.15% | 30.39% |
| Debt / Equity | 0.43x | 0.38x | 0.51x | 0.55x | 0.57x | 0.28x | 0.26x | 0.20x | 0.30x | 0.28x | 0.38x | 0.38x | 0.36x | 0.30x | 0.28x | 0.28x | 0.29x | 0.29x | 0.34x | 0.24x | 0.22x | 0.23x | 0.25x | 0.27x | 0.21x | 0.13x | 0.11x | 0.07x | 0.06x | 0.05x | 0.04x |
| Book Value per Share | 36.99 | 42.64 | 42.98 | 39.12 | 38.28 | 62.36 | 68.39 | 59.69 | 51.91 | 41.02 | 38.57 | 38.55 | 38.81 | 36.00 | 36.38 | 36.77 | 34.22 | 30.85 | 26.30 | 34.90 | 33.48 | 30.99 | 29.54 | 26.78 | 26.38 | 28.18 | 24.68 | 23.41 | 23.23 | 20.28 | 19.44 |
| Tangible BV per Share | 12.20 | 12.17 | 18.80 | 5.38 | 12.95 | 26.83 | 46.90 | 38.02 | 27.73 | 31.25 | 25.78 | 26.18 | 27.39 | 25.21 | 26.02 | 31.60 | 29.17 | 25.51 | 20.96 | 30.12 | 28.43 | 26.04 | 24.54 | 21.71 | 21.33 | 23.11 | 19.55 | 18.37 | 19.43 | 17.14 | 16.44 |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying KMPR stock.
As of 2025, Kemper Corporation (KMPR) had total assets of $12.47B including $1.09B in current assets.
Kemper Corporation (KMPR) carries total debt of $1.00B, offset by $453.9M in cash and short-term investments. Comparing total debt to cash helps evaluate the company's debt burden and net leverage.
Kemper Corporation (KMPR) has total shareholders' equity (book value) of $2.68B ($42.64 book value per share). Book value represents the net worth of the company belonging to common stock holders.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
Underwriting losses and reserve adequacy
Metrics are mathematically derived from official filings.
Capital Erosion Accelerates
Kemper's equity fell from $3.0B in 2025Q2 to $2.2B in 2026Q2, a 27% decline, as reported in quarterly filings, signaling a weakening balance sheet.
The sequential decline in equity, from $2.7B in 2025Q4 to $2.2B in 2026Q2, reflects mounting underwriting losses and possibly unrealized investment losses. This trajectory suggests that retained earnings are no longer sufficient to support capital, and the company may need to raise external capital or reduce dividends to maintain solvency.
Portfolio Liquidation to Fund Operations
Investment assets remained flat at $1.0B across quarters, but cash flow data indicates net sales of $746.9M in 2026Q2, as per the cash flow statement, suggesting liquidity strain.
The static investment balance masks active portfolio management, with the company selling investments to fund claims and operations. This may indicate a shift toward more liquid, lower-yielding assets, potentially reducing future investment income. The lack of disclosed investment yield limits assessment of portfolio performance, but the liquidation trend warrants monitoring.
Reserve Adequacy Under Scrutiny
Loss reserves rose to $1.2B in 2025Q3 from $828.8M in 2026Q1, while loss ratios exceeded 100% in 2024Q4 and 2026Q1, as per financial statements, implying potential reserve shortfalls.
The spike in loss reserves in 2025Q3 and the elevated loss ratios suggest that prior-year reserves may have been inadequate, leading to adverse development. The 2026Q2 operating loss of $467M, as noted in the income statement analysis, likely includes a reserve charge, indicating that the company is strengthening reserves to address emerging claims costs.
Capital Buffer Thinning Rapidly
Equity-to-assets ratio dropped from 23.8% in 2025Q2 to 18.5% in 2026Q2, based on reported balance sheet data, indicating a weakening capital position.
The decline in equity relative to assets reduces the cushion for policyholder obligations and may constrain the company's ability to write new business. While statutory capital ratios are not disclosed, the trend suggests that Kemper's capital adequacy is deteriorating, potentially limiting its flexibility for dividends or strategic initiatives.
Liquidity Strain Evident
Cash balances were not disclosed, but investment sales of $746.9M in 2026Q2, as per the cash flow statement, indicate a need to raise liquidity to meet claims.
The reliance on investment sales to fund operations suggests that operating cash flows are insufficient to cover claims and expenses. This liquidity pressure may force the company to sell assets at unfavorable prices, potentially realizing losses. The absence of cash balance disclosure limits full assessment, but the trend is concerning.
Hidden Reserve Risks in Long-Tail Lines
Kemper's long-tail casualty lines may face inflation-driven reserve inadequacy, as evidenced by loss ratios above 100% in 2024Q4 and 2026Q1, per financial statements.
The elevated loss ratios and reserve strengthening suggest that Kemper may be underestimating ultimate claims costs, particularly in long-tail lines exposed to social inflation and medical cost trends. If reserve deficiencies persist, future earnings and capital could be further eroded, making the current balance sheet appear more stable than it actually is.