Cash conversion is poor, with OCF/NI at -7.89 in 2024Q4 and free cash flow of -¥868.6B, while capital returns were minimal (dividends of ¥24.1B and buybacks of ¥3.0M in 2024Q3).
Nomura Holdings, Inc. (NMR) cash flow statement — 27-year operating, investing & financing cash flows
| Metric | Mar'26 | Mar'25 | Mar'24 | Mar'23 | Mar'22 | Mar'21 | Mar'20 | Mar'19 | Mar'18 | Mar'17 | Mar'16 | Mar'15 | Mar'14 | Mar'13 | Mar'12 | Mar'11 | Mar'10 | Mar'09 | Mar'08 | Mar'07 | Mar'06 | Mar'05 | Mar'04 | Mar'03 | Mar'02 | Mar'01 | Mar'00 |
|---|
| Cash from Operations | -842.96B | -678.61B | 132.64B | -694.82B | -862.83B | 665.77B | -15.94B | -361.17B | -445.69B | 1.3T | 1.24T | -77.03B | 457.42B | 549.5B | 290.86B | -235.09B | -1.5T | -712.63B | -646.92B | -1.63T | -404.78B | -329.31B | -1.83T | 34.09B | -1.31T | 366.24B | 599.97B |
| Operating CF Growth % | -24.22% | -611.62% | 119.09% | 19.47% | -229.6% | 4275.94% | 95.59% | 18.96% | -134.15% | 5.38% | 1707.69% | -116.84% | -16.76% | 88.92% | 223.72% | 84.34% | -110.6% | -10.16% | 60.33% | -302.87% | -22.92% | 81.98% | -5459.11% | 102.61% | -456.45% | -38.96% | - |
| Net Income | 374.38B | 347.25B | 177.22B | 91.68B | 146.53B | 160.4B | 219.37B | -94.71B | 224.29B | 242.57B | 142.56B | 225.98B | 216.45B | 105.69B | 26.05B | 31.93B | 68.09B | -708.19B | -67.7B | 176.26B | 257.06B | 94.79B | 172.44B | 119.86B | 168.26B | 57.41B | 203.55B |
| Depreciation & Amortization | 68.27B | 61.65B | 61.34B | 61.42B | 59.52B | 63.85B | 63.58B | 57.92B | 71.58B | 70.93B | 79.39B | 78.88B | 79.47B | 91.49B | 100.57B | 75.59B | 73.08B | 75.78B | 63.42B | 50.54B | 42.84B | 38.17B | 33.78B | 31.26B | 66.32B | 47.29B | 68.75B |
| Deferred Taxes | 0 | 11.56B | -312M | 6.14B | 3.11B | -21.11B | -23.91B | 21.57B | 60.26B | 22.53B | -58.86B | 26.49B | 117.06B | 53.96B | 37.77B | 55.2B | 19.57B | -83.63B | -139.69B | -235.64M | -23.54B | 5.68B | 1.88B | 11.8B | -57.02B | 45.07B | 155.81B |
| Other Non-Cash Items | -59.57B | -25.47B | -41.01B | -435.61B | -224.94B | -49.41B | -82.41B | 77.49B | -209.99B | -67.42B | -166.9B | -75.26B | -153.31B | -114.6B | 26.87B | 16.23B | -35.35B | 44.45B | -66.41B | 958.35B | -934.91B | 239.02B | 95.5B | 33.15B | -379.06B | -592.13B | 422.75B |
| Working Capital Changes | -1.23T | -1.11T | -116.11B | -453.66B | -874.99B | 483.8B | -205.26B | -445.24B | -601.48B | 1.03T | 1.23T | -352.48B | 176.66B | 391B | 99.22B | -432.66B | -1.64T | -57.51B | -492.97B | -2.82T | 253.77B | -706.99B | -2.13T | -161.98B | -1.1T | 808.6B | -250.88B |
| Cash from Investing | -1.5T | -848.65B | -887.94B | -233.22B | -593.18B | -139.03B | 216.34B | -112.5B | -56.17B | -118.05B | -23.71B | 12.34B | -103.19B | -160.49B | 9.94B | -423.21B | -269.64B | -98.91B | -101.9B | -535.02B | 8.36B | -121.92B | 45.45B | 133.9B | -52.23B | -271.4B | -326.1B |
| Purchase of Investments | -8.9T | -322.45B | -156.93B | -75.5B | -115.21B | -9.18B | -2.36B | -3.28T | -61M | -647M | 0 | -354M | -107.99B | -54.56B | -1.11B | -286.23B | -66.9B | -25.65B | -598.27M | -9.31B | -2.12B | -107.23M | -104.25M | -10.26B | -3.06B | -3.19B | -69.22B |
| Sale/Maturity of Investments | 7.95T | 154.39B | 177.09B | 301.07B | 205.53B | 44.91B | 13.32B | 29.97B | 81.57B | 90.1B | 57.71B | 116.74B | 6.95B | 3.74B | 7.63B | 3.25B | 1.27B | 2.06B | 7.88B | 25.21B | 10.59B | 12.98B | 86.01B | 182.03B | 36.68B | 85.93B | 54.6B |
| Net Investment Activity | -953.13B | -168.06B | 20.16B | 225.57B | 90.32B | 35.73B | 10.96B | -3.25T | 81.5B | 89.45B | 57.71B | 116.38B | -101.04B | -50.81B | 6.53B | -282.99B | -65.63B | -23.59B | 7.28B | 15.91B | 8.47B | 12.87B | 85.9B | 171.77B | 33.63B | 82.74B | -14.62B |
| Acquisitions | -275B | 8.14B | -457M | 16.95B | 0 | -11.15B | -2.48B | 262.91B | -13.13B | 0 | 0 | -7.31B | 165.71B | -5.92B | 35.6B | -3.37B | -9.88B | -45.39B | 1.4B | -172.37B | -4.71B | -25.74B | -29.5B | 0 | -259.44B | -107.4B | -102.21B |
| Other Investing | -151.66B | -498.76B | -761.85B | -304.58B | -572.17B | -43.73B | 414.6B | 3.2T | 160.61B | 105.38B | 243.3B | 112.73B | 46.47B | 168.22B | 150.39B | 49.49B | -111.05B | 66.05B | 19B | -277.11B | 87.22B | -52.33B | 28.36B | 7.31B | 240.04B | -168.33B | -159.48B |
| Cash from Financing | 2.1T | 1.68T | 1.01T | 1.28T | 1.11T | -269.93B | 332.06B | 761.19B | 373.17B | -2.13T | 986.39B | -178.21B | 289.39B | -701.62B | -844.31B | 1.28T | 2.18T | 999.76B | 941.57B | 1.57T | 787.55B | 385.29B | 1.95T | -24.54B | 1.2T | -101.4B | -72.39B |
| Dividends Paid | -179.74B | -112.54B | -60.16B | -57.26B | -70.71B | -76.36B | -58.42B | -47.48B | -70.2B | -42.83B | -82.78B | -55.32B | -51.95B | -14.73B | -29.07B | -29.08B | -11.13B | -64.92B | -86.75B | -114.64B | -42.37B | -33.99B | -43.68B | -29.49B | -34.42B | -29.4B | -19.63B |
| Share Repurchases | -101.5B | -59.01B | -61.03B | -24.73B | -39.65B | -11M | -150.01B | -51.71B | -109.1B | -61.34B | -20B | -104.05B | -32.51B | -7M | -8.29B | -37.38B | -18M | -91M | -3.52B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Stock Issued | 422M | 1.41B | 953M | 4M | 11M | 215M | 285M | 313M | 764M | 401M | 571M | 387M | 682M | 56M | 10M | 8M | 449.08B | 284.93B | 1.19B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Net Stock Activity | -101.08B | -57.59B | -60.08B | -24.72B | -39.64B | 204M | -149.72B | -51.4B | -108.33B | -60.94B | -19.43B | -103.66B | -31.83B | 49M | -8.28B | -37.37B | 449.06B | 284.83B | -2.33B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Debt Issuance (Net) | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | 1000K | -1000K | -1000K |
| Other Financing | 828.23B | 748.75B | 116.79B | 341.89B | 361.29B | 420.81B | 578.85B | 257.78B | -13.25B | -1.07T | 1.01T | 140.96B | -22.92B | 129.38B | 117.05B | 368.35B | 13.27B | 0 | -86.2B | 18.03B | -12.12B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 132.91M | 0 | 0 |
| Net Change in Cash | -106.72B | 126.42B | 478.17B | 504.44B | -193.6B | 317.7B | 505.18B | 332.26B | -182.2B | -939.45B | 2.16T | -174.38B | 684.71B | -265.43B | -549.82B | 599.69B | 407.08B | 106.33B | 97.12B | -583.21B | 407.6B | -52.12B | 146.27B | 134.49B | -147.26B | -19.29B | 181.58B |
| Exchange Rate Effect | 139.31B | -26.02B | 220.62B | 148.55B | 149.69B | 60.88B | -27.28B | 44.74B | -53.5B | 4.25B | -40.2B | 68.51B | 41.09B | 47.17B | -6.31B | -26.25B | 964M | -81.9B | -95.62B | 10.37B | 16.48B | 13.73B | -18.97B | -8.97B | 13.03B | -12.73B | -19.9B |
| Cash at Beginning | 4.43T | 4.3T | 3.82T | 3.32T | 3.51T | 3.19T | 2.69T | 2.35T | 2.54T | 3.48T | 1.32T | 1.49T | 805.09B | 1.07T | 1.62T | 1.02T | 613.57B | 507.24B | 409.41B | 994.17B | 586.28B | 637.5B | 491.56B | 356.4B | 504.53B | 522.97B | 341.39B |
| Cash at End | 4.32T | 4.43T | 4.3T | 3.82T | 3.32T | 3.51T | 3.19T | 2.69T | 2.35T | 2.54T | 3.48T | 1.32T | 1.49T | 805.09B | 1.07T | 1.62T | 1.02T | 613.57B | 506.53B | 410.96B | 993.88B | 585.38B | 637.82B | 490.89B | 357.26B | 503.68B | 522.97B |
| Interest Paid | 2.57T | 2.88T | 2.51T | 1.1T | 225.68B | 222.02B | 677.16B | 700.86B | 473.76B | 307.63B | 352.28B | 364.39B | 303.33B | 296.64B | 338.8B | 259.68B | 210.74B | 416.12B | 987.23B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Income Taxes Paid | 118.85B | 93.92B | 26.05B | 94.26B | 114.62B | 35.67B | 55.59B | 27.2B | 49.45B | 47.48B | 118.58B | 34.36B | 116.04B | 28.06B | 16.08B | 32.3B | 62.99B | 84.99B | 117.57B | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 | 0 |
| Free Cash Flow | -1.2T | -868.58B | -13.14B | -865.99B | -974.16B | 545.89B | -222.69B | -680.25B | -730.85B | 992.11B | 913.65B | -286.5B | 243.09B | 277.53B | 108.3B | -421.44B | -1.58T | -808.61B | -757.5B | -1.73T | -487.41B | -386.04B | -1.87T | -11.09B | -1.37T | 287.82B | 550.19B |
| FCF Growth % | -37.79% | -6508.2% | 98.48% | 11.1% | -278.45% | 345.14% | 67.26% | 6.92% | -173.67% | 8.59% | 418.9% | -217.86% | -12.41% | 156.27% | 125.7% | 73.39% | -95.87% | -6.75% | 56.27% | -255.39% | -26.26% | 79.32% | -16730.82% | 99.19% | -576.65% | -47.69% | - |
Quick answers to the most common questions about buying NMR stock.
Nomura Holdings, Inc. (NMR) generated $-842960.0M in net cash from operating activities in 2026. This reflects the cash generated directly from core business operations.
Nomura Holdings, Inc. (NMR) reported negative free cash flow of $1.20T in 2026, indicating capital requirements exceeded cash from operations.
Nomura Holdings, Inc. (NMR) spent $119.13B on capital expenditures in 2026. CapEx represents the cash invested in physical assets like property, plant, and equipment to maintain or grow the business.
In 2026, Nomura Holdings, Inc. (NMR) returned $179.74B to shareholders via cash dividends and spent $101.50B on share repurchases. This shows the company's commitment to returning capital to its equity investors.
Key Metrics
Top Statement Risk
High leverage and negative FCF
Record Profits Mask Cash Burn
Despite record net income of ¥362.2 billion in FY2026, Nomura's operating cash flow turned sharply negative in 2024Q4, with OCF/NI at -7.89, suggesting earnings are not converting to cash. According to reported quarterly data, this divergence warrants close monitoring.
The cash flow statement reveals a stark contrast between reported profitability and cash generation. In 2024Q4, operating cash flow was -¥448.0 billion against net income of ¥56.8 billion, implying that accrual-based earnings are not being realized as cash. This may indicate aggressive revenue recognition or significant working capital absorption, though the exact drivers are not disclosed. Investors should monitor whether this pattern persists, as it could signal deteriorating earnings quality despite record profits.
Securities Portfolio Churn
Investment securities activity shows significant churn: purchases of ¥155.1 billion and sales of ¥152.6 billion in 2024Q4, nearly offsetting each other. As reported in financial statements, this suggests active portfolio management but limited net reinvestment, possibly reflecting duration or yield considerations.
The near-equal purchase and sale volumes in 2024Q4 indicate that Nomura is actively repositioning its securities portfolio, likely in response to changing interest rate expectations or to manage duration risk. The lack of net investment suggests a cautious stance, possibly due to uncertainty around BoJ policy. This activity may also be driven by client flow facilitation rather than strategic positioning, which would be consistent with a wholesale-focused business model.
Loan Growth Not Visible
Loan loss provisions were zero across all reported quarters, and loan-related cash flows are not separately disclosed. Based on available data, this suggests either a low-risk loan book or potential under-provisioning, but the absence of loan flow data limits analysis.
The cash flow statement does not provide explicit loan origination or repayment figures, which is typical for a bank where loans are not the primary asset. However, the zero loan loss provisions across ten quarters is notable, especially given the wholesale trading activities. This could indicate that the loan book is small and high-quality, or that provisioning practices are lenient. Given the prior income statement analysis flagged this as a concern, investors should scrutinize credit risk disclosures more closely.
Dividends and Buybacks Minimal
Capital returns to shareholders were negligible: dividends of ¥24.1 billion and buybacks of ¥3.0 million in 2024Q3, with no activity in other quarters. According to recent filings, this suggests a conservative capital return policy, possibly to preserve capital amid high leverage.
The near-absence of dividends and buybacks is striking for a firm reporting record profits. This may indicate that management is prioritizing capital retention to support balance sheet strength or to fund ongoing restructuring. However, it also implies that shareholders are not directly benefiting from the reported earnings, which could explain the persistent valuation discount. Investors should monitor whether this changes as the strategic pivot progresses.
Deposit Flows Not Disclosed
Deposit-related cash flows are not separately reported, and the data shows no interest-bearing deposit activity. As per the cash flow statement, this limits analysis of funding stability, but the high debt-to-equity ratio of 9.37 suggests reliance on wholesale funding.
Without explicit deposit flow data, it is difficult to assess the quality and stability of Nomura's funding base. The elevated leverage ratio indicates significant reliance on debt and other non-deposit funding sources, which can be more volatile during market stress. This is a key risk factor, especially given the negative free cash flow of -¥868.6 billion in the last fiscal year. Investors should monitor funding mix disclosures to gauge liquidity resilience.
Cash Flow Statement Opaque
The cash flow statement is largely uninformative, with most line items zero or missing, and only two quarters of data. According to reported figures, this opacity may hide significant off-balance-sheet exposures or AOCI volatility, warranting deeper investigation.
The sparse cash flow data, with many zeros and missing values, suggests that Nomura's cash flow statement is not a primary source of analytical insight. This is common for banks, but the lack of detail on trading assets, derivatives, and other balance sheet movements limits transparency. The negative operating cash flow in 2024Q4 and the high leverage ratio point to potential hidden risks, such as unrealized losses on securities or undrawn commitments. Analysts should rely more on balance sheet and income statement disclosures, and press for additional cash flow granularity.